ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Arcata High

Arcata, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,007 students · Northern Humboldt Union High

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

66% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 37% in math. 97.5% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

37%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

66%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,007

Total enrollment

Graduation

97.5%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 38%2022: 33%2023: 39%2024: 37%2025: 37%2019: 75%2022: 60%2023: 65%2024: 61%2025: 66%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 38%2022: 33%2023: 39%2024: 37%2025: 37%2019: 75%2022: 60%2023: 65%2024: 61%2025: 66%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201938%75%
202233%60%
202339%65%
202437%61%
202537%66%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 75th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “51% proficient” and call it done. Arcata deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Arcata's low-income kids hit 52.5% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

242 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Arcata High scores 62 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 75th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 51% meet the standard today, versus 56% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 78th percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002022 · 76th percentile · Scope Score 62 of 1002023 · 81st percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002024 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002025 · 75th percentile · Scope Score 62 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1175%60%65%61%66%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1138%33%39%37%37%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA66% met or exceeded
Exceeded 29%Met 37%Nearly Met 18%Not Met 16%
Math37% met or exceeded
Exceeded 18%Met 19%Nearly Met 21%Not Met 42%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6223%51%97.5%64.2%30.8%4.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6254
% Exceeded23%20%
% Met+51%43%
Grad rate97.5%92.5%
College readiness64.2%43.0%
Absence30.8%23.1%
Suspension4.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

52.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 51% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 51%, district —, state 43%51%
WhiteWhite: this school 58%, district 49%, state 56%58% · +7 vs school
MaleMale: this school 46%, district 39%, state 42%46% · −6 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 58%, district 48%, state 44%58% · +6 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 39%, district 31%, state 32%39% · −12 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 33%, district 29%, state 32%33% · −18 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 54%, district 42%, state 56%54% · +3 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 14%, district 11%, state 15%14% · −37 vs school

8 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic10.1% AP · 14.6% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native1.1% AP · 3.0% enroll.
Asian4.5% AP · 2.4% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black1.1% AP · 1.4% enroll.
White79.3% AP · 70.5% enroll.
Two or more races3.9% AP · 7.8% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 1.5% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.2% AP · 14.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

69%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 150 of 216 completers · includes community colleges

216Completers
33%
Other colleges71 completers · Outside the California community college system
37%
California community colleges79 completers · Enrolled within a year
31%
Not recorded enrolled66 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

69%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Arcata's class of 2023, 69% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 216 completers, 69% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 17 (8%)California State University 35 (16%)California community college 79 (37%)In-state private 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 4-year 18 (8%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 66 (31%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 28 of Arcata's 232 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Santa Cruz the most common landing, with 9 enrollees.

Applied58fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted50
Enrolled28
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

5 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 69% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (79) than at UC (17).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Arcata's teachers are authorized to teach 15 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus AB, Physics C: Mechanics, and Statistics.

Students per teacher19 · district 20
Teaching staff65 teachers
Avg. experience13.4 years
Fully credentialed79%
First-year teachers8%
PrincipalKristin Ferderber
Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers95 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers29 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught15
ShowHide the 15 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (2)Calculus AB · Statistics
Sciences (3)Biology · Environmental Science · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)European History · Macroeconomics · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (3)French Language and Culture · German Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)2-D Art and Design

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

30.8% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 30.8%, district 31.3%, state 23.1%30.8% · +7.8pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 4.2%, district —, state 3.3%4.2% · +0.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1230.8%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $18,234 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,356 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,234, CA average $14,491$18,234 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,356 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,308 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 54%Instruction support 16%Student services 13%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 8%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$14,551 per pupil
2019$13,720 per pupil
2018$14,340 per pupil
2017$12,968 per pupil
2016$13,076 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 47% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino18.3% · district 16.7% · CA 56.1%
White62.8% · district 60.4% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.7% · district 2.0% · CA 10.2%
Black1.5% · district 1.0% · CA 4.8%
Other14.8% · district 20.0% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 49.5% · Male 50.0% · Non-binary 0.6%
Free or reduced lunch40.3% · CA 64%
Median income$53K · CA $85K
Median home value$501K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+46% · CA 35%
ZIP population21,980
Median age29 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Arcata HighPublicStrong23%51%School being viewed
Six Rivers Charter HighCharterSolid31%53%School being viewed
Pacific Coast High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicStrong4%19%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Arcata →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

2 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Northern Humboldt Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Arcata High a good high school?
Arcata High has a Scope Score of 62 out of 100, placing it in the 75th percentile of California high schools and ranked #404 statewide. 23.4% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 3.5 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Arcata High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 51.2% of students at Arcata High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 23.4% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 27.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 23.4% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 484 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Arcata High rank in California?
Arcata High ranks #404 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 75th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Arcata High?
30.8% of students at Arcata High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 4.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Arcata High compare to other schools in Arcata?
Arcata High scores 62/100 (75th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,007 students. Use the schools in Arcata page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Arcata High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Arcata High in Arcata, 52.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 41.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Arcata High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 10.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (26.3% Math proficient); White students (71.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 43.5 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 99 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Arcata High?
Arcata High's teachers are authorized to teach 15 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, German Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Physics C: Mechanics, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Arcata High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 28 Arcata High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate97.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard23.4%19.8%22%
College readiness64.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded51.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)22.7%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Arcata High: reading the evidence

Arcata posts 51% meeting the standard, and 23.4% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Arcata High is ranked #404 statewide · #1 of 3 in Northern Humboldt Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard23.4%19.8%22%
College readiness64.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded51.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)22.7%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 67 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1124229%37%18%16%66%+17
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1124218%19%21%42%37%+13

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide23218%29%48%5%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged9952.5%+11+14
White14971.8%+9+10
Hispanic/Latino4148.8%+5+10
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Arcata High ←6223.4%51.2%4.2%
Six Rivers Charter High0 mi6131.0%53.5%6.3%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Pacific Coast High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide0 mi393.9%19.2%2.9%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
97.5%
AP Exam Prepared
64.2%
A-G Completion
55.6%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
69.4%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196578#33727.9%56.2%21.1%7.1%
20226276#38521.3%46.4%27.8%3.8%
20236681#31329.8%51.9%37.2%5.1%
20246377#37925.9%48.9%32.7%5.8%
20256275#40423.4%51.2%30.8%4.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female23.1%32.9%+9.8pp
Male18.0%28.2%+10.2pp
Asian18.2%18.5%+0.3pp
Hispanic/Latino26.5%31.6%+5.1pp
American Indian/Alaska Native30.8%47.2%+16.4pp
Two or More Races26.1%28.6%+2.5pp
White18.2%31.0%+12.8pp
Students with Disabilities26.6%47.5%+20.9pp
English Learners31.3%34.5%+3.2pp
Homeless41.7%66.7%+25.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged27.3%40.6%+13.3pp
All Students20.7%30.8%+10.1pp
Black/African American26.7%
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20255850284.084.104.15
20245141244.024.124.12
20234936194.014.104.16
20225141224.114.134.12
20214333234.094.164.13
20204037224.054.074.08
20194029194.034.124.18
20183823143.994.174.25
20173726173.813.994.08
20164836203.994.094.10
20154425133.844.084.13
20142519113.964.094.12

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025325‹3
Berkeley20243376
Berkeley2023296‹3
Berkeley20223473
Berkeley20212496
Davis202538147
Davis202434193
Davis20232211‹3
Davis20222610‹3
Davis202132226
Irvine20251584
Irvine2024188‹3
Irvine2023144‹3
Irvine2022144‹3
Irvine202114‹3‹3
Los Angeles2025294‹3
Los Angeles20242464
Los Angeles20232053
Los Angeles202226‹3‹3
Los Angeles202116‹3‹3
Merced20251010‹3
Merced202465‹3
Riverside20251212‹3
San Diego2025358‹3
San Diego2024307‹3
San Diego202322‹3‹3
San Diego2022275‹3
San Diego2021196‹3
Santa Barbara202534193
Santa Barbara20242712‹3
Santa Barbara202330135
Santa Barbara202231145
Santa Barbara2021258‹3
Santa Cruz202535339
Santa Cruz2024383110
Santa Cruz202338298
Santa Cruz202241318
Santa Cruz202121197
Universitywide2025585028
Universitywide2024514124
Universitywide2023493619
Universitywide2022514122
Universitywide2021433323

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
German Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count11
AP enrollment179
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections3
Chemistry sections4
Total enrollment (CRDC)929

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California177.9%
California State University3516.2%
California community college7936.6%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year188.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.5%
Not enrolled6630.6%

216 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 69% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/arcata-high-0705"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Arcata High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Arcata High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.