ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Sutter High

Sutter, CA · Grades 9-12 · 768 students · Sutter Union High

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

52% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 27% in math. 100.0% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

DistrictSutter Union High
PrincipalRick Giovannoni
Grades9-12
Enrollment768 students

Math

27%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

52%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

768

Total enrollment

Graduation

100.0%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 37%2022: 26%2023: 21%2024: 24%2025: 27%2019: 70%2022: 65%2023: 48%2024: 49%2025: 52%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 37%2022: 26%2023: 21%2024: 24%2025: 27%2019: 70%2022: 65%2023: 48%2024: 49%2025: 52%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201937%70%
202226%65%
202321%48%
202424%49%
202527%52%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 66th to the 55th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “40% proficient” and call it done. Sutter deserves a closer read. One in four of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

157 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Sutter High scores 54 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 55th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 40% meet the standard today, versus 53% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 66th percentile · Scope Score 60 of 1002022 · 60th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 1002023 · 49th percentile · Scope Score 52 of 1002024 · 48th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 1002025 · 55th percentile · Scope Score 54 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1170%65%48%49%52%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1137%26%21%24%27%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA52% met or exceeded
Exceeded 19%Met 33%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 23%
Math27% met or exceeded
Exceeded 9%Met 18%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 49%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5414%40%100.0%29.8%18.6%1.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5454
% Exceeded14%20%
% Met+40%43%
Grad rate100.0%92.5%
College readiness29.8%43.0%
Absence18.6%23.1%
Suspension1.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At Sutter High in Sutter, 38.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 32.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Sutter High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 6.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (17.1% Math proficient); White students (51.1% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 14.1 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 42 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 40% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 40%, district —, state 43%40%
WhiteWhite: this school 40%, district 37%, state 56%40% · −0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 35%, district 33%, state 42%35% · −5 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 46%, district 43%, state 44%46% · +7 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 38%, district 36%, state 32%38% · −2 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 28%, district 23%, state 32%28% · −12 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 19%, district 19%, state 46%19% · −20 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 8%, district 8%, state 15%8% · −31 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 41%, district 38%, state 56%41% · +1 vs school
AsianAsian: too few students to report‹11
English LearnersEnglish Learners: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic27.7% AP · 27.1% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native4.5% AP · 1.7% enroll.
Asian3.2% AP · 3.2% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
White61.9% AP · 61.9% enroll.
Two or more races2.6% AP · 5.6% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 2.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.6% AP · 6.7% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

63%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 134 of 214 completers · includes community colleges

214Completers
26%
Other colleges55 completers · Outside the California community college system
37%
California community colleges79 completers · Enrolled within a year
37%
Not recorded enrolled80 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
63%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California1 (0%)
  • California State University15 (7%)
  • California community college79 (37%)
  • In-state private7 (3%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year32 (15%)
  • Not enrolled80 (37%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 22 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher22 · district 22
Teaching staff39 teachers
Avg. experience11.7 years
Fully credentialed73%
First-year teachers21%
PrincipalRick Giovannoni
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$54,806 – $98,772
Principal salaryUp to $149,397
Superintendent salary$167,934

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP courses offered5 (CCI)
AP exam qualifiers31 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers63 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 18.6%, district 18.6%, state 23.1%18.6% · −4.5pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.4%, district —, state 3.3%1.4% · −1.8pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1217.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $14,689 per student, about the same as the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$328 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $14,689, CA average $14,491$14,689 · spent at this school
Federal share$328 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$15,331 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 47%Instruction support 12%Student services 15%Administration 10%Buildings & maintenance 15%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$11,455 per pupil
2019$10,814 per pupil
2018$11,227 per pupil
2017$10,293 per pupil
2016$10,544 per pupil
The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 768 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 28% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino29.2% · district 29.3% · CA 56.1%
White59.1% · district 59.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian3.0% · district 2.9% · CA 10.2%
Black0.3% · district 0.3% · CA 4.8%
Other8.5% · district 8.4% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch28.5% · CA 64%
Median income$96K · CA $85K
Median home value$417K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+24% · CA 35%
ZIP population2,795
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Sutter HighPublicSolid14%40%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Sutter →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

1 private school within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Sutter Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Middle · 6–8

No school established for this stage.

High school · 9–12

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Sutter High a good high school?
Sutter High has a Scope Score of 54 out of 100, placing it in the 55th percentile of California high schools and ranked #745 statewide. 14.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 5.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Sutter High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 39.6% of students at Sutter High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 14.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 25.5% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 14.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 313 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Sutter High rank in California?
Sutter High ranks #745 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 55th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Sutter High?
18.6% of students at Sutter High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.4%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Sutter High compare to other schools in Sutter?
Sutter High scores 54/100 (55th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 768 students. Use the schools in Sutter page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Sutter High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Sutter High in Sutter, 38.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 32.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Sutter High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 6.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (17.1% Math proficient); White students (51.1% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 14.1 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 42 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard14.0%19.8%22%
College readiness29.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded39.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)30.8%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Sutter High: reading the evidence

Sutter posts 40% meeting the standard and 14.0% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Sutter High is ranked #745 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard14.0%19.8%22%
College readiness29.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded39.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)30.8%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.4pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 72 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1115719%33%25%23%52%+4
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111569%18%24%49%27%+3

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1596%21%62%11%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged4238.1%+6−0
White9451.1%+3−11
Hispanic/Latino4652.2%+3+13
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Sutter High ←—5414.0%39.6%1.4%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
100.0%
AP Exam Prepared
29.8%
A-G Completion
42.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
62.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196066#51624.5%53.4%12.7%3.5%
20225560#64115.0%45.4%20.9%2.3%
20235249#83413.1%34.5%21.4%2.9%
20245148#85711.8%36.5%19.0%3.0%
20255455#74514.0%39.6%18.6%1.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female13.7%17.2%+3.5pp
Male9.4%17.4%+8.0pp
Asian7.4%3.4%-4.0pp
Hispanic/Latino10.2%20.6%+10.4pp
American Indian/Alaska Native7.7%——
Two or More Races3.4%20.0%+16.6pp
White12.8%16.2%+3.4pp
Students with Disabilities20.4%36.8%+16.4pp
English Learners9.1%31.3%+22.2pp
Homeless26.1%26.3%+0.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged18.4%30.8%+12.4pp
All Students11.5%17.3%+5.8pp
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count16
AP enrollment155
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections6
Total enrollment (CRDC)749

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California10.5%
California State University157.0%
California community college7936.9%
In-state private73.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year3214.9%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled8037.4%

214 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 63% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/sutter-high-7500"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Sutter High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Sutter High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.