Public school · Standard Elementary

Standard Middle

Bakersfield · 6–8 · 1,005 students (2024–25)

2ndpercentileNeeds Support

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
13 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well below California in English and math: 22% and 11% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8: 963 in English, 957 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,266,619 in English and 1,272,526 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
4%
Met standard
18%
Below standard
78%

22% met or exceeded · 963 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded4%19%
Met18%30%
Nearly met25%23%
Not met53%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
3%
Met standard
8%
Below standard
89%

11% met or exceeded · 957 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded3%20%
Met8%16%
Nearly met22%23%
Not met67%41%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
1 in 3 students (358 of 1,072) missed 10% or more of school days, about twice the rate at the average California middle school.2024–25
33 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

Ask: When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?

Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 1,072
Comparison
358 of 1,072. The California figure is an average of school rates (2,175 scored California middle schools), our calculation.
10.7% of students (121 of 1,133) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about three times the rate at the average California middle school.2024–25
10.7%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25

Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?

Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 1,133
Comparison
121 of 1,133. The California figure is an average of school rates (2,177 scored California middle schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school22%
California49%

Tested: 963 here · 1,266,619 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded4%19%
Met18%30%
Nearly met25%23%
Not met53%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school11%
California36%

Tested: 957 here · 1,272,526 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded3%20%
Met8%16%
Nearly met22%23%
Not met67%41%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure859 students in English, 857 in math · grades 6–8 · 2025
English−13ptsCDE category: Moderate
Math−16ptsCDE category: Moderate

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: Most students in grades 6–8 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

33 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
18in 100 at the average California middle school

358 of 1,072 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school33 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
10.7%of students were suspended at least once (121 of 1,133), 2024–25
3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 4–629104 of 359
Grades 7–836254 of 713

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 6–8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

863 English · 857 math tested

English20% / 38%
Math10% / 24%

Hispanic or Latino

496 English · 494 math tested

English19% / 38%
Math10% / 24%

White

375 English · 373 math tested

English25% / 61%
Math13% / 49%

Black or African American

48 English · 47 math tested

English15% / 32%
Math6% / 18%

English learners

92 tested per subject

English3% / 7%
Math0% / 6%

Students with disabilities

131 English · 128 math tested

English5% / 14%
Math5% / 10%

Homeless

31 tested per subject · grades 7 and 8

English13% / 27%
Math6% / 15%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 6–8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Standard Elementaryvs California
Low-income · 863 tested in English, 857 in math
English20%020%−1838%
Math10%010%−1424%
Hispanic or Latino · 496 tested in English, 494 in math
English19%019%−1938%
Math10%010%−1424%
White · 375 tested in English, 373 in math
English25%025%−3661%
Math13%013%−3649%
Black or African American · 48 tested in English, 47 in math
English15%015%−1732%
Math6%06%−1218%
English learners · 92 tested
English3%03%−47%
Math0%00%−66%
Students with disabilities · 131 tested in English, 128 in math
English5%05%−914%
Math5%05%−510%
Homeless · 31 tested · grades 7 and 8 only
English13%013%−1427%
Math6%06%−915%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Standard Elementary, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

No published rate here for Asian, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students, students of two or more races and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income, Hispanic or Latino, White and Black or African American students did worse than the same groups statewide. English learners did worse than the same group statewide in math. Students with disabilities did worse than the same group statewide in English.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Standard Middle in Bakersfield, 20.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 20.4% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. Standard Middle’s rate for low-income students matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (9.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (19.4% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 18.7 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 863 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 51%2. White: 39%3. Black or African American: 5%4. Two or more races: 3%Unallocated share: 2%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino51%
  2. White39%
  3. Black or African American5%
  4. Two or more races3%
  5. Asian—
  6. Filipino—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share2%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino51%
White39%
Black or African American5%
Two or more races3%
Asian—
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

9 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (90%, 903 of 1,005). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers51
Average experience12 years
First-year teachers12%
65% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 65.15%: 33.8 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 51.8 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryHighland ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleStandard MiddleThis campus · grades 6-8
  3. High schoolLink not recordedAsk the district about this stage.
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Highland Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    12th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Standard Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    2nd percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Wingland Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    28th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Standard Elementary which school serves your address.

sms.standardschools.net

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
126 Ferguson Avenue, Bakersfield 93308

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?
  2. When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
  3. Most students in grades 6–8 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  4. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?

Call (661) 392-2130 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 81.9–97.9% meal eligibility and 503–2,010 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Standard Middle a good middle school?
Standard Middle is in the 2nd percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 13 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Standard Middle was well below California in English and math: 22% and 11% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Standard Middle's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 22% of students tested in grades 6–8 met or exceeded the English standard and 11% the math standard; 4% and 3% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 36% met or exceeded, 19% and 20% exceeded. 963 students were tested in English and 957 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Standard Middle rank in California?
Standard Middle is in the 2nd percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Needs Support, 2025). Standard Middle ranks #2,127 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G6 → 2025 G8), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is Standard Middle getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares Standard Middle's grade 6 results in 2023 with its grade 8 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope middle standardized cohort gain: approximately 29th percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Standard Middle?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 33.4% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 358 chronically absent of 1,072 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 10.7%; 121 unduplicated suspended students of 1,133 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 33.2%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 10.6%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Standard Middle compare to other schools in Bakersfield?
Standard Middle is in the 2nd percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,005 students. Use the schools in Bakersfield page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Standard Middle?
At Standard Middle in Bakersfield, 20.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 20.4% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. Standard Middle’s rate for low-income students matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (9.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (19.4% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 18.7 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 863 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Standard Middle is ranked #2,127 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard3.4%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded16.1%40.0%23%
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)Weakaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism33.2%18.1%5%
Suspension rate10.6%3.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)13.3%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 17.2% · index 35 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 40.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)
↓ vs CA average · ≈29th calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 18.1% · index 30 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 5.2pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.6% · index 22 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 3.3pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 39 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 63315%19%29%48%23%−23
Grade 73255%18%22%56%22%−25
Grade 83074%15%27%54%19%−27

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 63302%8%21%69%10%−24
Grade 73224%10%24%62%14%−20
Grade 83052%7%21%71%8%−24

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA32015.6%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA32517.5%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA29514.9%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math3238.4%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math32811.6%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math2979.4%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA33516.4%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA31130.2%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA27827.0%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math3357.5%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math31111.9%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math27711.6%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA90824.2%
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA90832.3%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA90819.1%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math9088.4%
2022 · Grade 7 · Math90811.6%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math9084.4%
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA96022.2%
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA96024.5%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA96020.6%
2019 · Grade 6 · Math9719.1%
2019 · Grade 7 · Math97112.0%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math9716.8%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3053%12%60%24%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged86320.4%+0−17
Hispanic/Latino49619.4%+0−19
White37525.3%+0−36
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Standard Middle ←—132nd percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20253.4%16.1%−3.1pp+29 pts10.6%
Washington Middle2.4 mi153rd percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20252.9%12.8%−4.1pp—4.9%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders4.2%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$56,701 – $117,168
Average elementary principal salary$129,557
Average middle school principal salary$134,092
Superintendent salary$224,487

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201913/1002#1914California comprehensive middle schools · 1,953 schools
202212/1002#2053California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools
202313/1005#2017California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202410/1000#2139California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 38.7% → 2025 · 33.4% · −5.3pp
Suspension rate2024 · 14.0% → 2025 · 10.7% · −3.3pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA9634.4%21.6%
2025 · Math9572.5%10.8%
2024 · ELA9402.9%16.1%
2024 · Math9482.5%9.8%
2023 · ELA9245.3%24.2%
2023 · Math9232.7%10.2%
2022 · ELA9084.6%25.2%
2022 · Math9081.6%8.2%
2019 · ELA9603.3%22.4%
2019 · Math9711.8%9.3%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———2.5%15.9%23.8%10.9%-2.0pp
2022———3.1%16.7%66.8%9.7%-4.6pp
2023———4.0%17.4%45.7%13.6%+7.3pp
2024———2.7%12.9%38.4%13.8%+0.2pp
2025132#21273.4%16.1%33.2%10.6%-3.1pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 17 points in ELA in grades 6–8 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female21.6%33.4%+11.8pp
Male26.3%33.4%+7.1pp
Black/African American21.4%43.1%+21.7pp
Hispanic/Latino21.0%30.4%+9.4pp
American Indian/Alaska Native36.4%——
Two or More Races30.4%33.3%+2.9pp
White25.2%36.1%+10.9pp
Students with Disabilities35.5%41.4%+5.9pp
English Learners16.3%27.6%+11.3pp
Foster Youth21.4%31.3%+9.9pp
Homeless48.3%56.9%+8.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged25.6%34.8%+9.2pp
All Students24.0%33.4%+9.4pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−13859Moderate−16857Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−14775Moderate−17773Moderate
English Only−13697not categorised−14694not categorised
Hispanic or Latino−16443Moderate−18444Moderate
White−12338Moderate−13337Moderate
Students with Disabilities−21120Minimal−4118Average
English Learner−15115Moderate−19116Moderate
English Learners Only−2371not categorised−972not categorised
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)−1061Moderate−261Average
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only−244not categorised−3144not categorised
Homeless Youth−3640Minimal−1640Moderate
Black or African American−1838Moderate−1037Moderate
Two or More Races−1725Moderate−724Moderate

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 6
4%
exceeded standard · 16% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 335 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 8
4%
exceeded standard · 19% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 307 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 306 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

859 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: −13 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 11th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.11th pctile · −13 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

857 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −16 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 9th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.9th pctile · −16 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,332 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 2,913 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$668 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,005

Central federal expenditures attributed here$162 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,005

District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,706 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 59%Instruction support 10%Student services 14%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 11%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,332 per pupil
2020$11,624 per pupil
2019$11,448 per pupil
2018$10,468 per pupil
2017$10,166 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 93308
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 93308
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$62,445
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)17.56%
ZCTA population55,078
Median age37.6 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/standard-middle-0094"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Standard Middle — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction