ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Abraham Lincoln Alternative

Rosamond, CA · Grades 4-12 · 71 students · Southern Kern Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

30% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 0% in math. 69.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

0%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

30%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

71

Total enrollment

Graduation

69.2%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 6%2022: 0%2023: 0%2024: 5%2025: 0%2019: 28%2022: 13%2023: 29%2024: 33%2025: 30%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 6%2022: 0%2023: 0%2024: 5%2025: 0%2019: 28%2022: 13%2023: 29%2024: 33%2025: 30%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20196%28%
20220%13%
20230%29%
20245%33%
20250%30%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 1st percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “15% proficient” and call it done. Abraham Lincoln Alternative deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

48 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Abraham Lincoln Alternative scores 25 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 1st percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 15% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 1st percentile · Scope Score 25 of 1002022 · 1st percentile · Scope Score 22 of 1002023 · 1st percentile · Scope Score 24 of 1002024 · 2nd percentile · Scope Score 26 of 1002025 · 1st percentile · Scope Score 25 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 714%—18%27%—
Grade 8—11%6%15%—
Grade 1128%13%29%33%30%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 70%—8%9%—
Grade 8—0%0%8%—
Grade 116%0%0%5%0%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in ten of students here meet the standard. 4% clear it by a lot.

ELA19% met or exceeded
Exceeded 4%Met 15%Nearly Met 27%Not Met 54%
Math0% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 0%Nearly Met 10%Not Met 90%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school254%15%69.2%0.0%36.8%1.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope2554
% Exceeded4%20%
% Met+15%43%
Grad rate69.2%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence36.8%23.1%
Suspension1.8%3.3%
California’s growth results and student groups
State growth model · CDE growth model 2024–25

California's own growth model places it near the 6th percentile of high schools.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits well below the middle of California high schools in reading and math together. We show it; we don't score it.

— pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

California's growth model, ranked against the schools it scores
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: −13 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 12th percentile of 7,519 reported schools.12th pctile · −13 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: −30 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 1st percentile of 7,518 reported schools.1st pctile · −30 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Abraham Lincoln Alternative in Rosamond, 26.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 27.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Abraham Lincoln Alternative trails its district average for low-income students by 0.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 19 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 15% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 15%, district —, state 43%15%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 13%, district 20%, state 32%13% · −2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 8%, district 22%, state 42%8% · −8 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 14%, district 22%, state 32%14% · −1 vs school

7 of 11 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

33%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 5 of 15 completers · includes community colleges

15Completers
0%
Other colleges0 completers · Outside the California community college system
33%
California community colleges5 completers · Enrolled within a year
67%
Not recorded enrolled10 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
33%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college5 (33%)
  • Not enrolled10 (67%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 14 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher14 · district 21
Teaching staff5 teachers
Avg. experience20.2 years
Fully credentialed21%
PrincipalRobyn Calzada
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$54,770 – $115,474
Principal salary$144,161 – $158,196
Superintendent salary$185,973

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP courses offered1 (CCI)
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

36.8% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 36.8%, district 27.6%, state 23.1%36.8% · +13.8pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.8%, district —, state 3.3%1.8% · −1.4pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–850.0%
Grades 9–1242.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $25,909 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$131 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $25,909, CA average $14,491$25,909 · spent at this school
Federal share$131 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$20,336 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 60%Instruction support 10%Student services 11%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 14%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,312 per pupil
2019$11,477 per pupil
2018$12,983 per pupil
2017$13,442 per pupil
2016$12,265 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 71 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 3% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino63.4% · district 64.2% · CA 56.1%
White23.9% · district 19.7% · CA 19.9%
Black8.4% · district 9.0% · CA 4.8%
Other4.2% · district 6.4% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch66.2% · CA 64%
Median income$77K · CA $85K
Median home value$348K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+16% · CA 35%
ZIP population22,119
Median age31 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Abraham Lincoln AlternativePublicNeeds Support4%15%School being viewed
Rosamond High Early College CampusPublicDeveloping7%21%0.2 mi
Rare Earth High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support2%8%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Southern Kern Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Abraham Lincoln Alternative a good high school?
Abraham Lincoln Alternative has a Scope Score of 25 out of 100, placing it in the 1st percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,627 statewide. 4.3% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 15.5 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Abraham Lincoln Alternative's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 15.2% of students at Abraham Lincoln Alternative met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 4.3% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 10.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 4.3% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 46 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Abraham Lincoln Alternative rank in California?
Abraham Lincoln Alternative ranks #1,627 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 1st percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Abraham Lincoln Alternative?
36.8% of students at Abraham Lincoln Alternative are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.8%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Abraham Lincoln Alternative compare to other schools in Rosamond?
Abraham Lincoln Alternative scores 25/100 (1st percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 71 students. Use the schools in Rosamond page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Abraham Lincoln Alternative serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Abraham Lincoln Alternative in Rosamond, 26.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 27.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Abraham Lincoln Alternative trails its district average for low-income students by 0.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 19 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate69.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard4.3%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded15.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism36.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.8%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Abraham Lincoln Alternative: reading the evidence

Abraham Lincoln Alternative posts low test scores — and suspensions run below the state rate (1.8% vs 3.3%). If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Abraham Lincoln Alternative is ranked #1,627 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate69.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard4.3%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded15.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism36.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.8%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 36 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.5pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.4pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 54——————
Grade 65——————
Grade 76——————
Grade 810——————
Grade 11239%22%17%52%30%−18
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 54——————
Grade 65——————
Grade 77——————
Grade 89——————
Grade 11230%0%9%91%0%−24

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide390%3%77%21%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged1926.3%−1−12
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Abraham Lincoln Alternative ←—254.3%15.2%1.8%
Rosamond High Early College Campus0.2 mi466.9%21.5%6.1%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Rare Earth High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide0 mi172.1%8.3%10.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
69.2%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
33.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2019251#14932.8%16.7%36.6%2.4%
2022221#15820.0%6.3%35.1%2.0%
2023241#16170.0%14.3%41.0%2.0%
2024262#16124.8%19.2%37.3%2.2%
2025251#16274.3%15.2%36.8%1.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — Scored here as a high school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 12 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female31.9%36.5%+4.6pp
Male58.3%43.1%-15.2pp
Black/African American52.9%14.3%-38.6pp
Hispanic/Latino45.7%47.8%+2.1pp
White41.9%39.3%-2.6pp
Students with Disabilities63.6%50.0%-13.6pp
English Learners52.6%58.3%+5.7pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged48.2%42.6%-5.6pp
All Students45.1%40.2%-4.9pp
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)66

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college533.3%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1066.7%

15 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 33% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

08California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
ShowHide table 08 — California growth model, by student group
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−1313Moderate−3013Minimal
English Only−1313not categorised−3113not categorised

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/abraham-lincoln-alternative-0377"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Abraham Lincoln Alternative — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Abraham Lincoln Alternative

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.