Public high school
Valley High
18thStatewide percentile · Needs Support
among 1,500 California high schools · 2025 test results
At Valley High, the average Standard Met or Exceeded rate is 38.2% across reported grade–subject rows (2025 CAASPP).
Scope Score 45 of 100 — built from graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. It places the school; it is not a grade. · How this is calculated
Math
23%California 37%English
53%California 49%Sources, grades and tested counts for Math and English
Math: Grade 11 · 2025 · Met or Exceeded · 348 school test records. California 37% · 2,946,081 test records · all tested grades 3–8 and 11; a different grade population from this school figure.
English: Grade 11 · 2025 · Met or Exceeded · 345 school test records. California 49% · 2,931,356 test records · all tested grades 3–8 and 11; a different grade population from this school figure.
Graduation: 86.8% · 2024–25
Graduation cohort and source
322 regular high-school diploma graduates · 371 students in the adjusted four-year graduation cohort.
CDE adjusted four-year graduation cohort data, reporting year 2025. This cohort is separate from the students taking grade-11 tests and from UC admission or enrollment records.
Source and calculation for this school’s result
Source: SchoolScope calculation from CDE CAASPP, 2024–25 academic year (test year 2025); available ELA and math rates for grade 11, averaged equally across grade–subject rows.
Get an email when Valley High’s 2025–26 results land
One email when new scores post for this school. Nothing else.
Almost done — check your email and confirm to start getting alerts. Sent to .
You’re set. We’ll email your account address when the results land.
Valley High · 2024-25 grade 11 ELA and math: 2 equally weighted Met or Exceeded rates for All Students tested with scores average 38.2%.
CDE / ETS CAASPP · 2024-25 · Valley High, grade 11 ELA and math, All Students tested with scores: 2 Met or Exceeded grade–subject rate cells, equally weighted; not a distinct-student share.
Across the reported grades and subjects, the average Met + Exceeded rate is 38.2% and the average Exceeded rate is 12.6%.
Ask on a visit
What instruction helps students move beyond meeting the standard here, given the reported 38.2% Met + Exceeded and 12.6% Exceeded averages?
2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025. Earlier Scope Scores used a different college-readiness definition; no cross-model score trend or California score average is shown here.
| Scope | % Exceeded | % Met+ | Grad rate | CCI overall Prepared | Absence | Suspension | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This school | 45 | 13% | 38% | 86.8% | 49.6% | 26.0% | 9.7% |
| California reference · High School | — | 20% | 44% | 92.9% | 51.7% | 22.7% | 3.3% |
2025 CDE College/Career Indicator overall Prepared · this school: 184 of 371 CCI students classified Prepared · California students in the 2025 CCI cohort: 257,567 of 497,814 classified Prepared. The California CCI percentage describes students statewide; it is not a mean of school percentages and is not used to normalize the SchoolScope score. CDE CCI source files.
CDE 2024–25: the reported share of regular high-school diploma graduates meeting UC/CSU requirements. This is distinct from CCI overall Prepared.
California reference: 56.4% · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean of 1,500 scored comprehensive California high-school rates · 2024–25. This is a mean of school percentages, not a statewide pooled graduate percentage. CDE adjusted-cohort graduation source files.
2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.
Share at Standard Met or Exceeded
Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.
Exact annual results
| Year | Math | English |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 21% | 44% |
| 2022 | 18% | 49% |
| 2023 | 19% | 47% |
| 2024 | 15% | 39% |
| 2025 | 23% | 53% |
Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.
How achievement is distributed
Achievement-level percentages are not percentiles. A test achievement level does not set the SchoolScope performance band.
Grade comparisons and the full academic source record
Valley's reported results deserve a closer read. 78.5% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.
Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.
345 tested · 1 of 1 grade published
Valley High scores 45 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 18th percentile of 1,500 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).
Available assessment record
The average Standard Met or Exceeded rate across reported grade–subject rows is 38% in 2025, above 33% in 2019. These years test different student groups.
A source-qualified multi-year SchoolScope percentile arc is unavailable for this school. These All Grades rows describe each test year's students; they are not a matched-student trend or evidence of school-caused change.
| Test year | Subject | Tested | Met or exceeded |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | ELA | 345 | 53.0% |
| 2025 | Math | 348 | 23.3% |
| 2024 | ELA | 339 | 39.2% |
| 2024 | Math | 345 | 15.1% |
| 2023 | ELA | 364 | 47.3% |
| 2023 | Math | 365 | 19.2% |
| 2022 | ELA | 313 | 48.9% |
| 2022 | Math | 315 | 17.8% |
| 2019 | ELA | 327 | 44.0% |
| 2019 | Math | 324 | 21.0% |
CDE's 2025 College/Career Indicator reports 49.6% Prepared here (184 of 371 students), versus 51.7% in its statewide cohort (257,567 of 497,814). CDE's overall Prepared cohort covers the Class of 2025 four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the Class of 2024 cohort. The statewide student rate is separate from SchoolScope's school-level peer rank and earlier AP/A–G scoring input. CDE CCI source files.
College destinations and the full graduate record
Enrolled in college within a year
Class of 2023 · 225 of 311 completers · includes community colleges
Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.
Where graduates go
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Graduation: 86.8% · 2024–25
322 regular high-school diploma graduates · 371 students in the adjusted four-year graduation cohort.
CDE adjusted four-year graduation cohort data, reporting year 2025. This cohort is separate from the students taking grade-11 tests and from UC admission or enrollment records.
Where they went after graduation
Of Valley's class of 2023, 72% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.
Class of 2023: 311 completers, 72% enrolled somewhere within a year
Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.
In fall 2025, 28 of Valley's 322 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Davis the most common landing, with 15 enrollees.
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
6 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.
Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.
Peak: 34 enrolled, 2024
UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.
UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 72% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (112) than at UC (30).
Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.
18th percentile · Needs Support · California comprehensive high schools · 2025
Statewide rank: #1,224 of 1,500 · California comprehensive high schools · 2025
#9 of 11 in Elk Grove Unified · Statewide percentile: 18th · Ranked comprehensive high schools · 2025
What helps students meet or exceed the standard in ELA and math across grade 11?
Valley High vs. California · 2024-25 grade 11 ELA Met or Exceeded rates for socioeconomically disadvantaged students tested with scores: 51.6% vs. 48.7%.
CDE / ETS CAASPP · 2024-25 · Valley High and California, socioeconomically disadvantaged students tested with scores in grade 11 ELA: same-group, grade and subject Met or Exceeded rates; no causal inference.
Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide in grade 11.
At Valley High in Sacramento, 51.6% of socioeconomically disadvantaged students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 49.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Valley High's rate for socioeconomically disadvantaged students exceeds its district average by 2.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: socioeconomically disadvantaged students (21.0% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (49.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). Among the reported ELA and Math proficiency gaps supplied for this school, the largest is 41.3 percentage points: English learners trail the school-wide rate in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 279 ELA grade test records.
Ask on a visit
What support reaches students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged in ELA, given their reported results in grade 11 are about even with the same group statewide?
How the all-students rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; school: 693 eligible test records, ELA and math, all school tested grades. state: equal school mean of 1,500 comprehensive high composites. The district all-students reference is unavailable here.
How socioeconomically disadvantaged rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 560 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
279 known ELA test records
- school: 560 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 39,714 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,798,521 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How female rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 351 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
174 known ELA test records
- school: 351 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 32,063 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 2,872,108 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How male rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 342 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
171 known ELA test records
- school: 342 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 33,338 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,005,929 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How hispanic/latino rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 302 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
151 known ELA test records
- school: 302 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 17,873 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,304,057 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How asian rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 206 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
102 known ELA test records
- school: 206 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 20,692 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 613,603 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How english learners rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 140 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
68 known ELA test records
- school: 140 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 10,258 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 945,854 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How students with disabilities rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 85 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
43 known ELA test records
- school: 85 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 8,244 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 773,488 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How black/african american rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 58 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
29 known ELA test records
- school: 58 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 6,334 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 282,988 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How pacific islander rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 34 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
17 known ELA test records
- school: 34 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 1,280 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 23,896 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How filipino rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 30 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
15 known ELA test records
- school: 30 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 3,590 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 131,726 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How white rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 32 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
15 known ELA test records
- school: 32 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 9,408 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 1,163,964 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How two or more races rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 29 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
15 known ELA test records
- school: 29 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 6,072 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 337,620 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How homeless rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
10 known ELA test records
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 1,317 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 235,862 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How american indian/alaska native rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 95 eligible test records across 6 published grade–subject rate records; district ELA grade 3: rate not published; district MATH grade 3: rate not published; district ELA grade 4: rate not published; district MATH grade 4: rate not published; district ELA grade 5: rate not published; district MATH grade 5: rate not published; district ELA grade 6: rate not published; district MATH grade 6: rate not published
- state: 24,255 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How foster youth rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 48 eligible test records across 4 published grade–subject rate records; district ELA grade 4: rate not published; district MATH grade 4: rate not published; district ELA grade 5: rate not published; district MATH grade 5: rate not published; district ELA grade 6: rate not published; district MATH grade 6: rate not published; district ELA grade 7: rate not published; district MATH grade 7: rate not published; district ELA grade 11: rate not published; district MATH grade 11: rate not published
- state: 18,735 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
ShowHide Student-group results by subject
| Student group · subject | Tested | School | District | California | Vs district |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged · English | 279 | 51.6% | 49.6% | 48.7% | +2.0pp vs district |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged · Math | 281 | 21.0% | 26.6% | 21.0% | -5.6pp vs district |
| Hispanic/Latino · English | 151 | 49.7% | 46.4% | 48.9% | +3.2pp vs district |
| Hispanic/Latino · Math | 151 | 22.5% | 19.4% | 19.3% | +3.1pp vs district |
| Asian · English | 102 | 59.8% | 66.8% | 79.5% | -7.0pp vs district |
| Asian · Math | 104 | 28.9% | 45.5% | 67.0% | -16.6pp vs district |
ShowHide California's growth model by student group
No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.
● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score
Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial historical snapshot)
What support reaches socioeconomically disadvantaged students in grade 11 ELA?
What it’s like
CDE reported 25.8% chronic absenteeism (above SchoolScope's equal-school mean for scored comprehensive California public/charter high schools with reported CDE rates) and 10.0% suspension (above its corresponding mean) in 2024–25.
Ask on a visit
How does the school follow up when students begin missing days, given its reported 25.8% chronic-absence rate in 2024–25?
ShowHide How SchoolScope uses climate in its score
These scoring inputs may differ from CDE's reported all-students rates. Their comparisons also average model inputs, not raw CDE rates.
ShowHide Chronic absenteeism trend since 2019
ShowHide Attendance by grade
Teachers and the staffing source record
About 20 students for every teacher here.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Valley had 16 own-school AP subject authorizations out of 40 AP subjects in the 2025–26 College Board Course Audit — above the 14-subject median among California schools with AP authorization in that audit — including Calculus AB, Physics 1, and Chemistry. Authorization does not confirm a section ran or students enrolled.
2024–25: about 20 enrolled students per teacher FTE. CDE school-total enrollment divided by the school's reported teacher full-time equivalents in the NCES CCD 2024–25 final school staff file. SchoolScope rounds the result to a whole student per teacher; the CDE staffing year above dates separate teacher facts. The SchoolScope reporting-district average covers verified schools in our directory under this school's 2024–25 CDE reporting parent; school ratios are weighted by enrollment. The California figure, where shown, also averages available school ratios weighted by enrollment. This schoolwide staffing ratio is not class size.
ShowHide teacher experience, credentials and courses
Proper credential and placement: CDE SARC report 2024–25, measured 2021–22. The publisher rate is 80.28%; 71.6 teaching-position FTE had proper credential and placement out of 89.2 total teaching-position FTE. This denominator is positions, not the teacher count above.
Historical course sections
Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC), 2020-21 federal historical snapshot. Course-section counts describe structural course availability in that collection, not current enrollment or confirmation those sections run now.
ShowHide the 16 AP courses by discipline
Data source: College Board AP Course Audit (opens in new tab), 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not confirmation a section ran or students enrolled) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC) federal snapshot, table 09
School-stated approach · questions for your visit
Look beyond the brochure
A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.
Read the school’s own website ↗Family and educator voices
Survey results: unavailable on this profile · Response counts: unknown
Explore school spending and the district budget
CDE ESSA reports $17,707 per student in spending attributed to this school.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spending
CDE ESSA · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,622. Reports may use Census Day enrollment, cumulative enrollment, or annual average daily attendance (ADA); the type is unavailable here. SchoolScope sums four reported school and allocated central expenditure components. These averages do not show an individual child's budget or teaching quality.
Can we visit during a typical school day to see how students receive support?
Getting in
Contact
78.5% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
On the state's science test (CAST), 21% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.
ShowHide school demographics
CDE Census Day · 2024–25 · school 1,622 students · district 64,358 students · CA 5,806,221 students. CDE Census Day enrollment files. Other includes Filipino, American Indian, Pacific Islander, two or more races, and not reported.
Address rules and the K–12 path
Check your address with the district
School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Elk Grove Unified.
District information →School website →Schools across the K–12 journey
Elementary · K–5
Middle · 6–8
High school · 9–12
Schools are grouped by grade stage. Each link's evidence appears on its card. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.
Feeder path, destinations and source limits
NCES SABS 2015–16 recorded a boundary-overlap link from Samuel Jackman Middle toward this school. Current assignment is unconfirmed.
The path below shows the available feeder and nearby-school evidence — scores shown for each step. Nearby matches are not address assignments.
Ask on a visit
Does the historical Samuel Jackman Middle link still apply to your home address, and how can the district confirm today's high-school assignment?
ShowHide full feeder path and alternatives
K-12 feeder path
Each school card names its own evidence. Historical boundary links and nearby distance estimates do not confirm a current address assignment; verify the path with the district.
Historical incoming elementary boundary evidence: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey (SABS), 2015–16 collection. Boundaries are approximate and may have changed; confirm current assignments with the district.
Compare schools serving the same grade stage.
Open the comparison tool →Nearby results, school options and enrollment checks
Compare nearby schools and their reported results
2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Comprehensive schools are compared statewide; alternative and continuation schools are compared within their own class.
No nearby schools in this category are listed. The school being viewed stays visible for reference.
| School | Type | Performance band | Standard Exceeded | Standard Met or Exceeded | Distance | Select |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Valley High | Public | Needs Support18th percentile · statewide | 13% | 38% | School being viewed | |
| Rio Cazadero Highcontinuation comparison group | Public | Needs Support9th percentile · within class | 4% | 11% | 1.0 mi | |
| Laguna Creek High | Public | Solid50th percentile · statewide | 19% | 41% | 1.9 mi | |
| Daylor (William) High (Continuation)continuation comparison group | Public | Needs Support19th percentile · within class | 2% | 11% | 2.3 mi |
Your other options
Nearby public schools serving this grade stage, plus private options within 10 miles.
Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.
What should I check before applying?
- District public
- Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
- Charter
- Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
- Private
- Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.
Does this school serve our address, and what do we need to enroll?
Frequently asked questions
Is Valley High a good high school?
What are Valley High's CAASPP test scores?
How does Valley High rank in California?
What do attendance and suspension records show for Valley High?
How does Valley High compare to other schools in Sacramento?
What do reported student-group results show at Valley High?
What AP courses are offered at Valley High?
How many students from Valley High go to UC?
Read more context for this score. Read: Your School Scored Low — Here's What That Actually Means
Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.
Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.
Methods, source tables and limitations
How the Scope Score is calculated
The 7 things our score weighs
| What we weigh | Here | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 86.8% | 92.9% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 12.6% | 20.3% | 22% |
| CCI overall Prepared | 49.6% | 51.7% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 38.2% | 43.8% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 26.0% | 22.7% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 9.7% | 3.3% | 5% |
| EL proficiency (ELPAC) | 5.8% | 17.8% | 5% |
Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built
Interpretation and source limits
Valley posts low test scores — and test scores are one lens among several. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.
Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.
Explore the underlying data →Explore the data
Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.
Valley High is ranked #1,224 statewide · #9 of 11 in Elk Grove Unified.
ShowHide table 01 — Score factors
| Factor | School | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 86.8% | 92.9% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 12.6% | 20.3% | 22% |
| CCI overall Prepared | 49.6% | 51.7% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 38.2% | 43.8% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 26.0% | 22.7% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 9.7% | 3.3% | 5% |
| EL proficiency (ELPAC) | 5.8% | 17.8% | 5% |
- Graduation rate
- ↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- Exceeded standard
- ↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- CCI overall Prepared
- ↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 53 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
- Met or exceeded
- ↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- Chronic absenteeism
- ↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.5pp lower vs 2024
- Suspension rate
- ↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 22 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
- EL proficiency (ELPAC)
- ↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.
ELA · 2024–25 results by grade
| ELA | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 345 | 20% | 33% | 18% | 29% | 53% | +4 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools
Math · 2024–25 results by grade
| Math | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 348 | 5% | 18% | 28% | 49% | 23% | −0 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools
We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.
Earlier years · grade and subject
| Year · grade · subject | Students with scores | Met+ |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Grade 11 · ELA | 339 | 39.2% |
| 2024 · Grade 11 · Math | 345 | 15.1% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · ELA | 364 | 47.3% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · Math | 365 | 19.2% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · ELA | 313 | 48.9% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · Math | 315 | 17.8% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · ELA | 327 | 44.0% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · Math | 324 | 21.0% |
Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.
| Science (CAST) | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schoolwide | 375 | 3% | 18% | 64% | 15% |
CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.
| Subgroup · ELA | Tested | MET+ | vs district | vs CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 279 | 51.6% | +2 | +3 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 151 | 49.7% | +3 | +1 |
| Asian | 102 | 59.8% | −7 | −20 |
ShowHide table 03 — Nearest high schools
| School | Dist | Scope · percentile · band | EXC | MET+ | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Valley High ← | — | 4518th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 2025 | 12.6% | 38.2% | 9.7% |
| Laguna Creek High | 1.9 mi | 5650th percentile · Solid · statewide · 2025 | 18.8% | 41.1% | 4.7% |
| California average | — | 57School average · no percentile | 20.3% | 43.8% | 3.3% |
| Rio Cazadero Highscored within its class, not statewide | 1 mi | 129th percentile · Needs Support · within class · 2025 | 4.5% | 11.3% | 11.3% |
| Daylor (William) High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide | 2.3 mi | 1719th percentile · Needs Support · within class · 2025 | 1.6% | 10.6% | 6.5% |
Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Additional workforce records
CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.
CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.
2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 45/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.
| Measure | Source record |
|---|---|
| This school · CCI overall Prepared | CDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 49.6% · numerator 184 students classified Prepared · denominator 371 CCI students. |
| California · CCI overall Prepared | CDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students. |
CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 184 of 371 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.
Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
| Assessment year | Scope Score | Percentile | Rank | Comparison group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 50/100 | 37 | #951 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools |
| 2022 | 50/100 | 45 | #867 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools |
| 2023 | 50/100 | 43 | #928 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools |
| 2024 | 47/100 | 32 | #1108 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools |
These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.
The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.
Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.
CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.
| Year-over-year school rates |
|---|
| Chronic absenteeism2024 · 27.4% → 2025 · 25.8% · −1.6pp |
| Suspension rate2024 · 10.2% → 2025 · 10.0% · −0.2pp |
ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades
| Year · subject | Students with scores | Exc | Met+ |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 · ELA | 345 | 19.7% | 53.0% |
| 2025 · Math | 348 | 5.5% | 23.3% |
| 2024 · ELA | 339 | 11.5% | 39.2% |
| 2024 · Math | 345 | 2.9% | 15.1% |
| 2023 · ELA | 364 | 16.2% | 47.3% |
| 2023 · Math | 365 | 3.8% | 19.2% |
| 2022 · ELA | 313 | 20.4% | 48.9% |
| 2022 · Math | 315 | 4.4% | 17.8% |
| 2019 · ELA | 327 | 15.3% | 44.0% |
| 2019 · Math | 324 | 6.8% | 21.0% |
Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.
These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.
| Year | Exc | Met+ | Absent | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 11.0% | 32.5% | 20.7% | 9.1% |
| 2022 | 12.4% | 33.3% | 37.7% | 7.9% |
| 2023 | 10.0% | 33.2% | 29.8% | 7.0% |
| 2024 | 7.2% | 27.1% | 27.6% | 10.0% |
| 2025 | 12.6% | 38.2% | 26.0% | 9.7% |
The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
| Group | 2018–19 | 2024–25 | Δ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 20.0% | 26.5% | +6.5pp |
| Male | 20.7% | 25.2% | +4.5pp |
| Asian | 7.0% | 14.7% | +7.7pp |
| Black/African American | 30.9% | 43.7% | +12.8pp |
| Filipino | 10.2% | 17.7% | +7.5pp |
| Hispanic/Latino | 21.0% | 28.3% | +7.3pp |
| Pacific Islander | 27.1% | 24.5% | -2.6pp |
| Two or More Races | 36.5% | 33.8% | -2.7pp |
| White | 30.4% | 22.5% | -7.9pp |
| Students with Disabilities | 35.4% | 42.9% | +7.5pp |
| English Learners | 18.8% | 25.3% | +6.5pp |
| Foster Youth | 45.8% | — | — |
| Homeless | 50.8% | 50.0% | -0.8pp |
| Military-Connected | 0.0% | 50.0% | +50.0pp |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 20.5% | 27.4% | +6.9pp |
| All Students | 20.4% | 25.8% | +5.4pp |
Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
| Year | Applied | Admitted | Enrolled | Mean GPA (applied) | Mean GPA (admitted) | Mean GPA (enrolled) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 92 | 75 | 28 | 3.65 | 3.72 | 3.91 |
| 2024 | 74 | 63 | 34 | 3.73 | 3.79 | 3.94 |
| 2023 | 97 | 65 | 30 | 3.68 | 3.85 | 3.98 |
| 2022 | 76 | 56 | 24 | 3.72 | 3.88 | 3.96 |
| 2021 | 73 | 54 | 23 | 3.60 | 3.78 | 3.92 |
| 2020 | 48 | 38 | 19 | 3.69 | 3.76 | 3.90 |
| 2019 | 53 | 40 | 18 | 3.59 | 3.74 | 3.98 |
| 2018 | 42 | 28 | 17 | 3.56 | 3.73 | 3.86 |
| 2017 | 57 | 41 | 30 | 3.64 | 3.84 | 3.91 |
| 2016 | 54 | 36 | 23 | 3.45 | 3.63 | 3.68 |
| 2015 | 45 | 23 | 14 | 3.65 | 3.89 | 3.86 |
| 2014 | 59 | 34 | 23 | 3.67 | 3.92 | 4.04 |
Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
| Campus | Year | Applied | Admitted | Enrolled |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Berkeley | 2025 | 48 | 5 | masked |
| Berkeley | 2024 | 36 | masked | masked |
| Berkeley | 2023 | 47 | masked | masked |
| Berkeley | 2022 | 45 | 5 | masked |
| Berkeley | 2021 | 33 | 5 | masked |
| Davis | 2025 | 71 | 29 | 15 |
| Davis | 2024 | 65 | 28 | 16 |
| Davis | 2023 | 64 | 24 | 11 |
| Davis | 2022 | 60 | 15 | 4 |
| Davis | 2021 | 54 | 17 | 8 |
| Irvine | 2025 | 53 | 12 | masked |
| Irvine | 2024 | 28 | 7 | masked |
| Irvine | 2023 | 33 | 3 | masked |
| Irvine | 2022 | 32 | 10 | 5 |
| Irvine | 2021 | 27 | 4 | masked |
| Los Angeles | 2025 | 32 | 3 | masked |
| Los Angeles | 2024 | 29 | masked | masked |
| Los Angeles | 2023 | 42 | masked | masked |
| Los Angeles | 2022 | 39 | 3 | 3 |
| Los Angeles | 2021 | 30 | masked | masked |
| Merced | 2025 | 52 | 50 | masked |
| Merced | 2024 | 23 | 22 | masked |
| Merced | 2023 | 27 | 24 | 5 |
| Merced | 2022 | 21 | 17 | masked |
| Merced | 2021 | 30 | 29 | 5 |
| Riverside | 2025 | 33 | 26 | 3 |
| Riverside | 2024 | 9 | 6 | masked |
| Riverside | 2022 | 10 | 5 | masked |
| Riverside | 2021 | 15 | 9 | masked |
| San Diego | 2025 | 37 | 18 | masked |
| San Diego | 2024 | 35 | 13 | 5 |
| San Diego | 2023 | 41 | 22 | 10 |
| San Diego | 2022 | 28 | 18 | 3 |
| San Diego | 2021 | 24 | 9 | 4 |
| Santa Barbara | 2025 | 26 | 10 | masked |
| Santa Barbara | 2024 | 26 | 10 | 4 |
| Santa Barbara | 2023 | 29 | 11 | masked |
| Santa Barbara | 2022 | 14 | 10 | 3 |
| Santa Barbara | 2021 | 26 | 10 | masked |
| Santa Cruz | 2025 | 35 | 14 | 3 |
| Santa Cruz | 2024 | 34 | 24 | 5 |
| Santa Cruz | 2023 | 45 | 18 | masked |
| Santa Cruz | 2022 | 33 | 18 | 4 |
| Santa Cruz | 2021 | 31 | 17 | 4 |
| Universitywide | 2025 | 92 | 75 | 28 |
| Universitywide | 2024 | 74 | 63 | 34 |
| Universitywide | 2023 | 97 | 65 | 30 |
| Universitywide | 2022 | 76 | 56 | 24 |
| Universitywide | 2021 | 73 | 54 | 23 |
Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
| Subject | Authorization recorded for |
|---|---|
| 2-D Art and Design | this school |
| 3-D Art and Design | this school |
| Biology | this school |
| Calculus AB | this school |
| Chemistry | this school |
| Drawing | this school |
| English Language and Composition | this school |
| English Literature and Composition | this school |
| Environmental Science | this school |
| Physics 1 | this school |
| Psychology | this school |
| Spanish Language and Culture | this school |
| Spanish Literature and Culture | this school |
| U.S. Government and Politics | this school |
| United States History | this school |
| World History: Modern | this school |
Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
| Measure | This school |
|---|---|
| AP offered | offered |
| AP course count | 11 |
| AP enrollment | 310 |
| IB participation | not offered |
| Dual enrollment | not offered |
| Algebra I in grade 8 | not reported |
| Calculus sections | 1 |
| Physics sections | 8 |
| Chemistry sections | 11 |
| Total enrollment (CRDC) | 1,763 |
Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
| Destination | Completers | % (derived) |
|---|---|---|
| University of California | 30 | 9.7% |
| California State University | 74 | 23.8% |
| California community college | 112 | 36.0% |
| In-state private | 4 | 1.3% |
| Out-of-state, 4-year | 5 | 1.6% |
| Out-of-state, 2-year | 0 | 0.0% |
| Not enrolled | 86 | 27.7% |
311 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 72% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.
ShowHide table 11 — Funding source detail
Per-pupil spending
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 63,157 pupils
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records
CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,622
CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,622
CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator
These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.
ShowHide how the California mean was selected
SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.
SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.
ShowHide the district's spending year by year
Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
| Measure | Estimate |
|---|---|
| Median household income | $66,895 |
| Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+) | 16.69% |
| ZCTA population | 83,607 |
| Median age | 33.3 years |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.
<iframe
src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/valley-high-0170"
width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
title="Valley High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.
EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27
Help us make SchoolScope more useful
Optional. Up to 280 characters.
Anonymous. Your answer stays with us — we don’t publish it.
Thanks — that helps.
SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction