ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Victor Valley Virtual Academy

Victorville, CA · Grades 7-12 · 91 students · Victor Valley Union High

A foundation in the reported results. Look across subjects and student groups.

63% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 63% in math. 95.5% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

PrincipalKevan Loyd
Grades7-12
Enrollment91 students

Math

63%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

63%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

91

Total enrollment

Graduation

95.5%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2022: 9%2023: 9%2024: 33%2025: 63%2022: 39%2023: 39%2024: 38%2025: 63%20222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2022: 9%2023: 9%2024: 33%2025: 63%2022: 39%2023: 39%2024: 38%2025: 63%2022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20229%39%
20239%39%
202433%38%
202563%63%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2022 to 2025

Climbed from the 21st to the 54th percentile since 2022 — past roughly 500 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “63% proficient” and call it done. Victor Valley Virtual Academy deserves a closer read. Three in four of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

76 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Victor Valley Virtual Academy scores 54 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 54th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2022 · 21st percentile · Scope Score 42 of 1002023 · 18th percentile · Scope Score 42 of 1002024 · 26th percentile · Scope Score 45 of 1002025 · 54th percentile · Scope Score 54 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathGreen(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 715%20%—23%
Grade 838%32%29%39%
Grade 1139%39%38%63%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 79%16%—23%
Grade 823%15%15%32%
Grade 119%9%33%63%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Three in five of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA46% met or exceeded
Exceeded 20%Met 26%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 29%
Math43% met or exceeded
Exceeded 18%Met 25%Nearly Met 21%Not Met 36%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2022–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5432%63%95.5%9.1%77.2%1.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5454
% Exceeded32%20%
% Met+63%43%
Grad rate95.5%92.5%
College readiness9.1%43.0%
Absence77.2%23.1%
Suspension1.2%3.3%
California’s growth results and student groups
State growth model · CDE growth model 2024–25

California's own growth model places it near the 68th percentile of high schools.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits a little above the middle of California high schools in reading and math together. We show it; we don't score it.

— pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

California's growth model, ranked against the schools it scores
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: +8 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 73rd percentile of 7,519 reported schools.73rd pctile · +8 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: +5 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 63rd percentile of 7,518 reported schools.63rd pctile · +5 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

At Victor Valley Virtual Academy in Victorville, 42.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Victor Valley Virtual Academy trails its district average for low-income students by 0.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (40.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (47.8% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 64 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 44% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 44%, district —, state 43%44%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 41%, district 31%, state 32%41% · −3 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 47%, district 34%, state 32%47% · +2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 52%, district 35%, state 44%52% · +8 vs school
MaleMale: this school 27%, district 31%, state 42%27% · −17 vs school

9 of 14 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

38%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 6 of 16 completers · includes community colleges

16Completers
6%
Other colleges1 completers · Outside the California community college system
31%
California community colleges5 completers · Enrolled within a year
63%
Not recorded enrolled10 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
38%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college5 (31%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (6%)
  • Not enrolled10 (63%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 30 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher30 · district 23
Teaching staff3 teachers
Avg. experience19.7 years
Fully credentialed41%
Intern / emergency permit14.1%
PrincipalKevan Loyd
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$67,627 – $151,191
Principal salaryUp to $181,876
Superintendent salary$370,260

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers1 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers1 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

77.2% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 77.2%, district 30.2%, state 23.1%77.2% · +54.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.2%, district —, state 3.3%1.2% · −2.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–8100.0%
Grades 9–12100.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

Its district spends $14,420 per student, about the same as the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $14,420, CA average $14,491$14,420 · district average
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,861 per student
District averageCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 60%Instruction support 10%Student services 10%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 12%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$14,420 per pupil
2019$13,403 per pupil
2018$13,948 per pupil
2017$10,398 per pupil
2016$8,767 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 91 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 38% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino73.6% · district 70.6% · CA 56.1%
White2.2% · district 6.2% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.2% · district 1.4% · CA 10.2%
Black17.6% · district 15.7% · CA 4.8%
Other4.4% · district 6.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch79.1% · CA 64%
Median income$62K · CA $85K
Median home value$375K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+14% · CA 35%
ZIP population47,375
Median age34 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Victor Valley Virtual AcademyPublicSolid32%63%School being viewed
Victor Valley HighPublicNeeds Support5%22%0.2 mi
Goodwill Independent StudyPublicNeeds Support4%13%School being viewed
Goodwill Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicStrong0%6%0.1 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Victorville →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

5 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Victor Valley Union High.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Victor Valley Virtual Academy a good high school?
Victor Valley Virtual Academy has a Scope Score of 54 out of 100, placing it in the 54th percentile of California high schools and ranked #761 statewide. 31.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 11.8 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Victor Valley Virtual Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 63.3% of students at Victor Valley Virtual Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 31.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 31.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 31.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 60 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Victor Valley Virtual Academy rank in California?
Victor Valley Virtual Academy ranks #761 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 54th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Victor Valley Virtual Academy?
77.2% of students at Victor Valley Virtual Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.2%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Victor Valley Virtual Academy compare to other schools in Victorville?
Victor Valley Virtual Academy scores 54/100 (54th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 91 students. Use the schools in Victorville page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Victor Valley Virtual Academy serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Victor Valley Virtual Academy in Victorville, 42.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Victor Valley Virtual Academy trails its district average for low-income students by 0.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (40.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (47.8% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 64 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate95.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard31.7%19.8%22%
College readiness9.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded63.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism77.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)14.3%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Victor Valley Virtual Academy: reading the evidence

Victor Valley Virtual Academy has an average Met + Exceeded rate of 63% and an Exceeded rate of 31.7% across the reported grades and subjects. Ask how students are supported and challenged at different starting points.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Victor Valley Virtual Academy is ranked #761 statewide · #3 of 8 in Victor Valley Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate95.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard31.7%19.8%22%
College readiness9.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded63.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism77.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)14.3%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 36 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 69 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 12 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 54.6pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.4pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 7138%15%31%46%23%−25
Grade 8336%33%30%30%39%−7
Grade 113040%23%17%20%63%+15
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 71315%8%15%62%23%−11
Grade 83415%18%29%38%32%+0
Grade 113023%40%13%23%63%+40

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide643%34%55%8%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged6442.2%−0+4
Hispanic/Latino4647.8%+4+9
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Victor Valley Virtual Academy ←—5431.7%63.3%1.2%
Victor Valley High0.2 mi445.0%21.8%3.1%
Goodwill Independent Study0 mi303.9%12.7%0.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Goodwill Highscored within its class, not statewide0.1 mi290.0%6.3%1.4%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
95.5%
AP Exam Prepared
9.1%
A-G Completion
95.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
37.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20224221#12625.4%24.0%14.0%1.5%
20234218#13384.3%23.9%19.9%1.9%
20244526#12098.3%35.4%22.6%1.6%
20255454#76131.7%63.3%77.2%1.2%
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female—100.0%—
Male—100.0%—
Black/African American—100.0%—
Hispanic/Latino—100.0%—
English Learners—100.0%—
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged—100.0%—
All Students—100.0%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections3
Total enrollment (CRDC)95

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college531.3%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year16.3%
Not enrolled1062.5%

16 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 38% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

08California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
ShowHide table 08 — California growth model, by student group
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+816Accelerated+516Accelerated
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged+1615Accelerated+1015Accelerated
Hispanic or Latino+1012Accelerated+1412Accelerated
English Only+1011not categorised−1211not categorised

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/victor-valley-virtual-academy-0202"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Victor Valley Virtual Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Victor Valley Virtual Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.