ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Prospect High (Continuation)

Pleasant Hill, CA · Grades 9-12 · 60 students · Mt. Diablo Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

21% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 17% in math. 70.8% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

17%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

21%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

60

Total enrollment

Graduation

70.8%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 0%2023: 0%2024: 0%2025: 17%2019: 5%2022: 4%2023: 9%2024: 17%2025: 21%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 0%2023: 0%2024: 0%2025: 17%2019: 5%2022: 4%2023: 9%2024: 17%2025: 21%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20190%5%
20220%4%
20230%9%
20240%17%
202517%21%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA21% met or exceeded
Exceeded 14%Met 7%Nearly Met 7%Not Met 71%
Math17% met or exceeded
Exceeded 8%Met 8%Nearly Met 8%Not Met 75%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school3311%19%70.8%33.3%61.6%4.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope3354
% Exceeded11%20%
% Met+19%43%
Grad rate70.8%92.5%
College readiness33.3%43.0%
Absence61.6%23.1%
Suspension4.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

33%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 13 of 40 completers · includes community colleges

40Completers
0%
Other colleges0 completers · Outside the California community college system
33%
California community colleges13 completers · Enrolled within a year
68%
Not recorded enrolled27 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
33%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college13 (33%)
  • Not enrolled27 (68%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 12 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher12 · district 24
Teaching staff9 teachers
Avg. experience15.3 years
Fully credentialed74%
PrincipalCharles Harrington
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$65,422 – $120,624
Principal salary$151,493 – $174,392
Superintendent salary$305,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers1 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

61.6% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 61.6%, district 20.2%, state 23.1%61.6% · +38.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 4.4%, district —, state 3.3%4.4% · +1.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1296.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $487 per student, less than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $487, CA average $14,491$487 · spent at this school
District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,016 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 62%Instruction support 11%Student services 10%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$11,965 per pupil
2019$12,119 per pupil
2018$13,284 per pupil
2017$12,803 per pupil
2016$12,073 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 60 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

Hispanic or Latino68.3% · district 42.5% · CA 56.1%
White21.7% · district 27.3% · CA 19.9%
Other10.0% · district 17.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch66.7% · CA 64%
Median income$143K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.08M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+55% · CA 35%
ZIP population34,592
Median age42 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Prospect High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicStrong11%19%School being viewed
Acalanes HighPublicStrong50%73%2.7 mi
College Park HighPublicStrong27%52%2.1 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Pleasant Hill →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

10 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Mt. Diablo Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Prospect High (Continuation) a good high school?
Prospect High (Continuation) has a Scope Score of 33 out of 100, placing it in the 93rd percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #25 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 11.3% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 8.5 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Prospect High (Continuation)'s CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 19.1% of students at Prospect High (Continuation) met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 11.3% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 7.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 11.3% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 26 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Prospect High (Continuation) rank among California continuation high schools?
Prospect High (Continuation) ranks #25 among California continuation high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 93rd percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Prospect High (Continuation)?
61.6% of students at Prospect High (Continuation) are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 4.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Prospect High (Continuation) compare to other schools in Pleasant Hill?
Prospect High (Continuation) scores 33/100 (93rd percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 60 students. Use the schools in Pleasant Hill page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate70.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard11.3%19.8%22%
College readiness33.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded19.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism61.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)16.7%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Prospect High (Continuation): reading the evidence

Prospect High (Continuation) posts 19% meeting the standard and 11.3% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Prospect High (Continuation) is ranked #25 of California continuation high schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate70.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard11.3%19.8%22%
College readiness33.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded19.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism61.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)16.7%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 24 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 5.0pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111414%7%7%71%21%−27
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11128%8%8%75%17%−7

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Prospect High (Continuation) ←—3311.3%19.1%4.4%
Acalanes High2.7 mi8249.9%72.8%2.3%
College Park High2.1 mi6326.6%52.5%4.5%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
70.8%
AP Exam Prepared
33.3%
A-G Completion
2.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
32.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20192565#1190.0%2.4%52.2%8.0%
20222665#1180.0%2.1%62.5%2.8%
20232451#1711.4%4.3%72.7%10.1%
20242667#1080.0%8.3%59.6%9.4%
20253393#2511.3%19.1%61.6%4.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female81.0%97.1%+16.1pp
Male66.7%95.7%+29.0pp
Hispanic/Latino72.4%96.3%+23.9pp
White74.1%100.0%+25.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged74.1%98.2%+24.1pp
All Students71.2%96.3%+25.1pp
English Learners—100.0%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)45

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college1332.5%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled2767.5%

40 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 33% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/prospect-high-continuation-0358"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Prospect High (Continuation) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Prospect High (Continuation)

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.