Public school · Pasadena Unified

John Muir High

Pasadena · 9–12 · 1,206 students (2024–25)

56thpercentileSolid

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
58 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (254 of 266); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 266
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
17%
Met standard
26%
Below standard
57%

43% met or exceeded · 262 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPasadena Unified
Exceeded17%27%24%
Met26%30%27%
Nearly met24%20%22%
Not met33%23%27%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
8%
Met standard
10%
Below standard
82%

18% met or exceeded · 262 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPasadena Unified
Exceeded8%14%12%
Met10%16%14%
Nearly met15%21%20%
Not met67%49%54%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 43% met or exceeded the standard in English and 18% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
43%English · met or exceeded the standard18%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 262
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
36% of the 57 English learners tested here reached the top level of the state’s English test in 2024–25, against 17% at the average California high school.2024–25
36%English learners reaching the top level of the state’s English test
Source
CDE ELPAC Summative, Overall Performance Level 4, 2024–25
Students
English learners who took the summative ELPAC: 57
Comparison
The California figure is an average of school rates (1,017 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school43%
California57%

Tested: 262 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school43%
Pasadena Unified51%

Tested: 262 here · 1,038 in Pasadena Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 8 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPasadena Unified
Exceeded17%27%24%
Met26%30%27%
Nearly met24%20%22%
Not met33%23%27%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school18%
California30%

Tested: 262 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school18%
Pasadena Unified26%

Tested: 262 here · 1,028 in Pasadena Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 8 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPasadena Unified
Exceeded8%14%12%
Met10%16%14%
Nearly met15%21%20%
Not met67%49%54%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

95%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 254 of 266 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

74%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

55%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

75% enrolled in college within 12 months · 159 high-school completers

  • University of California11 · 7%
  • California State University16 · 10%
  • California community college74 · 47%
  • In-state private3 · 2%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year15 · 9%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year0 · 0%
  • Not enrolled40 · 25%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
62
Admitted
49
Enrolled
17

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 62 · Admitted 49 · Enrolled 17
  • Fall 2024Applied 74 · Admitted 52 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2023Applied 41 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 12
  • Fall 2022Applied 45 · Admitted 24 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 2021Applied 47 · Admitted 18 · Enrolled 6
  • Fall 2020Applied 30 · Admitted 15 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 2019Applied 50 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled 15
  • Fall 2018Applied 46 · Admitted 20 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 2017Applied 40 · Admitted 19 · Enrolled 15
  • Fall 2016Applied 33 · Admitted 17 · Enrolled 8
  • Fall 2015Applied 43 · Admitted 24 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 2014Applied 33 · Admitted 16 · Enrolled 7
  • Fall 2013Applied 36 · Admitted 17 · Enrolled 7
  • Fall 2012Applied 38 · Admitted 19 · Enrolled 9
  • Fall 2011Applied 37 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2010Applied 40 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled 13
  • Fall 2009Applied 51 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 2008Applied 31 · Admitted 17 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 2007Applied 41 · Admitted 23 · Enrolled 8
  • Fall 2006Applied 40 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 7
  • Fall 2005Applied 43 · Admitted 30 · Enrolled 17
  • Fall 2004Applied 25 · Admitted 13 · Enrolled 6
  • Fall 2003Applied 27 · Admitted 17 · Enrolled 11
  • Fall 2002Applied 39 · Admitted 28 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2001Applied 45 · Admitted 29 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 2000Applied 31 · Admitted 25 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 1999Applied 46 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 1998Applied 29 · Admitted 20 · Enrolled 11
  • Fall 1997Applied 45 · Admitted 32 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 1996Applied 35 · Admitted 25 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 1995Applied 39 · Admitted 31 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 1994Applied 46 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 20

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 30 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled Masked
  • DavisApplied 33 · Admitted 10 · Enrolled Masked
  • IrvineApplied 32 · Admitted Masked · Enrolled Masked
  • Los AngelesApplied 44 · Admitted 8 · Enrolled 5
  • MercedApplied 17 · Admitted 16 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 25 · Admitted 23 · Enrolled Masked
  • San DiegoApplied 40 · Admitted 16 · Enrolled 3
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 33 · Admitted 9 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa CruzApplied 22 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled 3

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 1
  • Calculus AB
Sciences 2
  • Biology
  • Environmental Science
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 2
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 1
  • Spanish Language and Culture
Arts 3
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • 3-D Art and Design
  • Drawing

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
54 of 196 Prepared students · 27.6%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 266 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
147 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

20 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
30in 100 at the average Pasadena Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

254 of 1,247 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school20 in 100
at the average Pasadena Unified school30 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.9%of students were suspended at least once (24 of 1,260), 2024–25
2.0%at the average Pasadena Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

203 tested per subject

English36% / 49%
Math14% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

163 tested per subject

English38% / 49%
Math15% / 19%

Black or African American

57 tested per subject

English33% / 41%
Math5% / 16%

Students with disabilities

43 tested per subject

English12% / 18%
Math7% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Pasadena Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 203 tested
English36%−844%−1349%
Math14%−418%−721%
Hispanic or Latino · 163 tested
English38%−644%−1149%
Math15%−318%−419%
Black or African American · 57 tested
English33%−841%−841%
Math5%−38%−1116%
Students with disabilities · 43 tested
English12%−618%−618%
Math7%−310%+16%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Pasadena Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

White students and students of two or more races: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income students did worse than the same group statewide. Hispanic or Latino students did worse than the same group statewide in English. Black or African American students did worse than the same group statewide in math.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At John Muir High in Pasadena, 36.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 43.9% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. John Muir High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 7.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (13.8% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (38.0% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 31.1 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 203 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 64%2. Black or African American: 20%3. White: 9%4. Two or more races: 3%5. Filipino: 1%6. Asian: 1%Unallocated share: 1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino64%
  2. Black or African American20%
  3. White9%
  4. Two or more races3%
  5. Filipino1%
  6. Asian1%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino64%
Black or African American20%
White9%
Two or more races3%
Filipino1%
Asian1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 3 in 4 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (76%, 919 of 1,206). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers59
Average experience10 years
First-year teachers12%
80% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 79.67%: 39.3 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 49.3 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryAltadena ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleOctavia E. Butler MagnetHistorical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolJohn Muir HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Altadena Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    53rd percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Longfellow (Henry W.) Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    39th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Webster Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    40th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Madison Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    8th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Washington Elementary STEM Magnet

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    51st percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

  • Field (Eugene) Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    94th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

  • San Rafael Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    60th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

  • Mary W. Jackson STEAM Multilingual Magnet Elementa

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    45th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

  • Hamilton Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    76th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

  • Norma Coombs Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    45th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

  • McKinley

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    8th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Octavia E. Butler Magnet

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    36th percentile · Developing · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Charles W. Eliot Middle

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    22nd percentile · Needs Support · middle · 2025

    54% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • McKinley

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Pasadena Unified which school serves your address.

muir.pusd.us

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
1905 North Lincoln Avenue, Pasadena 91103

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (626) 396-5600 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Monte Vista HighGrossmont Union High · 1,543 enrolled · 76.2% meal eligibility23rdNeeds Support
  • La Quinta HighGarden Grove Unified · 2,041 enrolled · 76.2% meal eligibility93rdStrong
  • El Capitan HighMerced Union High · 1,793 enrolled · 76.2% meal eligibility46thDeveloping
  • Alexander Hamilton Senior HighLos Angeles Unified · 2,055 enrolled · 76.1% meal eligibility54thSolid
  • Thomas Downey HighModesto City High · 2,192 enrolled · 76% meal eligibility28thDeveloping
  • Skyline HighOakland Unified · 1,250 enrolled · 76% meal eligibility38thDeveloping
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 68.2–84.2% meal eligibility and 603–2,412 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is John Muir High a good high school?
John Muir High is in the 56th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 58 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (254 of 266); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are John Muir High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 43% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 18% the math standard; 17% and 8% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 262 students were tested in English and 262 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does John Muir High rank in California?
John Muir High is in the 56th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Solid, 2025). John Muir High ranks #650 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for John Muir High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 20.4% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 254 chronically absent of 1,247 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.9%; 24 unduplicated suspended students of 1,260 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 21.0%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 2.0%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does John Muir High compare to other schools in Pasadena?
John Muir High is in the 56th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,206 students. Use the schools in Pasadena page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at John Muir High?
At John Muir High in Pasadena, 36.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 43.9% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. John Muir High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 7.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (13.8% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (38.0% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 31.1 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 203 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at John Muir High?
John Muir High had own-school AP authorizations for 11 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Spanish Language and Culture, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from John Muir High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 17 John Muir High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

John Muir High is ranked #650 statewide · #3 of 5 in Pasadena Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate95.5%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard12.2%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared73.7%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded30.4%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.0%22.7%5%
Suspension rate2.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)35.7%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 68 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.9pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.0pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 82 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1126217%26%24%33%43%−6

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 112628%10%15%67%18%−6

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA24438.5%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math24313.2%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA25440.2%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math25214.3%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA16946.8%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math16612.7%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA16634.9%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math16514.6%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide2616%11%63%20%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20336.5%−7−12
Hispanic/Latino16338.0%−6−11
Black/African American5733.3%−8−8
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
John Muir High ←—5856th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202512.2%30.4%2.0%
La Canada High1.3 mi9499th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202564.4%87.2%2.3%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders4.4%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$57,464 – $127,842
Average elementary principal salary$163,032
Average middle school principal salary$175,740
Average high school principal salary$186,960
Superintendent salary$346,782

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 58/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 73.7% · numerator 196 students classified Prepared · denominator 266 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 27.6% · AP-pathway numerator 54 · denominator 196 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 196 of 266 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201942/10017#1253California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202244/10026#1183California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202347/10030#1127California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202446/10031#1117California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 18.3% → 2025 · 20.4% · +2.1pp
Suspension rate2024 · 2.9% → 2025 · 1.9% · −1.0pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA26216.8%42.8%
2025 · Math2627.6%17.9%
2024 · ELA24417.2%38.5%
2024 · Math2434.1%13.2%
2023 · ELA25416.1%40.2%
2023 · Math2523.6%14.3%
2022 · ELA16912.4%46.8%
2022 · Math1664.2%12.7%
2019 · ELA16610.2%34.9%
2019 · Math1653.6%14.6%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
95.5%
AP pathway among Prepared
27.6%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
54.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
74.8%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196.9%24.7%28.1%9.2%
20228.3%29.7%40.0%7.0%
20239.9%27.2%17.3%4.3%
202410.7%25.9%19.1%3.0%
202512.2%30.4%21.0%2.0%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 12 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female31.3%22.9%-8.4pp
Male26.2%18.2%-8.0pp
Black/African American28.7%18.5%-10.2pp
Hispanic/Latino28.3%22.1%-6.2pp
Two or More Races31.6%17.5%-14.1pp
White38.9%13.4%-25.5pp
Students with Disabilities40.7%28.1%-12.6pp
English Learners42.7%34.8%-7.9pp
Foster Youth62.1%69.2%+7.1pp
Homeless37.9%25.0%-12.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged29.5%22.8%-6.7pp
All Students28.3%20.4%-7.9pp
Asian—6.7%—
Filipino—17.6%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20256249173.663.753.85
20247452243.573.804.00
20234126123.693.883.96
20224524103.634.004.01
2021471863.433.753.83
20203015103.593.923.93
20195027153.543.843.82
20184620103.373.763.83
20174019153.423.863.88
2016331783.323.773.73
20154324183.523.873.96
2014331673.373.683.87

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025304masked
Berkeley2024446masked
Berkeley2023203masked
Berkeley2022219masked
Berkeley202120maskedmasked
Davis20253310masked
Davis20242715masked
Davis2023179masked
Davis2022208masked
Davis2021196masked
Irvine202532maskedmasked
Irvine2024355masked
Irvine202325maskedmasked
Irvine202227maskedmasked
Irvine202130maskedmasked
Los Angeles20254485
Los Angeles2024621310
Los Angeles20233264
Los Angeles2022327masked
Los Angeles202137maskedmasked
Merced20251716masked
Merced20241716masked
Merced202387masked
Merced202165masked
Riverside20252523masked
Riverside20242213masked
Riverside2023136masked
Riverside20222112masked
Riverside2021239masked
San Diego202540163
San Diego202435153
San Diego20232511masked
San Diego202224124
San Diego2021226masked
Santa Barbara2025339masked
Santa Barbara20243913masked
Santa Barbara20232063
Santa Barbara2022186masked
Santa Barbara20211963
Santa Cruz202522143
Santa Cruz202428204
Santa Cruz2023127masked
Santa Cruz2022126masked
Universitywide2025624917
Universitywide2024745224
Universitywide2023412612
Universitywide2022452410
Universitywide202147186

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count7
AP enrollment164
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections11
Chemistry sections11
Total enrollment (CRDC)931

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California116.9%
California State University1610.1%
California community college7446.5%
In-state private31.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year159.4%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled4025.2%

159 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 75% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$15,197 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 15,313 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$560 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,206

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,363 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,206

District current expense · FY 2024–25$30,937 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 45%Instruction support 14%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 25%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$15,197 per pupil
2020$14,653 per pupil
2019$14,190 per pupil
2018$12,727 per pupil
2017$12,589 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 91103
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 91103
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$93,660
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)39.32%
ZCTA population25,142
Median age39.9 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/john-muir-high-6103"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="John Muir High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction