Public school · Pajaro Valley Unified

Watsonville High

Watsonville · 9–12 · 2,215 students (2024–25)

17thpercentileNeeds Support

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
45 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 91% of the class graduated in four years (467 of 512); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 512
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
10%
Met standard
29%
Below standard
61%

39% met or exceeded · 447 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPajaro Valley Unified
Exceeded10%27%13%
Met29%30%28%
Nearly met29%20%27%
Not met32%23%32%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
8%
Met standard
12%
Below standard
80%

20% met or exceeded · 447 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPajaro Valley Unified
Exceeded8%14%8%
Met12%16%12%
Nearly met23%21%21%
Not met57%49%59%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Closest to standing out

Open a finding for the evidence
448 of 2,281 students missed 10% or more of school days, close to the average Pajaro Valley Unified school.2024–25
20 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 2,281
Comparison
448 of 2,281. District and California figures are averages of school rates (4 Pajaro Valley Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school39%
California57%

Tested: 447 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school39%
Pajaro Valley Unified41%

Tested: 447 here · 1,182 in Pajaro Valley Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 9 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPajaro Valley Unified
Exceeded10%27%13%
Met29%30%28%
Nearly met29%20%27%
Not met32%23%32%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school20%
California30%

Tested: 447 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school20%
Pajaro Valley Unified20%

Tested: 447 here · 1,171 in Pajaro Valley Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 9 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPajaro Valley Unified
Exceeded8%14%8%
Met12%16%12%
Nearly met23%21%21%
Not met57%49%59%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: English is lower than in 2019 here (48% to 39%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

91%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 467 of 512 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

38%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

41%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

68% enrolled in college within 12 months · 460 high-school completers

  • University of California28 · 6%
  • California State University33 · 7%
  • California community college239 · 52%
  • In-state private6 · 1%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year6 · 1%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year0 · 0%
  • Not enrolled148 · 32%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
84
Admitted
67
Enrolled
31

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 84 · Admitted 67 · Enrolled 31
  • Fall 2024Applied 79 · Admitted 57 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2023Applied 81 · Admitted 60 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2022Applied 88 · Admitted 62 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2021Applied 68 · Admitted 41 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 2020Applied 78 · Admitted 57 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2019Applied 72 · Admitted 43 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2018Applied 82 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2017Applied 64 · Admitted 36 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2016Applied 60 · Admitted 23 · Enrolled 13
  • Fall 2015Applied 93 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 2014Applied 84 · Admitted 50 · Enrolled 31
  • Fall 2013Applied 83 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2012Applied 59 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2011Applied 76 · Admitted 53 · Enrolled 33
  • Fall 2010Applied 46 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2009Applied 42 · Admitted 31 · Enrolled 17
  • Fall 2008Applied 57 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2007Applied 69 · Admitted 61 · Enrolled 43
  • Fall 2006Applied 68 · Admitted 54 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 2005Applied 58 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2004Applied 57 · Admitted 38 · Enrolled 25
  • Fall 2003Applied 77 · Admitted 50 · Enrolled 28
  • Fall 2002Applied 67 · Admitted 51 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2001Applied 39 · Admitted 29 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2000Applied 37 · Admitted 29 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 1999Applied 33 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 1998Applied 37 · Admitted 29 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 1997Applied 45 · Admitted 35 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 1996Applied 35 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 1995Applied 44 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 1994Applied 49 · Admitted 44 · Enrolled 25

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 59 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled 3
  • DavisApplied 57 · Admitted 30 · Enrolled 14
  • IrvineApplied 38 · Admitted 11 · Enrolled 4
  • Los AngelesApplied 49 · Admitted Masked · Enrolled Masked
  • MercedApplied 26 · Admitted 23 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 19 · Admitted 17 · Enrolled Masked
  • San DiegoApplied 37 · Admitted 11 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 29 · Admitted 15 · Enrolled 3
  • Santa CruzApplied 51 · Admitted 35 · Enrolled 5

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 3
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Precalculus
Sciences 1
  • Biology
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 3
  • Human Geography
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
World Languages & Cultures 2
  • Spanish Language and Culture
  • Spanish Literature and Culture

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
108 of 193 Prepared students · 56.0%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 513 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
67 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
95 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

20 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
21in 100 at the average Pajaro Valley Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

448 of 2,281 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school20 in 100
at the average Pajaro Valley Unified school21 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
4.0%of students were suspended at least once (92 of 2,323), 2024–25
3.7%at the average Pajaro Valley Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

393 English · 394 math tested

English35% / 49%
Math20% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

436 tested per subject

English40% / 49%
Math20% / 19%

English learners

94 English · 95 math tested

English7% / 8%
Math15% / 6%

Students with disabilities

58 tested per subject

English5% / 18%
Math10% / 6%

Homeless

58 English · 57 math tested

English24% / 36%
Math11% / 13%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Pajaro Valley Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 393 tested in English, 394 in math
English35%+134%−1449%
Math20%+614%−121%
Hispanic or Latino · 436 tested
English40%+337%−949%
Math20%+515%+119%
English learners · 94 tested in English, 95 in math
English7%+16%−18%
Math15%+78%+96%
Students with disabilities · 58 tested
English5%−38%−1318%
Math10%+55%+46%
Homeless · 58 tested in English, 57 in math
English24%+123%−1236%
Math11%+56%−213%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Pajaro Valley Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

No published rate here for Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, White, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students, students of two or more races and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students and students with disabilities did worse than the same groups statewide in English.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Watsonville High in Watsonville, 35.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 34.5% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Watsonville High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 0.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (19.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (39.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 33.8 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 395 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 97%2. White: 2%Unallocated share: 1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino97%
  2. White2%
  3. Asian—
  4. Black or African American—
  5. Filipino—
  6. Two or more races—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino97%
White2%
Asian—
Black or African American—
Filipino—
Two or more races—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 9 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (91%, 2,017 of 2,215). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers95
Average experience11 years
First-year teachers8%
75% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 75.04%: 75.9 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 101.1 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryMintie White ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddlePajaro MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolWatsonville HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Mintie White Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    3rd percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • T. S. MacQuiddy Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    5th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Amesti Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    6th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Ann Soldo Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    8th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Hall District Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    7th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Ohlone Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    13th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Radcliff Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    6th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Landmark Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    14th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    99% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Freedom Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    bottom percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    92% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Linscott Charter

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    41st percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Pajaro Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    6th percentile · Needs Support · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • E. A. Hall Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    3rd percentile · Needs Support · middle · 2025

    84% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Rolling Hills Middle

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    26th percentile · Developing · middle · 2025

    57% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Lakeview Middle

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    3rd percentile · Needs Support · middle · 2025

    53% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Linscott Charter

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

  • Alianza Charter

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

  • Watsonville Charter School of the Arts

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Pajaro Valley Unified which school serves your address.

watsonvillehs.net

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
250 East Beach Street, Watsonville 95076

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. English is lower than in 2019 here (48% to 39%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (831) 728-6390 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 83.1–99.1% meal eligibility and 1,108–4,430 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Watsonville High a good high school?
Watsonville High is in the 17th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 45 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 91% of the class graduated in four years (467 of 512); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Watsonville High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 39% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 20% the math standard; 10% and 8% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 447 students were tested in English and 447 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Watsonville High rank in California?
Watsonville High is in the 17th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Needs Support, 2025). Watsonville High ranks #1,235 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Watsonville High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 19.6% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 448 chronically absent of 2,281 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 4.0%; 92 unduplicated suspended students of 2,323 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 20.0%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 4.0%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Watsonville High compare to other schools in Watsonville?
Watsonville High is in the 17th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,215 students. Use the schools in Watsonville page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Watsonville High?
At Watsonville High in Watsonville, 35.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 34.5% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Watsonville High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 0.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (19.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (39.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 33.8 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 395 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Watsonville High?
Watsonville High had own-school AP authorizations for 11 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Human Geography, Precalculus, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Watsonville High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 31 Watsonville High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Watsonville High is ranked #1,235 statewide · #4 of 4 in Pajaro Valley Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.2%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard8.6%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared37.6%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded29.4%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism20.0%22.7%5%
Suspension rate4.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)14.8%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 46 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.3pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1144710%29%30%32%39%−10

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 114478%12%23%57%20%−4

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA48234.0%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math4858.9%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA46831.8%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math4559.2%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA35531.8%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math38110.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA43947.6%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math43817.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4671%12%70%17%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged39535.1%+1−14
Hispanic/Latino43839.7%+3−9
English Learners947.5%+2−1
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Watsonville High ←—4517th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20258.6%29.4%4.0%
Pajaro Valley High2.1 mi4621st percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20255.8%24.4%3.3%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders3.4%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$58,520 – $109,309
Average elementary principal salary$122,944
Average middle school principal salary$129,647
Average high school principal salary$142,021
Superintendent salary$268,536

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 45/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 37.6% · numerator 193 students classified Prepared · denominator 513 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 56.0% · AP-pathway numerator 108 · denominator 193 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 193 of 513 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201951/10040#901California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202246/10033#1069California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202347/10030#1136California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202446/10031#1128California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 19.3% → 2025 · 19.6% · +0.3pp
Suspension rate2024 · 4.9% → 2025 · 4.0% · −0.9pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA4479.6%38.9%
2025 · Math4477.6%19.9%
2024 · ELA4829.1%34.0%
2024 · Math4852.7%8.9%
2023 · ELA4688.3%31.8%
2023 · Math4552.0%9.2%
2022 · ELA3558.7%31.8%
2022 · Math3813.1%10.0%
2019 · ELA43915.0%47.6%
2019 · Math4386.2%17.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
91.2%
AP pathway among Prepared
56.0%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
41.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
67.8%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201910.6%32.4%11.6%3.5%
20225.9%20.9%28.4%2.6%
20235.2%20.5%23.0%3.5%
20245.9%21.4%19.7%4.9%
20258.6%29.4%20.0%4.0%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 14 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female11.0%21.1%+10.1pp
Male11.2%18.2%+7.0pp
Asian0.0%——
Hispanic/Latino10.6%19.4%+8.8pp
White22.6%30.8%+8.2pp
Students with Disabilities19.5%28.1%+8.6pp
English Learners16.5%24.1%+7.6pp
Foster Youth30.0%——
Homeless15.8%19.8%+4.0pp
Military-Connected6.7%19.3%+12.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged11.2%20.5%+9.3pp
All Students11.1%19.6%+8.5pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20258467313.773.884.00
20247957223.683.874.01
20238160293.753.883.97
20228862323.773.954.04
20216841163.523.803.91
20207857243.723.813.96
20197243233.603.823.92
20188240143.483.783.93
20176436263.553.873.95
20166023133.243.653.78
20159347163.503.773.87
20148450313.593.833.92

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20255963
Berkeley20243964
Berkeley2023495masked
Berkeley20225396
Berkeley2021409masked
Davis2025573014
Davis202447225
Davis202350188
Davis202256173
Davis202146155
Irvine202538114
Irvine2024336masked
Irvine2023283masked
Irvine2022343masked
Irvine202121maskedmasked
Los Angeles202549maskedmasked
Los Angeles2024485masked
Los Angeles202341maskedmasked
Los Angeles2022535masked
Los Angeles20213153
Merced20252623masked
Merced20241917masked
Merced20232421masked
Merced202223203
Merced202122174
Riverside20251917masked
Riverside202485masked
Riverside2023128masked
Riverside202277masked
Riverside2021135masked
San Diego20253711masked
San Diego202437174
San Diego202324123
San Diego202245309
San Diego20212010masked
Santa Barbara202529153
Santa Barbara202438163
Santa Barbara202326125
Santa Barbara202229154
Santa Barbara20212913masked
Santa Cruz202551355
Santa Cruz202444365
Santa Cruz202351285
Santa Cruz202247226
Santa Cruz20214116masked
Universitywide2025846731
Universitywide2024795722
Universitywide2023816029
Universitywide2022886232
Universitywide2021684116

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Human Geographythis school
Precalculusthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count10
AP enrollment293
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 95 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections5
Chemistry sections29
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,317

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California286.1%
California State University337.2%
California community college23952.0%
In-state private61.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year61.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled14832.2%

460 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 68% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$15,608 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 18,743 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$379 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,215

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,611 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,215

District current expense · FY 2024–25$24,632 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 56%Instruction support 17%Student services 13%Administration 4%Buildings & maintenance 8%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$15,608 per pupil
2020$15,165 per pupil
2019$15,343 per pupil
2018$13,924 per pupil
2017$12,975 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95076
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95076
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$91,099
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)18.49%
ZCTA population82,806
Median age36.4 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/watsonville-high-7901"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Watsonville High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction