ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

MIT Academy

Vallejo, CA · Grades 9-12 · 473 students · Vallejo City Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

48% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 25% in math. 94.1% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

25%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

48%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

473

Total enrollment

Graduation

94.1%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 35%2022: 22%2023: 21%2024: 17%2025: 25%2019: 66%2022: 56%2023: 52%2024: 56%2025: 48%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 35%2022: 22%2023: 21%2024: 17%2025: 25%2019: 66%2022: 56%2023: 52%2024: 56%2025: 48%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201935%66%
202222%56%
202321%52%
202417%56%
202525%48%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 57th to the 39th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “37% proficient” and call it done. MIT Academy deserves a closer read. Three in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

As a charter, MIT Academy enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

122 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

MIT Academy scores 49 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 39th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 37% meet the standard today, versus 51% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 57th percentile · Scope Score 56 of 1002022 · 52nd percentile · Scope Score 52 of 1002023 · 33rd percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002024 · 34th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002025 · 39th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined)MathYellow(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1166%56%52%56%48%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1135%22%21%17%25%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA48% met or exceeded
Exceeded 21%Met 27%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 27%
Math25% met or exceeded
Exceeded 8%Met 17%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 50%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4915%37%94.1%32.8%28.4%3.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4954
% Exceeded15%20%
% Met+37%43%
Grad rate94.1%92.5%
College readiness32.8%43.0%
Absence28.4%23.1%
Suspension3.8%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

At MIT Academy in Vallejo, 41.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 23.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. MIT Academy outperforms its district average for low-income students by 18.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (17.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (38.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 37.3 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 96 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 37% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 37%, district —, state 43%37%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 30%, district 20%, state 32%30% · −7 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 26%, district 19%, state 32%26% · −11 vs school
MaleMale: this school 37%, district 20%, state 42%37% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 36%, district 24%, state 44%36% · −0 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 54%, district 44%, state 65%54% · +17 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 8%, district 7%, state 11%8% · −29 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 8%, state 15%13% · −23 vs school

7 of 15 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 48% of MIT Academy's enrollment and 78% of its AP seats — ahead of their share of the student body.

Hispanic78.2% AP · 47.9% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 27.0% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 1.0% enroll.
Black10.9% AP · 13.7% enroll.
White9.1% AP · 10.0% enroll.
Two or more races1.8% AP · 0.6% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 9.2% enroll.
Students with disabilities3.6% AP · 8.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

65%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 59 of 91 completers · includes community colleges

91Completers
31%
Other colleges28 completers · Outside the California community college system
34%
California community colleges31 completers · Enrolled within a year
35%
Not recorded enrolled32 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
65%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California7 (8%)
  • California State University20 (22%)
  • California community college31 (34%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (1%)
  • Not enrolled32 (35%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 26 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

MIT Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 3 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus AB, Computer Science A, and Environmental Science.

Students per teacher26 · district 24
Teaching staff21 teachers
Avg. experience8.7 years
Fully credentialed73%
PrincipalNick Driver
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$59,813 – $111,308
Principal salary$140,845 – $157,447
Superintendent salary$306,368

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers21 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught3
ShowHide the 3 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (2)Calculus AB · Computer Science A
Sciences (1)Environmental Science

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

28.4% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 28.4%, district 31.4%, state 23.1%28.4% · +5.3pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.8%, district —, state 3.3%3.8% · +0.5pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

Its district spends $13,178 per student, less than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $13,178, CA average $14,491$13,178 · district average
District current expense · FY 2024–25$27,521 per student
District averageCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 63%Instruction support 9%Student services 9%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 11%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,178 per pupil
2019$12,777 per pupil
2018$13,268 per pupil
2017$11,239 per pupil
2016$11,022 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 473 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 42% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino59.4% · district 54.8% · CA 56.1%
White4.2% · district 4.8% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.8% · district 2.5% · CA 10.2%
Black8.9% · district 19.4% · CA 4.8%
Other24.7% · district 18.5% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch63.2% · CA 64%
Median income$93K · CA $85K
Median home value$540K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+23% · CA 35%
ZIP population29,990
Median age41 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
MIT AcademyCharterDeveloping15%37%School being viewed
American Canyon HighPublicSolid18%47%1.1 mi
Griffin Academy HighCharterNeeds Support20%45%1.2 mi
Vallejo HighPublicNeeds Support9%27%2.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Vallejo →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

4 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is MIT Academy a good high school?
MIT Academy has a Scope Score of 49 out of 100, placing it in the 39th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,010 statewide. 14.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 5.1 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are MIT Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 36.9% of students at MIT Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 14.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 22.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 14.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 244 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does MIT Academy rank in California?
MIT Academy ranks #1,010 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 39th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at MIT Academy?
28.4% of students at MIT Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.8%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does MIT Academy compare to other schools in Vallejo?
MIT Academy scores 49/100 (39th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 473 students. Use the schools in Vallejo page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does MIT Academy serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At MIT Academy in Vallejo, 41.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 23.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. MIT Academy outperforms its district average for low-income students by 18.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (17.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (38.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 37.3 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 96 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at MIT Academy?
MIT Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 3 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Calculus AB, Computer Science A, Environmental Science. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate94.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard14.8%19.8%22%
College readiness32.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded36.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism28.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.8%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

MIT Academy: reading the evidence

MIT Academy posts 37% meeting the standard and 14.8% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

MIT Academy is ranked #1,010 statewide · #1 of 4 in Vallejo City Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard14.8%19.8%22%
College readiness32.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded36.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism28.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.8%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.5pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.9pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1112221%27%25%27%48%−0
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111228%17%25%50%25%+2

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1257%34%50%8%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged9641.7%+19+3
Hispanic/Latino7338.4%+16−0
Filipino2863.0%+13−9
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
MIT Academy ←—4914.8%36.9%3.8%
American Canyon High1.1 mi6118.4%46.9%3.0%
Griffin Academy High1.2 mi4220.1%44.7%9.1%
Vallejo High2.6 mi379.0%27.1%9.8%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
94.1%
AP Exam Prepared
32.8%
A-G Completion
80.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
64.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195657#65524.1%50.9%9.7%6.1%
20225252#76813.6%39.1%12.3%0.5%
20234733#109310.8%36.5%37.9%6.5%
20244734#107511.1%36.5%25.9%7.7%
20254939#101014.8%36.9%28.4%3.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 05 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Calculus ABthis school
Computer Science Athis school
Environmental Sciencethis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count3
AP enrollment55
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot reported
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections4
Total enrollment (CRDC)512

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California77.7%
California State University2022.0%
California community college3134.1%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year11.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled3235.2%

91 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 65% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/mit-academy-0196"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="MIT Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

MIT Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.