Continuation high school · Elk Grove Unified
Rio Cazadero High
Sacramento · 9–12 · 120 students (2024–25)
Compared only with other continuation schools: higher than 9 in 100 of California’s 277 continuation high schools we score.
In 2024–25, 51% of the class graduated in four years (49 of 97); across California’s continuation high schools, 75%. Source
- Source
- CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
- Students
- students in the four-year graduation cohort: 97
- Comparison
- Continuation high schools: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 379 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 21,329 of 28,373).
What stands out
Tap a line for its sourceWorth watchingSource13.9%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–256.5%at the average California continuation high school13.9% of students (28 of 202) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about twice the rate at the average California continuation high school.Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
- Source
- CDE suspension file, 2024–25
- Students
- all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 202
- Comparison
- 28 of 202. The California figure is an average of school rates (277 scored California continuation high schools), our calculation.
Is it good?
How students scored
51 completers, class of 2023
- University of California0 (0%)
- California State University0 (0%)
- California community college12 (24%)
- In-state private0 (0%)
- Out-of-state, 4-year1 (2%)
- Out-of-state, 2-year0 (0%)
- Not enrolled38 (75%)
Source: CDE’s college-going rate for the class of 2023 (enrolled in college within 12 months). Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash means we have no figure for that row; it isn’t zero.
Share of students tested.
Show these bars as a table
| Exceeded | Met | Nearly met | Not met | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| English, grade 11 · Rio Cazadero | 2% | 12% | 20% | 66% |
| English, grade 11 · Continuation schools | 2% | 11% | 25% | 62% |
| Math, grade 11 · Rio Cazadero | 7% | 2% | 0% | 91% |
| Math, grade 11 · Continuation schools | 1% | 2% | 6% | 91% |
Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
Kids like mine
How each student group did
| Group and subject | Here | vs Continuation schools |
|---|---|---|
| Low-income · 37 tested in English, 38 in math | ||
| English | 14% | +311% |
| Math | 11% | +83% |
Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject at other continuation high schools. None is green: no group that is behind at California’s continuation high schools does 10 or more points better here than the same group at California’s continuation high schools.
Hispanic or Latino and Black or African American students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Filipino, White, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, students of two or more races, English learners, students with disabilities and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.
Read the student-group results as sentences
At Rio Cazadero High in Sacramento, 13.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 49.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Rio Cazadero High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 36.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (10.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (18.8% met or exceeded the ELA standard). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 37 ELA grade test records.
What’s it like
Attendance and discipline
144 of 190 students missed 10% or more of school days.
Who goes here
Students and staff
| Students, 2024–25 | Here |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 42% |
| Black or African American | 29% |
| Asian | 11% |
| Two or more races | 6% |
4 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (80%, 96 of 120). California: 63%.
Teachers, 2024–25
Getting in
Ask Elk Grove Unified how students are placed here.
7825 Grandstaff Drive, Sacramento 95823 · edjoin.org
- Valley High1.0 mi18thNeeds Support
- Luther Burbank High2.6 mi5thNeeds Support
Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.
Questions
Questions to ask
The questions from this page, in one place.
When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
Call (916) 422-3058 to ask about a visit.
Common questions
Is Rio Cazadero High a good high school?
What are Rio Cazadero High's CAASPP test scores?
How does Rio Cazadero High rank among California continuation high schools?
What do attendance and suspension records show for Rio Cazadero High?
How does Rio Cazadero High compare to other schools in Sacramento?
What do reported student-group results show at Rio Cazadero High?
Explore the data
Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.
Rio Cazadero High is ranked #250 of California continuation high schools.
ShowHide table 01 — Score factors
| Factor | School | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 50.5% | 92.9% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 4.5% | 20.3% | 22% |
| CCI overall Prepared | 1.0% | 51.7% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 11.3% | 43.8% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 64.7% | 22.7% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 11.3% | 3.3% | 5% |
| EL proficiency (ELPAC) | 15.8% | 17.8% | 5% |
- Graduation rate
- ↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 11 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- Exceeded standard
- ↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- CCI overall Prepared
- ↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 23 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
- Met or exceeded
- ↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 32 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- Chronic absenteeism
- ↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 22 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.7pp lower vs 2024
- Suspension rate
- ↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 15 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 7.5pp lower vs 2024
- EL proficiency (ELPAC)
- ↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.
ELA · 2024–25 results by grade
| ELA | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 44 | 2% | 11% | 20% | 66% | 14% | −35 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools
Math · 2024–25 results by grade
| Math | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 45 | 7% | 2% | 0% | 91% | 9% | −15 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools
We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.
Earlier years · grade and subject
| Year · grade · subject | Students with scores | Met+ |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Grade 11 · ELA | 56 | 14.3% |
| 2024 · Grade 11 · Math | 56 | 0.0% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · ELA | 67 | 11.9% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · Math | 67 | 1.5% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · ELA | 46 | 8.7% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · Math | 47 | 2.1% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · ELA | 47 | 8.5% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · Math | 48 | 0.0% |
Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.
| Science (CAST) | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schoolwide | 58 | 0% | 5% | 64% | 31% |
CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.
| Subgroup · ELA | Tested | MET+ | vs district | vs CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 37 | 13.5% | −36 | −35 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 16 | 18.8% | −28 | −30 |
ShowHide table 03 — Nearest high schools
| School | Dist | Scope · percentile · band | EXC | MET+ | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rio Cazadero High ← | — | 129th percentile · Needs Support · within class · 2025 | 4.5% | 11.3% | 11.3% |
| Valley High | 1 mi | 4518th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 2025 | 12.6% | 38.2% | 9.7% |
| Luther Burbank High | 2.6 mi | 355th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 2025 | 3.1% | 17.8% | 10.2% |
| California average | — | 57School average · no percentile | 20.3% | 43.8% | 3.3% |
| Daylor (William) High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide | 1.3 mi | 1719th percentile · Needs Support · within class · 2025 | 1.6% | 10.6% | 6.5% |
Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Additional workforce records
CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.
CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.
2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 12/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.
| Measure | Source record |
|---|---|
| This school · CCI overall Prepared | CDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 1.0% · numerator 1 students classified Prepared · denominator 98 CCI students. |
| California · CCI overall Prepared | CDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students. |
CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 1 of 98 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.
Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
| Assessment year | Scope Score | Percentile | Rank | Comparison group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 9/100 | 5 | #324 | California continuation high schools · 343 schools |
| 2022 | 9/100 | 5 | #318 | California continuation high schools · 335 schools |
| 2023 | 8/100 | 4 | #330 | California continuation high schools · 346 schools |
| 2024 | 7/100 | 2 | #325 | California continuation high schools · 332 schools |
These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.
The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.
Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.
CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.
| Year-over-year school rates |
|---|
| Chronic absenteeism2024 · 78.2% → 2025 · 75.8% · −2.4pp |
| Suspension rate2024 · 22.7% → 2025 · 13.9% · −8.8pp |
ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades
| Year · subject | Students with scores | Exc | Met+ |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 · ELA | 44 | 2.3% | 13.6% |
| 2025 · Math | 45 | 6.7% | 8.9% |
| 2024 · ELA | 56 | 1.8% | 14.3% |
| 2024 · Math | 56 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| 2023 · ELA | 67 | 0.0% | 11.9% |
| 2023 · Math | 67 | 0.0% | 1.5% |
| 2022 · ELA | 46 | 2.2% | 8.7% |
| 2022 · Math | 47 | 2.1% | 2.1% |
| 2019 · ELA | 47 | 0.0% | 8.5% |
| 2019 · Math | 48 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.
These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.
| Year | Exc | Met+ | Absent | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 0.0% | 4.3% | 60.9% | 10.2% |
| 2022 | 2.1% | 5.4% | 73.4% | 8.1% |
| 2023 | 0.0% | 6.7% | 73.6% | 11.6% |
| 2024 | 0.9% | 7.2% | 68.4% | 18.8% |
| 2025 | 4.5% | 11.3% | 64.7% | 11.3% |
The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.
- — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
- — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 35 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
| Group | 2018–19 | 2024–25 | Δ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 77.9% | 81.7% | +3.8pp |
| Male | 68.1% | 71.3% | +3.2pp |
| Asian | 76.9% | 70.0% | -6.9pp |
| Black/African American | 70.7% | 78.6% | +7.9pp |
| Hispanic/Latino | 69.6% | 73.8% | +4.2pp |
| Two or More Races | 80.8% | 91.7% | +10.9pp |
| White | 77.8% | — | — |
| Students with Disabilities | 76.5% | 78.3% | +1.8pp |
| English Learners | 58.1% | 76.0% | +17.9pp |
| Homeless | 78.6% | 92.0% | +13.4pp |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 74.0% | 80.2% | +6.2pp |
| All Students | 71.8% | 75.8% | +4.0pp |
Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
| Measure | This school |
|---|---|
| AP offered | not offered |
| AP course count | not reported |
| AP enrollment | not reported |
| IB participation | not offered |
| Dual enrollment | not offered |
| Algebra I in grade 8 | not reported |
| Calculus sections | 0 |
| Physics sections | 2 |
| Chemistry sections | 0 |
| Total enrollment (CRDC) | 123 |
Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
| Destination | Completers | % (derived) |
|---|---|---|
| University of California | 0 | 0.0% |
| California State University | 0 | 0.0% |
| California community college | 12 | 23.5% |
| In-state private | 0 | 0.0% |
| Out-of-state, 4-year | 1 | 2.0% |
| Out-of-state, 2-year | 0 | 0.0% |
| Not enrolled | 38 | 74.5% |
51 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 26% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.
ShowHide table 08 — Funding source detail
Per-pupil spending
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 63,157 pupils
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records
CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 120
CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 120
CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator
These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.
ShowHide how the California mean was selected
SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.
SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.
ShowHide the district's spending year by year
Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
| Measure | Estimate |
|---|---|
| Median household income | $66,895 |
| Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+) | 16.69% |
| ZCTA population | 83,607 |
| Median age | 33.3 years |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.
<iframe
src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/rio-cazadero-high-0329"
width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
title="Rio Cazadero High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.
EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27
Help us make SchoolScope more useful
Optional. Up to 280 characters.
Anonymous. Your answer stays with us — we don’t publish it.
Thanks — that helps.
SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction