ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Oasis High (Alternative)

Fallbrook, CA · Grades 9-12 · 74 students · Fallbrook Union High

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

62% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 16% in math. 96.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

DistrictFallbrook Union High
PrincipalLauren Gardiner
Grades9-12
Enrollment74 students

Math

16%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

62%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

74

Total enrollment

Graduation

96.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 17%2022: 19%2023: 10%2024: 12%2025: 16%2019: 67%2022: 72%2023: 71%2024: 65%2025: 62%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 17%2022: 19%2023: 10%2024: 12%2025: 16%2019: 67%2022: 72%2023: 71%2024: 65%2025: 62%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201917%67%
202219%72%
202310%71%
202412%65%
202516%62%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 44th to the 56th percentile since 2019 — past roughly 100 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “39% proficient” and call it done. Oasis High (Alternative) deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Oasis High (Alternative)'s low-income kids hit 62.1% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

37 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Oasis High (Alternative) scores 55 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 56th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 39% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 44th percentile · Scope Score 52 of 1002022 · 68th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002023 · 60th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 1002024 · 52nd percentile · Scope Score 53 of 1002025 · 56th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1167%72%71%65%62%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1117%19%10%12%16%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA62% met or exceeded
Exceeded 22%Met 41%Nearly Met 30%Not Met 8%
Math16% met or exceeded
Exceeded 3%Met 14%Nearly Met 30%Not Met 54%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5512%39%96.7%36.4%16.0%1.1%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5554
% Exceeded12%20%
% Met+39%43%
Grad rate96.7%92.5%
College readiness36.4%43.0%
Absence16.0%23.1%
Suspension1.1%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Oasis High (Alternative) in Fallbrook, 62.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 50.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Oasis High (Alternative) outperforms its district average for low-income students by 11.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (13.8% Math proficient); Hispanic students (63.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 5.1 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 29 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 39% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 39%, district —, state 43%39%
FemaleFemale: this school 41%, district 44%, state 44%41% · +2 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 38%, district 35%, state 32%38% · −1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 37%, district 35%, state 32%37% · −2 vs school

7 of 11 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic33.3% AP · 44.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black16.7% AP · 2.4% enroll.
White50.0% AP · 50.0% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 3.6% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 2.4% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.0% AP · 7.1% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

54%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 21 of 39 completers · includes community colleges

39Completers
13%
Other colleges5 completers · Outside the California community college system
41%
California community colleges16 completers · Enrolled within a year
46%
Not recorded enrolled18 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
54%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California1 (3%)
  • California community college16 (41%)
  • In-state private2 (5%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year2 (5%)
  • Not enrolled18 (46%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher19 · district 20
Teaching staff4 teachers
Avg. experience27.0 years
Fully credentialed40%
PrincipalLauren Gardiner
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$58,535 – $132,517
Principal salaryUp to $164,937
Superintendent salary$215,773

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP courses offered13 (CCI)
AP exam qualifiers4 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers5 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 16.0%, district 21.3%, state 23.1%16.0% · −7.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.1%, district —, state 3.3%1.1% · −2.2pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–129.7%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $14,415 per student, about the same as the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$389 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $14,415, CA average $14,491$14,415 · spent at this school
Federal share$389 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,723 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 57%Instruction support 8%Student services 11%Administration 9%Buildings & maintenance 13%Other 3%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,713 per pupil
2019$14,240 per pupil
2018$14,957 per pupil
2017$14,421 per pupil
2016$13,997 per pupil
The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 74 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 35% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino62.2% · district 69.7% · CA 56.1%
White28.4% · district 21.9% · CA 19.9%
Black1.4% · district 0.7% · CA 4.8%
Other8.1% · district 6.8% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 75.7% · Male 24.3%
Free or reduced lunch73.0% · CA 64%
Median income$111K · CA $85K
Median home value$843K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+36% · CA 35%
ZIP population52,227
Median age39 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Oasis High (Alternative)PublicSolid12%39%School being viewed
Fallbrook HighPublicDeveloping20%45%0.3 mi
Ivy High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicStrong1%13%0.3 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Fallbrook →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

1 private school within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Fallbrook Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Oasis High (Alternative) a good high school?
Oasis High (Alternative) has a Scope Score of 55 out of 100, placing it in the 56th percentile of California high schools and ranked #732 statewide. 12.2% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 7.7 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Oasis High (Alternative)'s CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 39.2% of students at Oasis High (Alternative) met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 12.2% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 27.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 12.2% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 74 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Oasis High (Alternative) rank in California?
Oasis High (Alternative) ranks #732 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 56th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Oasis High (Alternative)?
16.0% of students at Oasis High (Alternative) are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.1%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Oasis High (Alternative) compare to other schools in Fallbrook?
Oasis High (Alternative) scores 55/100 (56th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 74 students. Use the schools in Fallbrook page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Oasis High (Alternative) serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Oasis High (Alternative) in Fallbrook, 62.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 50.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Oasis High (Alternative) outperforms its district average for low-income students by 11.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (13.8% Math proficient); Hispanic students (63.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 5.1 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 29 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate96.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard12.2%19.8%22%
College readiness36.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded39.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism16.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)45.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Oasis High (Alternative): reading the evidence

Oasis High (Alternative) posts 39% meeting the standard and 12.2% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Oasis High (Alternative) is ranked #732 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard12.2%19.8%22%
College readiness36.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded39.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism16.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)45.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.8pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 85 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113722%41%30%8%62%+14
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11373%14%30%54%16%−8

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide378%27%65%0%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2962.1%+11+24
Hispanic/Latino2763.0%+12+24
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Oasis High (Alternative) ←—5512.2%39.2%1.1%
Fallbrook High0.3 mi5220.2%44.8%4.6%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Ivy High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide0.3 mi321.3%13.2%3.8%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
96.7%
AP Exam Prepared
36.4%
A-G Completion
48.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
53.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195244#85211.1%41.7%16.6%1.6%
20225868#51421.9%45.3%16.1%1.3%
20235560#65917.7%40.3%16.2%1.5%
20245352#78114.7%38.2%19.8%2.0%
20255556#73212.2%39.2%16.0%1.1%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female12.1%6.8%-5.3pp
Male13.2%16.7%+3.5pp
Hispanic/Latino10.0%9.4%-0.6pp
White17.0%12.9%-4.1pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged13.0%10.7%-2.3pp
All Students12.5%9.7%-2.8pp
English Learners—21.4%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count4
AP enrollment6
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections5
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)84

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California12.6%
California State University00.0%
California community college1641.0%
In-state private25.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year25.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1846.2%

39 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 54% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/oasis-high-alternative-0967"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Oasis High (Alternative) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Oasis High (Alternative)

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.