ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

John F. Kennedy High

La Palma, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,983 students · Anaheim Union High

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

74% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 40% in math. 99.6% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalPoppy Hill-Bonales
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,983 students

Math

40%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

74%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,983

Total enrollment

Graduation

99.6%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 46%2022: 39%2023: 40%2024: 46%2025: 40%2019: 81%2022: 76%2023: 73%2024: 71%2025: 74%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 46%2022: 39%2023: 40%2024: 46%2025: 40%2019: 81%2022: 76%2023: 73%2024: 71%2025: 74%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201946%81%
202239%76%
202340%73%
202446%71%
202540%74%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 84th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “57% proficient” and call it done. John F. Kennedy deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

John F. Kennedy's low-income kids hit 68.3% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

495 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

John F. Kennedy High scores 67 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 84th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 57% meet the standard today, versus 64% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 72 of 1002022 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 1002023 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 69 of 1002024 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 69 of 1002025 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 67 of 100
ELAGreen(Maintained)MathYellow(Declined)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1181%76%73%71%74%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1146%39%40%46%40%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA74% met or exceeded
Exceeded 41%Met 32%Nearly Met 15%Not Met 11%
Math40% met or exceeded
Exceeded 22%Met 18%Nearly Met 23%Not Met 38%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6732%57%99.6%59.2%19.3%2.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6754
% Exceeded32%20%
% Met+57%43%
Grad rate99.6%92.5%
College readiness59.2%43.0%
Absence19.3%23.1%
Suspension2.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

68.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 57% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 57%, district —, state 43%57%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 51%, district 28%, state 32%51% · −6 vs school
MaleMale: this school 54%, district 33%, state 42%54% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 59%, district 36%, state 44%59% · +3 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 45%, district 22%, state 32%45% · −11 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 73%, district 77%, state 72%73% · +16 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 59%, district 43%, state 56%59% · +3 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 72%, district 68%, state 65%72% · +15 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 7%, state 15%13% · −44 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 45%, district 28%, state 46%45% · −12 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 13%, district 5%, state 11%13% · −44 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 28%, district 20%, state 22%28% · −29 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 76%, district 50%, state 56%76% · +20 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 25%, district 26%, state 26%25% · −32 vs school
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic29.2% AP · 42.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.2% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian54.8% AP · 32.9% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.3% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black2.2% AP · 3.2% enroll.
White9.9% AP · 16.1% enroll.
Two or more races3.3% AP · 4.3% enroll.
English learners0.3% AP · 5.1% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.2% AP · 11.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

84%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 417 of 497 completers · includes community colleges

497Completers
30%
Other colleges148 completers · Outside the California community college system
54%
California community colleges269 completers · Enrolled within a year
16%
Not recorded enrolled80 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

84%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of John F. Kennedy's class of 2023, 84% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 497 completers, 84% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 40 (8%)California State University 79 (16%)California community college 269 (54%)In-state private 17 (3%)Out-of-state, 4-year 10 (2%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 80 (16%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 38 of John F. Kennedy's 491 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 10 enrollees.

Applied140fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted107
Enrolled38
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Riverside 10Irvine 7San Diego 5Santa Cruz 5Berkeley 3Santa Barbara 3Davis ‹3Los Angeles ‹3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 57 enrolled, 2022

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 84% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (269) than at UC (40).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 24 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

John F. Kennedy's teachers are authorized to teach 17 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Computer Science A.

Students per teacher24 · district 23
Teaching staff89 teachers
Avg. experience19.2 years
Fully credentialed84%
PrincipalPoppy Hill-Bonales
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$63,781 – $139,964
Principal salaryUp to $163,653
Superintendent salary$328,935

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers203 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers146 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught17
ShowHide the 17 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Statistics
Sciences (2)Biology · Chemistry
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)European History · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (4)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing
IBDiploma Programme (DP)

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 19.3%, district 20.7%, state 23.1%19.3% · −3.8pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.4%, district —, state 3.3%2.4% · −0.8pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1218.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $18,093 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$720 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,093, CA average $14,491$18,093 · spent at this school
Federal share$720 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,601 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 61%Instruction support 8%Student services 11%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$14,929 per pupil
2019$13,642 per pupil
2018$13,449 per pupil
2017$12,615 per pupil
2016$12,441 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 41% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino45.1% · district 68.8% · CA 56.1%
White13.8% · district 8.0% · CA 19.9%
Asian19.5% · district 13.9% · CA 10.2%
Black3.7% · district 2.1% · CA 4.8%
Other17.9% · district 7.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch69.5% · CA 64%
Median income$117K · CA $85K
Median home value$980K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+53% · CA 35%
ZIP population15,545
Median age45 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
John F. Kennedy HighPublicStrong32%57%School being viewed
Whitney (Gretchen) HighPublicStrong93%99%2.7 mi
Oxford AcademyPublicStrong80%97%1.4 mi
Cerritos HighPublicStrong42%72%2.2 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in La Palma →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

10 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Anaheim Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is John F. Kennedy High a good high school?
John F. Kennedy High has a Scope Score of 67 out of 100, placing it in the 84th percentile of California high schools and ranked #260 statewide. 31.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 11.7 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are John F. Kennedy High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 56.6% of students at John F. Kennedy High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 31.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 25.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 31.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 988 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does John F. Kennedy High rank in California?
John F. Kennedy High ranks #260 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 84th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at John F. Kennedy High?
19.3% of students at John F. Kennedy High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does John F. Kennedy High compare to other schools in La Palma?
John F. Kennedy High scores 67/100 (84th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,983 students. Use the schools in La Palma page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does John F. Kennedy High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At John F. Kennedy High in La Palma, 68.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 36.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. John F. Kennedy High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 31.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (33.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (65.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 58.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 347 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at John F. Kennedy High?
John F. Kennedy High's teachers are authorized to teach 17 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, European History, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from John F. Kennedy High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 38 John F. Kennedy High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate99.6%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard31.6%19.8%22%
College readiness59.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded56.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)19.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

John F. Kennedy High: reading the evidence

John F. Kennedy posts 57% meeting the standard, and 31.6% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

John F. Kennedy High is ranked #260 statewide · #3 of 11 in Anaheim Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate99.6%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard31.6%19.8%22%
College readiness59.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded56.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)19.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 67 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.9pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.8pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1149541%32%15%11%74%+25
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1149322%18%23%38%40%+16

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide49714%27%52%7%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged34768.3%+32+30
Hispanic/Latino21965.8%+35+27
Asian11586.1%+4+12
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
John F. Kennedy High ←—6731.6%56.6%2.4%
Whitney (Gretchen) High2.7 mi9792.7%99.4%0.3%
Oxford Academy1.4 mi9680.3%96.8%0.6%
Cerritos High2.2 mi7842.3%72.3%0.9%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
99.6%
AP Exam Prepared
59.2%
A-G Completion
63.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
83.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197288#18135.9%63.6%8.7%2.8%
20226885#24327.8%57.6%18.5%3.1%
20236985#23929.9%56.1%17.9%3.2%
20246985#24030.2%58.8%18.4%3.2%
20256784#26031.6%56.6%19.3%2.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female8.7%17.8%+9.1pp
Male7.7%19.9%+12.2pp
Asian4.5%10.9%+6.4pp
Black/African American9.5%22.7%+13.2pp
Filipino2.9%10.5%+7.6pp
Hispanic/Latino10.7%24.2%+13.5pp
Pacific Islander0.0%——
Two or More Races11.6%22.1%+10.5pp
White9.7%17.8%+8.1pp
Students with Disabilities17.5%35.7%+18.2pp
English Learners9.4%30.2%+20.8pp
Homeless12.8%25.0%+12.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged10.1%22.8%+12.7pp
All Students8.2%18.9%+10.7pp
American Indian/Alaska Native—16.7%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025140107383.793.823.94
202415389473.793.924.00
202312272413.833.984.09
2022178111573.823.954.04
202113384473.793.924.00
202013197513.773.843.95
2019183104563.663.833.93
201813885483.673.873.90
201715099533.593.773.83
201612178483.543.753.81
201516587473.583.793.92
201412573413.593.753.85

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20254543
Berkeley202464‹3‹3
Berkeley2023614‹3
Berkeley202279148
Berkeley2021576‹3
Davis20253811‹3
Davis202442165
Davis20233415‹3
Davis202250144
Davis20214116‹3
Irvine2025129167
Irvine20241362613
Irvine20231102918
Irvine20221513512
Irvine20211162911
Los Angeles2025956‹3
Los Angeles202410966
Los Angeles20239675
Los Angeles2022132116
Los Angeles202189129
Merced20253838‹3
Merced20242220‹3
Merced202387‹3
Merced20222521‹3
Merced202118173
Riverside2025918710
Riverside2024695111
Riverside202352398
Riverside2022866112
Riverside2021664710
San Diego202592165
San Diego2024101188
San Diego202391183
San Diego2022129259
San Diego202179245
Santa Barbara202567173
Santa Barbara20247219‹3
Santa Barbara202354213
Santa Barbara20228620‹3
Santa Barbara202158215
Santa Cruz202528205
Santa Cruz20242314‹3
Santa Cruz2023179‹3
Santa Cruz20224019‹3
Santa Cruz2021165‹3
Universitywide202514010738
Universitywide20241538947
Universitywide20231227241
Universitywide202217811157
Universitywide20211338447

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
European Historythis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count35
AP enrollment578
IB participationoffered · 169 enrolled
Dual enrollmentoffered · 45 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections15
Chemistry sections21
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,225

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California408.1%
California State University7915.9%
California community college26954.1%
In-state private173.4%
Out-of-state, 4-year102.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.4%
Not enrolled8016.1%

497 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 84% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/john-f-kennedy-high-3115"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="John F. Kennedy High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

John F. Kennedy High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.