Public high school
Discovery High
43rdWithin-class percentile · Developing
among 277 California continuation high schools · 2025 test results
At Discovery High, the average Standard Met or Exceeded rate is 4.5% across reported grade–subject rows (2025 CAASPP).
Scope Score 22 of 100 — built from graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. It places the school; it is not a grade. · How this is calculated
Math
4%California 37%English
5%California 49%Sources, grades and tested counts for Math and English
Math: Grade 11 · 2025 · Met or Exceeded · 56 school test records. California 37% · 2,946,081 test records · all tested grades 3–8 and 11; a different grade population from this school figure.
English: Grade 11 · 2025 · Met or Exceeded · 55 school test records. California 49% · 2,931,356 test records · all tested grades 3–8 and 11; a different grade population from this school figure.
Graduation: 84.2% · 2024–25
Graduation cohort and source
64 regular high-school diploma graduates · 76 students in the adjusted four-year graduation cohort.
CDE adjusted four-year graduation cohort data, reporting year 2025. This cohort is separate from the students taking grade-11 tests and from UC admission or enrollment records.
Source and calculation for this school’s result
Source: SchoolScope calculation from CDE CAASPP, 2024–25 academic year (test year 2025); available ELA and math rates for grade 11, averaged equally across grade–subject rows.
Discovery High · 2024-25 grade 11 ELA and math: 2 equally weighted Met or Exceeded rates for All Students tested with scores average 4.5%.
CDE / ETS CAASPP · 2024-25 · Discovery High, grade 11 ELA and math, All Students tested with scores: 2 Met or Exceeded grade–subject rate cells, equally weighted; not a distinct-student share.
Across the reported grades and subjects, the average Met + Exceeded rate is 4.5% and the average Exceeded rate is 0.0%.
Ask on a visit
What instruction helps students move beyond meeting the standard here, given the reported 4.5% Met + Exceeded and 0.0% Exceeded averages?
2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025. Earlier Scope Scores used a different college-readiness definition; no cross-model score trend or California score average is shown here.
| Scope | % Exceeded | % Met+ | Grad rate | CCI overall Prepared | Absence | Suspension | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This school | 22 | 0% | 5% | 84.2% | 0.0% | 69.7% | 8.6% |
| California reference · High School | — | 20% | 44% | 92.9% | 51.7% | 22.7% | 3.3% |
2025 CDE College/Career Indicator overall Prepared · this school: 0 of 76 CCI students classified Prepared · California students in the 2025 CCI cohort: 257,567 of 497,814 classified Prepared. The California CCI percentage describes students statewide; it is not a mean of school percentages and is not used to normalize the SchoolScope score. CDE CCI source files.
CDE 2024–25: the reported share of regular high-school diploma graduates meeting UC/CSU requirements. This is distinct from CCI overall Prepared.
California reference: 56.4% · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean of 1,500 scored comprehensive California high-school rates · 2024–25. This is a mean of school percentages, not a statewide pooled graduate percentage. CDE adjusted-cohort graduation source files.
2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.
Share at Standard Met or Exceeded
Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.
Exact annual results
| Year | Math | English |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 2% | 13% |
| 2022 | 0% | 15% |
| 2023 | 0% | 9% |
| 2024 | 0% | 9% |
| 2025 | 4% | 5% |
Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.
How achievement is distributed
Achievement-level percentages are not percentiles. A test achievement level does not set the SchoolScope performance band.
Grade comparisons and the full academic source record
Discovery's reported results deserve a closer read. 82.3% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.
One honest note: Discovery's rank and percentile are measured against California continuation high schools — not against the state's comprehensive campuses. The underlying numbers below are measured the same way at every school; only the comparison group changes.
55 tested · 1 of 1 grade published
Discovery High scores 22 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 43rd percentile of California continuation high schools, not of the comprehensive field (CDE CAASPP 2025).
Available assessment record
The average Standard Met or Exceeded rate across reported grade–subject rows is 5% in 2025, below 8% in 2019. These years test different student groups.
A source-qualified multi-year SchoolScope percentile arc is unavailable for this school. These All Grades rows describe each test year's students; they are not a matched-student trend or evidence of school-caused change.
| Test year | Subject | Tested | Met or exceeded |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | ELA | 55 | 5.5% |
| 2025 | Math | 56 | 3.6% |
| 2024 | ELA | 74 | 9.5% |
| 2024 | Math | 75 | 0.0% |
| 2023 | ELA | 55 | 9.1% |
| 2023 | Math | 51 | 0.0% |
| 2022 | ELA | 71 | 15.5% |
| 2022 | Math | 70 | 0.0% |
| 2019 | ELA | 52 | 13.5% |
| 2019 | Math | 50 | 2.0% |
CDE's 2025 College/Career Indicator reports 0.0% Prepared here (0 of 76 students), versus 51.7% in its statewide cohort (257,567 of 497,814). CDE's overall Prepared cohort covers the Class of 2025 four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the Class of 2024 cohort. The statewide student rate is separate from SchoolScope's school-level peer rank and earlier AP/A–G scoring input. CDE CCI source files.
College destinations and the full graduate record
Enrolled in college within a year
Class of 2023 · 23 of 90 completers · includes community colleges
Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.
Graduation records
Graduation: 84.2% · 2024–25
64 regular high-school diploma graduates · 76 students in the adjusted four-year graduation cohort.
CDE adjusted four-year graduation cohort data, reporting year 2025. This cohort is separate from the students taking grade-11 tests and from UC admission or enrollment records.
SchoolScope has no verified UC admissions record for this school. Source: UC admissions by source school.
90 completers, class of 2023
- University of California0 (0%)
- California State University0 (0%)
- California community college18 (20%)
- In-state private2 (2%)
- Out-of-state, 4-year1 (1%)
- Out-of-state, 2-year2 (2%)
- Not enrolled67 (74%)
CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic · — = unavailable or suppressed, distinct from 0
See the full roll →43rd percentile · Developing · California continuation high schools · 2025
Within-class rank: #156 of 277 · California continuation high schools · 2025
What helps students meet or exceed the standard in ELA and math across grade 11?
Discovery High vs. California · 2024-25 grade 11 ELA Met or Exceeded rates for socioeconomically disadvantaged students tested with scores: 5.1% vs. 48.7%.
CDE / ETS CAASPP · 2024-25 · Discovery High and California, socioeconomically disadvantaged students tested with scores in grade 11 ELA: same-group, grade and subject Met or Exceeded rates; no causal inference.
Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide in grade 11.
At Discovery High in Sacramento, 5.1% of socioeconomically disadvantaged students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 45.5% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Discovery High's rate for socioeconomically disadvantaged students trails its district average by 40.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: socioeconomically disadvantaged students (2.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (8.8% met or exceeded the ELA standard). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 39 ELA grade test records.
Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 44 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Ask on a visit
What support reaches students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged in ELA, given their reported results in grade 11 are behind the same group statewide?
How the all-students rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; school: 111 eligible test records, ELA and math, all school tested grades. state: equal school mean of 1,500 comprehensive high composites. The district all-students reference is unavailable here.
How socioeconomically disadvantaged rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 79 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
39 known ELA test records
- school: 79 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 9,057 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,798,521 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How hispanic/latino rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 69 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
34 known ELA test records
- school: 69 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 4,616 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,304,057 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How male rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 64 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
32 known ELA test records
- school: 64 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 7,524 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,005,929 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How female rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 47 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
23 known ELA test records
- school: 47 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 6,996 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 2,872,108 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How black/african american rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 22 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
11 known ELA test records
- school: 22 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 2,747 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 282,988 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
8 of 14 student groups have no published rate here. That can reflect privacy suppression or missing source data; it is not evidence of a gap.
See 8 groups without a published school rate
How asian rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 2,955 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 613,603 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How filipino rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 573 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 131,726 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How white rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 1,786 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 1,163,964 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How two or more races rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 1,565 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 337,620 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How students with disabilities rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 1,749 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 773,488 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How english learners rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
6 known ELA test records
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 1,896 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 945,854 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How foster youth rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; district: 10 unavailable tested counts; district ELA grade 3: rate not published; district MATH grade 3: rate not published; district ELA grade 4: rate not published; district MATH grade 4: rate not published; district ELA grade 5: rate not published; district MATH grade 5: rate not published; district ELA grade 6: rate not published; district MATH grade 6: rate not published; district ELA grade 7: rate not published; district MATH grade 7: rate not published; district ELA grade 8: rate not published; district MATH grade 8: rate not published; district ELA grade 11: rate not published; district MATH grade 11: rate not published
- state: 18,735 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How homeless rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
7 known ELA test records
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 481 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 235,862 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
ShowHide Student-group results by subject
| Student group · subject | Tested | School | District | California | Vs district |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged · English | 39 | 5.1% | 45.5% | 48.7% | -40.4pp vs district |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged · Math | 40 | 2.5% | 16.9% | 21.0% | -14.4pp vs district |
| Hispanic/Latino · English | 34 | 8.8% | 47.0% | 48.9% | -38.2pp vs district |
| Hispanic/Latino · Math | 35 | 2.9% | 15.9% | 19.3% | -13.1pp vs district |
ShowHide California's growth model by student group
No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.
What support reaches socioeconomically disadvantaged students in grade 11 ELA?
What it’s like
CDE reported 80.0% chronic absenteeism (above SchoolScope's equal-school mean for scored comprehensive California public/charter high schools with reported CDE rates) and 9.9% suspension (above its corresponding mean) in 2024–25.
Ask on a visit
How does the school follow up when students begin missing days, given its reported 80.0% chronic-absence rate in 2024–25?
ShowHide How SchoolScope uses climate in its score
These scoring inputs may differ from CDE's reported all-students rates. Their comparisons also average model inputs, not raw CDE rates.
ShowHide Chronic absenteeism trend since 2019
ShowHide Attendance by grade
Teachers and the staffing source record
About 14 students for every teacher here.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
2024–25: about 14 enrolled students per teacher FTE. CDE school-total enrollment divided by the school's reported teacher full-time equivalents in the NCES CCD 2024–25 final school staff file. SchoolScope rounds the result to a whole student per teacher; the CDE staffing year above dates separate teacher facts. The SchoolScope reporting-district average covers verified schools in our directory under this school's 2024–25 CDE reporting parent; school ratios are weighted by enrollment. The California figure, where shown, also averages available school ratios weighted by enrollment. This schoolwide staffing ratio is not class size.
ShowHide teacher experience, credentials and courses
Proper credential and placement: CDE SARC report 2024–25, measured 2021–22. The publisher rate is 70.47%; 7.2 teaching-position FTE had proper credential and placement out of 10.3 total teaching-position FTE. This denominator is positions, not the teacher count above.
Historical course sections
Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC), 2020-21 federal historical snapshot. Course-section counts describe structural course availability in that collection, not current enrollment or confirmation those sections run now.
School-stated approach · questions for your visit
Look beyond the brochure
A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.
Read the school’s own website ↗Family and educator voices
Survey results: unavailable on this profile · Response counts: unknown
Explore school spending and the district budget
CDE ESSA reports $29,844 per student in spending attributed to this school.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spending
CDE ESSA · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 130. Reports may use Census Day enrollment, cumulative enrollment, or annual average daily attendance (ADA); the type is unavailable here. SchoolScope sums four reported school and allocated central expenditure components. These averages do not show an individual child's budget or teaching quality.
Can we visit during a typical school day to see how students receive support?
Getting in
Contact
82.3% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
On the state's science test (CAST), 7% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.
ShowHide school demographics
CDE Census Day · 2024–25 · school 130 students · district 16,773 students · CA 5,806,221 students. CDE Census Day enrollment files. Other includes Filipino, American Indian, Pacific Islander, two or more races, and not reported.
Placement rules and the K–12 path
Confirm continuation-program placement
Ask the district to confirm the student’s eligibility for this continuation program, how placement works, and how credits count toward graduation. The school’s location does not establish eligibility.
District information →School website →Schools across the K–12 journey
Elementary · K–5
Middle · 6–8
High school · 9–12
Schools are grouped by grade stage. Each link's evidence appears on its card. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.
Feeder path, destinations and source limits
The feeder and nearby-school links shown here do not confirm a current address assignment.
The path below shows the available feeder and nearby-school evidence — scores shown for each step. Nearby matches are not address assignments.
Ask on a visit
How does this school confirm enrollment eligibility for your home address, and which links here are only historical or nearby?
ShowHide full feeder path and alternatives
K-12 feeder path
Each school card names its own evidence. Historical boundary links and nearby distance estimates do not confirm a current address assignment; verify the path with the district.
Compare schools serving the same grade stage.
Open the comparison tool →Nearby results, school options and enrollment checks
Compare nearby schools and their reported results
2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Comprehensive schools are compared statewide; alternative and continuation schools are compared within their own class.
No nearby schools in this category are listed. The school being viewed stays visible for reference.
| School | Type | Performance band | Standard Exceeded | Standard Met or Exceeded | Distance | Select |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Discovery Highcontinuation comparison group | Public | Developing43rd percentile · within class | 0% | 5% | School being viewed | |
| Natomas High | Public | Needs Support12th percentile · statewide | 5% | 25% | 0.3 mi | |
| SAVA - Sacramento Academic and Vocational Academyalternative comparison group | Charter | Developing26th percentile · within class | 5% | 16% | 0.9 mi | |
| Inderkum High | Public | Solid52nd percentile · statewide | 19% | 41% | 2.1 mi |
Your other options
Nearby public schools serving this grade stage, plus private options within 10 miles.
Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.
What should I check before applying?
- District public
- Confirm continuation-program eligibility, placement and credit-transfer requirements with the district.
- Charter
- Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
- Private
- Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.
What are the current enrollment or placement steps for this school?
Frequently asked questions
Is Discovery High a good high school?
What are Discovery High's CAASPP test scores?
How does Discovery High rank among California continuation high schools?
What do attendance and suspension records show for Discovery High?
How does Discovery High compare to other schools in Sacramento?
What do reported student-group results show at Discovery High?
Read more context for this score. Read: Your School Scored Low — Here's What That Actually Means
Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.
Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.
Methods, source tables and limitations
How the Scope Score is calculated
The 7 things our score weighs
| What we weigh | Here | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 84.2% | 92.9% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 0.0% | 20.3% | 22% |
| CCI overall Prepared | 0.0% | 51.7% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 4.5% | 43.8% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 69.7% | 22.7% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 8.6% | 3.3% | 5% |
| EL proficiency (ELPAC) | 4.5% | 17.8% | 5% |
Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built
Interpretation and source limits
Discovery has an average Met + Exceeded rate of 5% and an average Exceeded rate of 0.0% across the reported grades and subjects, against 44% and 20.3% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.
Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.
Explore the underlying data →Explore the data
Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.
Discovery High is ranked #156 of California continuation high schools.
ShowHide table 01 — Score factors
| Factor | School | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 84.2% | 92.9% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 0.0% | 20.3% | 22% |
| CCI overall Prepared | 0.0% | 51.7% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 4.5% | 43.8% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 69.7% | 22.7% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 8.6% | 3.3% | 5% |
| EL proficiency (ELPAC) | 4.5% | 17.8% | 5% |
- Graduation rate
- ↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- Exceeded standard
- ↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- CCI overall Prepared
- ↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 23 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
- Met or exceeded
- ↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 27 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- Chronic absenteeism
- ↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 18 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 4.0pp lower vs 2024
- Suspension rate
- ↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 28 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.3pp lower vs 2024
- EL proficiency (ELPAC)
- ↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 34 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.
ELA · 2024–25 results by grade
| ELA | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 55 | 0% | 5% | 31% | 64% | 5% | −43 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools
Math · 2024–25 results by grade
| Math | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 56 | 0% | 4% | 11% | 86% | 4% | −20 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools
We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.
Earlier years · grade and subject
| Year · grade · subject | Students with scores | Met+ |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Grade 11 · ELA | 74 | 9.5% |
| 2024 · Grade 11 · Math | 75 | 0.0% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · ELA | 55 | 9.1% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · Math | 51 | 0.0% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · ELA | 71 | 15.5% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · Math | 70 | 0.0% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · ELA | 52 | 13.5% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · Math | 50 | 2.0% |
Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.
| Science (CAST) | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schoolwide | 111 | 0% | 7% | 70% | 23% |
CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.
| Subgroup · ELA | Tested | MET+ | vs district | vs CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 39 | 5.1% | −40 | −44 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 34 | 8.8% | −38 | −40 |
ShowHide table 03 — Nearest high schools
| School | Dist | Scope · percentile · band | EXC | MET+ | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Discovery High ← | — | 2243rd percentile · Developing · within class · 2025 | 0.0% | 4.5% | 8.6% |
| Natomas High | 0.3 mi | 4212th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 2025 | 5.2% | 25.1% | 8.3% |
| Inderkum High | 2.1 mi | 5652nd percentile · Solid · statewide · 2025 | 18.6% | 40.8% | 3.7% |
| California average | — | 57School average · no percentile | 20.3% | 43.8% | 3.3% |
| SAVA - Sacramento Academic and Vocational Academyscored within its class, not statewide | 0.9 mi | 1426th percentile · Developing · within class · 2025 | 4.7% | 16.3% | 2.8% |
Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Additional workforce records
CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.
CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.
2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 22/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.
| Measure | Source record |
|---|---|
| This school · CCI overall Prepared | CDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 0.0% · numerator 0 students classified Prepared · denominator 76 CCI students. |
| California · CCI overall Prepared | CDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students. |
CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 0 of 76 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.
Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
| Assessment year | Scope Score | Percentile | Rank | Comparison group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 26/100 | 67 | #111 | California continuation high schools · 343 schools |
| 2022 | 24/100 | 54 | #154 | California continuation high schools · 335 schools |
| 2023 | 24/100 | 49 | #174 | California continuation high schools · 346 schools |
| 2024 | 22/100 | 43 | #189 | California continuation high schools · 332 schools |
These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.
The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.
Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.
CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.
| Year-over-year school rates |
|---|
| Chronic absenteeism2024 · 82.1% → 2025 · 80.0% · −2.1pp |
| Suspension rate2024 · 13.4% → 2025 · 9.9% · −3.5pp |
ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades
| Year · subject | Students with scores | Exc | Met+ |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 · ELA | 55 | 0.0% | 5.5% |
| 2025 · Math | 56 | 0.0% | 3.6% |
| 2024 · ELA | 74 | 2.7% | 9.5% |
| 2024 · Math | 75 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| 2023 · ELA | 55 | 3.6% | 9.1% |
| 2023 · Math | 51 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| 2022 · ELA | 71 | 4.2% | 15.5% |
| 2022 · Math | 70 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| 2019 · ELA | 52 | 1.9% | 13.5% |
| 2019 · Math | 50 | 0.0% | 2.0% |
Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.
These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.
| Year | Exc | Met+ | Absent | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 1.0% | 7.7% | 58.7% | 5.0% |
| 2022 | 2.1% | 7.8% | 73.4% | 8.7% |
| 2023 | 1.8% | 4.5% | 72.2% | 9.5% |
| 2024 | 1.4% | 4.7% | 73.7% | 11.9% |
| 2025 | 0.0% | 4.5% | 69.7% | 8.6% |
The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.
- — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
- — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 44 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
| Group | 2018–19 | 2024–25 | Δ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 75.0% | 88.5% | +13.5pp |
| Male | 64.1% | 73.5% | +9.4pp |
| Black/African American | 73.9% | 85.5% | +11.6pp |
| Hispanic/Latino | 68.4% | 78.0% | +9.6pp |
| Two or More Races | 58.8% | 84.6% | +25.8pp |
| White | 69.2% | — | — |
| Students with Disabilities | 60.0% | 64.5% | +4.5pp |
| English Learners | 58.8% | 75.9% | +17.1pp |
| Homeless | 60.0% | 90.9% | +30.9pp |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 66.1% | 83.1% | +17.0pp |
| All Students | 68.2% | 80.0% | +11.8pp |
Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
| Measure | This school |
|---|---|
| AP offered | not offered |
| AP course count | not reported |
| AP enrollment | not reported |
| IB participation | not offered |
| Dual enrollment | not offered |
| Algebra I in grade 8 | not reported |
| Calculus sections | 0 |
| Physics sections | 2 |
| Chemistry sections | 0 |
| Total enrollment (CRDC) | 119 |
Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
| Destination | Completers | % (derived) |
|---|---|---|
| University of California | 0 | 0.0% |
| California State University | 0 | 0.0% |
| California community college | 18 | 20.0% |
| In-state private | 2 | 2.2% |
| Out-of-state, 4-year | 1 | 1.1% |
| Out-of-state, 2-year | 2 | 2.2% |
| Not enrolled | 67 | 74.4% |
90 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 26% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.
ShowHide table 08 — Funding source detail
Per-pupil spending
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 13,748 pupils
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records
CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 130
CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 130
CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator
These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.
ShowHide how the California mean was selected
SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.
SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.
ShowHide the district's spending year by year
Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
| Measure | Estimate |
|---|---|
| Median household income | $101,260 |
| Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+) | 41.02% |
| ZCTA population | 36,245 |
| Median age | 35.3 years |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.
<iframe
src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/discovery-high-0626"
width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
title="Discovery High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.
EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27
Help us make SchoolScope more useful
Optional. Up to 280 characters.
Anonymous. Your answer stays with us — we don’t publish it.
Thanks — that helps.
SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction