ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Henry David Thoreau Continuation

Woodland Hills, CA · Grades 9-12 · 44 students · Los Angeles Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

24% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 0% in math. 69.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

0%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

24%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

44

Total enrollment

Graduation

69.2%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 0%2023: 3%2024: 5%2025: 0%2019: 0%2022: 16%2023: 21%2024: 24%2025: 24%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 0%2023: 3%2024: 5%2025: 0%2019: 0%2022: 16%2023: 21%2024: 24%2025: 24%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20190%0%
20220%16%
20233%21%
20245%24%
20250%24%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in ten of students here meet the standard. 6% clear it by a lot.

ELA24% met or exceeded
Exceeded 12%Met 12%Nearly Met 18%Not Met 59%
Math0% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 0%Nearly Met 12%Not Met 88%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school246%12%69.2%0.0%53.8%1.7%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope2454
% Exceeded6%20%
% Met+12%43%
Grad rate69.2%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence53.8%23.1%
Suspension1.7%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

15%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 6 of 39 completers · includes community colleges

39Completers
10%
Other colleges4 completers · Outside the California community college system
5%
California community colleges2 completers · Enrolled within a year
85%
Not recorded enrolled33 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
15%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college2 (5%)
  • In-state private2 (5%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (3%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (3%)
  • Not enrolled33 (85%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 15 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher15 · district 20
Teaching staff3 teachers
Avg. experience31.7 years
Fully credentialed88%
PrincipalEric Diaz
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

53.8% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 53.8%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%53.8% · +30.7pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.7%, district —, state 3.3%1.7% · −1.5pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1273.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $38,395 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$4,255 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $38,395, CA average $14,491$38,395 · spent at this school
Federal share$4,255 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 44 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 13% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino56.8% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White25.0% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian4.5% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black6.8% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other6.8% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch77.3% · CA 64%
Median income$133K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.21M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+56% · CA 35%
ZIP population27,748
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Henry David Thoreau Continuationcontinuation comparison groupPublicSolid6%12%School being viewed
Taft Charter HighCharterStrong28%53%0.1 mi
Canoga Park Senior HighPublicDeveloping14%37%2.8 mi
Owensmouth Continuationcontinuation comparison groupPublicSolid2%9%2.7 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Woodland Hills →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

13 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Henry David Thoreau Continuation a good high school?
Henry David Thoreau Continuation has a Scope Score of 24 out of 100, placing it in the 52nd percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #161 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 5.9% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 13.9 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Henry David Thoreau Continuation's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 11.8% of students at Henry David Thoreau Continuation met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 5.9% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 5.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 5.9% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 34 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Henry David Thoreau Continuation rank among California continuation high schools?
Henry David Thoreau Continuation ranks #161 among California continuation high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 52nd percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Henry David Thoreau Continuation?
53.8% of students at Henry David Thoreau Continuation are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.7%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Henry David Thoreau Continuation compare to other schools in Woodland Hills?
Henry David Thoreau Continuation scores 24/100 (52nd percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 44 students. Use the schools in Woodland Hills page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate69.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard5.9%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded11.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism53.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.7%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Henry David Thoreau Continuation: reading the evidence

Henry David Thoreau Continuation posts 12% meeting the standard and 5.9% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Henry David Thoreau Continuation is ranked #161 of California continuation high schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate69.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard5.9%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded11.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism53.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.7%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 40 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 34 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 9.1pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111712%12%18%59%24%−25
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11170%0%12%88%0%−24

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide230%13%70%17%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Henry David Thoreau Continuation ←—245.9%11.8%1.7%
Taft Charter High0.1 mi6828.4%52.8%0.8%
Canoga Park Senior High2.8 mi4913.9%37.3%1.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Owensmouth Continuationscored within its class, not statewide2.7 mi241.8%8.9%1.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
69.2%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
33.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
15.4%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20191934#2280.0%0.0%56.2%2.7%
20222134#2220.0%7.9%65.6%1.8%
20232342#2003.5%12.1%67.6%1.6%
20242241#1950.0%14.2%62.9%1.7%
20252452#1615.9%11.8%53.8%1.7%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female91.3%79.3%-12.0pp
Male82.0%69.6%-12.4pp
Black/African American80.0%——
Hispanic/Latino85.3%60.0%-25.3pp
White92.0%86.4%-5.6pp
Students with Disabilities100.0%——
English Learners100.0%71.4%-28.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged84.5%72.1%-12.4pp
All Students86.0%73.3%-12.7pp
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 7 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections6
Total enrollment (CRDC)69

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college25.1%
In-state private25.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year12.6%
Out-of-state, 2-year12.6%
Not enrolled3384.6%

39 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 15% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/henry-david-thoreau-continuation-2250"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Henry David Thoreau Continuation — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Henry David Thoreau Continuation

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.