ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Millennium High Alternative

Piedmont, CA · Grades 9-12 · 61 students · Piedmont City Unified

This school runs ahead of the state average. The bar itself is the harder conversation.

54% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 36% in math. 100.0% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

36%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

54%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

61

Total enrollment

Graduation

100.0%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 18%2022: 31%2023: 38%2024: 27%2025: 36%2019: 36%2022: 86%2023: 67%2024: 73%2025: 54%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 18%2022: 31%2023: 38%2024: 27%2025: 36%2019: 36%2022: 86%2023: 67%2024: 73%2025: 54%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201918%36%
202231%86%
202338%67%
202427%73%
202536%54%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA54% met or exceeded
Exceeded 23%Met 31%Nearly Met 15%Not Met 31%
Math36% met or exceeded
Exceeded 21%Met 14%Nearly Met 7%Not Met 57%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6222%45%100.0%66.7%28.0%4.0%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6254
% Exceeded22%20%
% Met+45%43%
Grad rate100.0%92.5%
College readiness66.7%43.0%
Absence28.0%23.1%
Suspension4.0%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

75%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 15 of 20 completers · includes community colleges

20Completers
40%
Other colleges8 completers · Outside the California community college system
35%
California community colleges7 completers · Enrolled within a year
25%
Not recorded enrolled5 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

75%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Millennium High Alternative's class of 2023, 75% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 20 completers, 75% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 0 (0%)California State University 4 (20%)California community college 7 (35%)In-state private 1 (5%)Out-of-state, 4-year 3 (15%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 5 (25%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 3 of Millennium High Alternative's 20 graduates enrolled in the University of California system.

Applied6fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted5
Enrolled3
ShowHide the UC campus list
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Irvine ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 75% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (7) than at UC (0).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 15 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher15 · district 18
Teaching staff9 teachers
Avg. experience16.3 years
Fully credentialed100%
First-year teachers11%
PrincipalIrma Muñoz
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$68,494 – $123,578
Principal salary$134,890 – $184,840
Superintendent salary$252,960

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers6 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers2 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 28.0%, district 5.5%, state 23.1%28.0% · +4.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 4.0%, district —, state 3.3%4.0% · +0.8pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1223.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $26,727 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$1,497 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $26,727, CA average $14,491$26,727 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,497 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,105 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 61%Instruction support 12%Student services 8%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,631 per pupil
2019$17,097 per pupil
2018$17,680 per pupil
2017$16,668 per pupil
2016$15,965 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 61 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 29% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino19.7% · district 10.3% · CA 56.1%
White42.6% · district 50.8% · CA 19.9%
Asian8.2% · district 15.6% · CA 10.2%
Black11.5% · district 2.3% · CA 4.8%
Other18.0% · district 21.0% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 65.6% · Male 34.4%
Free or reduced lunch18.0% · CA 64%
Median income$181K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.54M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+79% · CA 35%
ZIP population40,116
Median age44 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Millennium High Alternativecontinuation comparison groupPublicStrong22%45%School being viewed
Piedmont HighPublicStrong67%88%0.1 mi
AIMS College Prep HighCharterSolid16%33%1.1 mi
Oakland Technical HighPublicSolid26%49%1.3 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Piedmont →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

19 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Piedmont City Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Millennium High Alternative a good high school?
Millennium High Alternative has a Scope Score of 62 out of 100, placing it in the 99th percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #1 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 22.3% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 2.4 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Millennium High Alternative's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 44.8% of students at Millennium High Alternative met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 22.3% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 22.5% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 22.3% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 27 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Millennium High Alternative rank among California continuation high schools?
Millennium High Alternative ranks #1 among California continuation high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 99th percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Millennium High Alternative?
28.0% of students at Millennium High Alternative are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 4.0%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Millennium High Alternative compare to other schools in Piedmont?
Millennium High Alternative scores 62/100 (99th percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 61 students. Use the schools in Piedmont page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How many students from Millennium High Alternative go to UC?
In fall 2025, 3 Millennium High Alternative graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard22.3%19.8%22%
College readiness66.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded44.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism28.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.0%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Millennium High Alternative: reading the evidence

Millennium High Alternative posts 45% meeting the standard against 43% statewide — ahead of most, with real headroom above the bar.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Millennium High Alternative is ranked #1 of California continuation high schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard22.3%19.8%22%
College readiness66.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded44.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism28.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.0%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 69 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.4pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.9pp higher vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111323%31%15%31%54%+5
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111421%14%7%57%36%+12

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide147%21%71%0%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Millennium High Alternative ←6222.3%44.8%4.0%
Piedmont High0.1 mi9366.6%88.3%0.3%
AIMS College Prep High1.1 mi6015.5%32.6%0.7%
Oakland Technical High1.3 mi5926.0%48.9%4.7%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
100.0%
AP Exam Prepared
66.7%
A-G Completion
85.0%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
75.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195499#19.1%27.3%27.7%4.7%
20226399#114.3%58.5%31.1%2.1%
20236199#111.5%52.1%31.2%3.2%
20245999#16.7%50.0%28.4%2.1%
20256299#122.3%44.8%28.0%4.0%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female23.5%19.5%-4.0pp
Male33.3%30.8%-2.5pp
Hispanic/Latino37.5%28.6%-8.9pp
White31.0%28.6%-2.4pp
Students with Disabilities26.9%31.6%+4.7pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged25.0%36.4%+11.4pp
All Students28.6%23.9%-4.7pp
Two or More Races18.2%
06UC admissions, universitywide2017–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20256533.863.91
202454‹33.84
202194‹33.54
20185‹3‹33.67
201753‹33.90

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Davis20245‹3‹3
Irvine20256‹3‹3
Santa Barbara20245‹3‹3
Santa Barbara20216‹3‹3
Santa Cruz202553‹3
Santa Cruz202173‹3
Universitywide2025653
Universitywide202454‹3
Universitywide202194‹3
Universitywide20185‹3‹3
Universitywide201753‹3

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 08 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections1
Total enrollment (CRDC)57

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

09College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 09 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University420.0%
California community college735.0%
In-state private15.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year315.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled525.0%

20 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 75% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/millennium-high-alternative-0286"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Millennium High Alternative — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-08

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Millennium High Alternative

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.