ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

San Pedro Senior High

San Pedro, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,398 students · Los Angeles Unified

This school runs ahead of the state average. The bar itself is the harder conversation.

64% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 29% in math. 94.8% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

29%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

64%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,398

Total enrollment

Graduation

94.8%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 29%2022: 17%2023: 18%2024: 26%2025: 29%2019: 55%2022: 42%2023: 50%2024: 59%2025: 64%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 29%2022: 17%2023: 18%2024: 26%2025: 29%2019: 55%2022: 42%2023: 50%2024: 59%2025: 64%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201929%55%
202217%42%
202318%50%
202426%59%
202529%64%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 63rd to the 72nd percentile of California high schools since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “46% proficient” and call it done. San Pedro deserves a closer read. Three in four of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

San Pedro's low-income kids hit 62.1% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

487 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

San Pedro Senior High scores 61 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 72nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 46% of students meet the standard today, above the 42% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 63rd percentile · Scope Score 59 of 1002022 · 55th percentile · Scope Score 53 of 1002023 · 59th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 1002024 · 67th percentile · Scope Score 59 of 1002025 · 72nd percentile · Scope Score 61 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1155%42%50%59%64%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1129%17%18%26%29%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA64% met or exceeded
Exceeded 29%Met 35%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 13%
Math29% met or exceeded
Exceeded 10%Met 19%Nearly Met 26%Not Met 46%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6119%46%94.8%59.4%25.2%0.1%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6154
% Exceeded19%20%
% Met+46%43%
Grad rate94.8%92.5%
College readiness59.4%43.0%
Absence25.2%23.1%
Suspension0.1%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

62.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 46% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 46%, district —, state 43%46%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 44%, district 36%, state 32%44% · −2 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 43%, district 36%, state 32%43% · −3 vs school
MaleMale: this school 44%, district 41%, state 42%44% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 49%, district 42%, state 44%49% · +3 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 52%, district 65%, state 56%52% · +6 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 21%, district 14%, state 15%21% · −25 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 39%, district 30%, state 26%39% · −7 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 80%, district 56%, state 56%80% · +34 vs school

8 of 17 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic55.7% AP · 66.3% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.4% AP · 0.4% enroll.
Asian8.7% AP · 5.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander1.6% AP · 1.0% enroll.
Black6.4% AP · 7.8% enroll.
White23.7% AP · 15.7% enroll.
Two or more races3.5% AP · 3.5% enroll.
English learners0.8% AP · 3.8% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.4% AP · 12.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

64%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 368 of 579 completers · includes community colleges

579Completers
33%
Other colleges192 completers · Outside the California community college system
30%
California community colleges176 completers · Enrolled within a year
36%
Not recorded enrolled211 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

64%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of San Pedro's class of 2023, 64% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 579 completers, 64% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 46 (8%)California State University 107 (18%)California community college 176 (30%)In-state private 5 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 31 (5%)Out-of-state, 2-year 3 (1%)Not enrolled 211 (36%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 40 of San Pedro's 543 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Berkeley the most common landing, with 7 enrollees.

Applied144fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted101
Enrolled40
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Berkeley 7Davis 7Los Angeles 6Riverside 6Santa Barbara 4Santa Cruz 4Irvine 3San Diego 3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 52 enrolled, 2016

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 64% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (176) than at UC (46).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 21 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

San Pedro's teachers are authorized to teach 26 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus AB, Physics C: Mechanics, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher21 · district 20
Teaching staff119 teachers
Avg. experience14.9 years
Fully credentialed88%
First-year teachers3%
Intern / emergency permit0.8%
PrincipalRaymond Aubele
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers241 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers56 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught26
ShowHide the 26 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (5)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)African American Studies · Human Geography · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (3)Italian Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (4)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 25.2%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%25.2% · +2.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.1%, district —, state 3.3%0.1% · −3.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1225.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $21,785 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,864 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $21,785, CA average $14,491$21,785 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,864 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 2,398 students, this school is well above the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 30% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino68.5% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White14.3% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.8% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black8.3% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other7.2% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch77.2% · CA 64%
Median income$76K · CA $85K
Median home value$851K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+27% · CA 35%
ZIP population61,944
Median age39 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
San Pedro Senior HighPublicSolid19%46%School being viewed
Port of Los Angeles HighCharterStrong36%66%1.3 mi
Angel's Gate (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%16%1.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Pedro →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

5 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Cabrillo Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 55/100
Fifteenth Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 29/100
Leland Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 33/100
South Shores/CSUDH Visual and Performing ArtsPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
White Point ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 56/100
Barton Hill ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 22/100
Hawaiian Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Park Western Place ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 67/100
Taper Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 58/100
Bandini Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Seventh Street Elementary Arts Integration MagnetAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 55/100
Crestwood Street STEAM MagnetAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Wilmington Park ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Point Fermin ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 68/100
George De La Torre Jr. ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 38/100
Harry Bridges SpanAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is San Pedro Senior High a good high school?
San Pedro Senior High has a Scope Score of 61 out of 100, placing it in the 72nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #461 statewide. 19.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is near the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are San Pedro Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 46.2% of students at San Pedro Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 19.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 19.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 977 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does San Pedro Senior High rank in California?
San Pedro Senior High ranks #461 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 72nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at San Pedro Senior High?
25.2% of students at San Pedro Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.1%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does San Pedro Senior High compare to other schools in San Pedro?
San Pedro Senior High scores 61/100 (72nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,398 students. Use the schools in San Pedro page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does San Pedro Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At San Pedro Senior High in San Pedro, 62.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. San Pedro Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 21.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (25.5% Math proficient); Hispanic students (61.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 31.9 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 360 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at San Pedro Senior High?
San Pedro Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 26 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, African American Studies, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Human Geography, Italian Language and Culture, Physics 1, Physics C: Mechanics, Precalculus, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from San Pedro Senior High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 40 San Pedro Senior High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate94.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard19.5%19.8%22%
College readiness59.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded46.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)29.7%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

San Pedro Senior High: reading the evidence

San Pedro posts 46% meeting the standard against 43% statewide — ahead of most, with real headroom above the bar.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

San Pedro Senior High is ranked #461 statewide · #71 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard19.5%19.8%22%
College readiness59.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded46.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)29.7%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 72 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1148729%35%24%13%64%+15
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1149010%19%26%46%29%+5

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide5198%22%61%8%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged36062.1%+21+24
Hispanic/Latino33661.8%+21+23
White6567.2%−2+5
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
San Pedro Senior High ←—6119.5%46.2%0.1%
Port of Los Angeles High1.3 mi6735.8%66.3%1.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Angel's Gate (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide1.6 mi110.0%15.8%2.1%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
94.8%
AP Exam Prepared
59.4%
A-G Completion
74.6%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
63.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195963#55918.1%42.1%19.5%0.4%
20225355#72611.9%29.4%39.1%0.1%
20235559#67213.8%33.5%33.0%0.3%
20245967#53917.3%42.4%25.3%0.1%
20256172#46119.5%46.2%25.2%0.1%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female18.0%27.3%+9.3pp
Male20.4%22.9%+2.5pp
Asian18.2%11.6%-6.6pp
Black/African American21.1%27.7%+6.6pp
Filipino5.9%2.2%-3.7pp
Hispanic/Latino20.5%26.5%+6.0pp
American Indian/Alaska Native20.0%——
Pacific Islander40.0%12.5%-27.5pp
Two or More Races21.0%24.7%+3.7pp
White14.4%21.6%+7.2pp
Students with Disabilities31.4%34.9%+3.5pp
English Learners27.9%45.2%+17.3pp
Foster Youth36.4%50.0%+13.6pp
Homeless31.5%32.7%+1.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged22.5%27.0%+4.5pp
All Students19.3%25.0%+5.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025144101403.833.954.06
202414890483.864.044.15
202315993483.874.034.12
202213987363.894.014.10
2021146102403.813.974.02
20209363373.864.014.02
20199046263.724.044.06
201812268313.774.014.06
201712157333.704.024.05
201610480523.733.883.95
20158453383.703.923.95
20145929203.423.713.72

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202559107
Berkeley202474108
Berkeley20236897
Berkeley202265177
Berkeley202162195
Davis202548187
Davis202438194
Davis202351205
Davis202241164
Davis202150253
Irvine2025107173
Irvine202410010‹3
Irvine2023115177
Irvine202210315‹3
Irvine20218111‹3
Los Angeles202511296
Los Angeles202411486
Los Angeles202311866
Los Angeles202297117
Los Angeles2021102138
Merced20253230‹3
Merced2024109‹3
Merced20232320‹3
Merced20222219‹3
Merced202129274
Riverside202555496
Riverside202442307
Riverside202344336
Riverside202239266
Riverside202145323
San Diego202572253
San Diego202490184
San Diego202396184
San Diego20227319‹3
San Diego202182353
Santa Barbara202588244
Santa Barbara2024853713
Santa Barbara202387226
Santa Barbara202275174
Santa Barbara20217922‹3
Santa Cruz202543324
Santa Cruz202452344
Santa Cruz202374437
Santa Cruz202263323
Santa Cruz2021603811
Universitywide202514410140
Universitywide20241489048
Universitywide20231599348
Universitywide20221398736
Universitywide202114610240

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
African American Studiesthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Human Geographythis school
Italian Language and Culturethis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count17
AP enrollment855
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections7
Chemistry sections24
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,736

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California467.9%
California State University10718.5%
California community college17630.4%
In-state private50.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year315.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.5%
Not enrolled21136.4%

579 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 64% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/san-pedro-senior-high-7838"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="San Pedro Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

San Pedro Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.