ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

San Mateo High

San Mateo, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,557 students · San Mateo Union High

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

63% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 44% in math. 91.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

44%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

63%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,557

Total enrollment

Graduation

91.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 50%2022: 45%2023: 38%2024: 43%2025: 44%2019: 68%2022: 68%2023: 59%2024: 66%2025: 63%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 50%2022: 45%2023: 38%2024: 43%2025: 44%2019: 68%2022: 68%2023: 59%2024: 66%2025: 63%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201950%68%
202245%68%
202338%59%
202443%66%
202544%63%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 79th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “54% proficient” and call it done. San Mateo deserves a closer read. One in three of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

297 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

San Mateo High scores 64 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 79th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 54% meet the standard today, versus 59% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 1002022 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 1002023 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002024 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 67 of 1002025 · 79th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 100
ELAYellow(Declined)MathOrange(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1168%68%59%66%63%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1150%45%38%43%44%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA63% met or exceeded
Exceeded 40%Met 24%Nearly Met 18%Not Met 19%
Math44% met or exceeded
Exceeded 26%Met 19%Nearly Met 16%Not Met 40%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6433%54%91.3%70.6%20.9%3.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6454
% Exceeded33%20%
% Met+54%43%
Grad rate91.3%92.5%
College readiness70.6%43.0%
Absence20.9%23.1%
Suspension3.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At San Mateo High in San Mateo, 38.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 50.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. San Mateo High trails its district average for low-income students by 12.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (21.9% Math proficient); Hispanic students (37.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 63.3 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 131 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 54% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 54%, district —, state 43%54%
MaleMale: this school 48%, district 58%, state 42%48% · −6 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 60%, district 66%, state 44%60% · +7 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 25%, district 34%, state 32%25% · −29 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 30%, district 37%, state 32%30% · −24 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 86%, district 85%, state 72%86% · +32 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 78%, district 71%, state 56%78% · +24 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 4%, district 4%, state 11%4% · −50 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 12%, district 17%, state 15%12% · −42 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 80%, district 76%, state 56%80% · +26 vs school

5 of 15 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 43% of San Mateo's enrollment but 18% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic17.5% AP · 43.4% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian44.0% AP · 27.2% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.9% AP · 1.9% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.9% enroll.
White28.4% AP · 19.5% enroll.
Two or more races9.2% AP · 7.0% enroll.
English learners1.0% AP · 17.4% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.6% AP · 11.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

80%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 296 of 372 completers · includes community colleges

372Completers
47%
Other colleges174 completers · Outside the California community college system
33%
California community colleges122 completers · Enrolled within a year
20%
Not recorded enrolled76 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

80%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of San Mateo's class of 2023, 80% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 372 completers, 80% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 58 (16%)California State University 38 (10%)California community college 122 (33%)In-state private 22 (6%)Out-of-state, 4-year 55 (15%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 76 (20%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 51 of San Mateo's 358 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Santa Cruz the most common landing, with 15 enrollees.

Applied164fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted131
Enrolled51
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Santa Cruz 15Berkeley 10Santa Barbara 7Davis 6Los Angeles 4Riverside 4Irvine 3Merced ‹3San Diego ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 73 enrolled, 2022

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 80% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (122) than at UC (58).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 20 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

San Mateo's teachers are authorized to teach 22 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher20 · district 20
Teaching staff101 teachers
Avg. experience17.0 years
Fully credentialed82%
First-year teachers7%
PrincipalYvonne Shiu
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$82,756 – $157,234
Principal salaryUp to $240,516
Superintendent salary$362,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers168 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers50 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught22
ShowHide the 22 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (4)Chinese Language and Culture · French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 20.9%, district 14.1%, state 23.1%20.9% · −2.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.4%, district —, state 3.3%3.4% · +0.2pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1220.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $29,040 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$347 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $29,040, CA average $14,491$29,040 · spent at this school
Federal share$347 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$28,924 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 51%Instruction support 12%Student services 14%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 4%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$19,450 per pupil
2019$19,203 per pupil
2018$19,357 per pupil
2017$17,001 per pupil
2016$16,893 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in three of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 43% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino47.5% · district 33.8% · CA 56.1%
White16.0% · district 25.3% · CA 19.9%
Asian22.7% · district 24.1% · CA 10.2%
Black1.0% · district 0.7% · CA 4.8%
Other12.8% · district 16.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch38.1% · CA 64%
Median income$122K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.18M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+46% · CA 35%
ZIP population35,295
Median age36 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
San Mateo HighPublicStrong33%54%School being viewed
Burlingame HighPublicStrong49%74%1.0 mi
Aragon HighPublicStrong45%71%1.9 mi
Peninsula High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicDeveloping1%9%2.5 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Mateo →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

11 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with San Mateo Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is San Mateo High a good high school?
San Mateo High has a Scope Score of 64 out of 100, placing it in the 79th percentile of California high schools and ranked #354 statewide. 32.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 12.8 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are San Mateo High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 53.8% of students at San Mateo High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 32.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 21.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 32.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 586 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does San Mateo High rank in California?
San Mateo High ranks #354 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 79th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at San Mateo High?
20.9% of students at San Mateo High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does San Mateo High compare to other schools in San Mateo?
San Mateo High scores 64/100 (79th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,557 students. Use the schools in San Mateo page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does San Mateo High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At San Mateo High in San Mateo, 38.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 50.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. San Mateo High trails its district average for low-income students by 12.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (21.9% Math proficient); Hispanic students (37.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 63.3 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 131 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at San Mateo High?
San Mateo High's teachers are authorized to teach 22 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from San Mateo High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 51 San Mateo High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate91.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard32.7%19.8%22%
College readiness70.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded53.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism20.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)7.8%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

San Mateo High: reading the evidence

San Mateo posts 54% meeting the standard, and 32.7% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

San Mateo High is ranked #354 statewide · #6 of 7 in San Mateo Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard32.7%19.8%22%
College readiness70.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded53.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism20.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)7.8%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.0pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.0pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 36 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1129740%24%18%19%63%+15
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1128926%19%16%40%44%+21

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide30418%25%49%8%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged13138.2%−12−0
Hispanic/Latino13837.0%−13−2
Asian6487.5%−3+13
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
San Mateo High ←—6432.7%53.8%3.4%
Burlingame High1 mi8448.6%74.2%1.3%
Aragon High1.9 mi7944.7%70.5%2.4%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Peninsula High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide2.5 mi221.5%8.7%12.0%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
91.3%
AP Exam Prepared
70.6%
A-G Completion
60.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
79.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197084#23536.4%59.1%11.1%3.5%
20226885#24434.5%56.6%21.5%5.2%
20236477#37228.7%48.4%23.2%5.3%
20246784#26534.5%54.7%21.9%4.4%
20256479#35432.7%53.8%20.9%3.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female10.5%22.0%+11.5pp
Male10.5%18.3%+7.8pp
Asian2.2%6.5%+4.3pp
Black/African American17.6%33.3%+15.7pp
Filipino4.7%10.9%+6.2pp
Hispanic/Latino16.3%27.5%+11.2pp
Pacific Islander17.1%53.3%+36.2pp
Two or More Races13.0%18.1%+5.1pp
White8.9%16.1%+7.2pp
Students with Disabilities22.9%36.2%+13.3pp
English Learners20.9%28.1%+7.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged17.3%28.0%+10.7pp
All Students10.5%20.3%+9.8pp
Homeless—41.4%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025164131513.893.924.07
2024182133683.903.994.09
2023166129583.873.964.03
2022205148733.944.014.13
2021155103613.783.944.02
2020161129603.793.873.93
201915798443.693.934.02
201814494423.783.934.05
201713388373.733.893.95
201612088413.743.883.97
201512781403.803.993.98
201411478413.763.863.92

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20251321810
Berkeley20241432520
Berkeley20231292115
Berkeley20221372012
Berkeley20211032116
Davis2025134336
Davis2024143447
Davis2023133408
Davis20221585919
Davis20211084413
Irvine2025119193
Irvine2024137234
Irvine202313317‹3
Irvine2022152133
Irvine2021113103
Los Angeles2025126114
Los Angeles2024149138
Los Angeles2023131137
Los Angeles2022151128
Los Angeles202111894
Merced20255856‹3
Merced202452473
Merced20235148‹3
Merced202249483
Merced20212927‹3
Riverside202578684
Riverside20247054‹3
Riverside202375545
Riverside202283576
Riverside202155396
San Diego202513217‹3
San Diego2024143299
San Diego202312620‹3
San Diego2022148224
San Diego2021106194
Santa Barbara2025134327
Santa Barbara2024144445
Santa Barbara2023130336
Santa Barbara2022152335
Santa Barbara202110929‹3
Santa Cruz20251077915
Santa Cruz20241227811
Santa Cruz20231156814
Santa Cruz20221355813
Santa Cruz2021935612
Universitywide202516413151
Universitywide202418213368
Universitywide202316612958
Universitywide202220514873
Universitywide202115510361

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count22
AP enrollment587
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 463 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections5
Physics sections11
Chemistry sections13
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,664

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California5815.6%
California State University3810.2%
California community college12232.8%
In-state private225.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year5514.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.3%
Not enrolled7620.4%

372 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 80% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/san-mateo-high-6370"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="San Mateo High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

San Mateo High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.