ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Desert Hot Springs High

Desert Hot Springs, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,687 students · Palm Springs Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

47% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 12% in math. 88.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

12%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

47%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,687

Total enrollment

Graduation

88.2%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 14%2022: 10%2023: 12%2024: 19%2025: 12%2019: 36%2022: 33%2023: 41%2024: 55%2025: 47%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 14%2022: 10%2023: 12%2024: 19%2025: 12%2019: 36%2022: 33%2023: 41%2024: 55%2025: 47%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201914%36%
202210%33%
202312%41%
202419%55%
202512%47%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 26th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “29% proficient” and call it done. Desert Hot Springs deserves a closer read. Nearly all of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

320 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Desert Hot Springs High scores 45 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 26th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 29% of students meet the standard today, above the 25% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 18th percentile · Scope Score 43 of 1002022 · 19th percentile · Scope Score 41 of 1002023 · 24th percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002024 · 34th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002025 · 26th percentile · Scope Score 45 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined Significantly)MathRed(Declined Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1136%33%41%55%47%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1114%10%12%19%12%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA47% met or exceeded
Exceeded 18%Met 29%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 28%
Math12% met or exceeded
Exceeded 5%Met 7%Nearly Met 23%Not Met 64%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4511%29%88.2%53.5%42.4%5.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4554
% Exceeded11%20%
% Met+29%43%
Grad rate88.2%92.5%
College readiness53.5%43.0%
Absence42.4%23.1%
Suspension5.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

At Desert Hot Springs High in Desert Hot Springs, 47.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 35.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Desert Hot Springs High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 11.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (12.3% Math proficient); Hispanic students (44.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 36.8 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 309 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 29% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 29%, district —, state 43%29%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 30%, district 29%, state 32%30% · +0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 28%, district 27%, state 32%28% · −1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 25%, district 29%, state 42%25% · −4 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 34%, district 30%, state 44%34% · +4 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 5%, district 8%, state 11%5% · −24 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 6%, district 7%, state 15%6% · −23 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 27%, district 22%, state 22%27% · −3 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 48%, district 44%, state 56%48% · +19 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 33%, district 39%, state 56%33% · +4 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 25%, district 22%, state 26%25% · −4 vs school
AsianAsian: too few students to report‹11
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Students with disabilities students were 17% of Desert Hot Springs's enrollment but 0% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic85.2% AP · 79.6% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.6% enroll.
Asian2.7% AP · 1.1% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.8% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black2.7% AP · 6.7% enroll.
White7.6% AP · 10.0% enroll.
Two or more races1.1% AP · 1.8% enroll.
English learners13.3% AP · 25.4% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.0% AP · 17.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

51%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 153 of 300 completers · includes community colleges

300Completers
12%
Other colleges36 completers · Outside the California community college system
39%
California community colleges117 completers · Enrolled within a year
49%
Not recorded enrolled147 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

51%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Desert Hot Springs's class of 2023, 51% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 300 completers, 51% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 17 (6%)California State University 12 (4%)California community college 117 (39%)In-state private 1 (0%)Out-of-state, 4-year 4 (1%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (1%)Not enrolled 147 (49%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 20 of Desert Hot Springs's 337 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 4 enrollees.

Applied74fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted63
Enrolled20
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Riverside 4Berkeley 3Irvine 3San Diego 3Santa Barbara 3Davis ‹3Los Angeles ‹3Merced ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 24 enrolled, 2016

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 51% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (117) than at UC (17).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 21 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Desert Hot Springs's teachers are authorized to teach 20 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher21 · district 20
Teaching staff82 teachers
Avg. experience10.1 years
Fully credentialed82%
First-year teachers4%
PrincipalOmar Tinoco
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$66,051 – $133,990
Principal salary$168,793 – $197,021
Superintendent salary$303,050

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers99 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers22 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught20
ShowHide the 20 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (3)Biology · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)African American Studies · European History · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

42.4% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 42.4%, district 26.8%, state 23.1%42.4% · +19.3pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 5.4%, district —, state 3.3%5.4% · +2.2pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1242.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $21,941 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$307 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $21,941, CA average $14,491$21,941 · spent at this school
Federal share$307 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$24,457 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 61%Instruction support 11%Student services 10%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$16,422 per pupil
2019$15,347 per pupil
2018$14,904 per pupil
2017$14,951 per pupil
2016$14,624 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Nearly all of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 12% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino80.6% · district 82.2% · CA 56.1%
White8.7% · district 8.2% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.4% · district 0.8% · CA 10.2%
Black6.3% · district 3.8% · CA 4.8%
Other3.9% · district 5.0% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch96.1% · CA 64%
Median income$54K · CA $85K
Median home value$333K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+17% · CA 35%
ZIP population41,615
Median age36 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Desert Hot Springs HighPublicDeveloping11%29%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Palm Springs Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Desert Hot Springs High a good high school?
Desert Hot Springs High has a Scope Score of 45 out of 100, placing it in the 26th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,225 statewide. 11.2% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 8.6 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Desert Hot Springs High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 29.4% of students at Desert Hot Springs High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 11.2% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 18.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 11.2% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 641 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Desert Hot Springs High rank in California?
Desert Hot Springs High ranks #1,225 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 26th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Desert Hot Springs High?
42.4% of students at Desert Hot Springs High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 5.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Desert Hot Springs High compare to other schools in Desert Hot Springs?
Desert Hot Springs High scores 45/100 (26th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,687 students. Use the schools in Desert Hot Springs page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Desert Hot Springs High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Desert Hot Springs High in Desert Hot Springs, 47.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 35.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Desert Hot Springs High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 11.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (12.3% Math proficient); Hispanic students (44.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 36.8 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 309 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Desert Hot Springs High?
Desert Hot Springs High's teachers are authorized to teach 20 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, African American Studies, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Physics 1, Precalculus, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Desert Hot Springs High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 20 Desert Hot Springs High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate88.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard11.2%19.8%22%
College readiness53.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded29.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism42.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate5.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.9%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Desert Hot Springs High: reading the evidence

Desert Hot Springs posts 29% meeting the standard and 11.2% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Desert Hot Springs High is ranked #1,225 statewide · #4 of 5 in Palm Springs Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate88.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard11.2%19.8%22%
College readiness53.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded29.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism42.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate5.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.9%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 40 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1132018%29%25%28%47%−2
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113215%7%23%64%12%−12

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3213%9%69%19%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged30947.3%+11+9
Hispanic/Latino27044.8%+11+6
English Learners829.8%+1−1
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Desert Hot Springs High ←—4511.2%29.4%5.4%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
88.2%
AP Exam Prepared
53.5%
A-G Completion
53.4%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
51.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194318#12365.6%24.7%28.9%10.8%
20224119#13025.5%21.4%41.9%10.0%
20234424#12438.5%26.6%47.6%10.3%
20244734#107810.9%36.8%46.3%7.3%
20254526#122511.2%29.4%42.4%5.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female28.5%45.0%+16.5pp
Male29.4%41.0%+11.6pp
Asian0.0%——
Black/African American40.9%56.0%+15.1pp
Filipino33.3%——
Hispanic/Latino26.9%40.7%+13.8pp
Two or More Races41.2%48.1%+6.9pp
White35.7%54.8%+19.1pp
Students with Disabilities47.4%51.3%+3.9pp
English Learners30.8%42.6%+11.8pp
Foster Youth30.0%61.9%+31.9pp
Homeless41.7%45.9%+4.2pp
Military-Connected0.0%35.3%+35.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged28.8%43.2%+14.4pp
All Students29.0%42.9%+13.9pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20257463203.703.823.99
20246448203.663.854.01
20235338173.653.873.99
20225533103.643.944.14
20215637133.703.963.98
20205627133.573.954.05
20196334163.704.014.13
20188843203.543.904.01
20177344223.623.864.01
201610546243.353.803.85
20157629213.443.903.92
20144525123.673.873.99

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253053
Berkeley2024213‹3
Berkeley20231963
Berkeley2022145‹3
Berkeley2021173‹3
Davis20252214‹3
Davis2024129‹3
Davis2023145‹3
Davis2022156‹3
Davis20211053
Irvine202550163
Irvine20243793
Irvine202338123
Irvine20224212‹3
Irvine202141173
Los Angeles2025315‹3
Los Angeles20243344
Los Angeles2023304‹3
Los Angeles20223653
Los Angeles20213443
Merced20252727‹3
Merced202476‹3
Merced20231411‹3
Merced202275‹3
Merced20211411‹3
Riverside202557464
Riverside202443314
Riverside202330184
Riverside20223720‹3
Riverside20214121‹3
San Diego202539143
San Diego202449195
San Diego202327164
San Diego20222914‹3
San Diego20212711‹3
Santa Barbara202524103
Santa Barbara2024218‹3
Santa Barbara20232010‹3
Santa Barbara20222010‹3
Santa Barbara20211610‹3
Santa Cruz20252311‹3
Santa Cruz20242411‹3
Santa Cruz2023105‹3
Santa Cruz2022154‹3
Santa Cruz2021136‹3
Universitywide2025746320
Universitywide2024644820
Universitywide2023533817
Universitywide2022553310
Universitywide2021563713

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
African American Studiesthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count13
AP enrollment264
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 108 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections10
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,860

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California175.7%
California State University124.0%
California community college11739.0%
In-state private10.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year41.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.7%
Not enrolled14749.0%

300 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 51% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/desert-hot-springs-high-0818"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Desert Hot Springs High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Desert Hot Springs High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.