ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Walnut High

Walnut, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,148 students · Walnut Valley Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

79% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 64% in math. 97.1% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

64%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

79%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,148

Total enrollment

Graduation

97.1%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 71%2022: 62%2023: 61%2024: 61%2025: 64%2019: 82%2022: 80%2023: 77%2024: 78%2025: 79%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 71%2022: 62%2023: 61%2024: 61%2025: 64%2019: 82%2022: 80%2023: 77%2024: 78%2025: 79%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201971%82%
202262%80%
202361%77%
202461%78%
202564%79%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 95th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “72% proficient” and call it done. Walnut deserves a closer read. It sits at the 95th percentile of 1,647 California high schools — but the ranking is the least interesting thing on this page.

Walnut's low-income kids hit 71.4% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

543 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Walnut High scores 79 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 95th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 72% meet the standard today, versus 76% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 96th percentile · Scope Score 82 of 1002022 · 94th percentile · Scope Score 78 of 1002023 · 94th percentile · Scope Score 78 of 1002024 · 95th percentile · Scope Score 78 of 1002025 · 95th percentile · Scope Score 79 of 100
ELABlue(Increased)MathBlue(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1182%80%77%78%79%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1171%62%61%61%64%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two-thirds of students here meet the standard. Two in five clear it by a lot.

ELA79% met or exceeded
Exceeded 51%Met 28%Nearly Met 13%Not Met 8%
Math64% met or exceeded
Exceeded 43%Met 21%Nearly Met 17%Not Met 18%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7947%72%97.1%70.3%10.9%1.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7954
% Exceeded47%20%
% Met+72%43%
Grad rate97.1%92.5%
College readiness70.3%43.0%
Absence10.9%23.1%
Suspension1.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

71.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 72% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 72%, district —, state 43%72%
MaleMale: this school 71%, district 74%, state 42%71% · −0 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 83%, district 82%, state 72%83% · +11 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 72%, district 75%, state 44%72% · +0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 52%, district 50%, state 32%52% · −20 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 65%, district 66%, state 32%65% · −7 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 33%, district 37%, state 11%33% · −39 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 31%, district 26%, state 15%31% · −41 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 67%, district 61%, state 56%67% · −4 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 91%, district 80%, state 65%91% · +19 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 71%, district 71%, state 56%71% · −0 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 31% of Walnut's enrollment but 14% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic13.7% AP · 31.5% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.1% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian78.4% AP · 58.1% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.5% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black0.8% AP · 1.6% enroll.
White3.5% AP · 5.5% enroll.
Two or more races3.0% AP · 2.8% enroll.
English learners1.6% AP · 6.2% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.9% AP · 8.9% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

91%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 482 of 530 completers · includes community colleges

530Completers
50%
Other colleges264 completers · Outside the California community college system
41%
California community colleges218 completers · Enrolled within a year
9%
Not recorded enrolled48 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

91%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Walnut's class of 2023, 91% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 530 completers, 91% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 98 (18%)California State University 104 (20%)California community college 218 (41%)In-state private 27 (5%)Out-of-state, 4-year 34 (6%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 48 (9%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 132 of Walnut's 544 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 42 enrollees.

Applied305fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted251
Enrolled132
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Riverside 42San Diego 22Irvine 17Berkeley 15Los Angeles 14Davis 11Santa Cruz 6Santa Barbara 4Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 169 enrolled, 2014

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 91% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (218) than at UC (98).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 23 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Walnut's teachers are authorized to teach 30 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher23 · district 26
Teaching staff94 teachers
Avg. experience15.2 years
Fully credentialed93%
First-year teachers10%
Intern / emergency permit1.1%
PrincipalJamie Norell
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$63,690 – $143,470
Principal salary$181,093 – $216,036
Superintendent salary$395,304

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers305 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers87 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught30
ShowHide the 30 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (7)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics 2 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (7)European History · Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (4)Chinese Language and Culture · French Language and Culture · German Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (5)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing · Music Theory
IBDiploma Programme (DP) · Career-related (CP)

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 10.9%, district 6.7%, state 23.1%10.9% · −12.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.3%, district —, state 3.3%1.3% · −2.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1210.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $17,102 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$281 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $17,102, CA average $14,491$17,102 · spent at this school
Federal share$281 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$15,388 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 59%Instruction support 10%Student services 13%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,119 per pupil
2019$11,315 per pupil
2018$11,162 per pupil
2017$10,783 per pupil
2016$10,280 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 59% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino30.9% · district 20.8% · CA 56.1%
White3.7% · district 3.5% · CA 19.9%
Asian52.6% · district 64.5% · CA 10.2%
Black1.2% · district 1.0% · CA 4.8%
Other11.6% · district 10.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch23.6% · CA 64%
Median income$126K · CA $85K
Median home value$975K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+54% · CA 35%
ZIP population40,298
Median age46 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Walnut HighPublicStrong47%72%School being viewed
Diamond Bar HighPublicStrong46%72%2.7 mi
John A. Rowland HighPublicStrong29%54%3.3 mi
International Polytechnic Highalternative comparison groupPublicStrong36%69%2.7 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Walnut →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

9 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Walnut Valley Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Walnut High a good high school?
Walnut High has a Scope Score of 79 out of 100, placing it in the 95th percentile of California high schools and ranked #79 statewide. 47.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 27.2 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Walnut High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 71.6% of students at Walnut High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 47.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.6% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 47.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 1,085 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Walnut High rank in California?
Walnut High ranks #79 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 95th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Walnut High?
10.9% of students at Walnut High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.3%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Walnut High compare to other schools in Walnut?
Walnut High scores 79/100 (95th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,148 students. Use the schools in Walnut page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Walnut High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Walnut High in Walnut, 71.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 67.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Walnut High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 3.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (57.7% Math proficient); Asian students (81.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 64.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 175 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Walnut High?
Walnut High's teachers are authorized to teach 30 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, German Language and Culture, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Music Theory, Physics 1, Physics 2, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Walnut High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 132 Walnut High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

47.0% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate97.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard47.0%19.8%22%
College readiness70.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded71.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism10.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)31.6%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Walnut High: reading the evidence

Walnut posts 47.0% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Walnut High is ranked #79 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard47.0%19.8%22%
College readiness70.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded71.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism10.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)31.6%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 84 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.2pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1154351%28%13%8%79%+30
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1154243%21%17%18%64%+40

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide54023%35%37%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged17571.4%+4+33
Asian28281.6%+0+7
Hispanic/Latino17570.9%+13+32
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Walnut High ←—7947.0%71.6%1.3%
Diamond Bar High2.7 mi8246.3%72.3%1.0%
John A. Rowland High3.3 mi6328.8%54.4%1.6%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
International Polytechnic Highscored within its class, not statewide2.7 mi6136.4%69.3%0.6%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
97.1%
AP Exam Prepared
70.3%
A-G Completion
71.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
90.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20198296#6750.3%76.5%6.3%3.0%
20227894#9243.4%71.1%11.4%3.0%
20237894#9643.3%69.3%9.9%2.9%
20247895#8643.3%69.8%9.7%1.3%
20257995#7947.0%71.6%10.9%1.3%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female5.4%9.7%+4.3pp
Male6.3%10.8%+4.5pp
Asian3.6%7.5%+3.9pp
Black/African American16.3%21.4%+5.1pp
Filipino3.2%2.2%-1.0pp
Hispanic/Latino8.7%14.9%+6.2pp
Two or More Races3.8%15.9%+12.1pp
White12.2%14.8%+2.6pp
Students with Disabilities15.7%22.8%+7.1pp
English Learners9.3%14.4%+5.1pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged7.9%15.1%+7.2pp
All Students5.8%10.3%+4.5pp
Pacific Islander—5.6%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20253052511323.833.903.97
20242632021133.813.893.97
20232601891023.833.913.96
20222971911063.854.004.06
20213082071153.773.913.98
20203102561513.823.873.89
20193572761613.843.943.99
20183482711613.813.913.96
20173612661643.783.913.92
20163192521553.753.873.90
20153922851683.703.843.82
20143522631693.703.833.87

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20251792015
Berkeley2024151167
Berkeley20231471811
Berkeley20221612819
Berkeley20211502214
Davis20251807411
Davis20241585410
Davis20231384612
Davis2022138406
Davis20211364610
Irvine20252594417
Irvine20242413810
Irvine2023230259
Irvine2022265205
Irvine2021276175
Los Angeles20252232014
Los Angeles20242171813
Los Angeles2023197144
Los Angeles20222371510
Los Angeles20212271310
Merced2025117112‹3
Merced202454513
Merced202360566
Merced20225146‹3
Merced20215548‹3
Riverside202524120742
Riverside202419615542
Riverside202319714637
Riverside202219714042
Riverside202120314045
San Diego20252446022
San Diego20242114719
San Diego2023209368
San Diego20222354012
San Diego2021229338
Santa Barbara2025200634
Santa Barbara2024196498
Santa Barbara20231844514
Santa Barbara2022187327
Santa Barbara20211964717
Santa Cruz2025102696
Santa Cruz202412786‹3
Santa Cruz202311473‹3
Santa Cruz202295465
Santa Cruz202199444
Universitywide2025305251132
Universitywide2024263202113
Universitywide2023260189102
Universitywide2022297191106
Universitywide2021308207115

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
German Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics 1this school
Physics 2this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count16
AP enrollment744
IB participationoffered · 102 enrolled
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections12
Physics sections5
Chemistry sections23
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,207

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California9818.5%
California State University10419.6%
California community college21841.1%
In-state private275.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year346.4%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.2%
Not enrolled489.1%

530 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 91% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/walnut-high-9149"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Walnut High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Walnut High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.