ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, CA · Grades TK-12 · 74 students · SBE - Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbar

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

23% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 3% in math. 64.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

DistrictSBE - Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbar
PrincipalMeg Rydman
GradesTK-12
Enrollment74 students

Math

3%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

23%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

74

Total enrollment

Graduation

64.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 15%2022: 0%2023: 0%2024: 0%2025: 3%2019: 41%2022: 33%2023: 33%2024: 64%2025: 23%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 15%2022: 0%2023: 0%2024: 0%2025: 3%2019: 41%2022: 33%2023: 33%2024: 64%2025: 23%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201915%41%
20220%33%
20230%33%
20240%64%
20253%23%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 6th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “13% proficient” and call it done. Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara deserves a closer read. More than half of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

As a charter, Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

45 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara scores 34 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 6th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 13% meet the standard today, versus 28% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 9th percentile · Scope Score 37 of 1002022 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 34 of 1002023 · 6th percentile · Scope Score 34 of 1002024 · 10th percentile · Scope Score 37 of 1002025 · 6th percentile · Scope Score 34 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1141%33%33%64%23%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1115%0%0%0%3%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in ten of students here meet the standard. 7% clear it by a lot.

ELA31% met or exceeded
Exceeded 13%Met 18%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 49%
Math4% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 4%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 73%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school347%13%64.3%50.0%17.2%1.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope3454
% Exceeded7%20%
% Met+13%43%
Grad rate64.3%92.5%
College readiness50.0%43.0%
Absence17.2%23.1%
Suspension1.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara in Santa Barbara, 18.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 18.2% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara outperforms its district average for low-income students by 0.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (12.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 14.7 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 22 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 13% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 13%, district —, state 43%13%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 6%, district 6%, state 32%6% · −7 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 9%, district 9%, state 32%9% · −4 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 8%, district 8%, state 44%8% · −6 vs school
MaleMale: this school 16%, district 16%, state 42%16% · +2 vs school

5 of 10 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

46%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 10 of 22 completers · includes community colleges

22Completers
5%
Other colleges1 completers · Outside the California community college system
41%
California community colleges9 completers · Enrolled within a year
55%
Not recorded enrolled12 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
46%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college9 (41%)
  • In-state private1 (5%)
  • Not enrolled12 (55%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher19 · district 19
Teaching staff22 teachers
Avg. experience13.7 years
Fully credentialed43%
PrincipalMeg Rydman
Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers1 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 17.2%, district 17.2%, state 23.1%17.2% · −5.8pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.2%, district —, state 3.3%1.2% · −2.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–89.1%
Grades 9–128.8%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2019–20

It spends $19,198 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$637 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $19,198, CA average $14,491$19,198 · spent at this school
Federal share$637 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia

51% of district spending reaches instruction — CA average is 60%.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2018–2020 — the newest published
2020$10,692 per pupil
2019$14,947 per pupil
2018$14,667 per pupil
The neighborhood · ACS 2024

More than half of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 74 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

Transitional kindergarten is offered here — confirmed by actual Census Day enrollment, not just the listed grade span.

On the state's science test (CAST), 26% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino70.3% · district 70.3% · CA 56.1%
White25.7% · district 25.7% · CA 19.9%
Black1.4% · district 1.4% · CA 4.8%
Other2.7% · district 2.7% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 58.1% · Male 39.2% · Non-binary 2.7%
Free or reduced lunch58.1% · CA 64%
Median income$123K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.88M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+59% · CA 35%
ZIP population10,915
Median age42 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Olive Grove Charter - Santa BarbaraCharterNeeds Support7%13%School being viewed
Santa Barbara Senior HighPublicDeveloping9%32%2.5 mi
Alta Vista Alternative HighPublicNeeds Support13%18%1.7 mi
La Cuesta Continuation Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%2%2.1 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Santa Barbara →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

11 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara a good high school?
Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara has a Scope Score of 34 out of 100, placing it in the 6th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,555 statewide. 6.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 13.2 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 13.3% of students at Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 6.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 6.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 6.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 60 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara rank in California?
Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara ranks #1,555 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 6th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara?
17.2% of students at Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.2%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara compare to other schools in Santa Barbara?
Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara scores 34/100 (6th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 74 students. Use the schools in Santa Barbara page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara in Santa Barbara, 18.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 18.2% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara outperforms its district average for low-income students by 0.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (12.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 14.7 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 22 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate64.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard6.7%19.8%22%
College readiness50.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded13.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism17.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara: reading the evidence

Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara posts low test scores — and suspensions run below the state rate (1.2% vs 3.3%). If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara is ranked #1,555 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate64.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard6.7%19.8%22%
College readiness50.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded13.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism17.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 26 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 40 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 34 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 9.1pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.2pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 4———————
Grade 5———————
Grade 6———————
Grade 74——————
Grade 86——————
Grade 113013%10%23%53%23%−25
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 4———————
Grade 5———————
Grade 6———————
Grade 74——————
Grade 86——————
Grade 11300%3%17%80%3%−20

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide390%26%56%18%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2218.2%+0−20
Hispanic/Latino2412.5%+0−26
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara ←—346.7%13.3%1.2%
Santa Barbara Senior High2.5 mi489.5%31.8%3.0%
Alta Vista Alternative High1.7 mi3513.2%17.6%2.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
La Cuesta Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide2.1 mi130.0%2.0%7.8%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
64.3%
AP Exam Prepared
50.0%
A-G Completion
22.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
45.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2019379#13698.2%28.0%17.2%1.1%
2022347#14895.6%16.7%24.8%1.5%
2023346#15334.8%16.7%28.9%2.0%
20243710#14814.5%31.8%26.3%2.5%
2025346#15556.7%13.3%17.2%1.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — Scored here as a high school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 20 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female15.2%7.0%-8.2pp
Male14.8%14.6%-0.2pp
Hispanic/Latino20.4%12.2%-8.2pp
Two or More Races3.8%——
White10.3%4.5%-5.8pp
Students with Disabilities20.8%15.4%-5.4pp
English Learners21.7%——
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20.7%13.3%-7.4pp
All Students15.0%10.0%-5.0pp
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)155

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college940.9%
In-state private14.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1254.5%

22 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 46% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/olive-grove-charter-santa-barbara-8396"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Olive Grove Charter - Santa Barbara

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.