ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

South Gate Senior High

South Gate, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,681 students · Los Angeles Unified

This school runs ahead of the state average. The bar itself is the harder conversation.

54% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 33% in math. 88.8% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

33%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

54%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,681

Total enrollment

Graduation

88.8%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 24%2022: 16%2023: 17%2024: 14%2025: 33%2019: 64%2022: 49%2023: 37%2024: 42%2025: 54%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 24%2022: 16%2023: 17%2024: 14%2025: 33%2019: 64%2022: 49%2023: 37%2024: 42%2025: 54%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201924%64%
202216%49%
202317%37%
202414%42%
202533%54%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 46th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “44% proficient” and call it done. South Gate deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

South Gate's low-income kids hit 55.6% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

347 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

South Gate Senior High scores 51 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 46th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 44% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 45th percentile · Scope Score 53 of 1002022 · 40th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002023 · 30th percentile · Scope Score 46 of 1002024 · 31st percentile · Scope Score 46 of 1002025 · 46th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathGreen(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1164%49%37%42%54%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1124%16%17%14%33%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA54% met or exceeded
Exceeded 17%Met 37%Nearly Met 27%Not Met 18%
Math33% met or exceeded
Exceeded 9%Met 24%Nearly Met 29%Not Met 38%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5113%44%88.8%49.8%35.1%0.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5154
% Exceeded13%20%
% Met+44%43%
Grad rate88.8%92.5%
College readiness49.8%43.0%
Absence35.1%23.1%
Suspension0.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

55.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 44% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 44%, district —, state 43%44%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 44%, district 36%, state 32%44% · +1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 45%, district 36%, state 32%45% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 46%, district 42%, state 44%46% · +2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 41%, district 41%, state 42%41% · −2 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 14%, district 14%, state 15%14% · −30 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 3%, district 9%, state 11%3% · −41 vs school

5 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic99.7% AP · 98.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.4% enroll.
White0.3% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
English learners1.6% AP · 8.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.8% AP · 12.9% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

54%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 223 of 415 completers · includes community colleges

415Completers
36%
Other colleges151 completers · Outside the California community college system
17%
California community colleges72 completers · Enrolled within a year
46%
Not recorded enrolled192 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

54%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of South Gate's class of 2023, 54% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 415 completers, 54% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 38 (9%)California State University 101 (24%)California community college 72 (17%)In-state private 6 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 4 (1%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 192 (46%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 29 of South Gate's 371 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 6 enrollees.

Applied125fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted104
Enrolled29
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Riverside 6Los Angeles 5Santa Cruz 5Irvine 4Berkeley 3Davis ‹3Merced ‹3San Diego ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 62 enrolled, 2014

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 54% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (72) than at UC (38).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

South Gate's teachers are authorized to teach 3 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Biology, African American Studies, and English Language and Composition.

Students per teacher19 · district 20
Teaching staff91 teachers
Avg. experience15.6 years
Fully credentialed77%
First-year teachers4%
Intern / emergency permit7.3%
PrincipalLeo Gonzalez
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers107 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers43 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught3
ShowHide the 3 AP courses by discipline
Sciences (1)Biology
English (1)English Language and Composition
History & Social Science (1)African American Studies

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

35.1% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 35.1%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%35.1% · +12.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.4%, district —, state 3.3%0.4% · −2.8pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1235.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $23,196 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$2,499 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $23,196, CA average $14,491$23,196 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,499 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 23% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino96.8% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White1.8% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.1% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black0.7% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other0.7% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch93.8% · CA 64%
Median income$75K · CA $85K
Median home value$636K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+11% · CA 35%
ZIP population91,365
Median age36 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
South Gate Senior HighPublicDeveloping13%44%School being viewed
Middle College HighPublicStrong43%80%2.7 mi
King/Drew Medical Magnet HighPublicStrong24%57%3.0 mi
Alliance Margaret M. Bloomfield Technology AcademyCharterStrong23%54%1.5 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in South Gate →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

8 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is South Gate Senior High a good high school?
South Gate Senior High has a Scope Score of 51 out of 100, placing it in the 46th percentile of California high schools and ranked #893 statewide. 13.1% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 6.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are South Gate Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 43.6% of students at South Gate Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 13.1% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 30.5% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 13.1% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 698 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does South Gate Senior High rank in California?
South Gate Senior High ranks #893 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 46th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at South Gate Senior High?
35.1% of students at South Gate Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.4%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does South Gate Senior High compare to other schools in South Gate?
South Gate Senior High scores 51/100 (46th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,681 students. Use the schools in South Gate page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does South Gate Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At South Gate Senior High in South Gate, 55.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. South Gate Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 14.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (33.8% Math proficient); Hispanic students (55.1% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 54.5 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 324 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at South Gate Senior High?
South Gate Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 3 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: African American Studies, Biology, English Language and Composition. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from South Gate Senior High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 29 South Gate Senior High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate88.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.1%19.8%22%
College readiness49.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded43.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.8%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

South Gate Senior High: reading the evidence

South Gate posts 44% meeting the standard against 43% statewide — ahead of most, with real headroom above the bar.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

South Gate Senior High is ranked #893 statewide · #129 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate88.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.1%19.8%22%
College readiness49.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded43.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.8%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.1pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.4pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1134717%37%27%18%54%+6
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113519%24%29%38%33%+9

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3822%20%70%7%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged32455.6%+15+17
Hispanic/Latino34155.1%+14+16
Students with Disabilities2917.2%+1+0
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
South Gate Senior High ←—5113.1%43.6%0.4%
Middle College High2.7 mi7742.9%79.9%0.5%
King/Drew Medical Magnet High3 mi6824.4%57.0%0.3%
Alliance Margaret M. Bloomfield Technology Academy1.5 mi6423.4%54.1%2.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
88.8%
AP Exam Prepared
49.8%
A-G Completion
59.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
53.7%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195345#82515.4%43.9%29.6%0.4%
20224940#95311.4%32.5%43.9%0.7%
20234630#11389.0%26.9%42.2%1.9%
20244631#11278.4%27.6%37.3%1.8%
20255146#89313.1%43.6%35.1%0.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female31.5%37.3%+5.8pp
Male28.0%33.4%+5.4pp
Black/African American30.0%83.3%+53.3pp
Hispanic/Latino29.6%35.4%+5.8pp
White30.4%21.2%-9.2pp
Students with Disabilities35.1%43.0%+7.9pp
English Learners34.3%43.3%+9.0pp
Foster Youth48.0%41.7%-6.3pp
Homeless37.7%54.5%+16.8pp
Military-Connected18.2%——
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged30.2%35.6%+5.4pp
All Students29.7%35.3%+5.6pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025125104293.623.673.83
2024148104333.673.794.04
202312293393.803.903.98
202210076313.863.964.13
202112497603.743.923.99
202012187313.703.823.97
2019159122553.753.853.95
201817293433.703.873.97
201712466323.663.843.95
201614091373.633.763.88
201513576433.723.933.99
201413895623.813.984.05

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253273
Berkeley2024346‹3
Berkeley20232712‹3
Berkeley202235147
Berkeley202141178
Davis2025348‹3
Davis20242310‹3
Davis20232911‹3
Davis20222510‹3
Davis20214019‹3
Irvine202589134
Irvine20241323611
Irvine20231013615
Irvine2022894213
Irvine2021916431
Los Angeles202584105
Los Angeles2024961412
Los Angeles202392128
Los Angeles202278145
Los Angeles2021941811
Merced20255655‹3
Merced20242624‹3
Merced20231413‹3
Merced20221313‹3
Merced202130254
Riverside202591726
Riverside20248446‹3
Riverside202361414
Riverside20224220‹3
Riverside20215430‹3
San Diego20255913‹3
San Diego202470285
San Diego202348266
San Diego20223017‹3
San Diego20213112‹3
Santa Barbara20255312‹3
Santa Barbara20247523‹3
Santa Barbara202369243
Santa Barbara20225533‹3
Santa Barbara20215928‹3
Santa Cruz202547235
Santa Cruz20244821‹3
Santa Cruz20233615‹3
Santa Cruz2022219‹3
Santa Cruz20213722‹3
Universitywide202512510429
Universitywide202414810433
Universitywide20231229339
Universitywide20221007631
Universitywide20211249760

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
African American Studiesthis school
Biologythis school
English Language and Compositionthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count16
AP enrollment369
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections3
Chemistry sections11
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,013

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California389.2%
California State University10124.3%
California community college7217.4%
In-state private61.4%
Out-of-state, 4-year41.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.5%
Not enrolled19246.3%

415 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 54% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/south-gate-senior-high-8307"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="South Gate Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

South Gate Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.