Public school · San Diego Unified
San Diego Metro Career and Tech
San Diego · 9–12 · 119 students (2024–25)
In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (19 of 20); across California, 89%. Source
- Source
- CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
- Students
- students in the four-year graduation cohort: 20
- Comparison
- California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
Save
Is it good?
How students scored
24 completers, class of 2023
- University of California2 (8%)
- California State University4 (17%)
- California community college13 (54%)
- In-state private0 (0%)
- Out-of-state, 4-year4 (17%)
- Out-of-state, 2-year0 (0%)
- Not enrolled1 (4%)
Source: CDE’s college-going rate for the class of 2023 (enrolled in college within 12 months). Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash means we have no figure for that row; it isn’t zero.
Share of students tested.
Show these bars as a table
| Exceeded | Met | Nearly met | Not met | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| English, grade 11 · San Diego Metro Career and Tech | 27% | 42% | 23% | 8% |
| English, grade 11 · California | 27% | 30% | 20% | 23% |
| Math, grade 11 · San Diego Metro Career and Tech | 0% | 19% | 23% | 58% |
| Math, grade 11 · California | 14% | 16% | 21% | 49% |
tests0%20%40%60%80%20192022202538%57%69%This school57%California
tests0%20%40%60%80%20192022202512%32%19%This school30%California
Show the years as a table
| Met or exceeded | 2019 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| English · This school | 38% | 65% | 50% | 67% | 69% |
| English · California | 57% | 55% | 55% | 56% | 57% |
| Math · This school | 12% | 43% | 12% | 11% | 19% |
| Math · California | 32% | 27% | 27% | 28% | 30% |
English went from 38% in 2019 to 69% in 2025. Math went from 12% in 2019 to 19% in 2025. Each year is a different group of students.
Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
What’s it like
Attendance and discipline
1 of 124 students missed 10% or more of school days.
Who goes here
Students and staff
| Students, 2024–25 | Here |
|---|---|
| White | 44% |
| Hispanic or Latino | 36% |
| Two or more races | 13% |
Half students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (50%, 59 of 119). California: 63%.
Teachers, 2024–25
Getting in
Ask San Diego Unified which school serves your address.
7250 Mesa College Drive, Room K-203, San Diego 92111 · sdmet.sandiegounified.org
- Kearny College Connections0.7 mi81stStrong
- Kearny Digital Media & Design0.7 mi71stSolid
- Kearny Eng Innov & Design0.7 mi78thStrong
Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.
Questions
Questions to ask
The questions from this page, in one place.
Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
Call (619) 388-2299 to ask about a visit.
Common questions
Why does SchoolScope show no score for San Diego Metro Career and Tech?
San Diego Metro Career and Tech has no 2025 Scope Score or rank under SchoolScope's current high-school source rule. CDE's reported 2025 overall College/Career Indicator cohort for this school has 21 students; SchoolScope requires at least 30 for this score.
See the dated CDE results in the source record; a reported result does not by itself create a SchoolScope score.
Explore the data
Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.
| Grade · subject | Students tested with scores | Met or exceeded | Exceeded | Met | Nearly met | Not met | Mean scale score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 · ELA · 2025 | 26 tested with scores | Met or exceeded 69.23% | Exceeded 26.92% | Met 42.31% | Nearly met 23.08% | Not met 7.69% | Mean scale score 2620 |
| All Grades · ELA · 2025 | 26 tested with scores | Met or exceeded 69.23% | Exceeded 26.92% | Met 42.31% | Nearly met 23.08% | Not met 7.69% | Mean scale score unavailable |
| Grade 11 · Math · 2025 | 26 tested with scores | Met or exceeded 19.23% | Exceeded 0% | Met 19.23% | Nearly met 23.08% | Not met 57.69% | Mean scale score 2537.4 |
| All Grades · Math · 2025 | 26 tested with scores | Met or exceeded 19.23% | Exceeded 0% | Met 19.23% | Nearly met 23.08% | Not met 57.69% | Mean scale score unavailable |
ShowHide table 01 — By grade & subgroup
These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.
ELA · 2024–25 results by grade
| ELA | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 26 | 27% | 42% | 23% | 8% | 69% | +21 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools
Math · 2024–25 results by grade
| Math | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 26 | 0% | 19% | 23% | 58% | 19% | −5 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools
We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.
Earlier years · grade and subject
| Year · grade · subject | Students with scores | Met+ |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Grade 11 · ELA | 18 | 66.7% |
| 2024 · Grade 11 · Math | 18 | 11.1% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · ELA | 24 | 50.0% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · Math | 24 | 12.5% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · ELA | 23 | 65.2% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · Math | 23 | 43.5% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · ELA | 32 | 37.5% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · Math | 32 | 12.5% |
Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.
| Science (CAST) | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schoolwide | 27 | 11% | 33% | 52% | 4% |
CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.
ShowHide table 02 — Nearest high schools
| School | Dist | Scope · percentile · band | EXC | MET+ | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| San Diego Metro Career and Tech ← | — | — | 13.5% | 44.2% | 2.4% |
| Kearny College Connections | 0.7 mi | 6981st percentile · Strong · statewide · 2025 | 31.8% | 56.5% | 1.3% |
| Kearny Digital Media & Design | 0.7 mi | 6471st percentile · Solid · statewide · 2025 | 18.3% | 49.0% | 1.3% |
| Kearny Eng Innov & Design | 0.7 mi | 6778th percentile · Strong · statewide · 2025 | 30.4% | 57.2% | 2.5% |
| California average | — | 57School average · no percentile | 20.3% | 43.8% | 3.3% |
Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.
ShowHide table 03 — More measures
Additional workforce records
CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.
CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.
2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: not published. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.
| Measure | Source record |
|---|---|
| This school · CCI overall Prepared | CDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 66.7% · numerator 14 students classified Prepared · denominator 21 CCI students. |
| California · CCI overall Prepared | CDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students. |
SchoolScope withholds the high-school score and rank because the CDE CCI cohort has fewer than 30 students. A CDE-reported rate, including a true 0%, remains source evidence; it is not a zero score. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.
Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
| Assessment year | Scope Score | Percentile | Rank | Comparison group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 42/100 | 15 | #1272 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools |
| 2022 | 51/100 | 48 | #828 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools |
| 2023 | 46/100 | 28 | #1163 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools |
| 2024 | 45/100 | 26 | #1202 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools |
These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.
The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.
Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.
CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.
| Year-over-year school rates |
|---|
| Chronic absenteeism2024 · 0.8% → 2025 · 0.8% · +0.0pp |
| Suspension rate2024 · 0.8% → 2025 · 1.6% · +0.8pp |
ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades
| Year · subject | Students with scores | Exc | Met+ |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 · ELA | 26 | 26.9% | 69.2% |
| 2025 · Math | 26 | 0.0% | 19.2% |
| 2024 · ELA | 18 | 16.7% | 66.7% |
| 2024 · Math | 18 | 5.6% | 11.1% |
| 2023 · ELA | 24 | 25.0% | 50.0% |
| 2023 · Math | 24 | 8.3% | 12.5% |
| 2022 · ELA | 23 | 17.4% | 65.2% |
| 2022 · Math | 23 | 21.7% | 43.5% |
| 2019 · ELA | 32 | 12.5% | 37.5% |
| 2019 · Math | 32 | 9.4% | 12.5% |
Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.
These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.
| Year | Exc | Met+ | Absent | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 10.9% | 25.0% | 11.2% | 1.7% |
| 2022 | 19.6% | 54.4% | 17.4% | 2.1% |
| 2023 | 16.7% | 31.3% | 14.3% | 2.4% |
| 2024 | 11.1% | 38.9% | 14.9% | 2.4% |
| 2025 | 13.5% | 44.2% | 12.1% | 2.4% |
The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.
- — No 2025 SchoolScope score, band or rank is published under this high-school source rule.
ShowHide table 04 — Climate by student group
| Group | 2018–19 | 2024–25 | Δ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 2.9% | 1.3% | -1.6pp |
| Male | 5.3% | 0.0% | -5.3pp |
| Hispanic/Latino | 5.9% | 2.2% | -3.7pp |
| White | 1.8% | 0.0% | -1.8pp |
| Students with Disabilities | 8.0% | 0.0% | -8.0pp |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 5.6% | 1.6% | -4.0pp |
| All Students | 4.1% | 0.8% | -3.3pp |
| Two or More Races | — | 0.0% | — |
Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.
ShowHide table 05 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
| Measure | This school |
|---|---|
| AP offered | not offered |
| AP course count | not reported |
| AP enrollment | not reported |
| IB participation | not offered |
| Dual enrollment | not offered |
| Algebra I in grade 8 | not reported |
| Calculus sections | 0 |
| Physics sections | 2 |
| Chemistry sections | 2 |
| Total enrollment (CRDC) | 137 |
Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.
ShowHide table 06 — College destinations
| Destination | Completers | % (derived) |
|---|---|---|
| University of California | 2 | 8.3% |
| California State University | 4 | 16.7% |
| California community college | 13 | 54.2% |
| In-state private | 0 | 0.0% |
| Out-of-state, 4-year | 4 | 16.7% |
| Out-of-state, 2-year | 0 | 0.0% |
| Not enrolled | 1 | 4.2% |
24 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 96% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.
ShowHide table 07 — Funding source detail
Per-pupil spending
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 97,968 pupils
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records
CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 119
CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 119
CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator
These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.
ShowHide how the California mean was selected
SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.
SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.
ShowHide the district's spending year by year
Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →
ShowHide table 08 — ZIP-area community record
| Measure | Estimate |
|---|---|
| Median household income | $99,644 |
| Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+) | 45.68% |
| ZCTA population | 45,249 |
| Median age | 38.5 years |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.
<iframe
src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/san-diego-metro-career-and-tech-7482"
width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
title="San Diego Metro Career and Tech — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.
EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27
Help us make SchoolScope more useful
Optional. Up to 280 characters.
Anonymous. Your answer stays with us — we don’t publish it.
Thanks — that helps.
SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction