Public school · Capistrano Unified

Aliso Niguel High

Aliso Viejo · 9–12 · 2,563 students (2024–25)

88thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
74 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 96% of the class graduated in four years (627 of 651); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 651
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
52%
Met standard
26%
Below standard
22%

78% met or exceeded · 624 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaCapistrano Unified
Exceeded52%27%44%
Met26%30%29%
Nearly met13%20%15%
Not met9%23%12%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
32%
Met standard
20%
Below standard
48%

52% met or exceeded · 623 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaCapistrano Unified
Exceeded32%14%27%
Met20%16%23%
Nearly met22%21%22%
Not met26%49%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 78% met or exceeded the standard in English and 52% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
78%English · met or exceeded the standard52%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 624 in English, 623 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
1.3% of students (35 of 2,634) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, against 3.2% at the average California high school.2024–25
1.3%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,634
Comparison
35 of 2,634. District and California figures are averages of school rates (8 Capistrano Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
Low-income students here (207 tested in English, 209 in math, grade 11, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than low-income students across California in the same grades (49% and 21%).grade 11 · spring 2025
67%English · met or exceeded36%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
low-income students (CDE: “socioeconomically disadvantaged”) in grade 11: 207 in English, 209 in math
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 207 students in English and 209 in math.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school78%
California57%

Tested: 624 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school78%
Capistrano Unified73%

Tested: 624 here · 3,891 in Capistrano Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 10 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaCapistrano Unified
Exceeded52%27%44%
Met26%30%29%
Nearly met13%20%15%
Not met9%23%12%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school52%
California30%

Tested: 623 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school52%
Capistrano Unified50%

Tested: 623 here · 3,882 in Capistrano Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 10 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaCapistrano Unified
Exceeded32%14%27%
Met20%16%23%
Nearly met22%21%22%
Not met26%49%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

96%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 627 of 651 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

72%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

65%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

88% enrolled in college within 12 months · 724 high-school completers

  • University of California79 · 11%
  • California State University66 · 9%
  • California community college325 · 45%
  • In-state private31 · 4%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year131 · 18%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year3 · 0%
  • Not enrolled89 · 12%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
221
Admitted
171
Enrolled
78

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 221 · Admitted 171 · Enrolled 78
  • Fall 2024Applied 236 · Admitted 166 · Enrolled 78
  • Fall 2023Applied 252 · Admitted 165 · Enrolled 84
  • Fall 2022Applied 256 · Admitted 144 · Enrolled 79
  • Fall 2021Applied 274 · Admitted 152 · Enrolled 82
  • Fall 2020Applied 225 · Admitted 161 · Enrolled 90
  • Fall 2019Applied 256 · Admitted 171 · Enrolled 103
  • Fall 2018Applied 221 · Admitted 127 · Enrolled 70
  • Fall 2017Applied 211 · Admitted 130 · Enrolled 83
  • Fall 2016Applied 207 · Admitted 138 · Enrolled 75
  • Fall 2015Applied 210 · Admitted 133 · Enrolled 72
  • Fall 2014Applied 209 · Admitted 144 · Enrolled 84
  • Fall 2013Applied 190 · Admitted 124 · Enrolled 67
  • Fall 2012Applied 188 · Admitted 134 · Enrolled 82
  • Fall 2011Applied 185 · Admitted 134 · Enrolled 75
  • Fall 2010Applied 192 · Admitted 166 · Enrolled 81
  • Fall 2009Applied 190 · Admitted 172 · Enrolled 96
  • Fall 2008Applied 183 · Admitted 157 · Enrolled 88
  • Fall 2007Applied 185 · Admitted 165 · Enrolled 95
  • Fall 2006Applied 142 · Admitted 126 · Enrolled 69
  • Fall 2005Applied 158 · Admitted 142 · Enrolled 77
  • Fall 2004Applied 154 · Admitted 122 · Enrolled 79
  • Fall 2003Applied 164 · Admitted 152 · Enrolled 81+
  • Fall 2002Applied 190 · Admitted 169 · Enrolled 108
  • Fall 2001Applied 158 · Admitted 131 · Enrolled 87
  • Fall 2000Applied 130 · Admitted 107 · Enrolled 78
  • Fall 1999Applied 131 · Admitted 107 · Enrolled 67
  • Fall 1998Applied 132 · Admitted 111 · Enrolled 73
  • Fall 1997Applied 140 · Admitted 115 · Enrolled 71
  • Fall 1996Applied 100 · Admitted 86 · Enrolled 60
  • Fall 1995Applied 71 · Admitted 54 · Enrolled 35

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 123 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled 7
  • DavisApplied 126 · Admitted 52 · Enrolled Masked
  • IrvineApplied 149 · Admitted 39 · Enrolled 5
  • Los AngelesApplied 172 · Admitted 16 · Enrolled 7
  • MercedApplied 47 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 99 · Admitted 95 · Enrolled 9
  • San DiegoApplied 176 · Admitted 57 · Enrolled 28
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 171 · Admitted 57 · Enrolled 8
  • Santa CruzApplied 94 · Admitted 82 · Enrolled 11

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 5
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science A
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Statistics
Sciences 7
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics 1
  • Physics 2
  • Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism
  • Physics C: Mechanics
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 5
  • European History
  • Human Geography
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
World Languages & Cultures 3
  • French Language and Culture
  • Spanish Language and Culture
  • Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts 5
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • 3-D Art and Design
  • Art History
  • Drawing
  • Music Theory
AP Capstone 2
  • Research
  • Seminar

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
363 of 469 Prepared students · 77.4%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 652 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
93 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
255 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

15 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
17in 100 at the average Capistrano Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

401 of 2,611 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school15 in 100
at the average Capistrano Unified school17 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.3%of students were suspended at least once (35 of 2,634), 2024–25
1.2%at the average Capistrano Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

207 English · 209 math tested

English67% / 49%
Math36% / 21%

White

308 English · 309 math tested

English81% / 68%
Math57% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

137 tested per subject

English62% / 49%
Math28% / 19%

Asian

85 tested per subject

English91% / 80%
Math78% / 67%

Two or more races

66 English · 65 math tested

English80% / 67%
Math49% / 42%

Students with disabilities

73 English · 72 math tested

English29% / 18%
Math6% / 6%

Military families

58 tested per subject

English60% / 58%
Math48% / 30%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Capistrano Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 207 tested in English, 209 in math
English67%+562%+1849%
Math36%+135%+1521%
White · 308 tested in English, 309 in math
English81%−182%+1368%
Math57%−158%+1542%
Hispanic or Latino · 137 tested
English62%+359%+1349%
Math28%−230%+919%
Asian · 85 tested
English91%−192%+1180%
Math78%+276%+1167%
Two or more races · 66 tested in English, 65 in math
English80%−484%+1367%
Math49%−1059%+742%
Students with disabilities · 73 tested in English, 72 in math
English29%−433%+1118%
Math6%−511%06%
Military families · 58 tested
English60%−666%+258%
Math48%+543%+1830%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Capistrano Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Filipino and homeless students and English learners: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, American Indian or Alaska Native and Pacific Islander students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income students here did far better than the same group statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Aliso Niguel High in Aliso Viejo, 67.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 61.7% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Aliso Niguel High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 5.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (36.4% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (80.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 70.4 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 208 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 49%2. Hispanic or Latino: 22%3. Asian: 14%4. Two or more races: 7%5. Filipino: 3%6. Not reported: 3%7. Black or African American: <1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White49%
  2. Hispanic or Latino22%
  3. Asian14%
  4. Two or more races7%
  5. Filipino3%
  6. Not reported3%
  7. Black or African American<1%
  8. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  9. Pacific Islander—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White49%
Hispanic or Latino22%
Asian14%
Two or more races7%
Filipino3%
Not reported3%
Black or African American<1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

1 in 3 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (33%, 848 of 2,563). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers141
Average experience18 years
First-year teachers1%
88% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 88.32%: 108.5 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 122.8 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryOak Grove ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleAliso Viejo MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolAliso Niguel HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Oak Grove Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    80th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Marian Bergeson Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    90th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Laguna Niguel Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    90th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Wood Canyon Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    71st percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Don Juan Avila Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    84th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Canyon Vista Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    98th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Moulton Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    89th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Aliso Viejo Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    91st percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Don Juan Avila Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    91st percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Capistrano Unified which school serves your address.

alisoniguel.capousd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
28000 Wolverine Way, Aliso Viejo 92656

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (949) 831-5590 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 25.1–41.1% meal eligibility and 1,282–5,126 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Aliso Niguel High a good high school?
Aliso Niguel High is in the 88th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 74 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 96% of the class graduated in four years (627 of 651); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Aliso Niguel High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 78% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 52% the math standard; 52% and 32% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 624 students were tested in English and 623 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Aliso Niguel High rank in California?
Aliso Niguel High is in the 88th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Strong, 2025). Aliso Niguel High ranks #176 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Aliso Niguel High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 15.4% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 401 chronically absent of 2,611 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.3%; 35 unduplicated suspended students of 2,634 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 15.8%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.4%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Aliso Niguel High compare to other schools in Aliso Viejo?
Aliso Niguel High is in the 88th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,563 students. Use the schools in Aliso Viejo page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Aliso Niguel High?
At Aliso Niguel High in Aliso Viejo, 67.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 61.7% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Aliso Niguel High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 5.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (36.4% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (80.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 70.4 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 208 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Aliso Niguel High?
Aliso Niguel High had own-school AP authorizations for 29 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Music Theory, Physics 1, Physics 2, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Aliso Niguel High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 78 Aliso Niguel High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Aliso Niguel High is ranked #176 statewide · #2 of 8 in Capistrano Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.3%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard42.1%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared71.9%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded65.3%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.8%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)16.9%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 79 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 67 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 72 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.6pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.7pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1162452%26%13%9%78%+29

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1162332%20%22%26%52%+29

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA60375.6%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math60552.6%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA60782.4%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math61058.2%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA69382.1%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math69057.8%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA74579.1%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math73954.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide65727%35%35%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20867.2%+5+18
White30880.5%−1+13
Hispanic/Latino13862.0%+3+13
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Aliso Niguel High ←—7488th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202542.1%65.3%1.4%
Laguna Hills High2.5 mi6268th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202519.4%42.9%1.4%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$65,219 – $130,638
Average elementary principal salary$185,421
Average middle school principal salary$197,661
Average high school principal salary$206,216
Superintendent salary$348,333

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 74/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 71.9% · numerator 469 students classified Prepared · denominator 652 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 77.4% · AP-pathway numerator 363 · denominator 469 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 469 of 652 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201976/10091#124California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202278/10094#93California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202379/10094#88California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202474/10092#128California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 16.0% → 2025 · 15.4% · −0.6pp
Suspension rate2024 · 4.1% → 2025 · 1.3% · −2.8pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA62451.9%78.0%
2025 · Math62332.3%52.5%
2024 · ELA60346.1%75.6%
2024 · Math60529.3%52.6%
2023 · ELA60753.7%82.4%
2023 · Math61034.8%58.2%
2022 · ELA69352.0%82.1%
2022 · Math69034.2%57.8%
2019 · ELA74550.9%79.1%
2019 · Math73928.8%54.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
96.3%
AP pathway among Prepared
77.4%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
65.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
87.7%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201939.9%66.6%9.0%2.6%
202243.1%70.0%20.7%3.1%
202344.2%70.3%17.5%3.4%
202437.7%64.1%16.4%4.1%
202542.1%65.3%15.8%1.4%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female8.2%15.5%+7.3pp
Male9.1%15.1%+6.0pp
Asian4.2%8.9%+4.7pp
Black/African American12.0%17.4%+5.4pp
Filipino5.7%6.0%+0.3pp
Hispanic/Latino10.4%21.6%+11.2pp
Pacific Islander9.1%——
Two or More Races7.8%15.9%+8.1pp
White9.1%14.8%+5.7pp
Students with Disabilities17.1%27.5%+10.4pp
English Learners14.3%30.3%+16.0pp
Homeless15.2%24.3%+9.1pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged13.0%21.0%+8.0pp
All Students8.7%15.4%+6.7pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
2025221171783.974.024.10
2024236166783.883.973.99
2023252165843.894.004.09
2022256144793.944.024.13
2021274152823.873.994.06
2020225161903.873.973.98
20192561711033.924.014.03
2018221127703.833.974.02
2017211130833.833.974.05
2016207138753.813.954.05
2015210133723.793.984.01
2014209144843.793.883.89

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025123147
Berkeley2024129123
Berkeley2023139127
Berkeley202212884
Berkeley2021134115
Davis202512652masked
Davis2024136486
Davis20231274210
Davis20221373011
Davis2021127398
Irvine2025149395
Irvine20241724211
Irvine20231934119
Irvine20221823915
Irvine2021179305
Los Angeles2025172167
Los Angeles20241781813
Los Angeles20231941511
Los Angeles20221691715
Los Angeles20211861915
Merced20254746masked
Merced20243633masked
Merced20234240masked
Merced20223735masked
Merced20214036masked
Riverside202599959
Riverside20241159622
Riverside2023106849
Riverside2022815815
Riverside2021866218
San Diego20251765728
San Diego2024190488
San Diego20231933310
San Diego2022207164
San Diego20211944516
Santa Barbara2025171578
Santa Barbara2024187549
Santa Barbara2023180409
Santa Barbara20221782810
Santa Barbara2021196315
Santa Cruz2025948211
Santa Cruz2024114716
Santa Cruz2023122809
Santa Cruz2022117395
Santa Cruz2021129449
Universitywide202522117178
Universitywide202423616678
Universitywide202325216584
Universitywide202225614479
Universitywide202127415282

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics 1this school
Physics 2this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count20
AP enrollment1,006
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 255 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections13
Chemistry sections17
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,896

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California7910.9%
California State University669.1%
California community college32544.9%
In-state private314.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year13118.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.4%
Not enrolled8912.3%

724 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 88% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$12,431 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 43,719 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$200 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,563

Central federal expenditures attributed here$787 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,563

District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,166 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 64%Instruction support 10%Student services 10%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$12,431 per pupil
2020$11,341 per pupil
2019$10,665 per pupil
2018$9,388 per pupil
2017$8,875 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92656
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92656
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$137,639
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)57.43%
ZCTA population52,229
Median age39.2 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/aliso-niguel-high-0574"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Aliso Niguel High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction