Public school · Irvine Unified

University High

Irvine · 9–12 · 2,307 students (2024–25)

89thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
75 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 97% of the class graduated in four years (565 of 581); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 581
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Sign in to save this school

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
38%
Met standard
24%
Below standard
38%

62% met or exceeded · 552 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaIrvine Unified
Exceeded38%27%44%
Met24%30%29%
Nearly met15%20%14%
Not met23%23%13%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
40%
Met standard
23%
Below standard
37%

63% met or exceeded · 555 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaIrvine Unified
Exceeded40%14%39%
Met23%16%24%
Nearly met16%21%17%
Not met21%49%20%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 62% met or exceeded the standard in English and 63% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
62%English · met or exceeded the standard63%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 552 in English, 555 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
248 of 2,370 students missed 10% or more of school days, close to the average Irvine Unified school.2024–25
10 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 2,370
Comparison
248 of 2,370. District and California figures are averages of school rates (5 Irvine Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
1.0% of students (25 of 2,398) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about a third of the rate at the average California high school.2024–25
1.0%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,398
Comparison
25 of 2,398. District and California figures are averages of school rates (5 Irvine Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school62%
California57%

Tested: 552 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school62%
Irvine Unified73%

Tested: 552 here · 2,774 in Irvine Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 7 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaIrvine Unified
Exceeded38%27%44%
Met24%30%29%
Nearly met15%20%14%
Not met23%23%13%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school63%
California30%

Tested: 555 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school63%
Irvine Unified63%

Tested: 555 here · 2,778 in Irvine Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 7 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaIrvine Unified
Exceeded40%14%39%
Met23%16%24%
Nearly met16%21%17%
Not met21%49%20%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: English is lower than in 2019 here (78% to 62%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

97%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 565 of 581 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

77%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

69%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

88% enrolled in college within 12 months · 513 high-school completers

  • University of California117 · 23%
  • California State University25 · 5%
  • California community college205 · 40%
  • In-state private28 · 5%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year78 · 15%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 · 0%
  • Not enrolled59 · 12%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
350
Admitted
289
Enrolled
124

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 350 · Admitted 289 · Enrolled 124
  • Fall 2024Applied 340 · Admitted 245 · Enrolled 109
  • Fall 2023Applied 332 · Admitted 252 · Enrolled 131
  • Fall 2022Applied 350 · Admitted 250 · Enrolled 118
  • Fall 2021Applied 329 · Admitted 256 · Enrolled 144
  • Fall 2020Applied 329 · Admitted 257 · Enrolled 138
  • Fall 2019Applied 372 · Admitted 273 · Enrolled 139
  • Fall 2018Applied 404 · Admitted 285 · Enrolled 143
  • Fall 2017Applied 345 · Admitted 256 · Enrolled 121
  • Fall 2016Applied 350 · Admitted 292 · Enrolled 148
  • Fall 2015Applied 359 · Admitted 266 · Enrolled 127
  • Fall 2014Applied 290 · Admitted 233 · Enrolled 123
  • Fall 2013Applied 367 · Admitted 274 · Enrolled 123
  • Fall 2012Applied 293 · Admitted 219 · Enrolled 108
  • Fall 2011Applied 286 · Admitted 219 · Enrolled 94
  • Fall 2010Applied 352 · Admitted 323 · Enrolled 149
  • Fall 2009Applied 292 · Admitted 272 · Enrolled 139
  • Fall 2008Applied 296 · Admitted 278 · Enrolled 139
  • Fall 2007Applied 288 · Admitted 267 · Enrolled 141
  • Fall 2006Applied 290 · Admitted 271 · Enrolled 165
  • Fall 2005Applied 312 · Admitted 277 · Enrolled 174
  • Fall 2004Applied 305 · Admitted 261 · Enrolled 159
  • Fall 2003Applied 316 · Admitted 283 · Enrolled 167
  • Fall 2002Applied 346 · Admitted 303 · Enrolled 200
  • Fall 2001Applied 303 · Admitted 270 · Enrolled 174
  • Fall 2000Applied 330 · Admitted 275 · Enrolled 174
  • Fall 1999Applied 278 · Admitted 240 · Enrolled 162
  • Fall 1998Applied 298 · Admitted 248 · Enrolled 164
  • Fall 1997Applied 287 · Admitted 252 · Enrolled 165
  • Fall 1996Applied 275 · Admitted 250 · Enrolled 170
  • Fall 1995Applied 254 · Admitted 224 · Enrolled 140
  • Fall 1994Applied 264 · Admitted 241 · Enrolled 159

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 284 · Admitted 34 · Enrolled 13
  • DavisApplied 253 · Admitted 93 · Enrolled 17
  • IrvineApplied 311 · Admitted 96 · Enrolled 34
  • Los AngelesApplied 302 · Admitted 25 · Enrolled 8
  • MercedApplied 104 · Admitted 103 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 213 · Admitted 190 · Enrolled 28
  • San DiegoApplied 319 · Admitted 50 · Enrolled 13
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 291 · Admitted 87 · Enrolled 5
  • Santa CruzApplied 154 · Admitted 110 · Enrolled 6

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 6
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science A
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Precalculus
  • Statistics
Sciences 5
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics 1
  • Physics 2
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 6
  • African American Studies
  • Macroeconomics
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 4
  • Chinese Language and Culture
  • Latin
  • Spanish Language and Culture
  • Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts 5
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • 3-D Art and Design
  • Art History
  • Drawing
  • Music Theory

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
402 of 449 Prepared students · 89.5%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 581 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
70 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
11 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

10 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
10in 100 at the average Irvine Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

248 of 2,370 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school10 in 100
at the average Irvine Unified school10 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.0%of students were suspended at least once (25 of 2,398), 2024–25
0.8%at the average Irvine Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

150 English · 153 math tested

English46% / 49%
Math50% / 21%

Asian

229 English · 231 math tested

English69% / 80%
Math77% / 67%

White

173 English · 176 math tested

English63% / 68%
Math56% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

73 English · 71 math tested

English42% / 49%
Math35% / 19%

Two or more races

50 tested per subject

English72% / 67%
Math66% / 42%

English learners

38 tested per subject

English5% / 8%
Math32% / 6%

Students with disabilities

34 English · 35 math tested

English24% / 18%
Math20% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Irvine Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 150 tested in English, 153 in math
English46%−1157%−349%
Math50%+446%+2921%
Asian · 229 tested in English, 231 in math
English69%−1079%−1180%
Math77%−279%+1067%
White · 173 tested in English, 176 in math
English63%−669%−568%
Math56%+650%+1442%
Hispanic or Latino · 73 tested in English, 71 in math
English42%−1355%−749%
Math35%+233%+1619%
Two or more races · 50 tested
English72%−880%+567%
Math66%+660%+2442%
English learners · 38 tested
English5%−712%−38%
Math32%−234%+266%
Students with disabilities · 34 tested in English, 35 in math
English24%024%+618%
Math20%+416%+146%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Irvine Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Black or African American and Filipino students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Asian students did worse than the same group statewide in English.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At University High in Irvine, 46.0% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 57.0% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. University High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 11.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (50.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (69.0% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 57.2 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 150 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Asian: 42%2. White: 31%3. Hispanic or Latino: 12%4. Two or more races: 9%5. Black or African American: 3%6. Filipino: 2%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Asian42%
  2. White31%
  3. Hispanic or Latino12%
  4. Two or more races9%
  5. Black or African American3%
  6. Filipino2%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Asian42%
White31%
Hispanic or Latino12%
Two or more races9%
Black or African American3%
Filipino2%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 1 in 4 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (23%, 531 of 2,307). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers91
Average experience15 years
First-year teachers4%
89% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 89.25%: 75.3 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 84.4 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryBonita Canyon ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleLink not recordedAsk the district about this stage.
  3. High schoolUniversity HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Bonita Canyon Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    95th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Turtle Rock Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    98th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • University Park Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    78th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Vista Verde

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    94th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Alderwood Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    83rd percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Culverdale Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    75th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Meadow Park Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    89th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Springbrook Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    82nd percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Oak Creek Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    70th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    75% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Cypress Village Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    78th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

  • Westpark Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    96th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Rancho San Joaquin Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Vista Verde

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

  • South Lake Middle

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    38% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Irvine Unified which school serves your address.

universityhigh.iusd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
4771 Campus Drive, Irvine 92612

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. English is lower than in 2019 here (78% to 62%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (949) 936-7600 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Corona del Mar HighNewport-Mesa Unified · 2,106 enrolled · 22.9% meal eligibility85thStrong
  • Tesoro HighCapistrano Unified · 2,030 enrolled · 23.4% meal eligibility93rdStrong
  • Diamond Bar HighWalnut Valley Unified · 2,563 enrolled · 22.6% meal eligibility93rdStrong
  • Irvine HighIrvine Unified · 1,964 enrolled · 22.6% meal eligibility88thStrong
  • Livermore HighLivermore Valley Joint Unified · 1,827 enrolled · 23.5% meal eligibility62ndSolid
  • Eastlake HighSweetwater Union High · 2,557 enrolled · 22.5% meal eligibility88thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 15–31% meal eligibility and 1,154–4,614 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is University High a good high school?
University High is in the 89th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 75 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 97% of the class graduated in four years (565 of 581); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are University High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 62% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 63% the math standard; 38% and 40% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 552 students were tested in English and 555 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does University High rank in California?
University High is in the 89th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Strong, 2025). University High ranks #156 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for University High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 10.5% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 248 chronically absent of 2,370 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.0%; 25 unduplicated suspended students of 2,398 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 11.1%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.1%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does University High compare to other schools in Irvine?
University High is in the 89th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,307 students. Use the schools in Irvine page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at University High?
At University High in Irvine, 46.0% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 57.0% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. University High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 11.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (50.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (69.0% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 57.2 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 150 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at University High?
University High had own-school AP authorizations for 28 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, African American Studies, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Latin, Macroeconomics, Music Theory, Physics 1, Physics 2, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from University High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 124 University High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

University High is ranked #156 statewide · #4 of 5 in Irvine Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.2%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard39.0%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared77.3%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded62.6%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism11.1%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)25.3%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 70 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 70 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.1pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1155238%25%14%23%63%+14

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1155540%23%16%21%63%+39

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA54371.3%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math54667.4%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA51474.9%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math50773.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA47075.5%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math47070.2%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA53877.9%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math53975.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide57626%34%35%5%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged15046.0%−11−3
Asian22969.0%−10−11
White17363.0%−6−5
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
University High ←—7589th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202539.0%62.6%1.1%
Woodbridge High2.1 mi7589th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202541.9%69.1%0.4%
Portola High2.8 mi7690th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202541.1%69.0%1.0%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Creekside Highscored within its class, not statewide2.6 mi3394th percentile · Strong · within class · 20254.5%16.7%12.2%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$59,726 – $137,884
Average elementary principal salary$174,996
Average middle school principal salary$184,150
Average high school principal salary$204,036
Superintendent salary$421,400

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 75/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 77.3% · numerator 449 students classified Prepared · denominator 581 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 89.5% · AP-pathway numerator 402 · denominator 449 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 449 of 581 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201986/10097#45California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202284/10097#47California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202386/10097#41California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202482/10096#58California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 9.4% → 2025 · 10.5% · +1.1pp
Suspension rate2024 · 1.2% → 2025 · 1.0% · −0.2pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA55237.9%62.5%
2025 · Math55540.2%62.7%
2024 · ELA54343.8%71.3%
2024 · Math54645.0%67.4%
2023 · ELA51447.1%74.9%
2023 · Math50750.9%73.0%
2022 · ELA47047.9%75.5%
2022 · Math47045.1%70.2%
2019 · ELA53852.4%77.9%
2019 · Math53949.0%75.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
97.2%
AP pathway among Prepared
89.5%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
69.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
88.5%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201950.7%76.5%8.3%1.4%
202246.5%72.9%11.5%0.6%
202349.0%73.9%10.6%1.0%
202444.4%69.3%10.0%1.3%
202539.0%62.6%11.1%1.1%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female8.4%11.3%+2.9pp
Male7.4%9.7%+2.3pp
Asian4.7%6.4%+1.7pp
Black/African American10.4%16.1%+5.7pp
Filipino5.5%5.5%+0.0pp
Hispanic/Latino10.3%19.1%+8.8pp
Two or More Races6.7%7.9%+1.2pp
White11.4%13.0%+1.6pp
Students with Disabilities19.4%30.1%+10.7pp
English Learners11.1%12.2%+1.1pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14.0%16.9%+2.9pp
All Students7.8%10.5%+2.7pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20253502891243.903.964.02
20243402451093.903.984.05
20233322521313.914.004.05
20223502501183.974.064.19
20213292561443.894.044.07
20203292571383.863.943.98
20193722731393.843.964.00
20184042851433.813.943.97
20173452561213.843.953.96
20163502921483.813.883.95
20153592661273.793.903.93
20142902331233.803.893.90

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252843413
Berkeley20242663114
Berkeley20232482919
Berkeley20222464932
Berkeley20212262113
Davis20252539317
Davis2024229665
Davis20232055914
Davis2022223709
Davis202120410212
Irvine20253119634
Irvine20242899825
Irvine20232858128
Irvine20223129423
Irvine202126613450
Los Angeles2025302258
Los Angeles20242942412
Los Angeles20232892614
Los Angeles20222932612
Los Angeles20212672815
Merced2025104103masked
Merced20245855masked
Merced202375703
Merced20227366masked
Merced202156466
Riverside202521319028
Riverside202415813916
Riverside202317914521
Riverside202218014217
Riverside202116611512
San Diego20253195013
San Diego20243036222
San Diego2023291537
San Diego2022293478
San Diego20212766516
Santa Barbara2025291875
Santa Barbara2024278769
Santa Barbara20232566914
Santa Barbara20222807912
Santa Barbara202125010414
Santa Cruz20251541106
Santa Cruz2024171936
Santa Cruz202316010911
Santa Cruz2022158635
Santa Cruz2021132706
Universitywide2025350289124
Universitywide2024340245109
Universitywide2023332252131
Universitywide2022350250118
Universitywide2021329256144

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
African American Studiesthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Latinthis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics 1this school
Physics 2this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count23
AP enrollment844
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 11 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections15
Physics sections29
Chemistry sections51
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,707

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California11722.8%
California State University254.9%
California community college20540.0%
In-state private285.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year7815.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.2%
Not enrolled5911.5%

513 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 89% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,060 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 35,660 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

Central federal expenditures attributed here$254 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,307

District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,178 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 60%Instruction support 13%Student services 12%Administration 3%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,060 per pupil
2020$14,414 per pupil
2019$11,451 per pupil
2018$10,962 per pupil
2017$10,874 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92612
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92612
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$106,226
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)63.97%
ZCTA population33,714
Median age31.5 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/university-high-5102"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="University High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction