Math
50%Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced
Charter high school
High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.
88% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 50% in math. 98.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.
SchoolScope archetype
Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.
How archetypes are assigned →Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced
Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced
Total enrollment
Four-year graduation rate
Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.
View school performance →Explore teaching, coursework and student-group results. A schoolwide average cannot predict an individual experience.
Explore student experience →Check the address, grade and enrollment requirements directly with the district or school.
Check attendance and enrollment →Use comparable evidence alongside entry requirements, cost and location.
Compare nearby schools →What do the results tell us?
2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.
Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →
Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.
| Year | Math | English |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 34% | 77% |
| 2022 | 21% | 50% |
| 2023 | 36% | 69% |
| 2024 | 39% | 78% |
| 2025 | 50% | 88% |
Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.
Achievement-level percentages are not percentiles. “Developing” here is a test achievement level, separate from the SchoolScope performance band with the same name.
Most rating sites would stop at “69% proficient” and call it done. School for Entrepreneurship and Technology deserves a closer read. It sits at the 76th percentile of 1,647 California high schools — but the ranking is the least interesting thing on this page.
The headline number: 38.8% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.
As a charter, School for Entrepreneurship and Technology enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.
58 tested · 1 of 1 grade published
School for Entrepreneurship and Technology scores 62 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 76th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).
The pandemic drop is behind this school: 69% of students meet the standard today, above the 55% who did in 2019.
| Grade | 2019 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 77% | 50% | 69% | 78% | 88% |
| Grade | 2019 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 34% | 21% | 36% | 39% | 50% |
| Scope | % Exceeded | % Met+ | Grad rate | College readiness | Absence | Suspension | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This school | 62 | 39% | 69% | 98.2% | 3.1% | 11.8% | 3.2% |
| CA average · High School | 54 | 20% | 43% | 92.5% | 43.0% | 23.1% | 3.3% |
Who shares in the school’s results?
At School for Entrepreneurship and Technology in San Diego, 91.2% of white students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 75.2% district-wide and 61.8% statewide. School for Entrepreneurship and Technology outperforms its district average for white students by 16.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: White students (55.9% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 34 students tested.
7 of 11 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.
No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.
What happens after high school?
Class of 2023 · 32 of 51 completers · includes community colleges
Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Context — never part of the Scope Score
CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic
See the full roll →What is it like to be a student here?
Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.
Average teacher experience in the published staffing record. It does not measure individual teacher effectiveness.
The share of students absent for at least 10% of their enrolled school days. Attendance reflects both school and out-of-school circumstances.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Pay is set by the district, not the school.
What sits behind the school experience?
Context — never part of the Scope Score
The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.
District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.
Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →
Context — never part of the Scope Score
At 247 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).
On the state's science test (CAST), 58% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level
What is the school’s approach?
School-stated approach · questions for your visit
A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.
Read the school’s own website ↗What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?
Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”
What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?
Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”
What are the alternatives?
Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.
2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.
No nearby schools in this category are listed. The school being viewed stays visible for reference.
| School | Type | Performance band | Advanced | Proficient or Advanced | Distance | Select |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| School for Entrepreneurship and Technology | Charter | Strong | 39% | 69% | School being viewed | |
| High Tech High Mesa | Charter | Strong | 42% | 69% | 2.0 mi | |
| Kearny College Connections | Public | Solid | 32% | 57% | 0.9 mi | |
| Kearny School of Biomedical Science and Technology | Public | Solid | 21% | 49% | 0.9 mi |
Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.
Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.
Which schools could serve my child?
Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.
School website →Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.
What should I do next?
Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.
Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.
Inspect the full record
Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.
On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.
38.8% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.
| What we weigh | Here | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 98.2% | 92.5% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 38.8% | 19.8% | 22% |
| College readiness | 3.1% | 43.0% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 69.0% | 43.2% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 11.8% | 23.1% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 3.2% | 3.3% | 5% |
Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built
School for Entrepreneurship and Technology posts 38.8% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.
Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.
Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.
Explore the underlying data →Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.
School for Entrepreneurship and Technology is ranked #403 statewide · #11 of 37 in San Diego Unified.
| Factor | School | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 98.2% | 92.5% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 38.8% | 19.8% | 22% |
| College readiness | 3.1% | 43.0% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 69.0% | 43.2% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 11.8% | 23.1% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 3.2% | 3.3% | 5% |
| ELA | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 58 | 52% | 36% | 7% | 5% | 88% | +39 |
| Math | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 58 | 26% | 24% | 24% | 26% | 50% | +26 |
We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.
| Science (CAST) | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schoolwide | 52 | 15% | 42% | 40% | 2% |
CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.
| Subgroup · ELA | Tested | MET+ | vs district | vs CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| White | 34 | 91.2% | +16 | +29 |
| School | Dist | Scope | EXC | MET+ | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| School for Entrepreneurship and Technology ← | — | 62 | 38.8% | 69.0% | 3.2% |
| High Tech High Mesa | 2 mi | 64 | 42.4% | 69.4% | 1.1% |
| Kearny College Connections | 0.9 mi | 56 | 31.8% | 56.5% | 1.3% |
| Kearny School of Biomedical Science and Technology | 0.9 mi | 56 | 20.6% | 49.4% | 0.6% |
| California average | — | 54 | 19.8% | 43.2% | 3.3% |
| Year | Scope | Pctile | Rank | Exc | Met+ | Absent | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 51 | 41 | #887 | 21.3% | 55.3% | 26.8% | 4.9% |
| 2022 | 43 | 24 | #1214 | 10.4% | 35.4% | 35.1% | 6.5% |
| 2023 | 56 | 61 | #633 | 31.0% | 52.6% | 29.9% | 4.5% |
| 2024 | 57 | 63 | #611 | 30.5% | 58.5% | 17.4% | 5.6% |
| 2025 | 62 | 76 | #403 | 38.8% | 69.0% | 11.8% | 3.2% |
| Measure | This school |
|---|---|
| AP offered | not offered |
| AP course count | not reported |
| AP enrollment | not reported |
| IB participation | not offered |
| Dual enrollment | not offered |
| Algebra I in grade 8 | not reported |
| Calculus sections | 0 |
| Physics sections | 4 |
| Chemistry sections | 4 |
| Total enrollment (CRDC) | 196 |
Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.
| Destination | Completers | % (derived) |
|---|---|---|
| University of California | 1 | 2.0% |
| California State University | 1 | 2.0% |
| California community college | 24 | 47.1% |
| In-state private | 1 | 2.0% |
| Out-of-state, 4-year | 5 | 9.8% |
| Out-of-state, 2-year | 0 | 0.0% |
| Not enrolled | 19 | 37.3% |
51 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 63% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.
<iframe
src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/school-for-entrepreneurship-and-technology-2788"
width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
title="School for Entrepreneurship and Technology — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.
EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18
SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction