Public school · Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified

Palos Verdes Peninsula High

Rolling Hills Estates · 9–12 · 2,075 students (2024–25)

97thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
87 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 98% of the class graduated in four years (560 of 572); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 572
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Sign in to save this school

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
63%
Met standard
27%
Below standard
10%

90% met or exceeded · 493 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPalos Verdes Peninsula Unified
Exceeded63%27%57%
Met27%30%28%
Nearly met6%20%10%
Not met4%23%5%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
53%
Met standard
22%
Below standard
25%

75% met or exceeded · 495 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPalos Verdes Peninsula Unified
Exceeded53%14%48%
Met22%16%22%
Nearly met15%21%16%
Not met10%49%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 90% met or exceeded the standard in English and 75% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
90%English · met or exceeded the standard75%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 493 in English, 495 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
1.0% of students (21 of 2,107) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about a third of the rate at the average California high school.2024–25
1.0%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,107
Comparison
21 of 2,107. District and California figures are averages of school rates (2 Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
Low-income students here (57 tested in English, 59 in math, grade 11, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than low-income students across California in the same grades (49% and 21%).grade 11 · spring 2025
75%English · met or exceeded56%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
low-income students (CDE: “socioeconomically disadvantaged”) in grade 11: 57 in English, 59 in math
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 57 students in English and 59 in math.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school90%
California57%

Tested: 493 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school90%
Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified85%

Tested: 493 here · 807 in Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 2 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPalos Verdes Peninsula Unified
Exceeded63%27%57%
Met27%30%28%
Nearly met6%20%10%
Not met4%23%5%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school75%
California30%

Tested: 495 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school75%
Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified70%

Tested: 495 here · 804 in Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 2 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPalos Verdes Peninsula Unified
Exceeded53%14%48%
Met22%16%22%
Nearly met15%21%16%
Not met10%49%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

School pattern, spring 2025High CeilingThe average Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 50%.
School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

98%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 560 of 572 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

82%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

88%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

89% enrolled in college within 12 months · 546 high-school completers

  • University of California109 · 20%
  • California State University70 · 13%
  • California community college142 · 26%
  • In-state private36 · 7%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year127 · 23%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year2 · 0%
  • Not enrolled60 · 11%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
339
Admitted
277
Enrolled
132

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 339 · Admitted 277 · Enrolled 132
  • Fall 2024Applied 350 · Admitted 259 · Enrolled 119
  • Fall 2023Applied 355 · Admitted 245 · Enrolled 115
  • Fall 2022Applied 363 · Admitted 245 · Enrolled 113
  • Fall 2021Applied 375 · Admitted 268 · Enrolled 130
  • Fall 2020Applied 311 · Admitted 229 · Enrolled 102
  • Fall 2019Applied 378 · Admitted 258 · Enrolled 132
  • Fall 2018Applied 374 · Admitted 274 · Enrolled 107
  • Fall 2017Applied 366 · Admitted 254 · Enrolled 119
  • Fall 2016Applied 389 · Admitted 288 · Enrolled 123
  • Fall 2015Applied 389 · Admitted 280 · Enrolled 122
  • Fall 2014Applied 376 · Admitted 274 · Enrolled 114
  • Fall 2013Applied 335 · Admitted 234 · Enrolled 105
  • Fall 2012Applied 347 · Admitted 265 · Enrolled 122
  • Fall 2011Applied 305 · Admitted 237 · Enrolled 123
  • Fall 2010Applied 355 · Admitted 320 · Enrolled 143
  • Fall 2009Applied 358 · Admitted 323 · Enrolled 154
  • Fall 2008Applied 320 · Admitted 300 · Enrolled 160
  • Fall 2007Applied 352 · Admitted 323 · Enrolled 153
  • Fall 2006Applied 365 · Admitted 332 · Enrolled 175
  • Fall 2005Applied 360 · Admitted 331 · Enrolled 173
  • Fall 2004Applied 449 · Admitted 372 · Enrolled 226
  • Fall 2003Applied 428 · Admitted 392 · Enrolled 225
  • Fall 2002Applied 346 · Admitted 311 · Enrolled 171
  • Fall 2001Applied 372 · Admitted 334 · Enrolled 179
  • Fall 2000Applied 369 · Admitted 315 · Enrolled 160
  • Fall 1999Applied 358 · Admitted 292 · Enrolled 171
  • Fall 1998Applied 364 · Admitted 309 · Enrolled 185
  • Fall 1997Applied 381 · Admitted 323 · Enrolled 188
  • Fall 1996Applied 324 · Admitted 265 · Enrolled 165
  • Fall 1995Applied 346 · Admitted 298 · Enrolled 161
  • Fall 1994Applied 300 · Admitted 260 · Enrolled 159

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 236 · Admitted 42 · Enrolled 25
  • DavisApplied 229 · Admitted 79 · Enrolled Masked
  • IrvineApplied 274 · Admitted 111 · Enrolled 18
  • Los AngelesApplied 270 · Admitted 25 · Enrolled 14
  • MercedApplied 90 · Admitted 88 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 197 · Admitted 180 · Enrolled 24
  • San DiegoApplied 289 · Admitted 58 · Enrolled 17
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 267 · Admitted 89 · Enrolled 21
  • Santa CruzApplied 160 · Admitted 117 · Enrolled 9

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 5
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science A
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Statistics
Sciences 7
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics 1
  • Physics 2
  • Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism
  • Physics C: Mechanics
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 6
  • European History
  • Microeconomics
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 6
  • Chinese Language and Culture
  • French Language and Culture
  • Japanese Language and Culture
  • Latin
  • Spanish Language and Culture
  • Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts 5
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • 3-D Art and Design
  • Art History
  • Drawing
  • Music Theory
AP Capstone 2
  • Research
  • Seminar

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
397 of 472 Prepared students · 84.1%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 572 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
20 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

14 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
14in 100 at the average Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

282 of 2,095 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school14 in 100
at the average Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified school14 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.0%of students were suspended at least once (21 of 2,107), 2024–25
1.0%at the average Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

57 English · 59 math tested

English75% / 49%
Math56% / 21%

Asian

184 English · 186 math tested

English93% / 80%
Math89% / 67%

White

151 English · 148 math tested

English93% / 68%
Math74% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

69 English · 71 math tested

English75% / 49%
Math44% / 19%

Two or more races

55 English · 56 math tested

English91% / 67%
Math77% / 42%

Students with disabilities

30 tested per subject

English47% / 18%
Math20% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Palos Verdes Peninsula Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 57 tested in English, 59 in math
English75%075%+2649%
Math56%−561%+3521%
Asian · 184 tested in English, 186 in math
English93%+192%+1380%
Math89%+188%+2267%
White · 151 tested in English, 148 in math
English93%+786%+2568%
Math74%+866%+3242%
Hispanic or Latino · 69 tested in English, 71 in math
English75%+372%+2649%
Math44%+242%+2519%
Two or more races · 55 tested in English, 56 in math
English91%+1180%+2467%
Math77%+374%+3542%
Students with disabilities · 30 tested
English47%+1037%+2918%
Math20%−121%+146%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Black or African American and Filipino students and English learners: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students here did far better than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Palos Verdes Peninsula High in Rolling Hills Estates, 75.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 75.3% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Palos Verdes Peninsula High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 0.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (55.9% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (92.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 55.2 percentage points: students with disabilities in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 57 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Asian: 38%2. White: 30%3. Hispanic or Latino: 15%4. Two or more races: 11%5. Filipino: 3%6. Black or African American: 2%7. Not reported: <1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Asian38%
  2. White30%
  3. Hispanic or Latino15%
  4. Two or more races11%
  5. Filipino3%
  6. Black or African American2%
  7. Not reported<1%
  8. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  9. Pacific Islander—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Asian38%
White30%
Hispanic or Latino15%
Two or more races11%
Filipino3%
Black or African American2%
Not reported<1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 1 in 8 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (12%, 244 of 2,075). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers99
Average experience21 years
First-year teachers0%
92% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 91.65%: 89.1 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 97.3 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryMira Catalina ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddlePalos Verdes IntermediateHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolPalos Verdes Peninsula HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Mira Catalina Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    89th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Dapplegray Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    84th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Lunada Bay Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    93rd percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Silver Spur Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    96th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Soleado Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    97th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Vista Grande Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    96th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Montemalaga Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    95th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    88% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Rancho Vista Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    96th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    75% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Point Vicente Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    96th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

  • Cornerstone at Pedregal Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    99th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Palos Verdes Intermediate

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    94th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Miraleste Intermediate

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    85th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Ridgecrest Intermediate

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    97th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified which school serves your address.

pvphs.com

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
27118 Silver Spur Road, Rolling Hills Estates 90274

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (310) 377-4888 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Tamalpais HighTamalpais Union High · 1,470 enrolled · 11.8% meal eligibility89thStrong
  • Henry M. Gunn HighPalo Alto Unified · 1,643 enrolled · 11.7% meal eligibility98thStrong
  • Westview HighPoway Unified · 2,116 enrolled · 11.9% meal eligibility97thStrong
  • Canyon Crest AcademySan Dieguito Union High · 2,147 enrolled · 11.4% meal eligibility99thStrong
  • Leland HighSan Jose Unified · 1,471 enrolled · 11.3% meal eligibility97thStrong
  • Oak Park HighOak Park Unified · 1,483 enrolled · 12.4% meal eligibility98thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 3.8–19.8% meal eligibility and 1,038–4,150 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Palos Verdes Peninsula High a good high school?
Palos Verdes Peninsula High is in the 97th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 87 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 98% of the class graduated in four years (560 of 572); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Palos Verdes Peninsula High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 90% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 75% the math standard; 63% and 53% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 493 students were tested in English and 495 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Palos Verdes Peninsula High rank in California?
Palos Verdes Peninsula High is in the 97th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Strong, 2025). Palos Verdes Peninsula High ranks #35 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Palos Verdes Peninsula High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 13.5% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 282 chronically absent of 2,095 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.0%; 21 unduplicated suspended students of 2,107 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 14.0%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.1%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Palos Verdes Peninsula High compare to other schools in Rolling Hills Estates?
Palos Verdes Peninsula High is in the 97th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,075 students. Use the schools in Rolling Hills Estates page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Palos Verdes Peninsula High?
At Palos Verdes Peninsula High in Rolling Hills Estates, 75.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 75.3% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Palos Verdes Peninsula High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 0.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (55.9% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (92.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 55.2 percentage points: students with disabilities in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 57 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Palos Verdes Peninsula High?
Palos Verdes Peninsula High had own-school AP authorizations for 33 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Japanese Language and Culture, Latin, Microeconomics, Music Theory, Physics 1, Physics 2, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Palos Verdes Peninsula High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 132 Palos Verdes Peninsula High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Palos Verdes Peninsula High is ranked #35 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.9%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard57.8%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared82.5%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded82.4%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism14.0%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)25.3%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 96 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 74 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 84 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1149363%27%7%4%90%+41

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1149553%22%15%10%75%+51

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA49885.3%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math50073.8%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA50288.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math49375.7%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA43282.4%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math42273.7%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA46876.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math47176.2%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide50333%39%24%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged5775.4%+0+27
Asian18492.9%+1+13
White15193.4%+7+26
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Palos Verdes Peninsula High ←—8797th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202557.8%82.4%1.1%
South High2.1 mi7589th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202539.1%68.3%2.3%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$65,722 – $123,108
Average elementary principal salary$141,579
Average middle school principal salary$155,191
Average high school principal salary$192,613
Superintendent salary$300,000

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 87/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 82.5% · numerator 472 students classified Prepared · denominator 572 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 84.1% · AP-pathway numerator 397 · denominator 472 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 472 of 572 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201986/10097#42California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202286/10097#36California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202388/10097#34California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202487/10098#28California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 12.5% → 2025 · 13.5% · +1.0pp
Suspension rate2024 · 1.1% → 2025 · 1.0% · −0.1pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA49362.9%89.7%
2025 · Math49552.7%75.2%
2024 · ELA49859.2%85.3%
2024 · Math50049.0%73.8%
2023 · ELA50258.8%88.3%
2023 · Math49347.9%75.7%
2022 · ELA43255.3%82.4%
2022 · Math42246.9%73.7%
2019 · ELA46849.8%76.3%
2019 · Math47155.8%76.2%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
97.9%
AP pathway among Prepared
84.1%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
87.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
89.0%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201952.8%76.3%7.5%1.6%
202251.1%78.1%16.3%1.2%
202353.3%82.0%10.9%1.2%
202454.1%79.6%13.1%1.2%
202557.8%82.4%14.0%1.1%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female7.8%14.1%+6.3pp
Male6.0%12.8%+6.8pp
Asian4.6%10.1%+5.5pp
Black/African American8.5%12.0%+3.5pp
Filipino1.1%11.3%+10.2pp
Hispanic/Latino7.8%20.3%+12.5pp
Two or More Races10.2%9.8%-0.4pp
White8.5%16.3%+7.8pp
Students with Disabilities12.3%25.1%+12.8pp
English Learners8.0%16.3%+8.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged8.9%21.0%+12.1pp
All Students6.9%13.5%+6.6pp
Homeless—18.2%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20253392771323.964.034.08
20243502591193.924.014.09
20233552451153.984.074.12
20223632451134.014.094.14
20213752681303.924.044.08
20203112291023.934.024.08
20193782581323.934.034.09
20183742741073.974.064.14
20173662541193.874.034.07
20163892881233.853.944.03
20153892801223.873.994.05
20143762741143.833.954.05

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252364225
Berkeley20242323221
Berkeley20232312810
Berkeley20222443416
Berkeley20212535122
Davis202522979masked
Davis20242517611
Davis20232408113
Davis20222146611
Davis20212219514
Irvine202527411118
Irvine20242939531
Irvine20232838530
Irvine20222858417
Irvine20212859420
Los Angeles20252702514
Los Angeles20242772211
Los Angeles20232822316
Los Angeles20223032718
Los Angeles20213063121
Merced20259088masked
Merced20245753masked
Merced20234341masked
Merced202265625
Merced202153465
Riverside202519718024
Riverside202415713014
Riverside202313810512
Riverside202214811723
Riverside202115210316
San Diego20252895817
San Diego2024291528
San Diego20233024313
San Diego2022287405
San Diego2021294618
Santa Barbara20252678921
Santa Barbara20242757214
Santa Barbara20232806513
Santa Barbara20222947615
Santa Barbara20212929017
Santa Cruz20251601179
Santa Cruz20241801069
Santa Cruz2023163967
Santa Cruz2022178673
Santa Cruz2021166797
Universitywide2025339277132
Universitywide2024350259119
Universitywide2023355245115
Universitywide2022363245113
Universitywide2021375268130

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Japanese Language and Culturethis school
Latinthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics 1this school
Physics 2this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count34
AP enrollment1,234
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections6
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections23
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,353

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California10920.0%
California State University7012.8%
California community college14226.0%
In-state private366.6%
Out-of-state, 4-year12723.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.4%
Not enrolled6011.0%

546 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 89% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$12,873 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 10,503 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

Central federal expenditures attributed here$79 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,075

District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,611 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 67%Instruction support 7%Student services 8%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$12,873 per pupil
2020$12,030 per pupil
2019$12,484 per pupil
2018$11,907 per pupil
2017$11,441 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 90274
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 90274
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$215,925
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)76.31%
ZCTA population25,059
Median age51.1 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/palos-verdes-peninsula-high-5588"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Palos Verdes Peninsula High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction