Public school · Modesto City High

Thomas Downey High

Modesto · 9–12 · 2,192 students (2024–25)

28thpercentileDeveloping

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
49 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 93% of the class graduated in four years (458 of 491); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 491
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
21%
Met standard
27%
Below standard
52%

48% met or exceeded · 551 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaModesto City High
Exceeded21%27%20%
Met27%30%27%
Nearly met24%20%23%
Not met28%23%30%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
8%
Met standard
13%
Below standard
79%

21% met or exceeded · 551 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaModesto City High
Exceeded8%14%8%
Met13%16%13%
Nearly met19%21%19%
Not met60%49%60%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
5.1% of students (119 of 2,339) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about one and a half times the rate at the average California high school.2024–25
5.1%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25

Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?

Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,339
Comparison
119 of 2,339. District and California figures are averages of school rates (8 Modesto City High schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school48%
California57%

Tested: 551 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school48%
Modesto City High47%

Tested: 551 here · 3,777 in Modesto City High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 9 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaModesto City High
Exceeded21%27%20%
Met27%30%27%
Nearly met24%20%23%
Not met28%23%30%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school21%
California30%

Tested: 551 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school21%
Modesto City High21%

Tested: 551 here · 3,782 in Modesto City High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 9 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaModesto City High
Exceeded8%14%8%
Met13%16%13%
Nearly met19%21%19%
Not met60%49%60%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

School pattern, spring 2025On the RiseReading and math results have improved across three reporting years. This describes a recent record, not a prediction or proof of what caused it.

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

93%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 458 of 491 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

41%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

37%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

58% enrolled in college within 12 months · 484 high-school completers

  • University of California18 · 4%
  • California State University56 · 12%
  • California community college190 · 39%
  • In-state private4 · 1%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year9 · 2%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year4 · 1%
  • Not enrolled203 · 42%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
52
Admitted
45
Enrolled
22

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 52 · Admitted 45 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2024Applied 47 · Admitted 39 · Enrolled 15
  • Fall 2023Applied 53 · Admitted 39 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2022Applied 44 · Admitted 30 · Enrolled 15
  • Fall 2021Applied 47 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2020Applied 21 · Admitted 16 · Enrolled 5
  • Fall 2019Applied 36 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled 11
  • Fall 2018Applied 42 · Admitted 25 · Enrolled 9
  • Fall 2017Applied 50 · Admitted 32 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 2016Applied 45 · Admitted 36 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2015Applied 50 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 2014Applied 39 · Admitted 29 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 2013Applied 50 · Admitted 32 · Enrolled 13
  • Fall 2012Applied 39 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 17
  • Fall 2011Applied 32 · Admitted 28 · Enrolled 15
  • Fall 2010Applied 48 · Admitted 38 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2009Applied 41 · Admitted 35 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 2008Applied 27 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2007Applied 40 · Admitted 37 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2006Applied 29 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2005Applied 42 · Admitted 37 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2004Applied 22 · Admitted 18 · Enrolled 7
  • Fall 2003Applied 28 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2002Applied 28 · Admitted 28 · Enrolled 13
  • Fall 2001Applied 24 · Admitted 20 · Enrolled 11
  • Fall 2000Applied 25 · Admitted 20 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 1999Applied 25 · Admitted 24 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 1998Applied 20 · Admitted 19 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 1997Applied 21 · Admitted 18 · Enrolled 7
  • Fall 1996Applied 26 · Admitted 23 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 1995Applied 23 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled 13
  • Fall 1994Applied 21 · Admitted 18 · Enrolled 10

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 24 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled 4
  • DavisApplied 40 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled Masked
  • IrvineApplied 13 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled Masked
  • Los AngelesApplied 15 · Admitted 3 · Enrolled Masked
  • MercedApplied 29 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled 7
  • RiversideApplied 9 · Admitted 9 · Enrolled 3
  • San DiegoApplied 18 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 21 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled 4
  • Santa CruzApplied 26 · Admitted 18 · Enrolled Masked

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 3
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Statistics
Sciences 1
  • Physics 1
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 4
  • European History
  • Human Geography
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
World Languages & Cultures 2
  • French Language and Culture
  • Spanish Language and Culture

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
60 of 200 Prepared students · 30.0%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 491 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
68 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
23 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

26 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
24in 100 at the average Modesto City High school22in 100 at the average California high school

579 of 2,272 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school26 in 100
at the average Modesto City High school24 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
5.1%of students were suspended at least once (119 of 2,339), 2024–25
3.5%at the average Modesto City High school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

410 tested per subject

English41% / 49%
Math16% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

351 tested per subject

English43% / 49%
Math15% / 19%

White

109 English · 110 math tested

English64% / 68%
Math35% / 42%

Two or more races

57 English · 56 math tested

English44% / 67%
Math27% / 42%

English learners

86 English · 85 math tested

English9% / 8%
Math2% / 6%

Students with disabilities

55 tested per subject

English7% / 18%
Math4% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Modesto City Highvs California
Low-income · 410 tested
English41%+140%−849%
Math16%+115%−521%
Hispanic or Latino · 351 tested
English43%+142%−649%
Math15%015%−419%
White · 109 tested in English, 110 in math
English64%+856%−468%
Math35%+233%−742%
Two or more races · 57 tested in English, 56 in math
English44%−650%−2367%
Math27%−128%−1542%
English learners · 86 tested in English, 85 in math
English9%+27%+18%
Math2%−24%−46%
Students with disabilities · 55 tested
English7%−411%−1118%
Math4%+13%−26%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Modesto City High, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Asian and Black or African American students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income students and students of two or more races did worse than the same groups statewide. Hispanic or Latino students and students with disabilities did worse than the same groups statewide in English.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Thomas Downey High in Modesto, 41.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 40.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Thomas Downey High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 1.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (15.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (43.0% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 40.6 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 411 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 69%2. White: 18%3. Two or more races: 4%4. Not reported: 4%5. Asian: 2%6. Black or African American: 2%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino69%
  2. White18%
  3. Two or more races4%
  4. Not reported4%
  5. Asian2%
  6. Black or African American2%
  7. Filipino—
  8. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  9. Pacific Islander—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino69%
White18%
Two or more races4%
Not reported4%
Asian2%
Black or African American2%
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 3 in 4 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (76%, 1,666 of 2,192). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers122
Average experience17 years
First-year teachers0%
76% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 76.40%: 71.2 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 93.2 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Getting in

Ask Modesto City High which school serves your address.

downey.mcs4kids.com

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
1000 Coffee Road, Modesto 95355

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
  2. Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  3. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  4. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?

Call (209) 574-1685 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Skyline HighOakland Unified · 1,250 enrolled · 76% meal eligibility38thDeveloping
  • Natomas HighNatomas Unified · 1,157 enrolled · 76% meal eligibility12thNeeds Support
  • Alexander Hamilton Senior HighLos Angeles Unified · 2,055 enrolled · 76.1% meal eligibility54thSolid
  • Oxnard HighOxnard Union High · 2,452 enrolled · 76.1% meal eligibility39thDeveloping
  • Santa Maria HighSanta Maria Joint Union High · 3,143 enrolled · 76.1% meal eligibility15thNeeds Support
  • La Quinta HighGarden Grove Unified · 2,041 enrolled · 76.2% meal eligibility93rdStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 68–84% meal eligibility and 1,096–4,384 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Thomas Downey High a good high school?
Thomas Downey High is in the 28th percentile (Developing) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 49 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 93% of the class graduated in four years (458 of 491); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Thomas Downey High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 48% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 21% the math standard; 21% and 8% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 551 students were tested in English and 551 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Thomas Downey High rank in California?
Thomas Downey High is in the 28th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Developing, 2025). Thomas Downey High ranks #1,079 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Thomas Downey High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 25.5% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 579 chronically absent of 2,272 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 5.1%; 119 unduplicated suspended students of 2,339 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 25.7%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 5.1%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Thomas Downey High compare to other schools in Modesto?
Thomas Downey High is in the 28th percentile (Developing) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,192 students. Use the schools in Modesto page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Thomas Downey High?
At Thomas Downey High in Modesto, 41.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 40.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Thomas Downey High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 1.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (15.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (43.0% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 40.6 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 411 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Thomas Downey High?
Thomas Downey High had own-school AP authorizations for 12 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: Calculus AB, Calculus BC, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, European History, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Physics 1, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Thomas Downey High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 22 Thomas Downey High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Thomas Downey High is ranked #1,079 statewide · #5 of 8 in Modesto City High.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate93.3%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard14.4%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared40.7%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded34.2%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.7%22.7%5%
Suspension rate5.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)13.9%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 48 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.6pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.4pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1155121%27%25%28%48%−1

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 115518%13%19%60%21%−3

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA47246.6%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math47116.4%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA44532.8%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math44512.4%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA50930.1%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math5108.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA42951.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math43220.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide5575%19%64%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged41141.5%+1−7
Hispanic/Latino35143.0%+1−6
White11064.2%+9−3
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Thomas Downey High ←—4928th percentile · Developing · statewide · 202514.4%34.2%5.1%
Fred C. Beyer High2.3 mi5649th percentile · Developing · statewide · 202521.7%47.2%4.1%
Grace M. Davis High2.7 mi4417th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20258.4%26.0%4.5%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Robert Elliott Alternative Education Centerscored within its class, not statewide0.9 mi2562nd percentile · Solid · within class · 20250.0%3.1%5.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders2.7%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 49/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 40.7% · numerator 200 students classified Prepared · denominator 491 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 30.0% · AP-pathway numerator 60 · denominator 200 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 200 of 491 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201947/10027#1090California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202240/10015#1349California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202343/10020#1301California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202447/10033#1089California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 24.8% → 2025 · 25.5% · +0.7pp
Suspension rate2024 · 4.7% → 2025 · 5.1% · +0.4pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA55121.1%47.9%
2025 · Math5517.8%20.5%
2024 · ELA47220.3%46.6%
2024 · Math4714.9%16.4%
2023 · ELA44510.1%32.8%
2023 · Math4453.8%12.4%
2022 · ELA50910.2%30.1%
2022 · Math5101.4%8.0%
2019 · ELA42917.7%51.3%
2019 · Math4324.9%20.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
93.3%
AP pathway among Prepared
30.0%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
36.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
58.1%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201911.3%35.7%20.1%6.2%
20225.8%19.1%41.7%6.2%
20237.0%22.6%31.4%6.2%
202412.6%31.5%25.0%4.7%
202514.4%34.2%25.7%5.1%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female22.7%26.9%+4.2pp
Male17.1%24.3%+7.2pp
Asian17.1%16.7%-0.4pp
Black/African American23.5%27.5%+4.0pp
Filipino0.0%——
Hispanic/Latino20.2%26.2%+6.0pp
American Indian/Alaska Native16.7%——
Pacific Islander14.3%——
Two or More Races27.0%27.8%+0.8pp
White17.8%25.1%+7.3pp
Students with Disabilities29.0%29.6%+0.6pp
English Learners23.9%33.7%+9.8pp
Foster Youth33.3%50.0%+16.7pp
Homeless53.1%48.5%-4.6pp
Military-Connected16.0%36.8%+20.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged22.8%28.1%+5.3pp
All Students19.9%25.5%+5.6pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20255245223.783.873.95
20244739153.934.004.06
20235339213.673.893.97
20224430153.863.944.08
20214740233.783.813.85
2020211653.793.964.00
20193627113.833.953.92
2018422593.834.044.09
20175032103.863.973.96
20164536213.793.884.01
20155033183.753.933.94
20143929163.653.753.85

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252464
Berkeley2024314masked
Berkeley202330maskedmasked
Berkeley2022183masked
Berkeley20212863
Davis20254014masked
Davis20242918masked
Davis202338125
Davis2022277masked
Davis20212193
Irvine2025134masked
Irvine20248maskedmasked
Irvine202319maskedmasked
Irvine2022175masked
Irvine202113maskedmasked
Los Angeles2025153masked
Los Angeles2024253masked
Los Angeles202322maskedmasked
Los Angeles202216maskedmasked
Los Angeles202120maskedmasked
Merced202529277
Merced202420203
Merced202328226
Merced202211113
Merced202125248
Riverside2025993
Riverside202393masked
Riverside20215maskedmasked
San Diego2025185masked
San Diego20242011masked
San Diego202319maskedmasked
San Diego2022205masked
San Diego2021133masked
Santa Barbara202521144
Santa Barbara202427155
Santa Barbara202321134
Santa Barbara202221125
Santa Barbara202124125
Santa Cruz20252618masked
Santa Cruz20242112masked
Santa Cruz20232793
Santa Cruz20222410masked
Santa Cruz202121143
Universitywide2025524522
Universitywide2024473915
Universitywide2023533921
Universitywide2022443015
Universitywide2021474023

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Physics 1this school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count5
AP enrollment67
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 23 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections6
Chemistry sections16
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,071

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California183.7%
California State University5611.6%
California community college19039.3%
In-state private40.8%
Out-of-state, 4-year91.9%
Out-of-state, 2-year40.8%
Not enrolled20341.9%

484 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 58% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$552 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,192

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,344 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,192

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95355
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95355
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$86,849
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)24.33%
ZCTA population60,710
Median age37.6 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/thomas-downey-high-1802"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Thomas Downey High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction