ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Monta Vista High

Cupertino, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,630 students · Fremont Union High

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

83% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 86% in math. 97.5% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

High Ceiling

What this means for your family

Ask what happens for a kid who shows up behind — a high ceiling for the top can sit right next to thin support at the bottom, and the score alone won't show you which.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalBen Clausnitzer
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,630 students

Math

86%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

83%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,630

Total enrollment

Graduation

97.5%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 89%2022: 88%2023: 86%2024: 90%2025: 86%2019: 86%2022: 88%2023: 92%2024: 88%2025: 83%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 89%2022: 88%2023: 86%2024: 90%2025: 86%2019: 86%2022: 88%2023: 92%2024: 88%2025: 83%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201989%86%
202288%88%
202386%92%
202490%88%
202586%83%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 99th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “85% proficient” and call it done. Monta Vista deserves a closer read. It sits at the 99th percentile of 1,647 California high schools — but the ranking is the least interesting thing on this page.

Monta Vista's low-income kids hit 61.5% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

378 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Monta Vista High scores 90 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 99th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 85% meet the standard today, versus 88% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 99th percentile · Scope Score 93 of 1002022 · 99th percentile · Scope Score 93 of 1002023 · 99th percentile · Scope Score 93 of 1002024 · 99th percentile · Scope Score 93 of 1002025 · 99th percentile · Scope Score 90 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined Significantly)MathGreen(Declined)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1186%88%92%88%83%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1189%88%86%90%86%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Four in five of students here meet the standard. Three in five clear it by a lot.

ELA83% met or exceeded
Exceeded 60%Met 24%Nearly Met 10%Not Met 7%
Math86% met or exceeded
Exceeded 68%Met 18%Nearly Met 10%Not Met 5%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school9064%85%97.5%92.6%8.0%0.5%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope9054
% Exceeded64%20%
% Met+85%43%
Grad rate97.5%92.5%
College readiness92.6%43.0%
Absence8.0%23.1%
Suspension0.5%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Monta Vista High in Cupertino, 61.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 44.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Monta Vista High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 16.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (65.4% Math proficient); Asian students (84.3% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 21.8 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 26 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 85% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 85%, district —, state 43%85%
AsianAsian: this school 86%, district 89%, state 72%86% · +2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 83%, district 75%, state 42%83% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 86%, district 78%, state 44%86% · +1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 63%, district 39%, state 32%63% · −21 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 84%, district 83%, state 56%84% · −0 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 67%, district 79%, state 56%67% · −18 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 78%, district 34%, state 32%78% · −6 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 58%, district 29%, state 15%58% · −26 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 23%, district 16%, state 11%23% · −62 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic0.9% AP · 3.4% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian87.7% AP · 80.8% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.4% enroll.
White7.3% AP · 9.9% enroll.
Two or more races4.1% AP · 5.3% enroll.
English learners1.7% AP · 3.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.4% AP · 5.5% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

91%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 438 of 482 completers · includes community colleges

482Completers
78%
Other colleges376 completers · Outside the California community college system
13%
California community colleges62 completers · Enrolled within a year
9%
Not recorded enrolled44 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

91%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Monta Vista's class of 2023, 91% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 482 completers, 91% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 145 (30%)California State University 40 (8%)California community college 62 (13%)In-state private 25 (5%)Out-of-state, 4-year 165 (34%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 44 (9%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 138 of Monta Vista's 434 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 29 enrollees.

Applied370fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted337
Enrolled138
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Irvine 29Berkeley 25Santa Cruz 17Los Angeles 16Santa Barbara 13Riverside 12San Diego 12Davis 10Merced 4

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 192 enrolled, 2016

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 91% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year.

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 24 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Monta Vista's teachers are authorized to teach 19 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher24 · district 23
Teaching staff82 teachers
Avg. experience19.4 years
Fully credentialed90%
First-year teachers1%
PrincipalBen Clausnitzer
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$105,395 – $177,052
Principal salaryUp to $226,451
Superintendent salary$427,192

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers374 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers72 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught19
ShowHide the 19 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (6)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (1)English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (3)Macroeconomics · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (4)Chinese Language and Culture · French Language and Culture · Japanese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 8.0%, district 11.4%, state 23.1%8.0% · −15.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.5%, district —, state 3.3%0.5% · −2.7pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–127.1%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $26,349 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$203 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $26,349, CA average $14,491$26,349 · spent at this school
Federal share$203 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$26,602 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 60%Instruction support 15%Student services 11%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 9%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$16,540 per pupil
2019$15,878 per pupil
2018$15,994 per pupil
2017$14,645 per pupil
2016$14,135 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

6% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 74% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino4.6% · district 18.0% · CA 56.1%
White7.2% · district 13.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian77.1% · district 56.5% · CA 10.2%
Black0.1% · district 0.6% · CA 4.8%
Other11.0% · district 11.8% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch6.0% · CA 64%
Median income$231K · CA $85K
Median home value$2.00M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+82% · CA 35%
ZIP population60,932
Median age41 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Monta Vista HighPublicStrong64%85%School being viewed
Homestead HighPublicStrong50%71%1.5 mi
Fremont HighPublicStrong36%57%2.8 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Cupertino →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

7 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Fremont Union High.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Monta Vista High a good high school?
Monta Vista High has a Scope Score of 90 out of 100, placing it in the 99th percentile of California high schools and ranked #19 statewide. 63.9% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 44.0 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Monta Vista High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 84.5% of students at Monta Vista High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 63.9% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 20.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 63.9% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 755 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Monta Vista High rank in California?
Monta Vista High ranks #19 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 99th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Monta Vista High?
8.0% of students at Monta Vista High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.5%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Monta Vista High compare to other schools in Cupertino?
Monta Vista High scores 90/100 (99th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,630 students. Use the schools in Cupertino page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Monta Vista High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Monta Vista High in Cupertino, 61.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 44.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Monta Vista High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 16.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (65.4% Math proficient); Asian students (84.3% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 21.8 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 26 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Monta Vista High?
Monta Vista High's teachers are authorized to teach 19 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Japanese Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Monta Vista High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 138 Monta Vista High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

63.9% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate97.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard63.9%19.8%22%
College readiness92.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded84.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism8.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)21.1%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Monta Vista High: reading the evidence

Monta Vista posts 63.9% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask what happens for a kid who shows up behind — a high ceiling for the top can sit right next to thin support at the bottom, and the score alone won't show you which.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Monta Vista High is ranked #19 statewide · #2 of 5 in Fremont Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard63.9%19.8%22%
College readiness92.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded84.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism8.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)21.1%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 100 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 83 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 86 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.3pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1137860%24%10%7%83%+35
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1137768%18%10%5%86%+62

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide38540%34%24%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2661.5%+17+23
Asian31284.3%−4+10
Two or More Races2286.4%−0+25
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Monta Vista High ←—9063.9%84.5%0.5%
Homestead High1.5 mi7949.9%71.3%1.8%
Fremont High2.8 mi6735.8%56.8%2.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
97.5%
AP Exam Prepared
92.6%
A-G Completion
92.4%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
90.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20199399#866.9%87.5%6.1%0.6%
20229399#970.4%88.2%8.1%0.6%
20239399#1071.2%88.7%7.3%1.2%
20249399#1168.9%88.7%7.7%0.5%
20259099#1963.9%84.5%8.0%0.5%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female7.2%7.3%+0.1pp
Male3.8%6.9%+3.1pp
Asian4.1%5.4%+1.3pp
Filipino0.0%7.4%+7.4pp
Hispanic/Latino14.6%23.1%+8.5pp
Two or More Races6.2%11.9%+5.7pp
White11.6%10.1%-1.5pp
Students with Disabilities18.9%22.0%+3.1pp
English Learners9.3%6.0%-3.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged15.3%18.8%+3.5pp
All Students5.5%7.1%+1.6pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20253703371383.984.014.04
20243432901243.933.984.06
20234173521503.984.024.05
20224043451484.034.074.14
20214843781443.924.004.10
20204393791553.883.923.96
20194493351633.873.964.06
20184873851813.863.954.04
20174303591803.863.933.99
20164533961923.883.933.99
20154553581463.813.934.02
20144573651803.833.943.99

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253213325
Berkeley20242894328
Berkeley20233525745
Berkeley20223484032
Berkeley20213695833
Davis20253346810
Davis2024317607
Davis20233848514
Davis202237411521
Davis202141413621
Irvine20253428929
Irvine20243166821
Irvine2023371327
Irvine202236831‹3
Irvine202143758‹3
Los Angeles20253272816
Los Angeles20243062510
Los Angeles20233732510
Los Angeles20223623218
Los Angeles20214074015
Merced20251971944
Merced20241471464
Merced202316816213
Merced20221701619
Merced202115515013
Riverside202526524312
Riverside202423619415
Riverside202327018020
Riverside202226219320
Riverside202126218015
San Diego20253504512
San Diego20243215312
San Diego2023383457
San Diego2022374478
San Diego20214278115
Santa Barbara202532912513
Santa Barbara20243199411
Santa Barbara20233738111
Santa Barbara202236610922
Santa Barbara202142213226
Santa Cruz202530224617
Santa Cruz202430018816
Santa Cruz202334221423
Santa Cruz202232314817
Santa Cruz20213631494
Universitywide2025370337138
Universitywide2024343290124
Universitywide2023417352150
Universitywide2022404345148
Universitywide2021484378144

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Japanese Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count19
AP enrollment1,139
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 50 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections11
Physics sections13
Chemistry sections18
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,033

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California14530.1%
California State University408.3%
California community college6212.9%
In-state private255.2%
Out-of-state, 4-year16534.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.2%
Not enrolled449.1%

482 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 91% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/monta-vista-high-4462"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Monta Vista High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Monta Vista High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.