ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Etna Union High

Etna, CA · Grades 9-12 · 185 students · Scott Valley Unified

A foundation in the reported results. Look across subjects and student groups.

71% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 59% in math. 97.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

PrincipalJoy Isbell
Grades9-12
Enrollment185 students

Math

59%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

71%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

185

Total enrollment

Graduation

97.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 60%2022: 53%2023: 58%2024: 40%2025: 59%2019: 66%2022: 54%2023: 75%2024: 58%2025: 71%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 60%2022: 53%2023: 58%2024: 40%2025: 59%2019: 66%2022: 54%2023: 75%2024: 58%2025: 71%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201960%66%
202253%54%
202358%75%
202440%58%
202559%71%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 40th to the 62nd percentile since 2019 — past roughly 300 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “65% proficient” and call it done. Etna Union deserves a closer read. Three in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Etna Union's low-income kids hit 65.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

34 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Etna Union High scores 57 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 62nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 65% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 40th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 1002022 · 43rd percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002023 · 61st percentile · Scope Score 56 of 1002024 · 40th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002025 · 62nd percentile · Scope Score 57 of 100
ELABlue(Increased Significantly)MathGreen(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1166%54%75%58%71%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1160%53%58%40%59%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Three in five of students here meet the standard. One in three clear it by a lot.

ELA71% met or exceeded
Exceeded 38%Met 32%Nearly Met 15%Not Met 15%
Math59% met or exceeded
Exceeded 29%Met 29%Nearly Met 9%Not Met 32%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5734%65%97.7%0.0%22.9%6.1%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5754
% Exceeded34%20%
% Met+65%43%
Grad rate97.7%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence22.9%23.1%
Suspension6.1%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Etna Union High in Etna, 65.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.2% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Etna Union High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 24.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (50.0% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 20 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 65% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 65%, district —, state 43%65%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 58%, district 35%, state 32%58% · −7 vs school
MaleMale: this school 75%, district 47%, state 42%75% · +10 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 53%, district 42%, state 44%53% · −12 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 75%, district 54%, state 56%75% · +10 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 55%, district 50%, state 32%55% · −10 vs school

7 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Students with disabilities students were 11% of Etna Union's enrollment and 33% of its AP seats — ahead of their share of the student body.

Hispanic8.3% AP · 13.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native8.3% AP · 8.1% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 2.7% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black8.3% AP · 1.1% enroll.
White66.7% AP · 64.3% enroll.
Two or more races8.3% AP · 10.8% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 2.2% enroll.
Students with disabilities33.3% AP · 11.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

53%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 21 of 40 completers · includes community colleges

40Completers
28%
Other colleges11 completers · Outside the California community college system
25%
California community colleges10 completers · Enrolled within a year
48%
Not recorded enrolled19 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

53%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Etna Union's class of 2023, 53% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 40 completers, 53% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 1 (3%)California State University 2 (5%)California community college 10 (25%)In-state private 1 (3%)Out-of-state, 4-year 4 (10%)Out-of-state, 2-year 3 (8%)Not enrolled 19 (48%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history
Applied7fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted5
Enrolled‹3

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 53% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (10) than at UC (1).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 13 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher13 · district 18
Teaching staff20 teachers
Avg. experience12.5 years
Fully credentialed76%
Intern / emergency permit5.9%
PrincipalJoy Isbell
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$47,043 – $93,624
Principal salary$104,170 – $125,458
Superintendent salary$175,205

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
CTE pathway completers19 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 22.9%, district 17.3%, state 23.1%22.9% · −0.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 6.1%, district —, state 3.3%6.1% · +2.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1219.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $21,580 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$919 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $21,580, CA average $14,491$21,580 · spent at this school
Federal share$919 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,242 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 51%Instruction support 13%Student services 8%Administration 10%Buildings & maintenance 15%Other 4%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$16,443 per pupil
2019$13,572 per pupil
2018$14,705 per pupil
2017$12,749 per pupil
2016$13,647 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 185 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 50% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino16.2% · district 13.4% · CA 56.1%
White58.9% · district 56.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.1% · district 0.8% · CA 10.2%
Black1.1% · district 1.0% · CA 4.8%
Other22.7% · district 28.6% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch61.6% · CA 64%
Median income$64K · CA $85K
Median home value$313K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+29% · CA 35%
ZIP population1,908
Median age50 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Etna Union HighPublicSolid34%65%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Scott Valley Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Middle · 6–8

No school established for this stage.

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Etna Union High a good high school?
Etna Union High has a Scope Score of 57 out of 100, placing it in the 62nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #620 statewide. 33.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 14.0 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Etna Union High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 64.7% of students at Etna Union High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 33.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 30.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 33.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 68 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Etna Union High rank in California?
Etna Union High ranks #620 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 62nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Etna Union High?
22.9% of students at Etna Union High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 6.1%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Etna Union High compare to other schools in Etna?
Etna Union High scores 57/100 (62nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 185 students. Use the schools in Etna page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Etna Union High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Etna Union High in Etna, 65.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.2% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Etna Union High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 24.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (50.0% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 20 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from Etna Union High go to UC?
UC masks this number for Etna Union High — fewer than three enrollees in fall 2025 — a privacy protection for small cohorts, not a signal about the school. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center).

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate97.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard33.8%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded64.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism22.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate6.1%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Etna Union High: reading the evidence

Etna Union has an average Met + Exceeded rate of 65% and an Exceeded rate of 33.8% across the reported grades and subjects. Ask how students are supported and challenged at different starting points.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Etna Union High is ranked #620 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard33.8%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded64.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism22.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate6.1%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 70 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.7pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113438%32%15%15%71%+22
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113429%29%9%32%59%+35

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3622%28%47%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2065.0%+25+27
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Etna Union High ←—5733.8%64.7%6.1%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
97.7%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
51.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
52.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195140#90621.3%62.8%18.0%10.9%
20224943#91417.4%53.6%36.4%4.6%
20235661#63031.3%66.3%33.3%9.9%
20244940#97820.0%48.8%24.6%6.3%
20255762#62033.8%64.7%22.9%6.1%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female16.0%19.2%+3.2pp
Male15.0%18.9%+3.9pp
Hispanic/Latino31.0%16.1%-14.9pp
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0%22.2%+22.2pp
Two or More Races7.7%18.2%+10.5pp
White14.9%19.1%+4.2pp
Students with Disabilities31.0%0.0%-31.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20.8%24.4%+3.6pp
All Students15.4%19.0%+3.6pp
Homeless—28.6%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2015–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202575‹33.823.91—
20249633.743.86—
202354‹34.07——
201810853.984.074.06
20157643.873.94—

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2024533
Berkeley20186‹3‹3
Davis20245‹3‹3
Davis201897‹3
Davis2015533
San Diego20186‹3‹3
Santa Barbara202453‹3
Santa Barbara20185‹3‹3
Santa Cruz20185‹3‹3
Universitywide202575‹3
Universitywide2024963
Universitywide202354‹3
Universitywide20181085
Universitywide2015764

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 08 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count1
AP enrollment12
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)185

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

09College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 09 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California12.5%
California State University25.0%
California community college1025.0%
In-state private12.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year410.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year37.5%
Not enrolled1947.5%

40 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 53% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/etna-union-high-3309"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Etna Union High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Etna Union High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.