Math
8%Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced
Public high school
The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.
21% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 8% in math. 48.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.
Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced
Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced
Total enrollment
Four-year graduation rate
Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.
View school performance →Explore teaching, coursework and student-group results. A schoolwide average cannot predict an individual experience.
Explore student experience →Check the address, grade and enrollment requirements directly with the district or school.
Check attendance and enrollment →Use comparable evidence alongside entry requirements, cost and location.
Compare nearby schools →What do the results tell us?
2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.
Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →
Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.
| Year | Math | English |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 0% | 8% |
| 2022 | 0% | 9% |
| 2023 | 0% | 10% |
| 2024 | 4% | 13% |
| 2025 | 8% | 21% |
Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.
Achievement-level percentages are not percentiles. “Developing” here is a test achievement level, separate from the SchoolScope performance band with the same name.
| Scope | % Exceeded | % Met+ | Grad rate | College readiness | Absence | Suspension | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This school | 15 | 4% | 15% | 48.3% | 0.0% | 59.2% | 1.9% |
| CA average · High School | 54 | 20% | 43% | 92.5% | 43.0% | 23.1% | 3.3% |
Who shares in the school’s results?
8 of 10 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.
No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.
What happens after high school?
See the published graduate records below. Missing destination counts are not treated as zero.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
What is it like to be a student here?
Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.
Average teacher experience in the published staffing record. It does not measure individual teacher effectiveness.
The share of students absent for at least 10% of their enrolled school days. Attendance reflects both school and out-of-school circumstances.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Pay is set by the district, not the school.
59.2% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.
What sits behind the school experience?
Context — never part of the Scope Score
$4,249 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.
The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.
District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.
Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →
Context — never part of the Scope Score
At 43 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).
On the state's science test (CAST), 18% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level
What is the school’s approach?
School-stated approach · questions for your visit
A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.
Read the school’s own website ↗What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?
Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”
What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?
Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”
What are the alternatives?
Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.
2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.
No nearby schools in this category are listed. The school being viewed stays visible for reference.
| School | Type | Performance band | Advanced | Proficient or Advanced | Distance | Select |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ellington (Duke) High (Continuation)continuation comparison group | Public | Needs Support | 4% | 15% | School being viewed | |
| Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High | Charter | Strong | 25% | 54% | 1.5 mi | |
| Animo Inglewood Charter High | Charter | Strong | 21% | 46% | 2.3 mi | |
| Animo Watts College Preparatory Academy | Charter | Strong | 19% | 43% | 2.5 mi |
Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.
Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.
Which schools could serve my child?
School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.
District information →School website →Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.
What should I do next?
Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.
A low score doesn't tell the whole story. Read: Your School Scored Low — Here's What That Actually Means
Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.
Inspect the full record
Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.
On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.
| What we weigh | Here | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 48.3% | 92.5% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 3.9% | 19.8% | 22% |
| College readiness | 0.0% | 43.0% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 14.6% | 43.2% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 59.2% | 23.1% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 1.9% | 3.3% | 5% |
Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built
Ellington (Duke) High (Continuation) posts low test scores — and suspensions run below the state rate (1.9% vs 3.3%). If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.
Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.
Explore the underlying data →Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.
Ellington (Duke) High (Continuation) is ranked #298 of California continuation high schools.
| Factor | School | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 48.3% | 92.5% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 3.9% | 19.8% | 22% |
| College readiness | 0.0% | 43.0% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 14.6% | 43.2% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 59.2% | 23.1% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 1.9% | 3.3% | 5% |
| ELA | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 14 | 0% | 21% | 36% | 43% | 21% | −27 |
| Math | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 13 | 8% | 0% | 23% | 69% | 8% | −16 |
We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.
| Science (CAST) | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schoolwide | 11 | 0% | 18% | 45% | 36% |
CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.
| School | Dist | Scope | EXC | MET+ | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ellington (Duke) High (Continuation) ← | — | 15 | 3.9% | 14.6% | 1.9% |
| Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High | 1.5 mi | 66 | 24.7% | 53.7% | 0.5% |
| Animo Inglewood Charter High | 2.3 mi | 65 | 20.9% | 46.5% | 0.5% |
| Animo Watts College Preparatory Academy | 2.5 mi | 64 | 18.6% | 43.0% | 0.6% |
| California average | — | 54 | 19.8% | 43.2% | 3.3% |
| Year | Scope | Pctile | Rank | Exc | Met+ | Absent | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 12 | 11 | #306 | 0.0% | 4.2% | 51.0% | 3.0% |
| 2022 | 12 | 9 | #305 | 0.0% | 4.5% | 61.2% | 2.4% |
| 2023 | 11 | 8 | #320 | 0.0% | 5.0% | 67.2% | 2.3% |
| 2024 | 12 | 9 | #302 | 0.0% | 8.6% | 64.4% | 1.5% |
| 2025 | 15 | 12 | #298 | 3.9% | 14.6% | 59.2% | 1.9% |
| Group | 2019 | 2025 | Δ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 86.1% | 91.7% | +5.6pp |
| Male | 79.3% | 87.0% | +7.7pp |
| Black/African American | 86.3% | 85.2% | -1.1pp |
| Hispanic/Latino | 78.0% | 93.1% | +15.1pp |
| Students with Disabilities | 78.9% | 93.8% | +14.9pp |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 83.0% | 89.8% | +6.8pp |
| All Students | 81.9% | 89.8% | +7.9pp |
| Homeless | — | 93.3% | — |
| Measure | This school |
|---|---|
| AP offered | not offered |
| AP course count | not reported |
| AP enrollment | not reported |
| IB participation | not offered |
| Dual enrollment | not offered |
| Algebra I in grade 8 | not reported |
| Calculus sections | 0 |
| Physics sections | 0 |
| Chemistry sections | 0 |
| Total enrollment (CRDC) | 34 |
Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.
<iframe
src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/ellington-duke-high-continuation-1955"
width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
title="Ellington (Duke) High (Continuation) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.
EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · Data updated 2026-09-18
SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction