Public school · Fontana Unified

Fontana A. B. Miller High

Fontana · 9–12 · 1,950 students (2024–25)

55thpercentileSolid

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
57 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (457 of 482); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 482
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
24%
Met standard
37%
Below standard
39%

61% met or exceeded · 410 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaFontana Unified
Exceeded24%27%24%
Met37%30%34%
Nearly met23%20%21%
Not met16%23%21%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
12%
Met standard
17%
Below standard
71%

29% met or exceeded · 408 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaFontana Unified
Exceeded12%14%11%
Met17%16%18%
Nearly met31%21%24%
Not met40%49%47%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Closest to standing out

Open a finding for the evidence
508 of 2,048 students missed 10% or more of school days, close to the average Fontana Unified school.2024–25
25 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 2,048
Comparison
508 of 2,048. District and California figures are averages of school rates (5 Fontana Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school61%
California57%

Tested: 410 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school61%
Fontana Unified58%

Tested: 410 here · 2,587 in Fontana Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 7 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaFontana Unified
Exceeded24%27%24%
Met37%30%34%
Nearly met23%20%21%
Not met16%23%21%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school29%
California30%

Tested: 408 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school29%
Fontana Unified29%

Tested: 408 here · 2,601 in Fontana Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 7 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaFontana Unified
Exceeded12%14%11%
Met17%16%18%
Nearly met31%21%24%
Not met40%49%47%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

School pattern, spring 2025On the RiseReading and math results have improved across three reporting years. This describes a recent record, not a prediction or proof of what caused it.

Ask: Math is lower than in 2019 here (42% to 29%) and across California (32% to 30%). How does the school check what’s working in math?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

95%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 457 of 482 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

60%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

57%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

58% enrolled in college within 12 months · 427 high-school completers

  • University of California28 · 7%
  • California State University98 · 23%
  • California community college103 · 24%
  • In-state private12 · 3%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year5 · 1%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 · 0%
  • Not enrolled180 · 42%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
94
Admitted
84
Enrolled
43

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 94 · Admitted 84 · Enrolled 43
  • Fall 2024Applied 81 · Admitted 67 · Enrolled 27
  • Fall 2023Applied 61 · Admitted 54 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 2022Applied 75 · Admitted 55 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 2021Applied 84 · Admitted 61 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2020Applied 72 · Admitted 61 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2019Applied 59 · Admitted 50 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2018Applied 75 · Admitted 56 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2017Applied 88 · Admitted 68 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2016Applied 101 · Admitted 76 · Enrolled 41
  • Fall 2015Applied 76 · Admitted 42 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2014Applied 101 · Admitted 72 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2013Applied 79 · Admitted 51 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2012Applied 82 · Admitted 53 · Enrolled 33
  • Fall 2011Applied 61 · Admitted 44 · Enrolled 31
  • Fall 2010Applied 64 · Admitted 38 · Enrolled 25
  • Fall 2009Applied 54 · Admitted 45 · Enrolled 31
  • Fall 2008Applied 64 · Admitted 57 · Enrolled 31
  • Fall 2007Applied 62 · Admitted 50 · Enrolled 31
  • Fall 2006Applied 58 · Admitted 52 · Enrolled 28
  • Fall 2005Applied 65 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2004Applied 37 · Admitted 28 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 2003Applied 54 · Admitted 48 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2002Applied 72 · Admitted 55 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2001Applied 51 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 33
  • Fall 2000Applied 54 · Admitted 49 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 1999Applied 44 · Admitted 36 · Enrolled 31
  • Fall 1998Applied 34 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled 17
  • Fall 1997Applied 31 · Admitted 29 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 1996Applied 37 · Admitted 30 · Enrolled 17
  • Fall 1995Applied 42 · Admitted 35 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 1994Applied 39 · Admitted 34 · Enrolled 16

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 25 · Admitted 3 · Enrolled Masked
  • DavisApplied 22 · Admitted 7 · Enrolled 4
  • IrvineApplied 60 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled 3
  • Los AngelesApplied 39 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled 3
  • MercedApplied 45 · Admitted 45 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 86 · Admitted 70 · Enrolled 28
  • San DiegoApplied 34 · Admitted 16 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 37 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa CruzApplied 43 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled Masked

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 5
  • Calculus AB
  • Computer Science A
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Precalculus
  • Statistics
Sciences 3
  • Biology
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics 1
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 5
  • African American Studies
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 2
  • French Language and Culture
  • Spanish Language and Culture
Arts 2
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • Drawing

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
134 of 289 Prepared students · 46.4%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 482 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
93 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
33 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

25 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
23in 100 at the average Fontana Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

508 of 2,048 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school25 in 100
at the average Fontana Unified school23 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
2.7%of students were suspended at least once (57 of 2,132), 2024–25
3.5%at the average Fontana Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

326 English · 324 math tested

English59% / 49%
Math28% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

363 English · 361 math tested

English61% / 49%
Math30% / 19%

English learners

69 English · 67 math tested

English16% / 8%
Math3% / 6%

Students with disabilities

38 tested per subject

English16% / 18%
Math3% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Fontana Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 326 tested in English, 324 in math
English59%+257%+1049%
Math28%028%+721%
Hispanic or Latino · 363 tested in English, 361 in math
English61%+457%+1249%
Math30%+228%+1119%
English learners · 69 tested in English, 67 in math
English16%+610%+88%
Math3%−25%−36%
Students with disabilities · 38 tested
English16%016%−218%
Math3%+12%−36%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Fontana Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Black or African American and White students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, students of two or more races and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Hispanic or Latino students here did far better than the same group statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Fontana A. B. Miller High in Fontana, 59.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 56.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Fontana A. B. Miller High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 2.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (28.4% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (60.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 45.7 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 326 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 88%2. Black or African American: 4%3. White: 4%4. Asian: 1%5. Filipino: <1%6. Two or more races: <1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino88%
  2. Black or African American4%
  3. White4%
  4. Asian1%
  5. Filipino<1%
  6. Two or more races<1%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino88%
Black or African American4%
White4%
Asian1%
Filipino<1%
Two or more races<1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

3 in 4 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (75%, 1,469 of 1,950). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers129
Average experience16 years
First-year teachers2%
92% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 92.09%: 103 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 111.9 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryMaple ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleAlder MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolFontana A. B. Miller HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Maple Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    27th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Locust Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    41st percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Virginia Primrose Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    42nd percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Ted Porter Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    19th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Hemlock Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    46th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Tokay Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    42nd percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Dorothy Grant Innovations Academy

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    60th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Mango Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    16th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Sierra Lakes Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    11th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Kathy Binks Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    52nd percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Juniper Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    21st percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

  • North Tamarind Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    14th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Alder Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    39th percentile · Developing · middle · 2025

    73% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Almeria Middle

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    28th percentile · Developing · middle · 2025

    30% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Wayne Ruble Middle

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    65th percentile · Solid · middle · 2025

    25% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Fontana Unified which school serves your address.

abmiller.fusd.net

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
6821 Oleander Avenue, Fontana 92336

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Math is lower than in 2019 here (42% to 29%) and across California (32% to 30%). How does the school check what’s working in math?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (909) 357-5800 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • San Leandro HighSan Leandro Unified · 2,510 enrolled · 75.3% meal eligibility27thDeveloping
  • Tulare Union HighTulare Joint Union High · 1,616 enrolled · 75.3% meal eligibility54thSolid
  • Red Bluff HighRed Bluff Joint Union High · 1,586 enrolled · 75.6% meal eligibility51stSolid
  • Hayward HighHayward Unified · 1,580 enrolled · 75.1% meal eligibility20thNeeds Support
  • Hillcrest HighAlvord Unified · 1,780 enrolled · 75.6% meal eligibility55thSolid
  • Mt. Eden HighHayward Unified · 1,865 enrolled · 75% meal eligibility34thDeveloping
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 67.3–83.3% meal eligibility and 975–3,900 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Fontana A. B. Miller High a good high school?
Fontana A. B. Miller High is in the 55th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 57 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (457 of 482); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Fontana A. B. Miller High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 61% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 29% the math standard; 24% and 12% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 410 students were tested in English and 408 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Fontana A. B. Miller High rank in California?
Fontana A. B. Miller High is in the 55th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Solid, 2025). Fontana A. B. Miller High ranks #674 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Fontana A. B. Miller High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 24.8% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 508 chronically absent of 2,048 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 2.7%; 57 unduplicated suspended students of 2,132 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 25.0%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 2.7%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Fontana A. B. Miller High compare to other schools in Fontana?
Fontana A. B. Miller High is in the 55th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,950 students. Use the schools in Fontana page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Fontana A. B. Miller High?
At Fontana A. B. Miller High in Fontana, 59.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 56.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Fontana A. B. Miller High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 2.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (28.4% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (60.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 45.7 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 326 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Fontana A. B. Miller High?
Fontana A. B. Miller High had own-school AP authorizations for 19 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, African American Studies, Biology, Calculus AB, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Fontana A. B. Miller High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 43 Fontana A. B. Miller High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Fontana A. B. Miller High is ranked #674 statewide · #4 of 5 in Fontana Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.8%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard18.3%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared60.0%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded45.4%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.0%22.7%5%
Suspension rate2.7%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)15.3%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 60 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.4pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1141024%37%23%16%61%+13

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1140813%17%31%40%29%+6

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA44357.3%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math44423.6%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA47344.0%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math47120.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA45753.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math45216.6%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA47860.9%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math47742.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4174%22%67%7%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged32659.2%+3+11
Hispanic/Latino36360.9%+4+12
English Learners6915.9%+6+8
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Fontana A. B. Miller High ←—5755th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202518.3%45.4%2.7%
Entrepreneur High Fontana1.4 mi387th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20253.4%13.1%9.1%
Summit High1.7 mi6369th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202523.8%55.3%4.7%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.6%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$60,343 – $132,186
Average elementary principal salary$155,206
Average middle school principal salary$160,682
Average high school principal salary$180,978
Superintendent salary$366,857

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 57/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 60.0% · numerator 289 students classified Prepared · denominator 482 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 46.4% · AP-pathway numerator 134 · denominator 289 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 289 of 482 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201956/10053#699California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202250/10044#880California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202350/10040#964California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202454/10054#739California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 22.3% → 2025 · 24.8% · +2.5pp
Suspension rate2024 · 2.8% → 2025 · 2.7% · −0.1pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA41024.1%61.5%
2025 · Math40812.5%29.4%
2024 · ELA44321.4%57.3%
2024 · Math4447.2%23.6%
2023 · ELA47312.9%44.0%
2023 · Math4714.9%20.0%
2022 · ELA45717.5%53.0%
2022 · Math4523.8%16.6%
2019 · ELA47821.1%60.9%
2019 · Math4779.8%42.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
94.8%
AP pathway among Prepared
46.4%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
56.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
57.8%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201915.5%51.5%14.4%7.3%
202210.6%34.8%33.4%5.7%
20238.9%32.0%26.2%4.5%
202414.3%40.5%22.6%2.8%
202518.3%45.4%25.0%2.7%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female13.2%25.4%+12.2pp
Male14.7%24.2%+9.5pp
Asian0.0%17.2%+17.2pp
Black/African American19.1%31.5%+12.4pp
Filipino3.1%0.0%-3.1pp
Hispanic/Latino13.5%24.9%+11.4pp
Two or More Races27.3%44.4%+17.1pp
White20.8%15.3%-5.5pp
Students with Disabilities23.5%36.7%+13.2pp
English Learners14.9%27.3%+12.4pp
Foster Youth35.3%18.8%-16.5pp
Homeless26.1%30.9%+4.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14.7%25.8%+11.1pp
All Students14.0%24.8%+10.8pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20259484433.693.763.88
20248167273.753.833.96
20236154303.743.813.89
20227555203.663.833.97
20218461223.543.663.86
20207261323.633.733.81
20195950213.673.733.92
20187556223.573.663.89
20178868343.543.683.85
201610176413.523.623.78
20157642223.443.713.84
201410172343.613.743.82

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025253masked
Berkeley202416maskedmasked
Berkeley202394masked
Berkeley2022134masked
Berkeley202113maskedmasked
Davis20252274
Davis202473masked
Davis2023156masked
Davis2022168masked
Davis2021105masked
Irvine202560143
Irvine20246516masked
Irvine202335144
Irvine202251123
Irvine202163235
Los Angeles20253963
Los Angeles2024435masked
Los Angeles2023223masked
Los Angeles202235maskedmasked
Los Angeles202135maskedmasked
Merced20254545masked
Merced20241515masked
Merced20232121masked
Merced20222523masked
Merced20213230masked
Riverside2025867028
Riverside2024705621
Riverside2023554519
Riverside202264397
Riverside2021784114
San Diego20253416masked
San Diego20242915masked
San Diego20233213masked
San Diego202228144
San Diego20213611masked
Santa Barbara20253714masked
Santa Barbara20242314masked
Santa Barbara20232313masked
Santa Barbara20222614masked
Santa Barbara20212814masked
Santa Cruz20254321masked
Santa Cruz20243423masked
Santa Cruz20233321masked
Santa Cruz20224518masked
Santa Cruz20213614masked
Universitywide2025948443
Universitywide2024816727
Universitywide2023615430
Universitywide2022755520
Universitywide2021846122

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
African American Studiesthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count22
AP enrollment455
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 33 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections2
Chemistry sections12
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,214

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California286.6%
California State University9822.9%
California community college10324.1%
In-state private122.8%
Out-of-state, 4-year51.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.2%
Not enrolled18042.2%

427 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 58% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$16,217 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 35,461 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$6,122 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,950

Central federal expenditures attributed here$957 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,950

District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,037 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 65%Instruction support 12%Student services 8%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 10%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$16,217 per pupil
2020$14,629 per pupil
2019$15,045 per pupil
2018$13,064 per pupil
2017$12,756 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92336
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92336
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$123,363
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)30.42%
ZCTA population105,517
Median age35.7 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/fontana-a-b-miller-high-0555"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Fontana A. B. Miller High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction