ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in
Inglewood Continuation High · InglewoodPublic

Inglewood Continuation High: No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

Inglewood Continuation posts 5% meeting the standard and 0.0% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

331 W. Olive Street, 90301 (opens in new tab)·Inglewood Unified·Inglewood·Grades 9-12·68 students·82% low-income·2024–25 CAASPP·(310) 680-5300·Website
Continuation high school — students are referred here, usually mid-year, when the standard timeline stops working. Scored, but ranked against California continuation schools rather than comprehensive ones.
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
This schoolCA avg
Scope2354
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+5%43%
Grad rate92.5%
College readiness43.0%
Absence56.7%23.1%
Suspension2.1%3.3%
Scope Score
23
Not Compared · Needs Support
ranked #186 of California continuation high schools

Inglewood Continuation High scores 23 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 45th percentile of California continuation high schools, not of the comprehensive field (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Measures test performance, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How we score →

Not Compared — Read the underlying numbers directly, and ask the school how it serves the specific population it's built for — that's a different conversation than the archetype labels are meant for.

Most rating sites would stop at “5% proficient” and call it done. Inglewood Continuation deserves a closer read. The school sits in Inglewood, where four in five students qualify for free or reduced lunch — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

One honest note: Inglewood Continuation's rank and percentile are measured against California continuation high schools — not against the state's comprehensive campuses. The underlying numbers below are measured the same way at every school; only the comparison group changes.

The 5 things our score weighs

Exceeded standard
0.0%
State 19.8%
19.8pp below state avg
Met or exceeded
5.1%
State 43.2%
38.1pp below state avg
Chronic absenteeism
56.7%
State 23.1%
33.7pp above state avg
Suspension rate
2.1%
State 3.3%
1.1pp below state avg
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
11.8%
State 18.0%
6.2pp below state avg
Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.

How every group of students does here

At Inglewood Continuation High in Inglewood, 10.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 32.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Inglewood Continuation High trails its district average for low-income students by 21.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (16.0% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 37 students tested.

All students at this school: 5% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 5%, district —, state 43%5%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 5%, district 26%, state 32%5% · +0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 8%, district 25%, state 32%8% · +3 vs school
MaleMale: this school 5%, district 26%, state 42%5% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 6%, district 27%, state 44%6% · +1 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 0%, district 27%, state 26%0% · −5 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group

Showing up, and staying in class

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 56.7%, district 27.5%, state 23.1%56.7% · +33.7pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.1%, district —, state 3.3%2.1% · −1.1pp vs state
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1266.4%

Where the path goes

The path below follows attendance boundaries — scores shown for each next step.

K-12 Feeder Path

Estimated path based on proximity within the same district. Contact your school district for official feeder information.

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Student : teacherStudent to teacher ratio: this school 23:1, district 25:123:1
PrincipalDebra Tate
Teaching staff4 teachers
Avg. experience25.0 years
Fully credentialed89%
Salary Schedule
Teacher salary schedule$55,106 – $98,339
Principal salary$145,466 – $170,249
Superintendent salary$315,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course Breadth

What gets spent here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $32,432, CA average $14,491$32,432 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,879 per student

$1,879 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,101 per student

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction63%
Instruction support11%
Student services6%
Administration7%
Buildings & maintenance11%
Other2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,268 per pupil
2019$13,404 per pupil
2018$14,601 per pupil
2017$12,149 per pupil
2016$10,770 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood it serves

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Hispanic69.1%
District 59.1% · CA 56.1%
Black27.9%
District 36.1% · CA 4.8%
Other2.9%
District 3.6% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 32.4%Male 67.7%
Low IncomeFree/reduced lunch eligible 82.3% (19pp above CA avg)
Neighborhood — American Community Survey
Median income$66K · CA $85K
Median home value$756K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+22% · CA 35%
ZIP population36,060
Median age39 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Worth Knowing

At 68 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 5% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Frequently asked questions

Is Inglewood Continuation High a good high school?

Inglewood Continuation High has a Scope Score of 23 out of 100, placing it in the 45th percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #186 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 0.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 19.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.

What are Inglewood Continuation High's CAASPP test scores?

On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 5.1% of students at Inglewood Continuation High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 0.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 5.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 0.0% pushed past it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it reveals whether a school's curriculum challenges students beyond minimum proficiency or paces toward it. 78 student-subject combinations were assessed.

How does Inglewood Continuation High rank among California continuation high schools?

Inglewood Continuation High ranks #186 among California continuation high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 45th percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.

What is the attendance and school culture like at Inglewood Continuation High?

56.7% of students at Inglewood Continuation High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.1%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.

How does Inglewood Continuation High compare to other schools in Inglewood?

Inglewood Continuation High scores 23/100 (45th percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 68 students. Use the schools in Inglewood page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

How does Inglewood Continuation High serve low-income and underrepresented students?

At Inglewood Continuation High in Inglewood, 10.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 32.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Inglewood Continuation High trails its district average for low-income students by 21.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (16.0% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 37 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Your other options

Private alternatives nearby

Private schools within ~10 miles. These schools do not participate in state testing and cannot be scored or ranked.


For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Exceeded standard · 22%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 19.8% · 33th pctile
Met or exceeded · 18%
5.1%
↓ vs CA 43.2% · 28th pctile
Chronic absenteeism · 5%
56.7%
↓ vs CA 23.1% · 28th pctile
▼ 9.3pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate · 5%
2.1%
↑ vs CA 3.3% · 57th pctile
▼ 1.0pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC) · 5%
11.8%
↓ vs CA 18.0% · 44th pctile
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11390%10%33%56%10%−38
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11390%0%13%87%0%−24

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, no valid result was published, or the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide400%5%68%28%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged3710.8%−22−27
Hispanic/Latino2516.0%−15−23
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = one school's returning cohort tracked across grades (mostly, not exactly, the same kids), in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Inglewood Continuation High ←230.0%5.1%2.1%
Lennox Mathematics, Science and Technology Academy1.8 mi6820.8%55.4%2.3%
Animo Inglewood Charter High1.7 mi6520.9%46.5%0.5%
Animo Leadership High1.9 mi6517.8%45.7%0.3%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
20191710#18420.0%1.1%66.1%4.5%
20222111#18600.0%0.0%67.7%2.2%
20232819#17414.3%11.0%66.2%3.5%
20242415#18241.6%9.7%66.0%3.1%
20252345#1860.0%5.1%56.7%2.1%
Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 27 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
Group20192025Δ
Female83.6%81.0%-2.6pp
Male77.2%58.1%-19.1pp
Black/African American90.0%70.3%-19.7pp
Hispanic/Latino74.0%64.9%-9.1pp
Students with Disabilities82.4%
English Learners75.6%52.9%-22.7pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged76.8%67.0%-9.8pp
All Students79.5%66.4%-13.1pp
09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)76

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/inglewood-continuation-high-4249"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Inglewood Continuation High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · Data updated 2026-07-03methodology · data updates · CSV · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction