ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Santa Barbara Senior High

Santa Barbara, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,924 students · Santa Barbara Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

45% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 19% in math. 96.8% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

19%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

45%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,924

Total enrollment

Graduation

96.8%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 37%2022: 24%2023: 22%2024: 20%2025: 19%2019: 62%2022: 33%2023: 43%2024: 37%2025: 45%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 37%2022: 24%2023: 22%2024: 20%2025: 19%2019: 62%2022: 33%2023: 43%2024: 37%2025: 45%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201937%62%
202224%33%
202322%43%
202420%37%
202519%45%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 62nd to the 35th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “32% proficient” and call it done. Santa Barbara deserves a closer read. Three in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

410 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Santa Barbara Senior High scores 48 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 35th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 32% meet the standard today, versus 49% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 62nd percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002022 · 44th percentile · Scope Score 50 of 1002023 · 44th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 1002024 · 39th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002025 · 35th percentile · Scope Score 48 of 100
ELAYellow(Increased)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1162%33%43%37%45%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1137%24%22%20%19%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA45% met or exceeded
Exceeded 13%Met 32%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 30%
Math19% met or exceeded
Exceeded 6%Met 13%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 57%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school489%32%96.8%38.0%25.6%3.0%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4854
% Exceeded9%20%
% Met+32%43%
Grad rate96.8%92.5%
College readiness38.0%43.0%
Absence25.6%23.1%
Suspension3.0%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At Santa Barbara Senior High in Santa Barbara, 36.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 38.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Santa Barbara Senior High trails its district average for low-income students by 1.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (11.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (34.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 41.6 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 259 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 32% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 32%, district —, state 43%32%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 24%, district 33%, state 32%24% · −8 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 24%, district 33%, state 32%24% · −8 vs school
MaleMale: this school 28%, district 45%, state 42%28% · −3 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 35%, district 48%, state 44%35% · +3 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 44%, district 69%, state 56%44% · +12 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 16%, district 17%, state 15%16% · −16 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 2%, district 11%, state 11%2% · −30 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 26%, district 36%, state 46%26% · −5 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 48%, district 68%, state 56%48% · +17 vs school

6 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 59% of Santa Barbara's enrollment but 24% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic23.7% AP · 59.1% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.4% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian2.5% AP · 1.7% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Black1.1% AP · 1.2% enroll.
White68.2% AP · 34.9% enroll.
Two or more races3.9% AP · 2.6% enroll.
English learners0.7% AP · 5.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.7% AP · 13.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

80%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 406 of 510 completers · includes community colleges

510Completers
29%
Other colleges148 completers · Outside the California community college system
51%
California community colleges258 completers · Enrolled within a year
20%
Not recorded enrolled104 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
80%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California46 (9%)
  • California State University24 (5%)
  • California community college258 (51%)
  • In-state private30 (6%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year48 (9%)
  • Not enrolled104 (20%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 20 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Santa Barbara's teachers are authorized to teach 20 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher20 · district 20
Teaching staff104 teachers
Avg. experience14.8 years
Fully credentialed84%
First-year teachers3%
Intern / emergency permit0.1%
PrincipalEdward Gomez
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$64,099 – $121,627
Principal salary$164,342 – $181,610
Superintendent salary$314,838

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers123 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers80 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught20
ShowHide the 20 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 25.6%, district 20.1%, state 23.1%25.6% · +2.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.0%, district —, state 3.3%3.0% · −0.2pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1225.4%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $18,695 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$673 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,695, CA average $14,491$18,695 · spent at this school
Federal share$673 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,939 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 56%Instruction support 15%Student services 12%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$14,447 per pupil
2019$13,462 per pupil
2018$13,495 per pupil
2017$11,638 per pupil
2016$10,981 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 24% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino62.5% · district 59.1% · CA 56.1%
White30.2% · district 31.0% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.5% · district 2.3% · CA 10.2%
Black0.6% · district 0.6% · CA 4.8%
Other5.3% · district 6.9% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch61.8% · CA 64%
Median income$122K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.66M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+47% · CA 35%
ZIP population19,382
Median age42 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Santa Barbara Senior HighPublicDeveloping9%32%School being viewed
Alta Vista Alternative HighPublicNeeds Support13%18%0.9 mi
La Cuesta Continuation Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%2%0.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Santa Barbara →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

7 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Santa Barbara Senior High a good high school?
Santa Barbara Senior High has a Scope Score of 48 out of 100, placing it in the 35th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,068 statewide. 9.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 10.4 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Santa Barbara Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 31.8% of students at Santa Barbara Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 9.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 22.3% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 9.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 827 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Santa Barbara Senior High rank in California?
Santa Barbara Senior High ranks #1,068 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 35th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Santa Barbara Senior High?
25.6% of students at Santa Barbara Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.0%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Santa Barbara Senior High compare to other schools in Santa Barbara?
Santa Barbara Senior High scores 48/100 (35th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,924 students. Use the schools in Santa Barbara page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Santa Barbara Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Santa Barbara Senior High in Santa Barbara, 36.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 38.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Santa Barbara Senior High trails its district average for low-income students by 1.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (11.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (34.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 41.6 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 259 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Santa Barbara Senior High?
Santa Barbara Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 20 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate96.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard9.5%19.8%22%
College readiness38.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded31.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)15.9%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Santa Barbara Senior High: reading the evidence

Santa Barbara posts 32% meeting the standard and 9.5% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Santa Barbara Senior High is ranked #1,068 statewide · #3 of 4 in Santa Barbara Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard9.5%19.8%22%
College readiness38.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded31.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)15.9%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.3pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.4pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1141013%32%25%30%45%−4
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 114176%13%24%57%19%−5

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4544%20%64%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged25936.7%−1−2
Hispanic/Latino26134.9%−3−4
White12460.5%−15−1
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Santa Barbara Senior High ←489.5%31.8%3.0%
Alta Vista Alternative High0.9 mi3513.2%17.6%2.7%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
La Cuesta Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide0.6 mi130.0%2.0%7.8%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
96.8%
AP Exam Prepared
38.0%
A-G Completion
57.0%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
79.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195862#57824.2%49.4%16.3%5.5%
20225044#89012.4%28.5%32.3%2.5%
20235144#91411.3%32.4%29.3%2.6%
20244939#99310.5%28.3%23.4%3.4%
20254835#10689.5%31.8%25.6%3.0%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female17.8%25.2%+7.4pp
Male14.5%25.5%+11.0pp
Asian4.7%14.3%+9.6pp
Black/African American15.2%9.1%-6.1pp
Filipino25.0%
Hispanic/Latino17.8%29.3%+11.5pp
American Indian/Alaska Native18.8%
Two or More Races20.0%26.4%+6.4pp
White13.5%18.2%+4.7pp
Students with Disabilities34.1%37.5%+3.4pp
English Learners25.5%42.5%+17.0pp
Homeless19.6%38.5%+18.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20.6%29.9%+9.3pp
All Students16.0%25.4%+9.4pp
06AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 06 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count9
AP enrollment283
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 298 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections11
Chemistry sections14
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,168

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California469.0%
California State University244.7%
California community college25850.6%
In-state private305.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year489.4%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled10420.4%

510 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 80% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/santa-barbara-senior-high-5727"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Santa Barbara Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Santa Barbara Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.