ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Palos Verdes High

Palos Verdes Estates, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,484 students · Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

78% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 61% in math. 98.5% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

61%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

78%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,484

Total enrollment

Graduation

98.5%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 39%2022: 55%2023: 60%2024: 59%2025: 61%2019: 43%2022: 75%2023: 78%2024: 86%2025: 78%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 39%2022: 55%2023: 60%2024: 59%2025: 61%2019: 43%2022: 75%2023: 78%2024: 86%2025: 78%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201939%43%
202255%75%
202360%78%
202459%86%
202561%78%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 79th to the 97th percentile since 2019 — past roughly 300 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “70% proficient” and call it done. Palos Verdes deserves a closer read. It sits at the 97th percentile of 1,647 California high schools — but the ranking is the least interesting thing on this page.

Palos Verdes's low-income kids hit 76.7% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

314 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Palos Verdes High scores 83 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 97th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 70% of students meet the standard today, above the 41% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 79th percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002022 · 94th percentile · Scope Score 78 of 1002023 · 96th percentile · Scope Score 81 of 1002024 · 97th percentile · Scope Score 83 of 1002025 · 97th percentile · Scope Score 83 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined Significantly)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1143%75%78%86%78%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1139%55%60%59%61%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two-thirds of students here meet the standard. Two in five clear it by a lot.

ELA78% met or exceeded
Exceeded 48%Met 30%Nearly Met 16%Not Met 7%
Math61% met or exceeded
Exceeded 41%Met 20%Nearly Met 18%Not Met 20%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school8345%70%98.5%86.7%15.0%1.0%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope8354
% Exceeded45%20%
% Met+70%43%
Grad rate98.5%92.5%
College readiness86.7%43.0%
Absence15.0%23.1%
Suspension1.0%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

76.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 70% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 70%, district —, state 43%70%
WhiteWhite: this school 70%, district 75%, state 56%70% · −0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 66%, district 78%, state 42%66% · −4 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 73%, district 79%, state 44%73% · +4 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 89%, district 89%, state 72%89% · +20 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 52%, district 61%, state 32%52% · −17 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 63%, district 83%, state 56%63% · −6 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 74%, district 64%, state 32%74% · +4 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 23%, district 42%, state 15%23% · −47 vs school

7 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic10.1% AP · 12.9% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian21.7% AP · 15.4% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black1.7% AP · 2.0% enroll.
White57.3% AP · 60.8% enroll.
Two or more races8.8% AP · 8.2% enroll.
English learners0.8% AP · 1.7% enroll.
Students with disabilities3.1% AP · 9.7% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

90%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 321 of 356 completers · includes community colleges

356Completers
65%
Other colleges231 completers · Outside the California community college system
25%
California community colleges90 completers · Enrolled within a year
10%
Not recorded enrolled35 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

90%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Palos Verdes's class of 2023, 90% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 356 completers, 90% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 44 (12%)California State University 32 (9%)California community college 90 (25%)In-state private 31 (9%)Out-of-state, 4-year 124 (35%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 35 (10%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 46 of Palos Verdes's 333 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Berkeley the most common landing, with 12 enrollees.

Applied177fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted116
Enrolled46
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Berkeley 12Los Angeles 10San Diego 5Santa Barbara 5Davis 4Riverside 4Santa Cruz 4Irvine ‹3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 65 enrolled, 2014

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 90% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (90) than at UC (44).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 23 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Palos Verdes's teachers are authorized to teach 31 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher23 · district 22
Teaching staff70 teachers
Avg. experience20.0 years
Fully credentialed86%
PrincipalTrista Ramirez
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$65,722 – $123,108
Principal salary$141,579 – $192,613
Superintendent salary$300,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers248 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers20 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught31
ShowHide the 31 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (6)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (8)Comparative Government and Politics · European History · Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (4)Chinese Language and Culture · French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (4)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 15.0%, district 9.5%, state 23.1%15.0% · −8.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.0%, district —, state 3.3%1.0% · −2.2pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1214.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $16,503 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $16,503, CA average $14,491$16,503 · spent at this school
District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,611 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 67%Instruction support 7%Student services 8%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,873 per pupil
2019$12,030 per pupil
2018$12,484 per pupil
2017$11,907 per pupil
2016$11,441 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

8% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 59% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino17.2% · district 16.0% · CA 56.1%
White53.4% · district 37.3% · CA 19.9%
Asian16.4% · district 30.1% · CA 10.2%
Black1.8% · district 2.0% · CA 4.8%
Other11.1% · district 14.6% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch8.4% · CA 64%
Median income$216K · CA $85K
Median home value$2.00M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+76% · CA 35%
ZIP population25,059
Median age51 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Palos Verdes HighPublicStrong45%70%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Palos Verdes Estates →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

3 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Palos Verdes High a good high school?
Palos Verdes High has a Scope Score of 83 out of 100, placing it in the 97th percentile of California high schools and ranked #51 statewide. 44.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 24.9 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Palos Verdes High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 69.6% of students at Palos Verdes High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 44.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 44.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 623 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Palos Verdes High rank in California?
Palos Verdes High ranks #51 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 97th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Palos Verdes High?
15.0% of students at Palos Verdes High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.0%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Palos Verdes High compare to other schools in Palos Verdes Estates?
Palos Verdes High scores 83/100 (97th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,484 students. Use the schools in Palos Verdes Estates page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Palos Verdes High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Palos Verdes High in Palos Verdes Estates, 76.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 67.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Palos Verdes High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 8.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (71.0% Math proficient); White students (80.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 51.8 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 30 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Palos Verdes High?
Palos Verdes High's teachers are authorized to teach 31 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Comparative Government and Politics, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Palos Verdes High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 46 Palos Verdes High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

44.8% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate98.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard44.8%19.8%22%
College readiness86.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)50.0%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Palos Verdes High: reading the evidence

Palos Verdes posts 44.8% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Palos Verdes High is ranked #51 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate98.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard44.8%19.8%22%
College readiness86.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)50.0%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 82 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 80 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.4pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 100 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1131448%30%16%7%78%+29
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1130941%20%18%20%61%+38

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide32518%41%39%2%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged3076.7%+9+38
White16080.6%+1+19
Asian6190.2%+3+16
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Palos Verdes High ←—8344.8%69.6%1.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
98.5%
AP Exam Prepared
86.7%
A-G Completion
86.8%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
90.2%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196679#32319.1%41.3%5.7%2.1%
20227894#9136.4%65.3%13.0%1.2%
20238196#7041.6%68.9%11.2%1.3%
20248397#5545.2%72.1%12.6%1.1%
20258397#5144.8%69.6%15.0%1.0%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female5.3%16.3%+11.0pp
Male4.6%12.2%+7.6pp
Asian6.2%11.7%+5.5pp
Black/African American7.0%29.6%+22.6pp
Filipino8.3%10.0%+1.7pp
Hispanic/Latino4.7%13.8%+9.1pp
Two or More Races5.5%13.0%+7.5pp
White4.4%14.9%+10.5pp
Students with Disabilities9.3%21.2%+11.9pp
English Learners6.8%11.4%+4.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged5.7%20.6%+14.9pp
All Students4.9%14.2%+9.3pp
Homeless—22.6%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025177116464.044.094.13
2024175110454.014.144.14
2023187122474.014.144.18
2022182107514.064.174.22
2021225136533.934.074.10
2020178124503.964.054.08
2019201131524.004.084.15
2018243138533.924.084.10
2017181107443.884.024.09
2016197127483.914.064.07
2015188112413.874.034.14
2014265174653.894.064.13

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20251172512
Berkeley20241122011
Berkeley2023121244
Berkeley2022119239
Berkeley20211303620
Davis202596334
Davis202484326
Davis202397454
Davis202292423
Davis202189353
Irvine202511244‹3
Irvine2024123476
Irvine2023119439
Irvine2022104456
Irvine2021114404
Los Angeles20251531710
Los Angeles2024155169
Los Angeles20231552413
Los Angeles20221531510
Los Angeles2021180235
Merced20253331‹3
Merced20241312‹3
Merced20232118‹3
Merced20221715‹3
Merced20212120‹3
Riverside202557504
Riverside20243731‹3
Riverside20234630‹3
Riverside20224029‹3
Riverside202145335
San Diego2025138255
San Diego2024125285
San Diego2023133325
San Diego2022130304
San Diego2021145424
Santa Barbara2025152485
Santa Barbara2024141476
Santa Barbara2023163457
Santa Barbara20221493511
Santa Barbara2021172458
Santa Cruz202574604
Santa Cruz20247043‹3
Santa Cruz2023104634
Santa Cruz202278396
Santa Cruz202185383
Universitywide202517711646
Universitywide202417511045
Universitywide202318712247
Universitywide202218210751
Universitywide202122513653

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Comparative Government and Politicsthis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count33
AP enrollment771
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections5
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections21
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,534

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California4412.4%
California State University329.0%
California community college9025.3%
In-state private318.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year12434.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled359.8%

356 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 90% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/palos-verdes-high-6552"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Palos Verdes High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Palos Verdes High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.