ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

King/Drew Medical Magnet High

Los Angeles, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,381 students · Los Angeles Unified

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

75% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 39% in math. 100.0% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

39%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

75%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,381

Total enrollment

Graduation

100.0%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 37%2022: 27%2023: 35%2024: 37%2025: 39%2019: 69%2022: 63%2023: 77%2024: 69%2025: 75%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 37%2022: 27%2023: 35%2024: 37%2025: 39%2019: 69%2022: 63%2023: 77%2024: 69%2025: 75%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201937%69%
202227%63%
202335%77%
202437%69%
202539%75%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 77th to the 85th percentile since 2019 — past roughly 100 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “57% proficient” and call it done. King/Drew Medical Magnet deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

King/Drew Medical Magnet's low-income kids hit 73.4% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

312 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

King/Drew Medical Magnet High scores 68 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 85th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 57% of students meet the standard today, above the 53% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002022 · 72nd percentile · Scope Score 60 of 1002023 · 81st percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002024 · 81st percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002025 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1169%63%77%69%75%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1137%27%35%37%39%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA75% met or exceeded
Exceeded 34%Met 41%Nearly Met 17%Not Met 9%
Math39% met or exceeded
Exceeded 15%Met 25%Nearly Met 30%Not Met 30%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6824%57%100.0%58.2%21.1%0.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6854
% Exceeded24%20%
% Met+57%43%
Grad rate100.0%92.5%
College readiness58.2%43.0%
Absence21.1%23.1%
Suspension0.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

73.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 57% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 57%, district —, state 43%57%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 56%, district 36%, state 32%56% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 60%, district 42%, state 44%60% · +3 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 61%, district 36%, state 32%61% · +4 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 54%, district 30%, state 26%54% · −3 vs school
MaleMale: this school 53%, district 41%, state 42%53% · −4 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 41%, district 14%, state 15%41% · −16 vs school

6 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic65.8% AP · 55.4% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian0.8% AP · 0.8% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black31.8% AP · 42.2% enroll.
White1.2% AP · 1.1% enroll.
Two or more races0.4% AP · 0.4% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 1.8% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.9% AP · 4.0% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

81%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 271 of 334 completers · includes community colleges

334Completers
58%
Other colleges193 completers · Outside the California community college system
23%
California community colleges78 completers · Enrolled within a year
19%
Not recorded enrolled63 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

81%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of King/Drew Medical Magnet's class of 2023, 81% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 334 completers, 81% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 66 (20%)California State University 88 (26%)California community college 78 (23%)In-state private 12 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 26 (8%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 63 (19%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 48 of King/Drew Medical Magnet's 273 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Los Angeles the most common landing, with 10 enrollees.

Applied153fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted135
Enrolled48
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Los Angeles 10Riverside 10San Diego 10Davis 7Berkeley 4Merced 4Irvine ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 70 enrolled, 2023

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 81% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (78) than at UC (66).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 20 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

King/Drew Medical Magnet's teachers are authorized to teach 25 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher20 · district 20
Teaching staff70 teachers
Avg. experience15.4 years
Fully credentialed87%
First-year teachers7%
PrincipalReginald Brookens
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers128 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers50 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught25
ShowHide the 25 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (7)African American Studies · Human Geography · Microeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (4)French Language and Culture · Latin · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 21.1%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%21.1% · −1.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.3%, district —, state 3.3%0.3% · −3.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1220.6%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $24,264 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,707 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $24,264, CA average $14,491$24,264 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,707 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 46% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino47.6% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White0.9% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.3% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black47.4% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other3.8% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch90.2% · CA 64%
Median income$56K · CA $85K
Median home value$584K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+10% · CA 35%
ZIP population37,511
Median age32 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
King/Drew Medical Magnet HighPublicStrong24%57%School being viewed
Compton Early College HighPublicStrong39%71%3.2 mi
Middle College HighPublicStrong43%80%0.4 mi
Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy HighCharterStrong25%54%2.3 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Los Angeles →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

12 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is King/Drew Medical Magnet High a good high school?
King/Drew Medical Magnet High has a Scope Score of 68 out of 100, placing it in the 85th percentile of California high schools and ranked #243 statewide. 24.4% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 4.5 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are King/Drew Medical Magnet High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 57.0% of students at King/Drew Medical Magnet High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 24.4% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 32.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 24.4% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 624 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does King/Drew Medical Magnet High rank in California?
King/Drew Medical Magnet High ranks #243 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 85th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at King/Drew Medical Magnet High?
21.1% of students at King/Drew Medical Magnet High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.3%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does King/Drew Medical Magnet High compare to other schools in Los Angeles?
King/Drew Medical Magnet High scores 68/100 (85th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,381 students. Use the schools in Los Angeles page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does King/Drew Medical Magnet High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At King/Drew Medical Magnet High in Los Angeles, 73.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. King/Drew Medical Magnet High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 32.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (39.2% Math proficient); Hispanic students (74.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 9.3 percentage points for black students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 278 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at King/Drew Medical Magnet High?
King/Drew Medical Magnet High's teachers are authorized to teach 25 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, African American Studies, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Latin, Microeconomics, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from King/Drew Medical Magnet High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 48 King/Drew Medical Magnet High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How fast English learners gain fluency carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

40.7% of English learners reached the top ELPAC level, versus 18.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard24.4%19.8%22%
College readiness58.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded57.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)40.7%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

King/Drew Medical Magnet High: reading the evidence

King/Drew Medical Magnet posts 57% meeting the standard, and 24.4% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High is ranked #243 statewide · #28 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard24.4%19.8%22%
College readiness58.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded57.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)40.7%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.5pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 90 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1131234%41%17%9%75%+26
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1131215%25%30%30%39%+16

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3159%38%51%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged27873.4%+32+35
Hispanic/Latino17374.6%+34+36
Black/African American13377.4%+42+45
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
King/Drew Medical Magnet High ←—6824.4%57.0%0.3%
Compton Early College High3.2 mi8339.2%71.2%1.0%
Middle College High0.4 mi7742.9%79.9%0.5%
Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High2.3 mi6624.7%53.7%0.5%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
100.0%
AP Exam Prepared
58.2%
A-G Completion
85.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
81.1%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196577#35421.1%53.0%11.3%0.2%
20226072#44015.3%45.0%28.2%0.3%
20236681#30422.7%56.3%26.3%0.5%
20246581#31722.8%52.9%21.6%0.4%
20256885#24324.4%57.0%21.1%0.3%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female12.6%23.8%+11.2pp
Male7.1%16.2%+9.1pp
Asian9.1%——
Black/African American12.4%25.1%+12.7pp
Hispanic/Latino9.3%16.9%+7.6pp
White23.1%7.7%-15.4pp
Students with Disabilities11.1%27.4%+16.3pp
English Learners13.6%35.5%+21.9pp
Homeless0.0%35.0%+35.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged11.3%21.2%+9.9pp
All Students10.6%20.6%+10.0pp
Two or More Races—22.2%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025153135483.743.784.04
2024180146593.733.864.03
2023175140703.743.894.02
2022205146693.733.904.05
202115693373.463.713.87
2020140109593.703.803.91
201915297553.663.913.97
201816298533.653.893.98
201713089663.623.823.79
201613792563.623.783.81
201513964393.674.004.05
201410358363.713.974.02

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202568114
Berkeley202476157
Berkeley202377204
Berkeley202281189
Berkeley2021478‹3
Davis202572257
Davis202479479
Davis202364365
Davis202257233
Davis20215011‹3
Irvine202511215‹3
Irvine202414626‹3
Irvine2023117255
Irvine20221622911
Irvine2021107267
Los Angeles20251121410
Los Angeles20241342518
Los Angeles20231372316
Los Angeles20221631914
Los Angeles20211171712
Merced202585824
Merced20246053‹3
Merced202353463
Merced202266575
Merced202162517
Riverside202512610510
Riverside2024127858
Riverside20231267511
Riverside2022120759
Riverside2021100483
San Diego2025993510
San Diego20241075713
San Diego20231115523
San Diego20221154712
San Diego202175255
Santa Barbara20252610‹3
Santa Barbara20244617‹3
Santa Barbara202346163
Santa Barbara202266184
Santa Barbara20213911‹3
Santa Cruz20251911‹3
Santa Cruz20243418‹3
Santa Cruz20233413‹3
Santa Cruz20222810‹3
Santa Cruz2021289‹3
Universitywide202515313548
Universitywide202418014659
Universitywide202317514070
Universitywide202220514669
Universitywide20211569337

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
African American Studiesthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Latinthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count20
AP enrollment485
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections4
Physics sections6
Chemistry sections15
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,589

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California6619.8%
California State University8826.4%
California community college7823.4%
In-state private123.6%
Out-of-state, 4-year267.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.3%
Not enrolled6318.9%

334 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 81% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/king-drew-medical-magnet-high-3001"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="King/Drew Medical Magnet High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

King/Drew Medical Magnet High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.