ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Biggs High

Biggs, CA · Grades 9-12 · 161 students · Biggs Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

54% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 10% in math. 94.4% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalDoug Kaelin
Grades9-12
Enrollment161 students

Math

10%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

54%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

161

Total enrollment

Graduation

94.4%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 12%2022: 6%2023: 12%2024: 9%2025: 10%2019: 49%2022: 29%2023: 52%2024: 56%2025: 54%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 12%2022: 6%2023: 12%2024: 9%2025: 10%2019: 49%2022: 29%2023: 52%2024: 56%2025: 54%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201912%49%
20226%29%
202312%52%
20249%56%
202510%54%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 18th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “32% proficient” and call it done. Biggs deserves a closer read. Three in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Biggs's low-income kids hit 58.3% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

39 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Biggs High scores 42 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 18th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 32% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 17th percentile · Scope Score 42 of 1002022 · 11th percentile · Scope Score 37 of 1002023 · 27th percentile · Scope Score 45 of 1002024 · 25th percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002025 · 18th percentile · Scope Score 42 of 100
ELAYellow(Maintained)MathOrange(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1149%29%52%56%54%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1112%6%12%9%10%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. 8% clear it by a lot.

ELA54% met or exceeded
Exceeded 13%Met 41%Nearly Met 31%Not Met 15%
Math10% met or exceeded
Exceeded 3%Met 8%Nearly Met 28%Not Met 62%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school428%32%94.4%8.3%22.0%2.7%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4254
% Exceeded8%20%
% Met+32%43%
Grad rate94.4%92.5%
College readiness8.3%43.0%
Absence22.0%23.1%
Suspension2.7%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Biggs High in Biggs, 58.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 33.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Biggs High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 24.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (4.2% Math proficient); White students (63.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 10.1 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 24 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 32% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 32%, district —, state 43%32%
MaleMale: this school 40%, district 30%, state 42%40% · +8 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 31%, district 25%, state 32%31% · −1 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 39%, district 36%, state 56%39% · +7 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 25%, district 22%, state 32%25% · −7 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 20%, district 28%, state 44%20% · −12 vs school

6 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 39% of Biggs's enrollment and 91% of its AP seats — ahead of their share of the student body.

Hispanic90.9% AP · 39.3% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 1.1% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 4.9% enroll.
White9.1% AP · 50.3% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 3.3% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 6.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.0% AP · 13.7% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

47%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 14 of 30 completers · includes community colleges

30Completers
3%
Other colleges1 completers · Outside the California community college system
43%
California community colleges13 completers · Enrolled within a year
53%
Not recorded enrolled16 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
47%enrolled in college within a year
  • California State University1 (3%)
  • California community college13 (43%)
  • Not enrolled16 (53%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 12 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Biggs's teachers are authorized to teach 2 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Biology and Spanish Language and Culture.

Students per teacher12 · district 18
Teaching staff14 teachers
Avg. experience14.1 years
Fully credentialed82%
PrincipalDoug Kaelin
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$53,220 – $110,619
Principal salaryFrom $102,076
Superintendent salary$222,995

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers1 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers6 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught2
ShowHide the 2 AP courses by discipline
Sciences (1)Biology
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 22.0%, district 18.2%, state 23.1%22.0% · −1.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.7%, district —, state 3.3%2.7% · −0.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1218.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $29,179 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$196 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $29,179, CA average $14,491$29,179 · spent at this school
Federal share$196 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,532 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 55%Instruction support 11%Student services 10%Administration 12%Buildings & maintenance 12%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,091 per pupil
2019$12,550 per pupil
2018$12,218 per pupil
2017$11,944 per pupil
2016$11,911 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 161 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 18% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino39.8% · district 41.4% · CA 56.1%
White55.3% · district 54.3% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.6% · district 1.7% · CA 10.2%
Black3.1% · district 1.5% · CA 4.8%
Other1.2% · district 1.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch64.0% · CA 64%
Median income$91K · CA $85K
Median home value$363K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+14% · CA 35%
ZIP population3,752
Median age32 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Biggs HighPublicNeeds Support8%32%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Biggs Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Biggs High a good high school?
Biggs High has a Scope Score of 42 out of 100, placing it in the 18th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,353 statewide. 7.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 12.1 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Biggs High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 32.1% of students at Biggs High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 7.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 7.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 78 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Biggs High rank in California?
Biggs High ranks #1,353 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 18th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Biggs High?
22.0% of students at Biggs High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.7%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Biggs High compare to other schools in Biggs?
Biggs High scores 42/100 (18th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 161 students. Use the schools in Biggs page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Biggs High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Biggs High in Biggs, 58.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 33.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Biggs High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 24.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (4.2% Math proficient); White students (63.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 10.1 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 24 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Biggs High?
Biggs High's teachers are authorized to teach 2 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Spanish Language and Culture. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate94.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard7.7%19.8%22%
College readiness8.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded32.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism22.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.7%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Biggs High: reading the evidence

Biggs posts low test scores — and attendance holds near the state average — families haven't checked out. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Biggs High is ranked #1,353 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard7.7%19.8%22%
College readiness8.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded32.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism22.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.7%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 35 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.7pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.6pp higher vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113913%41%31%15%54%+5
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11393%8%28%62%10%−13

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide390%18%72%10%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2458.3%+25+20
White1963.2%+20+1
Hispanic/Latino1643.8%+13+5
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Biggs High ←—427.7%32.1%2.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
94.4%
AP Exam Prepared
8.3%
A-G Completion
26.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
46.7%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194217#124911.8%30.4%22.1%6.8%
20223711#14262.9%17.6%31.6%4.5%
20234527#119816.0%32.0%36.9%4.2%
20244425#123510.9%32.8%25.7%2.1%
20254218#13537.7%32.1%22.0%2.7%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female21.9%23.0%+1.1pp
Male19.8%14.7%-5.1pp
Hispanic/Latino18.9%21.9%+3.0pp
White22.1%16.8%-5.3pp
Students with Disabilities13.9%23.1%+9.2pp
English Learners31.3%——
Homeless22.2%35.7%+13.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged25.5%20.2%-5.3pp
All Students20.8%18.3%-2.5pp
06AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 06 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count4
AP enrollment11
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)183

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University13.3%
California community college1343.3%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1653.3%

30 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 47% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/biggs-high-0827"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Biggs High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Biggs High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.