ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

American High

Fremont, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,618 students · Fremont Unified

An academic strength in the reported results. Look at who shares in it.

88% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 72% in math. 96.1% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Patterns to investigate · 2025

High Ceiling

61.8% Exceeded · unweighted grade–subject rate average

Who gets access to advanced work, and what support is available to students still working toward the standard?

Solid Base

80.1% Met or Exceeded · unweighted grade–subject rate average

Do those results extend across subjects and student groups?

Findings can overlap. They describe reported results, not what caused them. Definitions and limits →

Contact

Math

72%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

88%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,618

Total enrollment

Graduation

96.1%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 70%2022: 73%2023: 72%2024: 72%2025: 72%2019: 89%2022: 87%2023: 88%2024: 88%2025: 88%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 70%2022: 73%2023: 72%2024: 72%2025: 72%2019: 89%2022: 87%2023: 88%2024: 88%2025: 88%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201970%89%
202273%87%
202372%88%
202472%88%
202572%88%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 98th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “80% proficient” and call it done. American deserves a closer read. It sits at the 98th percentile of 1,647 California high schools — but the ranking is the least interesting thing on this page.

American's low-income kids hit 71.3% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

595 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

American High scores 85 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 98th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 80% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 97th percentile · Scope Score 86 of 1002022 · 98th percentile · Scope Score 88 of 1002023 · 98th percentile · Scope Score 88 of 1002024 · 98th percentile · Scope Score 87 of 1002025 · 98th percentile · Scope Score 85 of 100
ELABlue(Maintained)MathBlue(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1189%87%88%88%88%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1170%73%72%72%72%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Four in five of students here meet the standard. Three in five clear it by a lot.

ELA88% met or exceeded
Exceeded 68%Met 20%Nearly Met 6%Not Met 6%
Math72% met or exceeded
Exceeded 56%Met 16%Nearly Met 12%Not Met 16%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school8562%80%96.1%78.7%10.4%1.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope8554
% Exceeded62%20%
% Met+80%43%
Grad rate96.1%92.5%
College readiness78.7%43.0%
Absence10.4%23.1%
Suspension1.8%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

71.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 80% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 80%, district —, state 43%80%
AsianAsian: this school 89%, district 84%, state 72%89% · +9 vs school
MaleMale: this school 80%, district 70%, state 42%80% · −0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 80%, district 72%, state 44%80% · +0 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 58%, district 44%, state 32%58% · −22 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 42%, district 31%, state 32%42% · −38 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 17%, district 18%, state 11%17% · −63 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 60%, district 56%, state 56%60% · −20 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 68%, district 66%, state 65%68% · −12 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 20%, district 21%, state 15%20% · −60 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 73%, district 61%, state 56%73% · −7 vs school

5 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic2.9% AP · 9.1% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.1% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian89.9% AP · 72.7% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Black0.5% AP · 2.3% enroll.
White4.4% AP · 11.3% enroll.
Two or more races1.8% AP · 3.6% enroll.
English learners1.0% AP · 5.5% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.4% AP · 4.8% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

85%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 512 of 601 completers · includes community colleges

601Completers
63%
Other colleges377 completers · Outside the California community college system
22%
California community colleges135 completers · Enrolled within a year
15%
Not recorded enrolled89 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

85%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of American's class of 2023, 85% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 601 completers, 85% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 184 (31%)California State University 88 (15%)California community college 135 (22%)In-state private 18 (3%)Out-of-state, 4-year 85 (14%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 89 (15%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 198 of American's 597 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 42 enrollees.

Applied409fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted373
Enrolled198
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Riverside 42Santa Cruz 30Irvine 26Berkeley 20Davis 19San Diego 19Los Angeles 18Santa Barbara 14Merced 10

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 85% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year.

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 25 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

American's teachers are authorized to teach 24 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher25 · district 25
Teaching staff107 teachers
Avg. experience11.0 years
Fully credentialed87%
First-year teachers10%
Intern / emergency permit0.9%
PrincipalSandhya Sharma
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$84,804 – $147,673
Principal salary$181,946 – $224,157
Superintendent salary$367,102

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers392 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers58 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught24
ShowHide the 24 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (6)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (3)Chinese Language and Culture · French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 10.4%, district 10.9%, state 23.1%10.4% · −12.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.8%, district —, state 3.3%1.8% · −1.4pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–129.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $14,418 per student, about the same as the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$272 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $14,418, CA average $14,491$14,418 · spent at this school
Federal share$272 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,597 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 64%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$11,623 per pupil
2019$11,438 per pupil
2018$11,629 per pupil
2017$11,018 per pupil
2016$10,331 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 2,618 students, this school is well above the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 68% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino10.9% · district 16.4% · CA 56.1%
White6.7% · district 7.3% · CA 19.9%
Asian70.9% · district 64.4% · CA 10.2%
Black1.5% · district 1.8% · CA 4.8%
Other9.9% · district 10.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch24.9% · CA 64%
Median income$168K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.29M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+59% · CA 35%
ZIP population70,619
Median age39 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
American HighPublicStrong62%80%School being viewed
Washington HighPublicStrong45%69%1.5 mi
James Logan HighPublicSolid24%49%2.0 mi
John F. Kennedy HighPublicSolid26%51%3.1 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Fremont →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

3 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Fremont Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is American High a good high school?
American High has a Scope Score of 85 out of 100, placing it in the 98th percentile of California high schools and ranked #35 statewide. 61.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 42.0 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are American High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 80.1% of students at American High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 61.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 18.3% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 61.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 1,189 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does American High rank in California?
American High ranks #35 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 98th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at American High?
10.4% of students at American High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.8%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does American High compare to other schools in Fremont?
American High scores 85/100 (98th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,618 students. Use the schools in Fremont page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does American High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At American High in Fremont, 71.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 48.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. American High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 22.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (44.9% Math proficient); Asian students (93.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 68.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 136 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at American High?
American High's teachers are authorized to teach 24 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from American High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 198 American High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

61.8% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate96.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard61.8%19.8%22%
College readiness78.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded80.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism10.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.4%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

American High: reading the evidence

American posts 61.8% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide in the available reporting. Look across subjects and student groups, then ask about the classroom experience.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Who gets access to advanced work, and what support is available to students still working toward the standard?

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

American High is ranked #35 statewide · #2 of 6 in Fremont Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard61.8%19.8%22%
College readiness78.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded80.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism10.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.4%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 100 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 83 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.1pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.2pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1159568%20%6%6%88%+39
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1159456%16%12%16%72%+49

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide59832%36%29%2%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged13671.3%+23+33
Asian42893.7%+9+19
Hispanic/Latino5364.2%+26+25
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
American High ←—8561.8%80.1%1.8%
Washington High1.5 mi7345.2%68.6%4.5%
James Logan High2 mi6123.9%49.2%3.1%
John F. Kennedy High3.1 mi5526.0%50.6%5.8%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
96.1%
AP Exam Prepared
78.7%
A-G Completion
76.4%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
85.2%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20198697#3857.8%79.5%6.7%3.6%
20228898#2759.5%79.9%11.6%1.5%
20238898#3558.1%79.8%11.5%2.2%
20248798#2960.3%80.2%11.5%1.7%
20258598#3561.8%80.1%10.4%1.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female5.6%10.4%+4.8pp
Male6.8%9.4%+2.6pp
Asian3.9%7.3%+3.4pp
Black/African American12.8%27.9%+15.1pp
Filipino6.4%4.1%-2.3pp
Hispanic/Latino12.3%20.8%+8.5pp
Pacific Islander8.3%45.5%+37.2pp
Two or More Races12.4%16.9%+4.5pp
White9.1%14.0%+4.9pp
Students with Disabilities21.1%26.8%+5.7pp
English Learners15.0%17.2%+2.2pp
Homeless27.8%43.8%+16.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged12.5%15.7%+3.2pp
All Students6.2%9.9%+3.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20254093731983.953.994.06
20243692981443.924.014.07
20233953501923.994.064.09
20224063421914.044.104.16
20213442601223.853.954.05
20202792381533.813.883.92
20192582001353.823.934.00
20182511991103.813.923.98
20172351811133.733.853.92
2016202159943.743.863.90
20152061591043.753.903.92
2014210153993.743.903.92

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253482520
Berkeley20243003323
Berkeley20233382920
Berkeley20223412719
Berkeley20212541914
Davis20253788519
Davis20243237514
Davis202336112633
Davis202237612342
Davis20212968524
Irvine20253779026
Irvine2024317559
Irvine20233537014
Irvine2022367426
Irvine2021292313
Los Angeles20253513518
Los Angeles20243022514
Los Angeles20233423519
Los Angeles20223533216
Los Angeles2021260125
Merced202527627510
Merced202418317312
Merced202320119412
Merced202215415015
Merced20211371309
Riverside202531829242
Riverside202425421614
Riverside202329722932
Riverside202228822836
Riverside202123017418
San Diego20253706219
San Diego20243175412
San Diego20233487424
San Diego20223585411
San Diego2021276488
Santa Barbara202533912614
Santa Barbara20242879818
Santa Barbara2023335879
Santa Barbara20223387214
Santa Barbara20212695412
Santa Cruz202532626230
Santa Cruz202427517728
Santa Cruz202333122529
Santa Cruz202231815932
Santa Cruz202125013729
Universitywide2025409373198
Universitywide2024369298144
Universitywide2023395350192
Universitywide2022406342191
Universitywide2021344260122

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count16
AP enrollment1,098
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 171 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections8
Chemistry sections22
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,521

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California18430.6%
California State University8814.6%
California community college13522.5%
In-state private183.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year8514.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.3%
Not enrolled8914.8%

601 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 85% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/american-high-0062"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="American High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

American High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.