ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High

Los Angeles, CA · Grades 9-12 · 256 students · Los Angeles Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

53% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 26% in math. 85.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

26%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

53%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

256

Total enrollment

Graduation

85.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 26%2022: 18%2023: 45%2024: 35%2025: 26%2019: 67%2022: 64%2023: 86%2024: 70%2025: 53%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 26%2022: 18%2023: 45%2024: 35%2025: 26%2019: 67%2022: 64%2023: 86%2024: 70%2025: 53%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201926%67%
202218%64%
202345%86%
202435%70%
202526%53%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 30th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “40% proficient” and call it done. Boyle Heights Hilda Solis deserves a closer read. Nearly all of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Boyle Heights Hilda Solis's low-income kids hit 53.6% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

58 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High scores 47 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 30th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 40% meet the standard today, versus 47% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 37th percentile · Scope Score 50 of 1002022 · 37th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002023 · 71st percentile · Scope Score 60 of 1002024 · 55th percentile · Scope Score 54 of 1002025 · 30th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 100
ELAYellow(Declined Significantly)MathOrange(Declined Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1167%64%86%70%53%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1126%18%45%35%26%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA53% met or exceeded
Exceeded 31%Met 22%Nearly Met 16%Not Met 31%
Math26% met or exceeded
Exceeded 3%Met 22%Nearly Met 14%Not Met 60%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4717%40%85.7%28.6%33.3%0.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4754
% Exceeded17%20%
% Met+40%43%
Grad rate85.7%92.5%
College readiness28.6%43.0%
Absence33.3%23.1%
Suspension0.8%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

53.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 40% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 40%, district —, state 43%40%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 39%, district 36%, state 32%39% · −0 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 40%, district 36%, state 32%40% · +1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 38%, district 41%, state 42%38% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 43%, district 42%, state 44%43% · +3 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 14%, state 15%13% · −27 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: too few students to report‹11
WhiteWhite: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic96.3% AP · 96.9% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian1.2% AP · 0.6% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
White2.4% AP · 2.5% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
English learners9.8% AP · 11.9% enroll.
Students with disabilities8.5% AP · 17.0% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

58%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 14 of 24 completers · includes community colleges

24Completers
38%
Other colleges9 completers · Outside the California community college system
21%
California community colleges5 completers · Enrolled within a year
42%
Not recorded enrolled10 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
58%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California2 (8%)
  • California State University5 (21%)
  • California community college5 (21%)
  • In-state private1 (4%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (4%)
  • Not enrolled10 (42%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 13 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher13 · district 20
Teaching staff21 teachers
Avg. experience9.6 years
Fully credentialed95%
First-year teachers14%
PrincipalNgay Tang
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP courses offered5 (CCI)
AP exam qualifiers8 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers7 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

33.3% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 33.3%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%33.3% · +10.3pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.8%, district —, state 3.3%0.8% · −2.5pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1233.8%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $37,141 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$2,391 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $37,141, CA average $14,491$37,141 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,391 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Nearly all of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 256 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 21% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino96.9% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White1.2% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.4% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black1.2% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other0.4% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 37.5% · Male 62.5%
Free or reduced lunch95.7% · CA 64%
Median income$68K · CA $85K
Median home value$630K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+10% · CA 35%
ZIP population60,343
Median age35 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Boyle Heights Hilda Solis HighPublicDeveloping17%40%School being viewed
Math, Science, & Technology Magnet Academy at RoosPublicStrong32%63%2.2 mi
L.A. County High School for the Artsalternative comparison groupPublicStrong35%66%1.6 mi
Ednovate - Esperanza College PrepCharterStrong25%60%1.2 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Los Angeles →

See them on the map →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

9 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High a good high school?
Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High has a Scope Score of 47 out of 100, placing it in the 30th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,161 statewide. 17.2% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 2.6 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 39.7% of students at Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 17.2% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 22.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 17.2% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 116 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High rank in California?
Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High ranks #1,161 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 30th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High?
33.3% of students at Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.8%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High compare to other schools in Los Angeles?
Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High scores 47/100 (30th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 256 students. Use the schools in Los Angeles page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High in Los Angeles, 53.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 12.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (26.8% Math proficient); Hispanic students (52.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 34.7 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 56 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate85.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.2%19.8%22%
College readiness28.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded39.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism33.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High: reading the evidence

Boyle Heights Hilda Solis posts 40% meeting the standard and 17.2% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High is ranked #1,161 statewide · #156 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate85.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.2%19.8%22%
College readiness28.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded39.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism33.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 8.8pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.5pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 115831%22%16%31%53%+5
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11583%22%14%60%26%+2

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide612%20%54%25%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged5653.6%+13+15
Hispanic/Latino5752.6%+12+14
Students with Disabilities1618.8%+3+2
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High ←—4717.2%39.7%0.8%
Math, Science, & Technology Magnet Academy at Roos2.2 mi7331.7%63.4%0.7%
Ednovate - Esperanza College Prep1.2 mi7124.8%59.9%1.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
L.A. County High School for the Artsscored within its class, not statewide1.6 mi7235.4%65.8%1.5%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
85.7%
AP Exam Prepared
28.6%
A-G Completion
70.0%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
58.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195037#95620.7%46.7%26.4%1.3%
20224737#101515.9%40.9%28.4%1.7%
20236071#47537.6%65.6%29.2%1.9%
20245455#74425.7%52.7%24.5%1.2%
20254730#116117.2%39.7%33.3%0.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female29.1%36.4%+7.3pp
Male24.8%32.2%+7.4pp
Hispanic/Latino26.9%32.7%+5.8pp
Students with Disabilities29.2%35.4%+6.2pp
English Learners47.2%41.5%-5.7pp
Homeless61.5%46.2%-15.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged26.5%34.7%+8.2pp
All Students26.4%33.8%+7.4pp
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count3
AP enrollment82
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections1
Total enrollment (CRDC)159

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California28.3%
California State University520.8%
California community college520.8%
In-state private14.2%
Out-of-state, 4-year14.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1041.7%

24 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 58% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/boyle-heights-hilda-solis-high-9536"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Boyle Heights Hilda Solis High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.