ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

John Finney High (Continuation)

Vallejo, CA · Grades 9-12 · 141 students · Vallejo City Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

10% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 1% in math. 74.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

1%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

10%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

141

Total enrollment

Graduation

74.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 3%2023: 0%2024: 4%2025: 1%2019: 17%2022: 5%2023: 14%2024: 4%2025: 10%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 3%2023: 0%2024: 4%2025: 1%2019: 17%2022: 5%2023: 14%2024: 4%2025: 10%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20190%17%
20223%5%
20230%14%
20244%4%
20251%10%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

6% of students here meet the standard. 0% clear it by a lot.

ELA10% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 10%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 65%
Math1% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 1%Nearly Met 4%Not Met 95%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school200%6%74.7%0.0%73.3%3.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope2054
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+6%43%
Grad rate74.7%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence73.3%23.1%
Suspension3.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide.

At John Finney High (Continuation) in Vallejo, 9.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 23.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. John Finney High (Continuation) trails its district average for low-income students by 13.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (1.5% Math proficient); Hispanic students (5.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 10.3 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 64 students tested.

Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 29 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 6% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 6%, district —, state 43%6%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 5%, district 20%, state 32%5% · −0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 4%, district 19%, state 32%4% · −2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 2%, district 20%, state 42%2% · −3 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 9%, district 24%, state 44%9% · +4 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 0%, district 7%, state 11%0% · −6 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 11%, district 15%, state 26%11% · +6 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 0%, district 8%, state 15%0% · −6 vs school

5 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

18%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 22 of 120 completers · includes community colleges

120Completers
3%
Other colleges3 completers · Outside the California community college system
16%
California community colleges19 completers · Enrolled within a year
82%
Not recorded enrolled98 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
18%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college19 (16%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year2 (2%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (1%)
  • Not enrolled98 (82%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 18 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher18 · district 24
Teaching staff10 teachers
Avg. experience17.7 years
Fully credentialed72%
Intern / emergency permit11.8%
PrincipalSylvia Whitson
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$59,813 – $111,308
Principal salary$140,845 – $157,447
Superintendent salary$306,368

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

73.3% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 73.3%, district 31.4%, state 23.1%73.3% · +50.3pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.4%, district —, state 3.3%3.4% · +0.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1281.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $30,396 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$182 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $30,396, CA average $14,491$30,396 · spent at this school
Federal share$182 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$27,521 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 63%Instruction support 9%Student services 9%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 11%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,178 per pupil
2019$12,777 per pupil
2018$13,268 per pupil
2017$11,239 per pupil
2016$11,022 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 141 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 3% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino70.2% · district 54.8% · CA 56.1%
White6.4% · district 4.8% · CA 19.9%
Black17.0% · district 19.4% · CA 4.8%
Other6.4% · district 18.5% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 41.8% · Male 56.7% · Non-binary 1.4%
Free or reduced lunch86.5% · CA 64%
Median income$65K · CA $85K
Median home value$531K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+27% · CA 35%
ZIP population37,128
Median age39 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
John Finney High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicDeveloping0%6%School being viewed
MIT AcademyCharterDeveloping15%37%2.6 mi
Griffin Academy HighCharterNeeds Support20%45%1.4 mi
Vallejo HighPublicNeeds Support9%27%0.1 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Vallejo →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

4 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Vallejo City Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is John Finney High (Continuation) a good high school?
John Finney High (Continuation) has a Scope Score of 20 out of 100, placing it in the 30th percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #235 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 0.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 19.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are John Finney High (Continuation)'s CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 5.8% of students at John Finney High (Continuation) met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 0.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 5.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 0.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 157 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does John Finney High (Continuation) rank among California continuation high schools?
John Finney High (Continuation) ranks #235 among California continuation high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 30th percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at John Finney High (Continuation)?
73.3% of students at John Finney High (Continuation) are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does John Finney High (Continuation) compare to other schools in Vallejo?
John Finney High (Continuation) scores 20/100 (30th percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 141 students. Use the schools in Vallejo page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does John Finney High (Continuation) serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At John Finney High (Continuation) in Vallejo, 9.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 23.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. John Finney High (Continuation) trails its district average for low-income students by 13.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (1.5% Math proficient); Hispanic students (5.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 10.3 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 64 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate74.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard0.0%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded5.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism73.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)3.6%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

John Finney High (Continuation): reading the evidence

John Finney High (Continuation) posts 6% meeting the standard and 0.0% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

John Finney High (Continuation) is ranked #235 of California continuation high schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate74.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard0.0%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded5.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism73.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)3.6%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 37 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 28 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 15 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 4.9pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.1pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 32 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11780%10%24%65%10%−38
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11790%1%4%95%1%−22

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide620%3%61%35%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged649.4%−14−29
Hispanic/Latino515.9%−17−33
English Learners280.0%−7−10
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
John Finney High (Continuation) ←200.0%5.8%3.4%
MIT Academy2.6 mi4914.8%36.9%3.8%
Griffin Academy High1.4 mi4220.1%44.7%9.1%
Vallejo High0.1 mi379.0%27.1%9.8%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
74.7%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
18.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20192138#2130.0%8.7%68.3%4.8%
20221929#2390.0%3.8%79.1%6.7%
20232133#2310.0%7.2%62.7%10.5%
20242139#2041.0%3.7%68.4%2.3%
20252030#2350.0%5.8%73.3%3.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 29 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female92.3%86.2%-6.1pp
Male73.6%77.2%+3.6pp
Black/African American79.4%73.8%-5.6pp
Hispanic/Latino84.3%82.4%-1.9pp
White88.2%100.0%+11.8pp
Students with Disabilities74.2%91.2%+17.0pp
English Learners85.2%80.0%-5.2pp
Homeless100.0%86.7%-13.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged83.4%81.4%-2.0pp
All Students81.6%81.3%-0.3pp
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections3
Total enrollment (CRDC)139

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college1915.8%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year21.7%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.8%
Not enrolled9881.7%

120 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 18% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/john-finney-high-continuation-8058"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="John Finney High (Continuation) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-08

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

John Finney High (Continuation)

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.