Public school · Pajaro Valley Unified

E. A. Hall Middle

Watsonville · 6–8 · 491 students (2024–25)

3rdpercentileNeeds Support

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
15 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well below California in English and math: 9% and 3% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8: 448 in English, 456 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,266,619 in English and 1,272,526 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
1%
Met standard
8%
Below standard
91%

9% met or exceeded · 448 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPajaro Valley Unified
Exceeded1%19%7%
Met8%30%19%
Nearly met21%23%27%
Not met70%28%47%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
1%
Met standard
2%
Below standard
97%

3% met or exceeded · 456 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPajaro Valley Unified
Exceeded1%20%7%
Met2%16%10%
Nearly met15%23%22%
Not met82%41%61%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
34% of the 228 English learners tested here reached the top level of the state’s English test in 2024–25, against 21% at the average California middle school.2024–25
34%English learners reaching the top level of the state’s English test
Source
CDE ELPAC Summative, Overall Performance Level 4, 2024–25
Students
English learners who took the summative ELPAC: 228
Comparison
The California figure is an average of school rates (1,368 scored California middle schools), our calculation.
1 in 3 students (169 of 512) missed 10% or more of school days, about one and a half times the rate at the average Pajaro Valley Unified school.2024–25
33 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

Ask: When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?

Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 512
Comparison
169 of 512. District and California figures are averages of school rates (9 Pajaro Valley Unified schools; 2,175 scored California middle schools), our calculation.
12.0% of students (63 of 526) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, against 3.5% at the average California middle school.2024–25
12.0%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25

Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?

Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 526
Comparison
63 of 526. District and California figures are averages of school rates (9 Pajaro Valley Unified schools; 2,177 scored California middle schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school9%
California49%

Tested: 448 here · 1,266,619 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school9%
Pajaro Valley Unified26%

Tested: 448 here · 3,846 in Pajaro Valley Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 14 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPajaro Valley Unified
Exceeded1%19%7%
Met8%30%19%
Nearly met21%23%27%
Not met70%28%47%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school3%
California36%

Tested: 456 here · 1,272,526 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school3%
Pajaro Valley Unified17%

Tested: 456 here · 3,859 in Pajaro Valley Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 14 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPajaro Valley Unified
Exceeded1%20%7%
Met2%16%10%
Nearly met15%23%22%
Not met82%41%61%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure428 students in English, 437 in math · grades 6–8 · 2025
English−18ptsCDE category: Moderate
Math−13ptsCDE category: Moderate

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: English is lower than in 2019 here (16% to 9%) and across California (50% to 49%). How does the school check what’s working in English?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

33 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
23in 100 at the average Pajaro Valley Unified school18in 100 at the average California middle school

169 of 512 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school33 in 100
at the average Pajaro Valley Unified school23 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
12.0%of students were suspended at least once (63 of 526), 2024–25
5.7%at the average Pajaro Valley Unified school3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 4–62637 of 144
Grades 7–836131 of 367

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 6–8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

438 English · 445 math tested

English9% / 38%
Math3% / 24%

Hispanic or Latino

435 English · 443 math tested

English9% / 38%
Math3% / 24%

English learners

212 English · 217 math tested

English0% / 7%
Math0% / 6%

Students with disabilities

41 English · 43 math tested

English2% / 14%
Math0% / 10%

Homeless

55 tested per subject

English7% / 27%
Math0% / 16%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 6–8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Pajaro Valley Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 438 tested in English, 445 in math
English9%−1019%−2938%
Math3%−69%−2124%
Hispanic or Latino · 435 tested in English, 443 in math
English9%−1120%−2938%
Math3%−710%−2124%
English learners · 212 tested in English, 217 in math
English0%−44%−77%
Math0%−11%−66%
Students with disabilities · 41 tested in English, 43 in math
English2%−35%−1214%
Math0%−44%−1010%
Homeless · 55 tested
English7%−411%−2027%
Math0%−44%−1616%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Pajaro Valley Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

No published rate here for Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, White, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students, students of two or more races and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income, Hispanic or Latino and homeless students, English learners and students with disabilities did worse than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At E. A. Hall Middle in Watsonville, 8.7% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 18.6% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. E. A. Hall Middle’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 9.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (2.9% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (9.2% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 9.4 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 454 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 97%Unallocated share: 3%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino97%
  2. White—
  3. Asian—
  4. Black or African American—
  5. Filipino—
  6. Two or more races—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share3%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino97%
White—
Asian—
Black or African American—
Filipino—
Two or more races—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 9 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (97%, 478 of 491). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers23
Average experience10 years
First-year teachers22%
63% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 62.86%: 17.6 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 28 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryMintie White ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleE. A. Hall MiddleThis campus · grades 6-8
  3. High schoolWatsonville HighHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Mintie White Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    3rd percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • T. S. MacQuiddy Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    5th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Middle-school links

  • Linscott Charter

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

High-school links

  • Watsonville High

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    17th percentile · Needs Support · high · 2025

    84% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Pajaro Valley High

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    21st percentile · Needs Support · high · 2025

    16% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

High-school endpoint evidence · Watsonville High
Watsonville HighScope 45historical direct overlap

The road from this school ends at Watsonville High. UC records 31 enrollees from Watsonville High for fall 2025. Its AP Course Audit lists 11 authorized AP subjects for 2025 - 2026. Those figures come from dated records — a child starting here today would reach Watsonville High around 2031, and 6 years is a long time for a school to hold still, and by the state's 2023 count 68% of Watsonville High's graduates enrolled in college somewhere, UC or not.

31 UC enrollees (fall 2025) · 11 authorized AP subjects (AP Course Audit 2025 - 2026) → full record on Watsonville High's page
Source: UC & College Board AP Course Ledger

Getting in

Ask Pajaro Valley Unified which school serves your address.

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
201 Brewington Avenue, Watsonville 95076

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?
  2. When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
  3. English is lower than in 2019 here (16% to 9%) and across California (50% to 49%). How does the school check what’s working in English?
  4. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?

Call (831) 728-6270 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 89.4–100% meal eligibility and 246–982 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is E. A. Hall Middle a good middle school?
E. A. Hall Middle is in the 3rd percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 15 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), E. A. Hall Middle was well below California in English and math: 9% and 3% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are E. A. Hall Middle's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 9% of students tested in grades 6–8 met or exceeded the English standard and 3% the math standard; 1% and 1% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 36% met or exceeded, 19% and 20% exceeded. 448 students were tested in English and 456 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does E. A. Hall Middle rank in California?
E. A. Hall Middle is in the 3rd percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Needs Support, 2025). E. A. Hall Middle ranks #2,096 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G6 → 2025 G8), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is E. A. Hall Middle getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares E. A. Hall Middle's grade 6 results in 2023 with its grade 8 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope middle standardized cohort gain: approximately 43rd percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for E. A. Hall Middle?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 33.0% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 169 chronically absent of 512 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 12.0%; 63 unduplicated suspended students of 526 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 32.5%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 11.7%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does E. A. Hall Middle compare to other schools in Watsonville?
E. A. Hall Middle is in the 3rd percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 491 students. Use the schools in Watsonville page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at E. A. Hall Middle?
At E. A. Hall Middle in Watsonville, 8.7% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 18.6% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. E. A. Hall Middle’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 9.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (2.9% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (9.2% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 9.4 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 454 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What high school does E. A. Hall Middle feed into?
By attendance boundary, E. A. Hall Middle is zoned to Watsonville High. Watsonville High has a Scope Score of 45 out of 100. Boundaries come from the U.S. Department of Education's School Attendance Boundary Survey, a 2015-16 collection and the most recent national one — they are approximate and may since have changed. A boundary is also not a placement guarantee: magnet, charter, open-enrollment and inter-district transfer options mean students from one school often continue to several different ones. Confirm your address with the district before making an enrollment or housing decision. Data source: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey, analyzed by SchoolScope.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

E. A. Hall Middle is ranked #2,096 statewide · #7 of 9 in Pajaro Valley Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard1.0%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded6.3%40.0%23%
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)Below avgaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism32.5%18.1%5%
Suspension rate11.7%3.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)33.9%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 17.2% · index 32 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 40.0% · index 23 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)
↓ vs CA average · ≈43rd calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 18.1% · index 30 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 0.7pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.6% · index 17 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 2.5pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 67 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 61310%8%16%76%8%−38
Grade 71501%11%21%67%13%−35
Grade 81671%6%24%69%7%−39

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 61311%0%11%88%1%−34
Grade 71541%3%21%75%5%−29
Grade 81711%3%11%85%4%−28

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA1616.8%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA1817.7%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA18611.3%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math1615.0%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math1802.8%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math1854.9%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA1866.5%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA18011.7%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA19612.2%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math1852.7%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math1865.9%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math1953.1%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA5539.5%
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA55317.9%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA55319.5%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math5493.7%
2022 · Grade 7 · Math5494.2%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math5495.9%
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA60813.7%
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA60815.9%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA60819.0%
2019 · Grade 6 · Math6006.4%
2019 · Grade 7 · Math6007.6%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math6005.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1680%5%48%47%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged4548.7%−10−29
Hispanic/Latino4519.2%−11−29
English Learners2230.5%−4−7
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
E. A. Hall Middle ←—153rd percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20251.0%6.3%+1.1pp+40 pts11.7%
Cesar E. Chavez Middle0.9 mi121st percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20251.6%11.5%+0.1pp—1.5%
Pajaro Middle1.4 mi176th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20252.9%12.8%+1.7pp—8.7%
Lakeview Middle1.5 mi143rd percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20252.0%10.2%+2.5pp—16.3%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders3.6%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$58,520 – $109,309
Average elementary principal salary$122,944
Average middle school principal salary$129,647
Average high school principal salary$142,021
Superintendent salary$268,536

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201912/1001#1929California comprehensive middle schools · 1,953 schools
202210/1001#2090California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools
20239/1000#2106California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202417/1005#2024California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 32.2% → 2025 · 33.0% · +0.8pp
Suspension rate2024 · 9.4% → 2025 · 12.0% · +2.6pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA4480.9%9.4%
2025 · Math4561.1%3.3%
2024 · ELA5280.8%8.7%
2024 · Math5261.1%4.2%
2023 · ELA5621.8%10.1%
2023 · Math5661.6%3.9%
2022 · ELA5531.6%15.6%
2022 · Math5490.4%4.5%
2019 · ELA6081.5%16.1%
2019 · Math6000.7%6.3%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———1.1%11.3%14.1%12.4%+2.0pp
2022———1.0%10.1%35.3%11.6%+6.1pp
2023———1.7%7.0%35.5%13.3%+3.1pp
2024———0.9%6.4%31.9%9.3%+2.2pp
2025153#20961.0%6.3%32.5%11.7%+1.1pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 29 points in ELA in grades 6–8 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female12.8%31.4%+18.6pp
Male15.4%34.6%+19.2pp
Hispanic/Latino14.0%32.7%+18.7pp
White26.3%——
Students with Disabilities24.0%51.9%+27.9pp
English Learners12.2%30.7%+18.5pp
Homeless19.0%35.6%+16.6pp
Military-Connected6.7%21.6%+14.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14.8%33.1%+18.3pp
All Students14.2%33.0%+18.8pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−18428Moderate−13437Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−19419Moderate−13428Moderate
Hispanic or Latino−18416Moderate−13425Moderate
English Learner−18304Moderate−13309Moderate
English Learners Only−17203not categorised−10209not categorised
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)−16159Moderate−8164Moderate
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only−16101not categorised−19100not categorised
English Only−2283not categorised−687not categorised
Homeless Youth−1353Moderate−553Average
Students with Disabilities−2040Moderate−1541Moderate

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 6
1%
exceeded standard · 6% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 186 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 8
1%
exceeded standard · 7% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 167 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 169 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

428 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: −18 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 5th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.5th pctile · −18 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

437 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −13 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 14th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.14th pctile · −13 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$15,608 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 18,743 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$901 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 491

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,611 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 491

District current expense · FY 2024–25$24,632 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 56%Instruction support 17%Student services 13%Administration 4%Buildings & maintenance 8%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$15,608 per pupil
2020$15,165 per pupil
2019$15,343 per pupil
2018$13,924 per pupil
2017$12,975 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95076
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95076
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$91,099
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)18.49%
ZCTA population82,806
Median age36.4 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/e-a-hall-middle-9688"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="E. A. Hall Middle — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction