Public school · Benicia Unified

Benicia High

Benicia · 9–12 · 1,335 students (2024–25)

74thpercentileSolid

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
65 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 97% of the class graduated in four years (301 of 311); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 311
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
26%
Met standard
35%
Below standard
39%

61% met or exceeded · 317 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaBenicia Unified
Exceeded26%27%25%
Met35%30%32%
Nearly met19%20%19%
Not met20%23%24%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
16%
Met standard
21%
Below standard
63%

37% met or exceeded · 318 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaBenicia Unified
Exceeded16%14%15%
Met21%16%19%
Nearly met27%21%26%
Not met36%49%40%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Closest to standing out

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 37% met or exceeded the standard in math, against 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
37%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 431,903 in math tested).

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school61%
California57%

Tested: 317 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school61%
Benicia Unified57%

Tested: 317 here · 344 in Benicia Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 2 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaBenicia Unified
Exceeded26%27%25%
Met35%30%32%
Nearly met19%20%19%
Not met20%23%24%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school37%
California30%

Tested: 318 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school37%
Benicia Unified34%

Tested: 318 here · 346 in Benicia Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 2 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaBenicia Unified
Exceeded16%14%15%
Met21%16%19%
Nearly met27%21%26%
Not met36%49%40%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: Math is lower than in 2019 here (50% to 37%) and across California (32% to 30%). How does the school check what’s working in math?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

97%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 301 of 311 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

71%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

58%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

75% enrolled in college within 12 months · 350 high-school completers

  • University of California44 · 13%
  • California State University43 · 12%
  • California community college118 · 34%
  • In-state private7 · 2%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year46 · 13%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year3 · 1%
  • Not enrolled89 · 25%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
93
Admitted
68
Enrolled
37

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 93 · Admitted 68 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 2024Applied 112 · Admitted 66 · Enrolled 36
  • Fall 2023Applied 103 · Admitted 77 · Enrolled 44
  • Fall 2022Applied 90 · Admitted 57 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2021Applied 93 · Admitted 66 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2020Applied 104 · Admitted 82 · Enrolled 44
  • Fall 2019Applied 91 · Admitted 61 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2018Applied 102 · Admitted 63 · Enrolled 48
  • Fall 2017Applied 85 · Admitted 62 · Enrolled 35
  • Fall 2016Applied 74 · Admitted 55 · Enrolled 33
  • Fall 2015Applied 83 · Admitted 52 · Enrolled 27
  • Fall 2014Applied 87 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2013Applied 92 · Admitted 41 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 2012Applied 92 · Admitted 62 · Enrolled 33
  • Fall 2011Applied 87 · Admitted 62 · Enrolled 38
  • Fall 2010Applied 82 · Admitted 71 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2009Applied 110 · Admitted 103 · Enrolled 57
  • Fall 2008Applied 111 · Admitted 101 · Enrolled 49
  • Fall 2007Applied 104 · Admitted 91 · Enrolled 43
  • Fall 2006Applied 109 · Admitted 100 · Enrolled 63
  • Fall 2005Applied 87 · Admitted 77 · Enrolled 43
  • Fall 2004Applied 92 · Admitted 78 · Enrolled 45
  • Fall 2003Applied 94 · Admitted 85 · Enrolled 44
  • Fall 2002Applied 97 · Admitted 86 · Enrolled 41
  • Fall 2001Applied 91 · Admitted 82 · Enrolled 36
  • Fall 2000Applied 86 · Admitted 77 · Enrolled 44
  • Fall 1999Applied 78 · Admitted 64 · Enrolled 41
  • Fall 1998Applied 52 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 1997Applied 51 · Admitted 42 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 1996Applied 45 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 1995Applied 51 · Admitted 42 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 1994Applied 33 · Admitted 28 · Enrolled 18

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 60 · Admitted 7 · Enrolled 4
  • DavisApplied 70 · Admitted 29 · Enrolled 8
  • IrvineApplied 59 · Admitted 9 · Enrolled 3
  • Los AngelesApplied 61 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled 5
  • MercedApplied 34 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 30 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled Masked
  • San DiegoApplied 62 · Admitted 13 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 59 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled 4
  • Santa CruzApplied 50 · Admitted 37 · Enrolled 9

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 5
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Precalculus
  • Statistics
Sciences 3
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics 1
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 4
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 1
  • Spanish Language and Culture
Arts 3
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • 3-D Art and Design
  • Drawing
AP Capstone 2
  • Research
  • Seminar
1 authorizations through outside providers
  • Calculus ABEdgenuity · 2025 - 2026

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
161 of 222 Prepared students · 72.5%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 311 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
60 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

15 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
22in 100 at the average California high school

205 of 1,351 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school15 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
3.1%of students were suspended at least once (42 of 1,362), 2024–25
3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

70 tested per subject

English51% / 49%
Math29% / 21%

White

134 English · 135 math tested

English66% / 68%
Math43% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

81 tested per subject

English51% / 49%
Math25% / 19%

Two or more races

51 tested per subject

English63% / 67%
Math45% / 42%

Students with disabilities

37 tested per subject

English14% / 18%
Math5% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Benicia Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 70 tested
English51%+645%+249%
Math29%+524%+821%
White · 134 tested in English, 135 in math
English66%+363%−268%
Math43%+340%+142%
Hispanic or Latino · 81 tested
English51%+645%+249%
Math25%+322%+619%
Two or more races · 51 tested
English63%+360%−467%
Math45%+342%+342%
Students with disabilities · 37 tested
English14%+113%−418%
Math5%05%−16%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Benicia Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Asian, Black or African American, Filipino and military-family students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and homeless students, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

How each student group did

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Benicia High in Benicia, 51.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 44.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Benicia High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 6.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (28.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (65.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 47.4 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 70 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 40%2. Hispanic or Latino: 28%3. Two or more races: 15%4. Black or African American: 6%5. Filipino: 6%6. Asian: 4%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White40%
  2. Hispanic or Latino28%
  3. Two or more races15%
  4. Black or African American6%
  5. Filipino6%
  6. Asian4%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White40%
Hispanic or Latino28%
Two or more races15%
Black or African American6%
Filipino6%
Asian4%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 1 in 4 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (24%, 322 of 1,335). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers63
Average experience13 years
First-year teachers6%
93% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 93.19%: 64.8 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 69.6 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryMary Farmar ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleBenicia MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolBenicia HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Mary Farmar Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    72nd percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Robert Semple Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    68th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Matthew Turner Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    89th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Joe Henderson Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    80th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Middle-school links

  • Benicia Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    84th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Benicia Unified which school serves your address.

bhs.beniciaunified.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
1101 Military West, Benicia 94510

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Math is lower than in 2019 here (50% to 37%) and across California (32% to 30%). How does the school check what’s working in math?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (707) 747-8325 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Thousand Oaks HighConejo Valley Unified · 1,703 enrolled · 23.8% meal eligibility63rdSolid
  • Woodbridge HighIrvine Unified · 2,232 enrolled · 24.5% meal eligibility89thStrong
  • Fremont HighFremont Union High · 2,060 enrolled · 23.7% meal eligibility75thStrong
  • Walnut HighWalnut Valley Unified · 2,148 enrolled · 23.6% meal eligibility93rdStrong
  • Santa Clara HighSanta Clara Unified · 1,663 enrolled · 23.6% meal eligibility84thStrong
  • Irvington HighFremont Unified · 2,157 enrolled · 24.7% meal eligibility97thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 16.1–32.1% meal eligibility and 668–2,670 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Benicia High a good high school?
Benicia High is in the 74th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 65 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 97% of the class graduated in four years (301 of 311); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Benicia High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 61% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 37% the math standard; 26% and 16% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 317 students were tested in English and 318 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Benicia High rank in California?
Benicia High is in the 74th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Solid, 2025). Benicia High ranks #386 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Benicia High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 15.2% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 205 chronically absent of 1,351 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 3.1%; 42 unduplicated suspended students of 1,362 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 15.9%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 3.1%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Benicia High compare to other schools in Benicia?
Benicia High is in the 74th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,335 students. Use the schools in Benicia page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Benicia High?
At Benicia High in Benicia, 51.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 44.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Benicia High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 6.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (28.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (65.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 47.4 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 70 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Benicia High?
Benicia High had own-school AP authorizations for 20 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Benicia High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 37 Benicia High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Benicia High is ranked #386 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.8%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard21.4%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared71.4%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded49.0%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.9%22.7%5%
Suspension rate3.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)34.8%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 67 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 81 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1131727%34%19%20%61%+12

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1131816%21%27%36%37%+13

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA30363.4%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math29944.1%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA33266.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math33133.2%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA31063.9%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math31036.1%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA37066.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math36549.6%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide32411%30%50%10%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged7051.4%+7+3
White13565.7%+3−2
Hispanic/Latino8150.6%+5+2
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Benicia High ←—6574th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202521.4%49.0%3.1%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders1.4%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 65/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 71.4% · numerator 222 students classified Prepared · denominator 311 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 72.5% · AP-pathway numerator 161 · denominator 222 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 222 of 311 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201969/10082#262California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202265/10080#311California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202364/10078#353California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202465/10080#328California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 17.1% → 2025 · 15.2% · −1.9pp
Suspension rate2024 · 4.7% → 2025 · 3.1% · −1.6pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA31726.5%60.9%
2025 · Math31816.4%37.1%
2024 · ELA30328.4%63.4%
2024 · Math29914.4%44.1%
2023 · ELA33231.3%66.3%
2023 · Math33114.2%33.2%
2022 · ELA31032.9%63.9%
2022 · Math31014.2%36.1%
2019 · ELA37034.6%66.0%
2019 · Math36523.0%49.6%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
96.8%
AP pathway among Prepared
72.5%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
58.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
74.6%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201928.8%57.8%11.2%5.3%
202223.6%50.0%23.9%4.6%
202322.8%49.8%25.2%5.4%
202421.4%53.8%17.8%4.7%
202521.4%49.0%15.9%3.1%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female11.1%16.3%+5.2pp
Male10.2%13.9%+3.7pp
Asian2.7%7.4%+4.7pp
Black/African American13.9%17.3%+3.4pp
Filipino5.0%2.5%-2.5pp
Hispanic/Latino12.7%15.1%+2.4pp
Two or More Races14.0%14.9%+0.9pp
White9.8%17.8%+8.0pp
Students with Disabilities26.4%25.3%-1.1pp
English Learners3.6%10.7%+7.1pp
Homeless15.8%48.1%+32.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged15.9%24.0%+8.1pp
All Students10.6%15.2%+4.6pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20259368373.904.054.12
202411266363.844.014.11
202310377443.974.064.11
20229057263.974.044.09
20219366323.904.034.12
202010482443.954.044.13
20199161323.944.044.05
201810263483.914.044.07
20178562353.974.104.16
20167455333.934.074.13
20158352273.914.054.09
20148747293.784.004.05

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20256074
Berkeley2024687masked
Berkeley20237296
Berkeley20226044
Berkeley20215795
Davis202570298
Davis202488289
Davis202376296
Davis202255165
Davis202162235
Irvine20255993
Irvine202461167
Irvine202356163
Irvine2022559masked
Irvine20214910masked
Los Angeles20256165
Los Angeles20246964
Los Angeles202363117
Los Angeles20225163
Los Angeles20215973
Merced20253433masked
Merced20241614masked
Merced20231615masked
Merced20221818masked
Merced20211311masked
Riverside20253026masked
Riverside20241915masked
Riverside20232319masked
Riverside20222017masked
Riverside20211311masked
San Diego20256213masked
San Diego2024636masked
San Diego202362134
San Diego2022524masked
San Diego20215211masked
Santa Barbara202559214
Santa Barbara202463186
Santa Barbara20236714masked
Santa Barbara202245124
Santa Barbara202153195
Santa Cruz202550379
Santa Cruz202459357
Santa Cruz2023775917
Santa Cruz202248245
Santa Cruz2021493310
Universitywide2025936837
Universitywide20241126636
Universitywide20231037744
Universitywide2022905726
Universitywide2021936632

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school
Calculus ABonline provider (Edgenuity)

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count19
AP enrollment542
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections17
Chemistry sections12
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,516

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California4412.6%
California State University4312.3%
California community college11833.7%
In-state private72.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year4613.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.9%
Not enrolled8925.4%

350 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 75% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$10,895 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 4,526 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

Central federal expenditures attributed here$292 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,335

District current expense · FY 2024–25$15,618 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 62%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$10,895 per pupil
2020$10,456 per pupil
2019$10,914 per pupil
2018$10,132 per pupil
2017$10,017 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 94510
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 94510
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$121,204
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)47.59%
ZCTA population26,749
Median age44.9 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/benicia-high-1004"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Benicia High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction