ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Mt. Carmel High

San Diego, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,800 students · Poway Unified

65% of kids clear the bar — ahead of the state's 43%. But English learner progress trails the state.

71% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 59% in math. 97.5% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

Math

59%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

71%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,800

Total enrollment

Graduation

97.5%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 65%2022: 52%2023: 53%2024: 58%2025: 59%2019: 79%2022: 73%2023: 80%2024: 74%2025: 71%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 65%2022: 52%2023: 53%2024: 58%2025: 59%2019: 79%2022: 73%2023: 80%2024: 74%2025: 71%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201965%79%
202252%73%
202353%80%
202458%74%
202559%71%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 88th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “65% proficient” and call it done. Mt. Carmel deserves a closer read. It sits at the 88th percentile of 1,647 California high schools — but the ranking is the least interesting thing on this page.

Mt. Carmel's low-income kids hit 57.5% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

442 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Mt. Carmel High scores 70 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 88th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 65% meet the standard today, versus 72% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 93rd percentile · Scope Score 78 of 1002022 · 90th percentile · Scope Score 72 of 1002023 · 92nd percentile · Scope Score 75 of 1002024 · 92nd percentile · Scope Score 74 of 1002025 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined)MathBlue(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1179%73%80%74%71%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1165%52%53%58%59%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Three in five of students here meet the standard. One in three clear it by a lot.

ELA71% met or exceeded
Exceeded 36%Met 34%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 10%
Math59% met or exceeded
Exceeded 34%Met 25%Nearly Met 18%Not Met 23%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7035%65%97.5%71.9%13.5%2.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7054
% Exceeded35%20%
% Met+65%43%
Grad rate97.5%92.5%
College readiness71.9%43.0%
Absence13.5%23.1%
Suspension2.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

57.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 65% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 65%, district —, state 43%65%
MaleMale: this school 65%, district 70%, state 42%65% · −0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 65%, district 70%, state 44%65% · +0 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 72%, district 68%, state 56%72% · +8 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 52%, district 50%, state 32%52% · −13 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 47%, district 46%, state 32%47% · −17 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 83%, district 87%, state 72%83% · +18 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 58%, district 71%, state 56%58% · −7 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 56%, district 70%, state 65%56% · −9 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 22%, district 34%, state 15%22% · −42 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 41%, district 42%, state 26%41% · −24 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: too few students to report‹11
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic15.8% AP · 20.3% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.3% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian31.7% AP · 24.6% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.3% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black2.7% AP · 3.8% enroll.
White38.9% AP · 38.9% enroll.
Two or more races10.4% AP · 11.9% enroll.
English learners0.7% AP · 2.9% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.4% AP · 13.9% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

89%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 387 of 434 completers · includes community colleges

434Completers
49%
Other colleges212 completers · Outside the California community college system
40%
California community colleges175 completers · Enrolled within a year
11%
Not recorded enrolled47 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

89%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Mt. Carmel's class of 2023, 89% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 434 completers, 89% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 49 (11%)California State University 79 (18%)California community college 175 (40%)In-state private 9 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 73 (17%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 47 (11%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 80 of Mt. Carmel's 423 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 38 enrollees.

Applied182fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted149
Enrolled80
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Irvine 38Santa Barbara 12San Diego 9Santa Cruz 7Riverside 6Davis 3Los Angeles 3Berkeley ‹3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 89% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (175) than at UC (49).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 23 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Mt. Carmel's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher23 · district 23
Teaching staff92 teachers
Avg. experience16.0 years
Fully credentialed83%
First-year teachers4%
Intern / emergency permit0.5%
PrincipalYael Bozzay
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$58,959 – $127,725
Principal salary$160,698 – $181,289
Superintendent salary$362,500

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers248 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers157 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught23
ShowHide the 23 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (6)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (6)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (4)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 13.5%, district 9.7%, state 23.1%13.5% · −9.5pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.2%, district —, state 3.3%2.2% · −1.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1212.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $16,052 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$429 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $16,052, CA average $14,491$16,052 · spent at this school
Federal share$429 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$15,880 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 65%Instruction support 12%Student services 8%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,246 per pupil
2019$11,959 per pupil
2018$12,266 per pupil
2017$11,181 per pupil
2016$10,952 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in ten of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 59% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino20.0% · district 17.4% · CA 56.1%
White36.6% · district 37.6% · CA 19.9%
Asian16.8% · district 25.5% · CA 10.2%
Black3.1% · district 1.6% · CA 4.8%
Other23.5% · district 17.8% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch17.4% · CA 64%
Median income$156K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.11M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+66% · CA 35%
ZIP population52,965
Median age42 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Mt. Carmel HighPublicStrong35%65%School being viewed
Westview HighPublicStrong50%78%1.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Diego →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

3 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Poway Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask how English learners are supported, and what changes for them after they reclassify.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Mt. Carmel High a good high school?
Mt. Carmel High has a Scope Score of 70 out of 100, placing it in the 88th percentile of California high schools and ranked #202 statewide. 35.3% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 15.4 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Mt. Carmel High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 64.8% of students at Mt. Carmel High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 35.3% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 29.5% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 35.3% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 888 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Mt. Carmel High rank in California?
Mt. Carmel High ranks #202 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 88th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Mt. Carmel High?
13.5% of students at Mt. Carmel High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Mt. Carmel High compare to other schools in San Diego?
Mt. Carmel High scores 70/100 (88th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,800 students. Use the schools in San Diego page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Mt. Carmel High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Mt. Carmel High in San Diego, 57.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 50.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Mt. Carmel High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 6.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (37.8% Math proficient); White students (74.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 40.6 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 80 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Mt. Carmel High?
Mt. Carmel High's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Mt. Carmel High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 80 Mt. Carmel High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate97.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard35.3%19.8%22%
College readiness71.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded64.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism13.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)2.6%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Mt. Carmel High: reading the evidence

Mt. Carmel posts 65% meeting the standard, against 43% across the state. The number below is the one to ask about on a visit.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Mt. Carmel High is ranked #202 statewide · #4 of 6 in Poway Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard35.3%19.8%22%
College readiness71.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded64.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism13.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)2.6%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 72 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.4pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 28 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1144236%34%19%10%71%+22
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1144634%25%18%23%59%+35

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide38822%37%38%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged8057.5%+7+19
White15774.5%+2+13
Hispanic/Latino8460.7%+5+22
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Mt. Carmel High ←—7035.3%64.8%2.2%
Westview High1.6 mi8450.1%77.7%1.3%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
97.5%
AP Exam Prepared
71.9%
A-G Completion
75.4%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
89.2%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197893#10641.1%71.9%9.4%1.3%
20227290#16531.0%62.5%16.8%1.8%
20237592#13036.0%66.5%14.6%2.6%
20247492#13036.1%66.1%14.9%2.8%
20257088#20235.3%64.8%13.5%2.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female10.2%14.3%+4.1pp
Male7.4%11.5%+4.1pp
Asian3.2%5.3%+2.1pp
Black/African American7.5%17.2%+9.7pp
Filipino7.0%5.3%-1.7pp
Hispanic/Latino11.8%20.8%+9.0pp
Pacific Islander0.0%——
Two or More Races11.8%14.1%+2.3pp
White10.0%12.9%+2.9pp
Students with Disabilities15.9%27.6%+11.7pp
English Learners9.2%23.7%+14.5pp
Homeless9.1%48.4%+39.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged11.8%22.4%+10.6pp
All Students8.8%12.9%+4.1pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025182149803.994.034.11
2024195124573.913.974.06
2023164110494.024.144.19
2022188113644.044.164.25
2021174110573.914.114.20
2020134106623.924.004.10
201913284503.874.064.14
2018151101573.854.014.05
2017167112613.894.044.11
2016143101573.843.964.00
201517296603.824.014.01
201414994523.874.044.08

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202591‹3‹3
Berkeley2024783‹3
Berkeley20238912‹3
Berkeley202291137
Berkeley2021829‹3
Davis2025102223
Davis20249915‹3
Davis20238531‹3
Davis202294299
Davis202180253
Irvine20251357238
Irvine20241293614
Irvine2023134214
Irvine2022128204
Irvine202111629‹3
Los Angeles202512393
Los Angeles202412087
Los Angeles2023109119
Los Angeles202212485
Los Angeles2021107115
Merced20253131‹3
Merced20243232‹3
Merced20232420‹3
Merced20222120‹3
Merced20211613‹3
Riverside202592886
Riverside202491678
Riverside202363569
Riverside202265468
Riverside20215432‹3
San Diego2025153269
San Diego2024147148
San Diego20231322311
San Diego20221493521
San Diego20211426331
Santa Barbara20251274312
Santa Barbara2024118287
Santa Barbara2023118319
Santa Barbara202211919‹3
Santa Barbara202198235
Santa Cruz202593747
Santa Cruz2024835211
Santa Cruz202375563
Santa Cruz202285307
Santa Cruz202174476
Universitywide202518214980
Universitywide202419512457
Universitywide202316411049
Universitywide202218811364
Universitywide202117411057

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count20
AP enrollment753
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections6
Physics sections8
Chemistry sections7
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,889

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California4911.3%
California State University7918.2%
California community college17540.3%
In-state private92.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year7316.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.5%
Not enrolled4710.8%

434 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 89% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/mt-carmel-high-0074"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Mt. Carmel High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Mt. Carmel High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.