ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

John Henry High

Richmond, CA · Grades 9-12 · 333 students · SBE - John Henry High

Three in four leave college-ready. But suspensions run 2× the state rate.

30% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 32% in math. 78.8% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

DistrictSBE - John Henry High
PrincipalAdrienne Barnes
Grades9-12
Enrollment333 students

Math

32%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

30%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

333

Total enrollment

Graduation

78.8%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2022: 9%2023: 10%2024: 15%2025: 32%2022: 45%2023: 26%2024: 41%2025: 30%20222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2022: 9%2023: 10%2024: 15%2025: 32%2022: 45%2023: 26%2024: 41%2025: 30%2022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20229%45%
202310%26%
202415%41%
202532%30%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2022 to 2025

Has stayed near the 32nd percentile since 2022.

Most rating sites would stop at “31% proficient” and call it done. John Henry deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

The headline number: 76.9% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

As a charter, John Henry enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

88 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

John Henry High scores 48 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 32nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2022 · 28th percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002023 · 25th percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002024 · 34th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002025 · 32nd percentile · Scope Score 48 of 100
ELARed(Declined Significantly)MathYellow(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 1145%26%41%30%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 119%10%15%32%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA30% met or exceeded
Exceeded 8%Met 22%Nearly Met 30%Not Met 41%
Math32% met or exceeded
Exceeded 14%Met 18%Nearly Met 31%Not Met 38%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2022–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4811%31%78.8%76.9%18.1%6.5%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4854
% Exceeded11%20%
% Met+31%43%
Grad rate78.8%92.5%
College readiness76.9%43.0%
Absence18.1%23.1%
Suspension6.5%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide.

At John Henry High in Richmond, 27.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 27.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. John Henry High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 0.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (27.6% Math proficient); Hispanic students (31.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 21.0 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 76 students tested.

Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 11 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 31% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 31%, district —, state 43%31%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 32%, district 32%, state 32%32% · +1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 28%, district 28%, state 32%28% · −3 vs school
MaleMale: this school 29%, district 29%, state 42%29% · −2 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 24%, district 24%, state 11%24% · −6 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 33%, district 33%, state 44%33% · +3 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 9%, district 9%, state 15%9% · −22 vs school

5 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — English learners students were 29% of John Henry's enrollment but 9% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic97.3% AP · 96.9% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian1.4% AP · 1.0% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 1.7% enroll.
White0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Two or more races1.4% AP · 0.3% enroll.
English learners9.5% AP · 29.5% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.4% AP · 8.9% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

63%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 39 of 62 completers · includes community colleges

62Completers
40%
Other colleges25 completers · Outside the California community college system
23%
California community colleges14 completers · Enrolled within a year
37%
Not recorded enrolled23 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

63%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of John Henry's class of 2023, 63% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 62 completers, 63% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 15 (24%)California State University 10 (16%)California community college 14 (23%)In-state private 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 4-year 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 23 (37%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 4 of John Henry's 63 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Berkeley the most common landing, with 3 enrollees.

Applied22fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted14
Enrolled4
ShowHide the UC campus list
Where they landed (fall 2025)

6 of 7 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 63% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year.

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 30 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

John Henry's teachers are authorized to teach 6 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Spanish Language and Culture, 2-D Art and Design, and English Language and Composition.

Students per teacher30 · district 30
Teaching staff12 teachers
Avg. experience8.3 years
Fully credentialed53%
First-year teachers8%
Intern / emergency permit4.5%
PrincipalAdrienne Barnes
Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers40 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught6
ShowHide the 6 AP courses by discipline
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (2)United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)2-D Art and Design

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Ask on a visit

Ask about the discipline philosophy and what a typical suspension is for. Numbers can't tell you whether a campus feels strict or chaotic — a visit can.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 18.1%, district 18.1%, state 23.1%18.1% · −4.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 6.5%, district —, state 3.3%6.5% · +3.3pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1215.8%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2019–20

It spends $18,685 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,685, CA average $14,491$18,685 · spent at this school
This schoolDistrictCalifornia

50% of district spending reaches instruction — CA average is 60%.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2018–2020 — the newest published
2020$16,072 per pupil
2019$12,277 per pupil
2018$12,931 per pupil
The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 333 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 17% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino89.5% · district 89.5% · CA 56.1%
White3.9% · district 3.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.3% · district 0.3% · CA 10.2%
Black3.6% · district 3.6% · CA 4.8%
Other2.7% · district 2.7% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch86.2% · CA 64%
Median income$91K · CA $85K
Median home value$632K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+33% · CA 35%
ZIP population44,891
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
John Henry HighCharterDeveloping11%31%School being viewed
Leadership Public Schools: RichmondCharterSolid15%45%1.5 mi
Richmond HighPublicNeeds Support7%24%2.7 mi
John F. Kennedy HighPublicNeeds Support2%12%1.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Richmond →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

8 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

  • Ask what typically leads to a suspension, and what happens before it gets there.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is John Henry High a good high school?
John Henry High has a Scope Score of 48 out of 100, placing it in the 32nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,117 statewide. 10.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 9.0 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are John Henry High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 30.7% of students at John Henry High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 10.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 19.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 10.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 176 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does John Henry High rank in California?
John Henry High ranks #1,117 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 32nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at John Henry High?
18.1% of students at John Henry High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 6.5%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does John Henry High compare to other schools in Richmond?
John Henry High scores 48/100 (32nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 333 students. Use the schools in Richmond page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does John Henry High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At John Henry High in Richmond, 27.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 27.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. John Henry High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 0.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (27.6% Math proficient); Hispanic students (31.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 21.0 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 76 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at John Henry High?
John Henry High's teachers are authorized to teach 6 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Spanish Language and Culture, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from John Henry High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 4 John Henry High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels sit just under the state's.

76.9% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate78.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard10.8%19.8%22%
College readiness76.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded30.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate6.5%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

John Henry High: reading the evidence

John Henry has real strengths and one number that complicates them. Most rating sites show you one or the other. Both belong on the same page.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

John Henry High is ranked #1,117 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate78.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard10.8%19.8%22%
College readiness76.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded30.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate6.5%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 74 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 4.2pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 37 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.2pp higher vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11888%22%30%41%30%−19
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 118814%18%31%38%32%+8

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide861%16%67%15%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged7627.6%+0−11
Hispanic/Latino7931.6%+0−7
English Learners358.6%+0−2
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
John Henry High ←—4810.8%30.7%6.5%
Leadership Public Schools: Richmond1.5 mi6114.8%45.0%2.8%
Richmond High2.7 mi317.0%24.1%12.4%
John F. Kennedy High1.6 mi312.5%12.3%10.3%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
78.8%
AP Exam Prepared
76.9%
A-G Completion
82.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
62.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20224428#11584.5%26.9%28.0%6.2%
20234425#12302.7%17.8%11.0%4.7%
20244734#10847.5%28.0%13.9%5.3%
20254832#111710.8%30.7%18.1%6.5%
What we can't show
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 11 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female—19.1%—
Male—13.2%—
Black/African American—8.3%—
Hispanic/Latino—16.3%—
White—23.1%—
Students with Disabilities—15.8%—
English Learners—22.8%—
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged—15.7%—
All Students—15.8%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2018–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025221443.893.90—
2024241773.623.854.01
20232821173.573.703.76
2022261873.643.814.07
2021312383.683.824.07
2020272153.723.774.04
20192216103.823.933.91
201810843.603.68—

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20251933
Berkeley20242233
Berkeley20232565
Berkeley202222‹3‹3
Berkeley202126‹3‹3
Davis2025185‹3
Davis202422103
Davis202324106
Davis2022255‹3
Davis20212694
Irvine20256‹3‹3
Irvine20245‹3‹3
Irvine20237‹3‹3
Irvine202283‹3
Los Angeles20257‹3‹3
Los Angeles202418‹3‹3
Los Angeles202315‹3‹3
Los Angeles202210‹3‹3
Los Angeles2021153‹3
Merced202588‹3
Merced202476‹3
Merced202314134
Merced202215153
Merced20211816‹3
Riverside20235‹3‹3
San Diego202583‹3
San Diego20246‹3‹3
San Diego2023113‹3
San Diego202274‹3
Santa Barbara202363‹3
Santa Barbara20225‹3‹3
Santa Barbara202183‹3
Santa Cruz2025106‹3
Santa Cruz2024135‹3
Santa Cruz2023156‹3
Santa Cruz202215‹3‹3
Santa Cruz20211710‹3
Universitywide202522144
Universitywide202424177
Universitywide2023282117
Universitywide202226187
Universitywide202131238

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count5
AP enrollment74
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)292

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California1524.2%
California State University1016.1%
California community college1422.6%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled2337.1%

62 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 63% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/john-henry-high-2233"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="John Henry High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

John Henry High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.