ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

San Clemente High

San Clemente, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,740 students · Capistrano Unified

An academic strength in the reported results. Look at who shares in it.

74% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 55% in math. 95.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

55%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

74%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,740

Total enrollment

Graduation

95.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 51%2022: 51%2023: 48%2024: 45%2025: 55%2019: 68%2022: 78%2023: 77%2024: 76%2025: 74%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 51%2022: 51%2023: 48%2024: 45%2025: 55%2019: 68%2022: 78%2023: 77%2024: 76%2025: 74%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201951%68%
202251%78%
202348%77%
202445%76%
202555%74%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 89th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “64% proficient” and call it done. San Clemente deserves a closer read. 37.5% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.

San Clemente's low-income kids hit 57.2% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

554 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

San Clemente High scores 71 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 89th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 64% of students meet the standard today, above the 59% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 1002022 · 90th percentile · Scope Score 72 of 1002023 · 90th percentile · Scope Score 73 of 1002024 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002025 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 100
ELAGreen(Maintained)MathBlue(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1168%78%77%76%74%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1151%51%48%45%55%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Across the reported grades and subjects, the average Met + Exceeded rate is 64.5% and the average Exceeded rate is 33.4%.

ELA74% met or exceeded
Exceeded 44%Met 30%Nearly Met 14%Not Met 12%
Math55% met or exceeded
Exceeded 23%Met 32%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 23%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7133%64%95.3%77.6%24.8%2.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7154
% Exceeded33%20%
% Met+64%43%
Grad rate95.3%92.5%
College readiness77.6%43.0%
Absence24.8%23.1%
Suspension2.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

57.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 64% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 64%, district —, state 43%64%
WhiteWhite: this school 70%, district 74%, state 56%70% · +6 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 66%, district 69%, state 44%66% · +1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 63%, district 66%, state 42%63% · −2 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 49%, district 49%, state 32%49% · −16 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 46%, district 45%, state 32%46% · −18 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 52%, district 60%, state 46%52% · −12 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 23%, district 32%, state 15%23% · −41 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 71%, district 76%, state 56%71% · +7 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 35%, district 32%, state 22%35% · −29 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 15%, district 14%, state 11%15% · −50 vs school

6 of 17 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 27% of San Clemente's enrollment but 12% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic11.9% AP · 27.3% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.8% AP · 0.4% enroll.
Asian3.9% AP · 2.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.5% enroll.
White74.0% AP · 64.0% enroll.
Two or more races9.5% AP · 5.4% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 5.4% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.0% AP · 12.9% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

82%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 576 of 703 completers · includes community colleges

703Completers
45%
Other colleges314 completers · Outside the California community college system
37%
California community colleges262 completers · Enrolled within a year
18%
Not recorded enrolled127 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

82%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of San Clemente's class of 2023, 82% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 703 completers, 82% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 46 (7%)California State University 74 (11%)California community college 262 (37%)In-state private 24 (3%)Out-of-state, 4-year 166 (24%)Out-of-state, 2-year 4 (1%)Not enrolled 127 (18%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 49 of San Clemente's 693 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Santa Barbara the most common landing, with 13 enrollees.

Applied185fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted124
Enrolled49
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Santa Barbara 13Los Angeles 7San Diego 7Berkeley 6Davis 6Riverside 4Santa Cruz 4Irvine ‹3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 60 enrolled, 2017

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 82% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (262) than at UC (46).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 24 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

San Clemente's teachers are authorized to teach 17 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher24 · district 23
Teaching staff151 teachers
Avg. experience15.9 years
Fully credentialed87%
First-year teachers1%
Intern / emergency permit0.6%
PrincipalBrad Baker
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$65,219 – $130,638
Principal salary$185,421 – $206,216
Superintendent salary$348,333

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers361 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers56 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught17
ShowHide the 17 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)European History · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)Art History
IBDiploma Programme (DP)

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 24.8%, district 13.1%, state 23.1%24.8% · +1.7pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.6%, district —, state 3.3%2.6% · −0.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1224.6%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $18,110 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$194 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,110, CA average $14,491$18,110 · spent at this school
Federal share$194 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,166 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 64%Instruction support 10%Student services 10%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,431 per pupil
2019$11,341 per pupil
2018$10,665 per pupil
2017$9,388 per pupil
2016$8,875 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

37.5% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 2,740 students, this school is well above the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 58% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino27.8% · district 26.7% · CA 56.1%
White60.3% · district 51.0% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.7% · district 7.4% · CA 10.2%
Black0.4% · district 0.7% · CA 4.8%
Other9.8% · district 14.2% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch37.5% · CA 64%
Median income$182K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.38M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+58% · CA 35%
ZIP population29,406
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
San Clemente HighPublicStrong33%64%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Clemente →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

4 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is San Clemente High a good high school?
San Clemente High has a Scope Score of 71 out of 100, placing it in the 89th percentile of California high schools and ranked #185 statewide. 33.4% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 13.5 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded (proficient), chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are San Clemente High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 64.5% of students at San Clemente High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 33.4% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 31.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 33.4% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 1,118 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does San Clemente High rank in California?
San Clemente High ranks #185 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 89th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at San Clemente High?
24.8% of students at San Clemente High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.6%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does San Clemente High compare to other schools in San Clemente?
San Clemente High scores 71/100 (89th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,740 students. Use the schools in San Clemente page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does San Clemente High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At San Clemente High in San Clemente, 57.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 55.1% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. San Clemente High's rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 2.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (40.1% Math proficient); White students (79.5% ELA proficient). Among the reported ELA and Math proficiency gaps supplied for this school, the largest is 56.6 percentage points: English learners trail the school-wide rate in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 182 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at San Clemente High?
San Clemente High's teachers are authorized to teach 17 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from San Clemente High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 49 San Clemente High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

77.6% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate95.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard33.4%19.8%22%
College readiness77.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded64.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism24.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)22.7%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

San Clemente High: reading the evidence

San Clemente posts 33.4% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide in the available reporting. Look across subjects and student groups, then ask about the classroom experience.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

San Clemente High is ranked #185 statewide · #5 of 8 in Capistrano Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate95.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard33.4%19.8%22%
College readiness77.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded64.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism24.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)22.7%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 69 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 4.4pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1155444%30%14%12%74%+25
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1156423%32%22%23%55%+31

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide58717%42%38%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged18257.2%+2+19
White36579.5%+1+18
Hispanic/Latino14157.5%+6+19
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
San Clemente High ←—7133.4%64.5%2.6%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
95.3%
AP Exam Prepared
77.6%
A-G Completion
66.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
81.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197085#22829.9%59.4%14.7%3.4%
20227290#15933.2%64.4%26.0%3.2%
20237390#16134.8%62.9%23.7%3.5%
20247188#19230.7%60.7%20.4%3.5%
20257189#18533.4%64.5%24.8%2.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female15.5%26.4%+10.9pp
Male13.4%22.7%+9.3pp
Asian6.9%12.8%+5.9pp
Black/African American13.8%16.7%+2.9pp
Filipino12.0%6.7%-5.3pp
Hispanic/Latino16.6%28.6%+12.0pp
Two or More Races11.4%24.1%+12.7pp
White13.8%23.3%+9.5pp
Students with Disabilities25.5%42.0%+16.5pp
English Learners19.4%36.8%+17.4pp
Homeless24.7%39.5%+14.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20.1%32.6%+12.5pp
All Students14.4%24.6%+10.2pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025185124494.004.094.19
2024187114503.914.044.14
2023211113493.934.094.17
2022222107393.924.054.12
2021220126583.964.104.19
2020182119553.944.064.14
2019209119513.884.044.12
201819284393.803.994.03
2017189112603.854.004.06
2016167100513.783.913.98
2015178110503.813.953.99
201414788403.783.964.03

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20258886
Berkeley2024901710
Berkeley2023101126
Berkeley202293135
Berkeley2021951711
Davis202567336
Davis202476265
Davis20237317‹3
Davis20226825‹3
Davis202183398
Irvine20257617‹3
Irvine202487233
Irvine202398278
Irvine202297154
Irvine202198358
Los Angeles2025120127
Los Angeles2024129129
Los Angeles20231391511
Los Angeles20221311510
Los Angeles2021141187
Merced20252121‹3
Merced20241212‹3
Merced20231312‹3
Merced20222121‹3
Merced20211515‹3
Riverside202538364
Riverside202434303
Riverside20232416‹3
Riverside20223423‹3
Riverside20212521‹3
San Diego2025132287
San Diego2024134318
San Diego2023139334
San Diego202214019‹3
San Diego2021155557
Santa Barbara20251354913
Santa Barbara2024134418
Santa Barbara20231453915
Santa Barbara202215122‹3
Santa Barbara2021155367
Santa Cruz202572524
Santa Cruz202484513
Santa Cruz202392533
Santa Cruz2022983612
Santa Cruz202196548
Universitywide202518512449
Universitywide202418711450
Universitywide202321111349
Universitywide202222210739
Universitywide202122012658

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count13
AP enrollment388
IB participationoffered · 452 enrolled
Dual enrollmentoffered · 237 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections4
Physics sections16
Chemistry sections17
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,947

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California466.5%
California State University7410.5%
California community college26237.3%
In-state private243.4%
Out-of-state, 4-year16623.6%
Out-of-state, 2-year40.6%
Not enrolled12718.1%

703 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 82% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/san-clemente-high-6001"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="San Clemente High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

San Clemente High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.