ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Buchanan High

Clovis, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,551 students · Clovis Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

82% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 57% in math. 97.5% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalOmar Hemaidan
Grades9-12
Enrollment2,551 students

Math

57%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

82%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,551

Total enrollment

Graduation

97.5%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 55%2022: 49%2023: 49%2024: 56%2025: 57%2019: 89%2022: 85%2023: 87%2024: 81%2025: 82%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 55%2022: 49%2023: 49%2024: 56%2025: 57%2019: 89%2022: 85%2023: 87%2024: 81%2025: 82%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201955%89%
202249%85%
202349%87%
202456%81%
202557%82%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 89th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “70% proficient” and call it done. Buchanan deserves a closer read. One in three of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Buchanan's low-income kids hit 74.2% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

589 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Buchanan High scores 71 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 89th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 70% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 73 of 1002022 · 86th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 1002023 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002024 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002025 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 100
ELABlue(Maintained)MathGreen(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1189%85%87%81%82%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1155%49%49%56%57%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two-thirds of students here meet the standard. One in three clear it by a lot.

ELA82% met or exceeded
Exceeded 54%Met 28%Nearly Met 11%Not Met 7%
Math57% met or exceeded
Exceeded 26%Met 31%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 21%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7140%70%97.5%49.5%15.9%2.9%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7154
% Exceeded40%20%
% Met+70%43%
Grad rate97.5%92.5%
College readiness49.5%43.0%
Absence15.9%23.1%
Suspension2.9%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

74.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 70% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 70%, district —, state 43%70%
MaleMale: this school 70%, district 60%, state 42%70% · −0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 70%, district 62%, state 44%70% · +0 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 76%, district 70%, state 56%76% · +6 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 59%, district 47%, state 32%59% · −11 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 60%, district 52%, state 32%60% · −10 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 73%, district 66%, state 72%73% · +3 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 14%, district 16%, state 15%14% · −56 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 83%, district 68%, state 56%83% · +14 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 53%, district 43%, state 26%53% · −17 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 43%, district 58%, state 46%43% · −26 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 92%, district 79%, state 65%92% · +22 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: too few students to report‹11
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic23.0% AP · 31.9% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.3% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Asian22.4% AP · 13.6% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.4% enroll.
Black2.4% AP · 3.3% enroll.
White49.4% AP · 47.7% enroll.
Two or more races2.6% AP · 2.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.7% AP · 7.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

82%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 497 of 609 completers · includes community colleges

609Completers
35%
Other colleges213 completers · Outside the California community college system
47%
California community colleges284 completers · Enrolled within a year
18%
Not recorded enrolled112 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

82%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Buchanan's class of 2023, 82% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 609 completers, 82% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 27 (4%)California State University 106 (17%)California community college 284 (47%)In-state private 22 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 56 (9%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 112 (18%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 41 of Buchanan's 635 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 12 enrollees.

Applied122fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted94
Enrolled41
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Irvine 12Merced 8Berkeley 6Davis 4San Diego 4Los Angeles 3Riverside ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 56 enrolled, 2016

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 82% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (284) than at UC (27).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 22 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Buchanan's teachers are authorized to teach 21 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher22 · district 23
Teaching staff168 teachers
Avg. experience16.2 years
Fully credentialed88%
First-year teachers10%
PrincipalOmar Hemaidan
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$59,054 – $147,789
Principal salary$163,984 – $192,581
Superintendent salary$370,370

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers254 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers184 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught21
ShowHide the 21 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (6)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Chinese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)Art History

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 15.9%, district 15.6%, state 23.1%15.9% · −7.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.9%, district —, state 3.3%2.9% · −0.3pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1215.5%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $14,341 per student, about the same as the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$374 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $14,341, CA average $14,491$14,341 · spent at this school
Federal share$374 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,077 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 58%Instruction support 12%Student services 12%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,375 per pupil
2019$11,575 per pupil
2018$11,404 per pupil
2017$11,038 per pupil
2016$10,611 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in three of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 2,551 students, this school is well above the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 53% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino36.4% · district 41.9% · CA 56.1%
White40.7% · district 29.8% · CA 19.9%
Asian12.0% · district 16.0% · CA 10.2%
Black2.6% · district 3.4% · CA 4.8%
Other8.3% · district 9.0% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch35.2% · CA 64%
Median income$111K · CA $85K
Median home value$486K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+39% · CA 35%
ZIP population46,624
Median age40 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Buchanan HighPublicStrong40%70%School being viewed
Clovis North HighPublicStrong54%79%2.6 mi
Clovis HighPublicStrong31%62%3.2 mi
Gateway High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support3%14%2.0 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Clovis →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

3 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Clovis Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Buchanan High a good high school?
Buchanan High has a Scope Score of 71 out of 100, placing it in the 89th percentile of California high schools and ranked #182 statewide. 40.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 20.1 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Buchanan High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 69.7% of students at Buchanan High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 40.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 29.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 40.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 1,168 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Buchanan High rank in California?
Buchanan High ranks #182 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 89th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Buchanan High?
15.9% of students at Buchanan High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.9%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Buchanan High compare to other schools in Clovis?
Buchanan High scores 71/100 (89th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,551 students. Use the schools in Clovis page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Buchanan High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Buchanan High in Clovis, 74.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 55.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Buchanan High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 19.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (43.5% Math proficient); White students (87.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 60.1 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 205 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Buchanan High?
Buchanan High's teachers are authorized to teach 21 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Buchanan High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 41 Buchanan High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

40.0% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate97.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard40.0%19.8%22%
College readiness49.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)24.4%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Buchanan High: reading the evidence

Buchanan posts 40.0% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Buchanan High is ranked #182 statewide · #3 of 6 in Clovis Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard40.0%19.8%22%
College readiness49.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)24.4%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 77 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 3.8pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1158954%28%11%7%82%+34
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1157926%31%22%21%57%+33

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1,18716%37%43%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20574.2%+19+36
White23987.0%+11+25
Hispanic/Latino20374.4%+14+36
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Buchanan High ←—7140.0%69.7%2.9%
Clovis North High2.6 mi8054.3%79.3%2.0%
Clovis High3.2 mi6331.2%62.3%4.2%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Gateway High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide2 mi183.0%13.5%25.6%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
97.5%
AP Exam Prepared
49.5%
A-G Completion
64.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
81.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197389#16840.7%71.9%7.1%3.1%
20226886#22732.2%67.1%19.6%4.2%
20237188#19334.9%68.3%16.5%3.7%
20247189#17837.2%68.7%12.1%3.5%
20257189#18240.0%69.7%15.9%2.9%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female6.1%17.0%+10.9pp
Male7.1%14.1%+7.0pp
Asian1.2%8.0%+6.8pp
Black/African American5.3%9.9%+4.6pp
Filipino5.5%4.8%-0.7pp
Hispanic/Latino7.4%17.7%+10.3pp
American Indian/Alaska Native21.4%8.3%-13.1pp
Two or More Races12.2%13.3%+1.1pp
White7.2%16.9%+9.7pp
Students with Disabilities14.9%26.1%+11.2pp
English Learners0.0%5.5%+5.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged8.1%19.9%+11.8pp
All Students6.6%15.5%+8.9pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202512294413.984.044.07
202410869333.904.004.07
20239460294.054.134.17
202213374383.964.054.10
202111878363.984.104.09
202010274303.964.014.06
201910875353.974.054.08
20189857243.904.064.02
201710669463.894.054.09
201611386563.863.974.01
20159055313.894.074.13
201410370393.823.983.96

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202561116
Berkeley2024535‹3
Berkeley20235994
Berkeley202278137
Berkeley202151126
Davis202573254
Davis202451185
Davis202359213
Davis2022753011
Davis2021683513
Irvine2025693312
Irvine202466229
Irvine202364153
Irvine202276254
Irvine20217227‹3
Los Angeles20256993
Los Angeles20246154
Los Angeles2023546‹3
Los Angeles2022839‹3
Los Angeles2021786‹3
Merced202554538
Merced202427264
Merced202323214
Merced20222724‹3
Merced20211917‹3
Riverside20253630‹3
Riverside202498‹3
Riverside20231411‹3
Riverside202225184
Riverside202124194
San Diego202577204
San Diego20246012‹3
San Diego20236110‹3
San Diego202275183
San Diego202163224
Santa Barbara20257628‹3
Santa Barbara202450214
Santa Barbara2023481911
Santa Barbara202273263
Santa Barbara202167265
Santa Cruz20253826‹3
Santa Cruz20243419‹3
Santa Cruz20232716‹3
Santa Cruz202242194
Santa Cruz20212915‹3
Universitywide20251229441
Universitywide20241086933
Universitywide2023946029
Universitywide20221337438
Universitywide20211187836

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count19
AP enrollment697
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 265 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections6
Physics sections7
Chemistry sections18
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,642

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California274.4%
California State University10617.4%
California community college28446.6%
In-state private223.6%
Out-of-state, 4-year569.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.3%
Not enrolled11218.4%

609 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 82% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/buchanan-high-0501"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Buchanan High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Buchanan High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.