ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Madera High

Madera, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,869 students · Madera Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

58% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 20% in math. 93.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalRobyn Cosgrove
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,869 students

Math

20%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

58%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,869

Total enrollment

Graduation

93.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 18%2022: 14%2023: 18%2024: 15%2025: 20%2019: 45%2022: 44%2023: 54%2024: 52%2025: 58%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 18%2022: 14%2023: 18%2024: 15%2025: 20%2019: 45%2022: 44%2023: 54%2024: 52%2025: 58%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201918%45%
202214%44%
202318%54%
202415%52%
202520%58%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 25th to the 37th percentile of California high schools since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “39% proficient” and call it done. Madera deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Madera's low-income kids hit 54.5% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

385 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Madera High scores 49 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 37th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 39% of students meet the standard today, above the 32% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 25th percentile · Scope Score 46 of 1002022 · 27th percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002023 · 34th percentile · Scope Score 48 of 1002024 · 34th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002025 · 37th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathYellow(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1145%44%54%52%58%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1118%14%18%15%20%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA58% met or exceeded
Exceeded 24%Met 34%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 18%
Math20% met or exceeded
Exceeded 5%Met 14%Nearly Met 28%Not Met 52%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4915%39%93.3%34.7%21.9%4.0%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4954
% Exceeded15%20%
% Met+39%43%
Grad rate93.3%92.5%
College readiness34.7%43.0%
Absence21.9%23.1%
Suspension4.0%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

54.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 39% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 39%, district —, state 43%39%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 38%, district 26%, state 32%38% · −1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 35%, district 25%, state 32%35% · −3 vs school
MaleMale: this school 37%, district 26%, state 42%37% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 40%, district 28%, state 44%40% · +2 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 6%, district 9%, state 11%6% · −33 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 51%, district 36%, state 56%51% · +12 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 3%, district 6%, state 15%3% · −35 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 0%, district 17%, state 22%0% · −39 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 27%, district 45%, state 72%27% · −11 vs school

7 of 17 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic78.6% AP · 85.8% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian5.6% AP · 2.7% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.7% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black1.0% AP · 1.5% enroll.
White11.8% AP · 8.2% enroll.
Two or more races2.3% AP · 1.4% enroll.
English learners3.3% AP · 16.5% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.0% AP · 8.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

72%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 280 of 389 completers · includes community colleges

389Completers
25%
Other colleges97 completers · Outside the California community college system
47%
California community colleges183 completers · Enrolled within a year
28%
Not recorded enrolled109 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

72%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Madera's class of 2023, 72% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 389 completers, 72% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 32 (8%)California State University 51 (13%)California community college 183 (47%)In-state private 8 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 6 (2%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 109 (28%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 20 of Madera's 362 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Berkeley the most common landing, with 5 enrollees.

Applied64fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted55
Enrolled20
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

5 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 32 enrolled, 2023

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 72% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (183) than at UC (32).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 21 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Madera's teachers are authorized to teach 15 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus AB, Computer Science Principles, and Chemistry.

Students per teacher21 · district 20
Teaching staff94 teachers
Avg. experience13.7 years
Fully credentialed81%
First-year teachers9%
Intern / emergency permit1.2%
PrincipalRobyn Cosgrove
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$52,709 – $107,743
Principal salary$143,118 – $154,013
Superintendent salary$266,200

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers66 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers58 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught15
ShowHide the 15 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (3)Calculus AB · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus
Sciences (3)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)Human Geography · Microeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics
World Languages & Cultures (2)French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)2-D Art and Design

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 21.9%, district 20.7%, state 23.1%21.9% · −1.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 4.0%, district —, state 3.3%4.0% · +0.7pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1221.5%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $22,553 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$1,006 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $22,553, CA average $14,491$22,553 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,006 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,575 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 53%Instruction support 11%Student services 13%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 5%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$14,158 per pupil
2019$12,750 per pupil
2018$13,001 per pupil
2017$12,013 per pupil
2016$11,204 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 26% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino86.9% · district 91.0% · CA 56.1%
White7.3% · district 4.3% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.0% · district 1.2% · CA 10.2%
Black1.3% · district 1.1% · CA 4.8%
Other2.5% · district 2.4% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch81.8% · CA 64%
Median income$72K · CA $85K
Median home value$384K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+14% · CA 35%
ZIP population43,785
Median age32 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Madera HighPublicDeveloping15%39%School being viewed
Matilda Torres HighPublicDeveloping11%35%2.5 mi
Sherman Thomas Charter HighCharterDeveloping17%45%1.9 mi
Madera South HighPublicNeeds Support9%27%1.3 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Madera →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

1 private school within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Madera Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Madera High a good high school?
Madera High has a Scope Score of 49 out of 100, placing it in the 37th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,040 statewide. 14.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 5.3 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Madera High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 38.8% of students at Madera High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 14.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.3% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 14.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 777 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Madera High rank in California?
Madera High ranks #1,040 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 37th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Madera High?
21.9% of students at Madera High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 4.0%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Madera High compare to other schools in Madera?
Madera High scores 49/100 (37th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,869 students. Use the schools in Madera page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Madera High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Madera High in Madera, 54.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 31.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Madera High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 22.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (16.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (57.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 51.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 299 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Madera High?
Madera High's teachers are authorized to teach 15 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Microeconomics, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Madera High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 20 Madera High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate93.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard14.5%19.8%22%
College readiness34.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded38.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.3%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Madera High: reading the evidence

Madera posts 39% meeting the standard and 14.5% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Madera High is ranked #1,040 statewide · #3 of 5 in Madera Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate93.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard14.5%19.8%22%
College readiness34.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded38.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.3%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.4pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1138524%34%24%18%58%+9
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113925%14%28%52%20%−4

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4064%22%67%6%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged29954.5%+23+16
Hispanic/Latino33157.0%+24+18
English Learners496.3%−4−4
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Madera High ←—4914.5%38.8%4.0%
Matilda Torres High2.5 mi5010.7%34.6%4.2%
Sherman Thomas Charter High1.9 mi4916.7%45.2%2.2%
Madera South High1.3 mi439.0%27.1%7.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
93.3%
AP Exam Prepared
34.7%
A-G Completion
46.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
72.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194625#11378.0%31.5%15.8%7.3%
20224427#11678.4%29.1%38.5%6.7%
20234834#107511.5%35.7%24.6%8.2%
20244734#10879.2%33.5%22.3%4.9%
20254937#104014.5%38.8%21.9%4.0%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female16.9%23.3%+6.4pp
Male14.0%19.8%+5.8pp
Asian10.5%15.0%+4.5pp
Black/African American15.6%34.6%+19.0pp
Hispanic/Latino15.2%20.8%+5.6pp
Two or More Races5.9%25.0%+19.1pp
White18.7%27.5%+8.8pp
Students with Disabilities21.9%22.4%+0.5pp
English Learners18.0%24.1%+6.1pp
Foster Youth30.0%38.5%+8.5pp
Homeless24.3%35.8%+11.5pp
Military-Connected13.2%24.0%+10.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged17.1%22.6%+5.5pp
All Students15.4%21.5%+6.1pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20256455203.673.774.00
20247153203.693.803.96
20237563323.843.924.06
20225646193.853.913.82
20216849263.703.913.92
20205041183.713.783.82
20196444163.703.813.86
20187544193.683.913.95
20175335143.703.883.98
20165440243.763.903.96
20155933143.613.823.75
20145036143.683.873.94

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253275
Berkeley20243564
Berkeley20233065
Berkeley202226‹3‹3
Berkeley20212263
Davis202536143
Davis20243916‹3
Davis202345225
Davis2022199‹3
Davis202138165
Irvine20254112‹3
Irvine2024318‹3
Irvine2023403‹3
Irvine202223‹3‹3
Irvine202134‹3‹3
Los Angeles20252633
Los Angeles2024334‹3
Los Angeles202336‹3‹3
Los Angeles202229‹3‹3
Los Angeles20214353
Merced20253936‹3
Merced202439387
Merced202339366
Merced202229288
Merced202130237
Riverside20252219‹3
Riverside2024127‹3
Riverside2023169‹3
Riverside202263‹3
Riverside2021135‹3
San Diego20252811‹3
San Diego20243411‹3
San Diego202327178
San Diego202222133
San Diego20212510‹3
Santa Barbara202518113
Santa Barbara202419133
Santa Barbara202328123
Santa Barbara202233133
Santa Barbara202126136
Santa Cruz20252516‹3
Santa Cruz20243416‹3
Santa Cruz20233122‹3
Santa Cruz2022229‹3
Santa Cruz20212013‹3
Universitywide2025645520
Universitywide2024715320
Universitywide2023756332
Universitywide2022564619
Universitywide2021684926

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count21
AP enrollment304
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections22
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,054

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California328.2%
California State University5113.1%
California community college18347.0%
In-state private82.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year61.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled10928.0%

389 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 72% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/madera-high-5707"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Madera High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Madera High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.