ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

Samueli Academy

Santa Ana, CA · Grades 7-12 · 842 students · Orange County Department of Education

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

58% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 26% in math. 100.0% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

26%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

58%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

842

Total enrollment

Graduation

100.0%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 35%2022: 28%2023: 20%2024: 17%2025: 26%2019: 63%2022: 65%2023: 59%2024: 57%2025: 58%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 35%2022: 28%2023: 20%2024: 17%2025: 26%2019: 63%2022: 65%2023: 59%2024: 57%2025: 58%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201935%63%
202228%65%
202320%59%
202417%57%
202526%58%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 71st to the 59th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “42% proficient” and call it done. Samueli Academy deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

As a charter, Samueli Academy enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

385 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Samueli Academy scores 56 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 59th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 42% meet the standard today, versus 49% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 71st percentile · Scope Score 62 of 1002022 · 65th percentile · Scope Score 57 of 1002023 · 60th percentile · Scope Score 56 of 1002024 · 54th percentile · Scope Score 54 of 1002025 · 59th percentile · Scope Score 56 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 754%61%37%62%
Grade 837%50%56%36%
Grade 1163%65%59%57%58%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 729%42%14%33%
Grade 821%18%33%17%
Grade 1135%28%20%17%26%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA52% met or exceeded
Exceeded 17%Met 35%Nearly Met 26%Not Met 22%
Math26% met or exceeded
Exceeded 10%Met 16%Nearly Met 30%Not Met 45%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5616%42%100.0%40.7%19.5%2.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5654
% Exceeded16%20%
% Met+42%43%
Grad rate100.0%92.5%
College readiness40.7%43.0%
Absence19.5%23.1%
Suspension2.2%3.3%
California’s growth results and student groups
State growth model · CDE growth model 2024–25

California's own growth model splits here — the 35th percentile in reading against the 6th in math, among high schools.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits well below the middle of California high schools in reading, and the 6th in math. We show it; we don't score it.

pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

California's growth model, ranked against the schools it scores
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: −3 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 35th percentile of 7,519 reported schools.35th pctile · −3 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: −19 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 6th percentile of 7,518 reported schools.6th pctile · −19 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

At Samueli Academy in Santa Ana, 45.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 14.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Samueli Academy outperforms its district average for low-income students by 30.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (16.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (47.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 48.6 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 281 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 39% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 39%, district —, state 43%39%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 34%, district 8%, state 32%34% · −5 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 31%, district 9%, state 32%31% · −8 vs school
MaleMale: this school 41%, district 10%, state 42%41% · +2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 36%, district 15%, state 44%36% · −3 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 1%, district 1%, state 11%1% · −38 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 15%, district 7%, state 15%15% · −24 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 91%, district 27%, state 72%91% · +52 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 41%, district 9%, state 22%41% · +2 vs school

6 of 15 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group
The state's growth model, by student group

California follows these children individually and predicts each one's score from their own prior year. Each row is read against the same group at a typical California high school — not against zero, and not against this school's all-students figure, because the state's expectation already differs by group.

Reading
Hispanic or Latino students205 studentsHispanic or Latino students, reading: −4 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 205 students.−4 pts · −1 vs typical
Low-income students186 studentsLow-income students, reading: −4 scale-score points versus expectation, against −5 for the same group at a typical California high school, 186 students.−4 pts · +1 vs typical
English Only108 studentsEnglish Only, reading: −3 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 108 students.−3 pts · 0 vs typical
English Learner84 studentsEnglish Learner, reading: −7 scale-score points versus expectation, against −8 for the same group at a typical California high school, 84 students.−7 pts · +1 vs typical
Recently reclassified51 studentsRecently reclassified, reading: −4 scale-score points versus expectation, against −5 for the same group at a typical California high school, 51 students.−4 pts · +1 vs typical
Math
Hispanic or Latino students206 studentsHispanic or Latino students, math: −22 scale-score points versus expectation, against −13 for the same group at a typical California high school, 206 students.−22 pts · −9 vs typical
Low-income students188 studentsLow-income students, math: −20 scale-score points versus expectation, against −15 for the same group at a typical California high school, 188 students.−20 pts · −5 vs typical
English Only109 studentsEnglish Only, math: −20 scale-score points versus expectation, against −12 for the same group at a typical California high school, 109 students.−20 pts · −8 vs typical
English Learner84 studentsEnglish Learner, math: −9 scale-score points versus expectation, against −11 for the same group at a typical California high school, 84 students.−9 pts · +2 vs typical
Recently reclassified51 studentsRecently reclassified, math: −16 scale-score points versus expectation, against −15 for the same group at a typical California high school, 51 students.−16 pts · −1 vs typical
this school typical California high school, same group| the centre tick is 0 = as predicted

— 4 more groups are reported here with between 11 and 29 students. We hold those back on purpose: at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own, and a quarter of such groups land past the state's top or bottom cut point by chance alone. They are listed with their student counts in the data appendix. — A group not listed at all had fewer than 11 students with a growth score, so California published nothing for it here. That is a privacy protection, not a judgment about those students. — Context only. None of this enters the Scope Score.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic83.9% AP · 86.3% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian11.8% AP · 4.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.6% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.7% enroll.
White4.3% AP · 7.6% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
English learners3.2% AP · 15.5% enroll.
Students with disabilities3.2% AP · 10.5% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

83%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 101 of 122 completers · includes community colleges

122Completers
37%
Other colleges45 completers · Outside the California community college system
46%
California community colleges56 completers · Enrolled within a year
17%
Not recorded enrolled21 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

83%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Samueli Academy's class of 2023, 83% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 122 completers, 83% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 9 (7%)California State University 23 (19%)California community college 56 (46%)In-state private 7 (6%)Out-of-state, 4-year 3 (2%)Out-of-state, 2-year 3 (2%)Not enrolled 21 (17%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 19 of Samueli Academy's 137 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 8 enrollees.

Applied48fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted41
Enrolled19
ShowHide the UC campus list
Where they landed (fall 2025)

7 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 83% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (56) than at UC (9).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 22 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Samueli Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 1 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Computer Science Principles.

Students per teacher22 · district 23
Teaching staff45 teachers
Avg. experience9.0 years
Fully credentialed89%
First-year teachers4%
Intern / emergency permit2.2%
PrincipalAnthony Saba
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$52,803 – $136,867
Principal salary$176,650 – $176,650
Superintendent salary$336,600

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers44 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers66 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught1
ShowHide the 1 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (1)Computer Science Principles

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 19.5%, district 14.6%, state 23.1%19.5% · −3.5pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.2%, district —, state 3.3%2.2% · −1.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2019–20

Its district spends $70,768 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $70,768, CA average $14,491$70,768 · district average
District averageCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 26%Instruction support 46%Student services 8%Administration 14%Buildings & maintenance 5%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$70,768 per pupil
2019$67,286 per pupil
2018$61,708 per pupil
2017$32,576 per pupil
2016$30,374 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 28% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino82.7% · district 48.6% · CA 56.1%
White5.2% · district 22.7% · CA 19.9%
Asian6.3% · district 16.0% · CA 10.2%
Black1.1% · district 2.7% · CA 4.8%
Other4.8% · district 10.0% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 48.7% · Male 50.6% · Non-binary 0.7%
Free or reduced lunch74.3% · CA 64%
Median income$103K · CA $85K
Median home value$894K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+23% · CA 35%
ZIP population37,175
Median age36 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Samueli AcademyCharterSolid16%42%School being viewed
OCSACharterStrong48%75%2.0 mi
Garden Grove HighPublicStrong33%59%2.2 mi
Middle College HighPublicStrong44%75%0.8 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Santa Ana →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

9 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Samueli Academy a good high school?
Samueli Academy has a Scope Score of 56 out of 100, placing it in the 59th percentile of California high schools and ranked #673 statewide. 15.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 4.3 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Samueli Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 41.9% of students at Samueli Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 15.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.3% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 15.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 270 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Samueli Academy rank in California?
Samueli Academy ranks #673 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 59th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Samueli Academy?
19.5% of students at Samueli Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Samueli Academy compare to other schools in Santa Ana?
Samueli Academy scores 56/100 (59th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 842 students. Use the schools in Santa Ana page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Samueli Academy serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Samueli Academy in Santa Ana, 45.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 14.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Samueli Academy outperforms its district average for low-income students by 30.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (16.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (47.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 48.6 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 281 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Samueli Academy?
Samueli Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 1 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Computer Science Principles. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Samueli Academy go to UC?
In fall 2025, 19 Samueli Academy graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard15.6%19.8%22%
College readiness40.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded41.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.2%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Samueli Academy: reading the evidence

Samueli Academy posts 42% meeting the standard and 15.6% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Samueli Academy is ranked #673 statewide · #3 of 6 in Orange County Department of Education.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard15.6%19.8%22%
College readiness40.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded41.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.2%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.6pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.7pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 713319%43%25%14%62%+14
Grade 81178%28%29%35%36%−10
Grade 1113524%33%24%19%58%+9
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 713316%17%36%31%33%−1
Grade 81197%10%29%54%17%−15
Grade 111357%19%24%50%26%+2

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide2478%20%59%13%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged28145.0%+30+7
Hispanic/Latino32447.8%+34+9
English Learners362.8%+1−8
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Samueli Academy ←5615.6%41.9%2.2%
OCSA2 mi8448.1%75.3%1.1%
Garden Grove High2.2 mi6933.4%59.3%4.5%
Middle College High0.8 mi6743.9%75.3%1.3%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
100.0%
AP Exam Prepared
40.7%
A-G Completion
70.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
82.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196271#44026.4%48.9%10.9%1.9%
20225765#55316.9%46.5%20.0%6.0%
20235660#64716.7%39.8%19.7%6.5%
20245454#74914.9%37.3%21.2%5.9%
20255659#67315.6%41.9%19.5%2.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05UC admissions, universitywide2017–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 05 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20254841193.913.964.04
20245446203.833.864.04
2023351793.834.014.12
2022512583.653.854.12
20214324143.603.853.92
20203528103.733.773.96
2019341893.743.983.97
20183820123.693.963.98
20175023143.573.833.74

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

06UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025183‹3
Berkeley2024253‹3
Berkeley202317‹3‹3
Berkeley2022203‹3
Berkeley202115‹3‹3
Davis20251611‹3
Davis2024135‹3
Davis202394‹3
Davis2022125‹3
Davis20216‹3‹3
Irvine202539158
Irvine202449135
Irvine2023326‹3
Irvine202243‹3‹3
Irvine202135‹3‹3
Los Angeles2025334‹3
Los Angeles20243553
Los Angeles20232343
Los Angeles202231‹3‹3
Los Angeles202126‹3‹3
Merced20251817‹3
Merced20241110‹3
Merced2022108‹3
Merced202175‹3
Riverside202527243
Riverside202424173
Riverside2023106‹3
Riverside2022289‹3
Riverside2021196‹3
San Diego20253516‹3
San Diego202435214
San Diego2023183‹3
San Diego2022264‹3
San Diego202123105
Santa Barbara2025216‹3
Santa Barbara2024195‹3
Santa Barbara2023186‹3
Santa Barbara2022173‹3
Santa Barbara2021153‹3
Santa Cruz20251813‹3
Santa Cruz20241714‹3
Santa Cruz2023105‹3
Santa Cruz2022165‹3
Santa Cruz20211593
Universitywide2025484119
Universitywide2024544620
Universitywide202335179
Universitywide202251258
Universitywide2021432414

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

07AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 07 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Computer Science Principlesthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

08Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 08 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count13
AP enrollment93
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 130 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections10
Total enrollment (CRDC)673

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

09College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 09 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California97.4%
California State University2318.9%
California community college5645.9%
In-state private75.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year32.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year32.5%
Not enrolled2117.2%

122 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 83% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

10California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
ShowHide table 10 — California growth model, by student group
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−3240Average−19242Moderate
Hispanic or Latino−4205Average−22206Minimal
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−4186Average−20188Moderate
English Only−3108not categorised−20109not categorised
English Learner−784Moderate−984Moderate
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only−451not categorised−1651not categorised
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)−1836Moderate+136Average
English Learners Only−2033not categorised−133not categorised
Students with Disabilities−527Average027Average
Asian+918Accelerated−518Average
Homeless Youth+317Average−1317Moderate
White−1112Moderate−812Moderate

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/samueli-academy-6037"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Samueli Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Samueli Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.