Public school · Saddleback Valley Unified

Mission Viejo High

Mission Viejo · 9–12 · 1,566 students (2024–25)

81stpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
69 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 97% of the class graduated in four years (377 of 389); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 389
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
35%
Met standard
34%
Below standard
31%

69% met or exceeded · 323 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaddleback Valley Unified
Exceeded35%27%33%
Met34%30%32%
Nearly met18%20%18%
Not met13%23%17%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
24%
Met standard
22%
Below standard
54%

46% met or exceeded · 327 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaddleback Valley Unified
Exceeded24%14%21%
Met22%16%20%
Nearly met27%21%21%
Not met27%49%38%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 69% met or exceeded the standard in English and 46% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
69%English · met or exceeded the standard46%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 323 in English, 327 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
0.9% of students (15 of 1,634) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, against 3.2% at the average California high school.2024–25
0.9%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 1,634
Comparison
15 of 1,634. District and California figures are averages of school rates (5 Saddleback Valley Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
Low-income students here (128 tested in English, 130 in math, grade 11, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than low-income students across California in the same grades (49% and 21%).grade 11 · spring 2025
63%English · met or exceeded32%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
low-income students (CDE: “socioeconomically disadvantaged”) in grade 11: 128 in English, 130 in math
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 128 students in English and 130 in math.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school69%
California57%

Tested: 323 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school69%
Saddleback Valley Unified65%

Tested: 323 here · 1,777 in Saddleback Valley Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 6 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaddleback Valley Unified
Exceeded35%27%33%
Met34%30%32%
Nearly met18%20%18%
Not met13%23%17%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school46%
California30%

Tested: 327 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school46%
Saddleback Valley Unified41%

Tested: 327 here · 1,785 in Saddleback Valley Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 6 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaddleback Valley Unified
Exceeded24%14%21%
Met22%16%20%
Nearly met27%21%21%
Not met27%49%38%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

97%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 377 of 389 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

75%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

60%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

81% enrolled in college within 12 months · 414 high-school completers

  • University of California31 · 7%
  • California State University34 · 8%
  • California community college200 · 48%
  • In-state private8 · 2%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year57 · 14%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year7 · 2%
  • Not enrolled77 · 19%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
98
Admitted
66
Enrolled
25

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 98 · Admitted 66 · Enrolled 25
  • Fall 2024Applied 119 · Admitted 77 · Enrolled 35
  • Fall 2023Applied 108 · Admitted 59 · Enrolled 35
  • Fall 2022Applied 118 · Admitted 57 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 2021Applied 137 · Admitted 72 · Enrolled 40
  • Fall 2020Applied 119 · Admitted 67 · Enrolled 38
  • Fall 2019Applied 151 · Admitted 93 · Enrolled 52
  • Fall 2018Applied 122 · Admitted 68 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 2017Applied 151 · Admitted 76 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 2016Applied 132 · Admitted 74 · Enrolled 35
  • Fall 2015Applied 136 · Admitted 74 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 2014Applied 148 · Admitted 79 · Enrolled 46
  • Fall 2013Applied 125 · Admitted 77 · Enrolled 40
  • Fall 2012Applied 143 · Admitted 85 · Enrolled 48
  • Fall 2011Applied 142 · Admitted 80 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2010Applied 122 · Admitted 104 · Enrolled 47
  • Fall 2009Applied 142 · Admitted 130 · Enrolled 56
  • Fall 2008Applied 181 · Admitted 163 · Enrolled 77
  • Fall 2007Applied 134 · Admitted 120 · Enrolled 53
  • Fall 2006Applied 159 · Admitted 135 · Enrolled 70
  • Fall 2005Applied 114 · Admitted 108 · Enrolled 59
  • Fall 2004Applied 107 · Admitted 79 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 2003Applied 120 · Admitted 98 · Enrolled 39
  • Fall 2002Applied 97 · Admitted 90 · Enrolled 54
  • Fall 2001Applied 131 · Admitted 112 · Enrolled 75
  • Fall 2000Applied 113 · Admitted 97 · Enrolled 64
  • Fall 1999Applied 104 · Admitted 97 · Enrolled 61
  • Fall 1998Applied 115 · Admitted 97 · Enrolled 62
  • Fall 1997Applied 81 · Admitted 70 · Enrolled 41
  • Fall 1996Applied 84 · Admitted 72 · Enrolled 40
  • Fall 1995Applied 74 · Admitted 55 · Enrolled 38
  • Fall 1994Applied 73 · Admitted 63 · Enrolled 33

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 46 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled 3
  • DavisApplied 41 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled Masked
  • IrvineApplied 73 · Admitted 9 · Enrolled 3
  • Los AngelesApplied 65 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled 4
  • MercedApplied 27 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 35 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 5
  • San DiegoApplied 70 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 52 · Admitted 13 · Enrolled 4
  • Santa CruzApplied 31 · Admitted 22 · Enrolled 4

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 5
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science A
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Statistics
Sciences 3
  • Biology
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics 1
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 3
  • Human Geography
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 2
  • French Language and Culture
  • Spanish Language and Culture
Arts 2
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • Drawing

International Baccalaureate

  • Diploma Programme

Matched IB World Schools directory record · retrieved 2026-08-13. Confirm current programme availability with the school.

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
165 of 291 Prepared students · 56.7%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 390 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
104 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

14 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
22in 100 at the average Saddleback Valley Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

233 of 1,608 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school14 in 100
at the average Saddleback Valley Unified school22 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
0.9%of students were suspended at least once (15 of 1,634), 2024–25
0.9%at the average Saddleback Valley Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

128 English · 130 math tested

English63% / 49%
Math32% / 21%

White

161 English · 163 math tested

English76% / 68%
Math53% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

111 English · 112 math tested

English59% / 49%
Math29% / 19%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Saddleback Valley Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 128 tested in English, 130 in math
English63%+1251%+1449%
Math32%+824%+1121%
White · 161 tested in English, 163 in math
English76%+274%+868%
Math53%+350%+1142%
Hispanic or Latino · 111 tested in English, 112 in math
English59%+1148%+1049%
Math29%+821%+1019%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Saddleback Valley Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Asian and homeless students, students of two or more races, English learners and students with disabilities: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income students here did far better than the same group statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Mission Viejo High in Mission Viejo, 63.3% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 50.8% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Mission Viejo High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 12.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (31.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (76.4% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 62.7 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 128 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 47%2. Hispanic or Latino: 34%3. Two or more races: 7%4. Asian: 6%5. Filipino: 2%6. Black or African American: 2%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White47%
  2. Hispanic or Latino34%
  3. Two or more races7%
  4. Asian6%
  5. Filipino2%
  6. Black or African American2%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White47%
Hispanic or Latino34%
Two or more races7%
Asian6%
Filipino2%
Black or African American2%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 2 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (41%, 641 of 1,566). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers72
Average experience17 years
First-year teachers10%
85% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 85.35%: 67.2 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 78.7 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryLomarena ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleLink not recordedAsk the district about this stage.
  3. High schoolMission Viejo HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Lomarena Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    49th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • San Joaquin Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Valencia Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    86th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Glen Yermo Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    48th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Del Lago Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    56th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Robinson Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    69th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Trabuco Mesa Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    80th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Cielo Vista Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    56th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • De Portola Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    90th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    83% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Melinda Heights Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    81st percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    81% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Trabuco Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    50th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    75% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Foothill Ranch Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    94th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    71% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Ralph A. Gates DLI Magnet Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    70th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

  • Portola Hills Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    97th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

  • Linda Vista Magnet Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    55th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

  • Del Cerro Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    79th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

  • Montevideo Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    75th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

  • La Madera Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    78th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Rancho Santa Margarita Intermediate

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    73% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Los Alisos Intermediate

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    40% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • La Paz Intermediate

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    25% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Saddleback Valley Unified which school serves your address.

mvhs.svusd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
25025 Chrisanta Drive, Mission Viejo 92691

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (949) 837-7722 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Mark Keppel HighAlhambra Unified · 2,201 enrolled · 40.9% meal eligibility87thStrong
  • Analy HighWest Sonoma County Union High · 1,473 enrolled · 40.9% meal eligibility64thSolid
  • Adolfo Camarillo HighOxnard Union High · 1,969 enrolled · 40.9% meal eligibility66thSolid
  • Westmoor HighJefferson Union High · 1,278 enrolled · 40.8% meal eligibility59thSolid
  • Vanden HighTravis Unified · 1,631 enrolled · 41.1% meal eligibility58thSolid
  • Jefferson HighJefferson Union High · 1,072 enrolled · 41.1% meal eligibility35thDeveloping
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 32.9–48.9% meal eligibility and 783–3,132 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Mission Viejo High a good high school?
Mission Viejo High is in the 81st percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 69 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 97% of the class graduated in four years (377 of 389); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Mission Viejo High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 69% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 46% the math standard; 35% and 24% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 323 students were tested in English and 327 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Mission Viejo High rank in California?
Mission Viejo High is in the 81st percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Strong, 2025). Mission Viejo High ranks #281 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Mission Viejo High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 14.5% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 233 chronically absent of 1,608 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 0.9%; 15 unduplicated suspended students of 1,634 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 15.3%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.0%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Mission Viejo High compare to other schools in Mission Viejo?
Mission Viejo High is in the 81st percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,566 students. Use the schools in Mission Viejo page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Mission Viejo High?
At Mission Viejo High in Mission Viejo, 63.3% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 50.8% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Mission Viejo High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 12.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (31.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (76.4% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 62.7 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 128 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Mission Viejo High?
Mission Viejo High had own-school AP authorizations for 17 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Physics 1, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Mission Viejo High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 25 Mission Viejo High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Mission Viejo High is ranked #281 statewide · #2 of 5 in Saddleback Valley Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.9%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard29.4%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared74.6%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded57.5%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.3%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.9%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 69 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.2pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1132335%34%17%13%69%+21

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1132724%22%27%27%46%+22

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA37370.5%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math37537.6%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA39979.2%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math39845.2%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA40570.1%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math40539.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA46070.2%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math46044.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide34016%37%41%6%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged12863.3%+13+15
White16176.4%+2+9
Hispanic/Latino11158.6%+10+10
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Mission Viejo High ←—6981st percentile · Strong · statewide · 202529.4%57.5%1.0%
Laguna Hills High1.7 mi6268th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202519.4%42.9%1.4%
El Toro High2.7 mi6369th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202524.7%52.2%0.8%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Silverado Highscored within its class, not statewide1.7 mi2559th percentile · Solid · within class · 20250.8%8.2%8.0%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$30,000 – $133,169
Average elementary principal salary$162,720
Average middle school principal salary$174,885
Average high school principal salary$187,915
Superintendent salary$356,227

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 69/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 74.6% · numerator 291 students classified Prepared · denominator 390 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 56.7% · AP-pathway numerator 165 · denominator 291 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 291 of 390 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201967/10081#285California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202265/10081#294California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202371/10088#195California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202467/10082#286California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 13.6% → 2025 · 14.5% · +0.9pp
Suspension rate2024 · 0.7% → 2025 · 0.9% · +0.2pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA32335.3%69.3%
2025 · Math32723.6%45.6%
2024 · ELA37339.4%70.5%
2024 · Math37519.2%37.6%
2023 · ELA39946.9%79.2%
2023 · Math39821.4%45.2%
2022 · ELA40536.8%70.1%
2022 · Math40515.8%39.3%
2019 · ELA46038.7%70.2%
2019 · Math46022.8%44.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
96.9%
AP pathway among Prepared
56.7%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
60.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
81.4%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201930.8%57.2%11.4%0.8%
202226.3%54.7%16.9%2.0%
202334.1%62.2%15.4%2.0%
202429.3%54.1%14.3%0.8%
202529.4%57.5%15.3%1.0%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female12.2%15.9%+3.7pp
Male9.6%13.3%+3.7pp
Asian4.9%10.4%+5.5pp
Black/African American10.8%18.8%+8.0pp
Filipino9.7%5.3%-4.4pp
Hispanic/Latino13.0%17.9%+4.9pp
Two or More Races11.8%12.8%+1.0pp
White10.4%12.8%+2.4pp
Students with Disabilities17.9%24.1%+6.2pp
English Learners17.0%23.9%+6.9pp
Homeless24.4%27.8%+3.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged16.9%19.8%+2.9pp
All Students10.9%14.5%+3.6pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20259866253.833.974.09
202411977353.894.014.04
202310859353.863.974.06
202211857303.964.074.09
202113772403.843.984.08
202011967383.864.034.10
201915193523.924.074.06
201812268303.844.034.06
201715176373.773.954.01
201613274353.723.943.98
201513674373.834.044.11
201414879463.723.943.91

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20254653
Berkeley2024518masked
Berkeley2023475masked
Berkeley2022634masked
Berkeley20216154
Davis20254114masked
Davis202456194
Davis20235012masked
Davis20225310masked
Davis202150184
Irvine20257393
Irvine202482249
Irvine202372219
Irvine202276196
Irvine202196245
Los Angeles20256554
Los Angeles20248486
Los Angeles2023675masked
Los Angeles20228774
Los Angeles20219566
Merced20252727masked
Merced2024109masked
Merced20231211masked
Merced20221412masked
Merced20211616masked
Riverside202535335
Riverside202425213
Riverside202335214
Riverside202226215
Riverside202148309
San Diego20257014masked
San Diego202485208
San Diego202379137
San Diego20228013masked
San Diego202196185
Santa Barbara202552134
Santa Barbara20247019masked
Santa Barbara202368226
Santa Barbara202274185
Santa Barbara202184165
Santa Cruz202531224
Santa Cruz20244330masked
Santa Cruz202343255
Santa Cruz202242135
Santa Cruz20214113masked
Universitywide2025986625
Universitywide20241197735
Universitywide20231085935
Universitywide20221185730
Universitywide20211377240

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Physics 1this school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count15
AP enrollment630
IB participationoffered · 545 enrolled
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections4
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections16
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,949

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California317.5%
California State University348.2%
California community college20048.3%
In-state private81.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year5713.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year71.7%
Not enrolled7718.6%

414 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 81% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$12,689 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 24,954 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$2 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,566

Central federal expenditures attributed here$926 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,566

District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,633 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 65%Instruction support 12%Student services 9%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 8%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$12,689 per pupil
2020$11,164 per pupil
2019$11,797 per pupil
2018$10,660 per pupil
2017$10,377 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92691
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92691
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$141,045
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)47.93%
ZCTA population45,841
Median age44.3 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/mission-viejo-high-4956"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Mission Viejo High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction