Public school · Torrance Unified

Towers Elementary

Torrance · TK–5 · 599 students (2024–25)

95thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 5,721 scored public elementary schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
72 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well above California in English and math: 76% and 77% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 3–5: 295 in English, 294 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 3, 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,232,086 in English and 1,241,652 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four elementary schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Sign in to save this school

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

Are children building strong foundations?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
46%
Met standard
30%
Below standard
24%

76% met or exceeded · 295 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTorrance Unified
Exceeded46%24%40%
Met30%22%26%
Nearly met14%21%16%
Not met10%33%18%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
47%
Met standard
30%
Below standard
23%

77% met or exceeded · 294 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTorrance Unified
Exceeded47%21%41%
Met30%20%26%
Nearly met17%25%19%
Not met6%34%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Reading and math results for the tested grades. These do not measure the experience in kindergarten or the early grades.

Ask: How do you help children who need more support in reading or math, and those ready for more challenge?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
About half reached the top of the state’s four levels, about twice California’s rate in the same grades (24% and 21%).grades 3–5 · spring 2025
46%English · exceeded the standard47%Math · exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 3–5: 295 in English, 294 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 3, 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,232,086 in English and 1,241,652 in math tested).
29 of 614 students missed 10% or more of school days: about half the rate at the average Torrance Unified school.2024–25
5 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 614
Comparison
29 of 614. District and California figures are averages of school rates (17 Torrance Unified schools; 5,721 scored California elementary schools), our calculation.
Low-income students here (63 tested, grades 3–5, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than low-income students across California in the same grades (35% and 30%).grades 3–5 · spring 2025
63%English · met or exceeded67%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
low-income students (CDE: “socioeconomically disadvantaged”) in grades 3–5: 63
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 63 students.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school76%
California46%

Tested: 295 here · 1,232,086 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school76%
Torrance Unified66%

Tested: 295 here · 4,356 in Torrance Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 17 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTorrance Unified
Exceeded46%24%40%
Met30%22%26%
Nearly met14%21%16%
Not met10%33%18%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school77%
California41%

Tested: 294 here · 1,241,652 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school77%
Torrance Unified67%

Tested: 294 here · 4,352 in Torrance Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 17 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTorrance Unified
Exceeded47%21%41%
Met30%20%26%
Nearly met17%25%19%
Not met6%34%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

Are students making progress?

The state’s growth measure188 students · grades 4–5 · 2025
English+3ptsCDE level: Average (3 of 5)
Math+16ptsCDE level: Accelerated (4 of 5)

What the number means. California predicts each student’s score from that student’s own English and math scores the year before, based on how students with similar scores did across the state. Zero would mean students here scored as predicted. In English they scored 3 points above that prediction, and in math 16 points above it.

The levels. CDE sorts every school’s result into five levels, from Minimal to Exceptional. The bar under each number shows where this school landed.

Two years at once. For most schools, this one included, CDE’s figure blends the two most recent years of growth, so it moves more slowly than a single year’s scores.

Why our growth can differ. The growth in our Scope Score asks a different question. It doesn’t follow individual students: it compares the latest grade 5 scores here with the school’s grade 3 scores two years earlier, and places that change among California schools at the same level. Children who joined or left the school in between count in ours; the state’s counts only students who took California’s test the year before. So the two can point different ways.

School pattern, spring 2025Growth EngineThe school’s aggregate cohort-change index clears our stronger-gains threshold. This is a school-level comparison across years, not tracking of individual children.
School pattern, spring 2025Strong All-AroundAt least half of students met or exceeded the standard in every tested grade, in both subjects, and the state’s growth measure was Average or above in both.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

5 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
9in 100 at the average Torrance Unified school18in 100 at the average California elementary school

29 of 614 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school5 in 100
at the average Torrance Unified school9 in 100
at the average California elementary school18 in 100
0.3%of students were suspended at least once (2 of 620), 2024–25
0.3%at the average Torrance Unified school1.6%at the average California elementary school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
TK and kindergarten57 of 133
Grades 1–3413 of 288
Grades 4–559 of 193

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 3–5 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

63 tested per subject

English63% / 35%
Math67% / 30%

Asian

87 tested per subject

English86% / 71%
Math83% / 71%

White

87 tested per subject

English74% / 60%
Math72% / 56%

Hispanic or Latino

66 tested per subject

English62% / 36%
Math70% / 30%

Two or more races

43 English · 42 math tested

English84% / 60%
Math83% / 55%

Students with disabilities

44 tested per subject

English52% / 19%
Math52% / 18%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 3–5 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Torrance Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 63 tested
English63%+1251%+2835%
Math67%+1750%+3730%
Asian · 87 tested
English86%+977%+1571%
Math83%+182%+1271%
White · 87 tested
English74%+668%+1460%
Math72%+369%+1656%
Hispanic or Latino · 66 tested
English62%+854%+2636%
Math70%+1753%+4030%
Two or more races · 43 tested in English, 42 in math
English84%+1173%+2460%
Math83%+1172%+2855%
Students with disabilities · 44 tested
English52%+1438%+3319%
Math52%+1339%+3418%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Torrance Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

No published rate here for Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students and students with disabilities here did far better than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Towers Elementary in Torrance, 63.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4 and 5, compared to 51.0% district-wide for those same grades and 35.2% statewide for those same grades. Towers Elementary’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 12.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (66.7% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (86.2% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 29.6 percentage points: students with disabilities in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 63 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Asian: 31%2. White: 29%3. Hispanic or Latino: 20%4. Two or more races: 15%5. Filipino: 3%Unallocated share: 3%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Asian31%
  2. White29%
  3. Hispanic or Latino20%
  4. Two or more races15%
  5. Filipino3%
  6. Black or African American—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share3%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Asian31%
White29%
Hispanic or Latino20%
Two or more races15%
Filipino3%
Black or African American—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 1 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (21%, 123 of 599). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers32
Average experience19 years
First-year teachers3%
96% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 96.49%: 27.5 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 28.5 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryTowers ElementaryThis campus · grades K-5
  2. MiddleBert M. Lynn MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolWest HighInferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Middle-school links

  • Bert M. Lynn Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    90th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

High-school links

  • West High

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    91st percentile · Strong · high · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

High-school endpoint evidence · West High
West HighScope 77estimated path

An inferred path through a middle-school overlap points to West High. UC records 84 enrollees from West High for fall 2025. Its AP Course Audit lists 20 authorized AP subjects for 2025 - 2026. Those figures come from dated records — if a child starting here today later attended West High, that would be around 2035, and 10 years is a long time for a school to hold still, and by the state's 2023 count 86% of West High's graduates enrolled in college somewhere, UC or not.

84 UC enrollees (fall 2025) · 20 authorized AP subjects (AP Course Audit 2025 - 2026) → full record on West High's page
Source: UC & College Board AP Course Ledger

Getting in

Ask Torrance Unified which school serves your address.

towers.tusd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
5600 Towers Street, Torrance 90503

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. How do you teach early reading and check each child’s progress?
  3. What does extra support or enrichment look like during the school day?
  4. What are the school-day hours and after-school care options?

Call (310) 533-4535 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby elementary schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar elementary schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 12.5–28.5% meal eligibility and 300–1,198 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Towers Elementary a good elementary school?
Towers Elementary is in the 95th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. Its Scope Score is 72 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Towers Elementary was well above California in English and math: 76% and 77% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for elementary schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 3-to-5 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Towers Elementary's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 76% of students tested in grades 3–5 met or exceeded the English standard and 77% the math standard; 46% and 47% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 46% and 41% met or exceeded, 24% and 21% exceeded. 295 students were tested in English and 294 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Towers Elementary rank in California?
Towers Elementary is in the 95th percentile of 5,721 California comprehensive elementary schools (Strong, 2025). Towers Elementary ranks #281 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G3 → 2025 G5), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is Towers Elementary getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares Towers Elementary's grade 3 results in 2023 with its grade 5 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope elementary standardized cohort gain: approximately 93rd percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Towers Elementary?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 4.7% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 29 chronically absent of 614 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 0.3%; 2 unduplicated suspended students of 620 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 5.3%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 0.4%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Towers Elementary compare to other schools in Torrance?
Towers Elementary is in the 95th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 599 students. Use the schools in Torrance page or the map view to compare nearby elementary schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Towers Elementary?
At Towers Elementary in Torrance, 63.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4 and 5, compared to 51.0% district-wide for those same grades and 35.2% statewide for those same grades. Towers Elementary’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 12.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (66.7% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (86.2% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 29.6 percentage points: students with disabilities in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 63 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What middle school does Towers Elementary feed into?
By attendance boundary, Towers Elementary is zoned to Bert M. Lynn Middle. Bert M. Lynn Middle has a Scope Score of 64 out of 100. Boundaries come from the U.S. Department of Education's School Attendance Boundary Survey, a 2015-16 collection and the most recent national one — they are approximate and may since have changed. A boundary is also not a placement guarantee: magnet, charter, open-enrollment and inter-district transfer options mean students from one school often continue to several different ones. Confirm your address with the district before making an enrollment or housing decision. Data source: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey, analyzed by SchoolScope.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Towers Elementary is ranked #281 statewide · #3 of 17 in Torrance Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard46.4%21.4%42%
Met or exceeded76.0%42.7%23%
Growth (2023 G3 → 2025 G5)Strongaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism5.3%17.9%5%
Suspension rate0.4%1.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)36.1%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 21.4% · index 74 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 42.7% · index 76 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G3 → 2025 G5)
↑ vs CA average · ≈93rd calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 17.9% · index 70 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · ▲ 1.4pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 1.6% · index 60 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · ▲ 0.3pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 77 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 310445%29%12%14%74%+31
Grade 48352%18%19%11%70%+25
Grade 510842%41%12%6%82%+35

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 ELA equal-school mean: 43.1%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 310446%28%16%10%74%+29
Grade 48347%31%17%5%78%+37
Grade 510747%31%20%3%78%+43

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 Math equal-school mean: 45.4%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 3 · ELA8673.3%
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA10373.8%
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA10883.3%
2024 · Grade 3 · Math8679.1%
2024 · Grade 4 · Math10280.4%
2024 · Grade 5 · Math10878.7%
2023 · Grade 3 · ELA9969.7%
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA10477.9%
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA10075.0%
2023 · Grade 3 · Math9977.8%
2023 · Grade 4 · Math10589.5%
2023 · Grade 5 · Math10070.0%
2022 · Grade 3 · ELA10874.1%
2022 · Grade 4 · ELA9672.9%
2022 · Grade 5 · ELA9568.4%
2022 · Grade 3 · Math10886.1%
2022 · Grade 4 · Math9676.0%
2022 · Grade 5 · Math9580.0%
2019 · Grade 3 · ELA9070.0%
2019 · Grade 4 · ELA9770.1%
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA10973.4%
2019 · Grade 3 · Math9081.1%
2019 · Grade 4 · Math9882.7%
2019 · Grade 5 · Math11075.5%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide10721%41%37%1%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged6363.5%+12+28
Asian8786.2%+9+16
White8773.6%+6+13
Nearest elementary schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Towers Elementary ←—7295th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202546.4%76.0%+6.0pp+89 pts0.4%
Beryl Heights Elementary0.5 mi6590th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202544.1%71.6%+5.6pp—0.1%
Jefferson Elementary0.5 mi6490th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202548.9%78.8%−11.0pp—0.8%
Victor Elementary0.9 mi5582nd percentile · Strong · statewide · 202538.2%65.6%−9.1pp—0.6%
California average—39School average · no percentile21.4%42.7%−2.9pp—1.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$62,009 – $122,300
Average elementary principal salary$154,486
Average middle school principal salary$156,782
Average high school principal salary$196,119
Superintendent salary$335,280

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201969/10090#525California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,484 schools
202273/10093#370California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,704 schools
202373/10093#370California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,696 schools
202474/10095#234California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,711 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 3.2% → 2025 · 4.7% · +1.5pp
Suspension rate2024 · 0.0% → 2025 · 0.3% · +0.3pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA29545.8%75.9%
2025 · Math29446.6%76.5%
2024 · ELA29748.1%77.1%
2024 · Math29651.7%79.4%
2023 · ELA30348.8%74.3%
2023 · Math30449.3%79.3%
2022 · ELA29944.5%71.9%
2022 · Math29952.8%80.9%
2019 · ELA29644.3%71.3%
2019 · Math29847.6%79.5%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———46.1%75.5%2.3%0.8%-1.1pp
2022———48.4%76.3%8.9%0.8%-5.9pp
2023———48.9%76.7%10.8%0.3%-1.2pp
2024———49.6%78.1%4.0%0.1%+4.8pp
20257295#28146.4%76.0%5.3%0.4%+6.0pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female1.7%3.3%+1.6pp
Male2.1%6.0%+3.9pp
Asian1.8%1.6%-0.2pp
Filipino0.0%0.0%+0.0pp
Hispanic/Latino2.7%6.5%+3.8pp
Two or More Races5.6%6.5%+0.9pp
White0.5%5.7%+5.2pp
Students with Disabilities3.3%5.1%+1.8pp
English Learners1.9%6.5%+4.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2.2%8.1%+5.9pp
All Students1.9%4.7%+2.8pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+3188Average+16188Accelerated
English Only+1148not categorised+14148not categorised
White+1159Accelerated+1759Accelerated
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−650Moderate+450Average
Asian+449Average+1749Accelerated
Hispanic or Latino+249Average+849Accelerated
Students with Disabilities+1228Accelerated+2528Exceptional
Two or More Races−125Average+2325Exceptional
English Learner017Average+1617Accelerated

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 3
38%
exceeded standard · 70% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 99 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 5
42%
exceeded standard · 82% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 108 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 99 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

188 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: +3 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 56th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.56th pctile · +3 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

188 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: +16 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 87th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.87th pctile · +16 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California elementary school records, the median ELA estimate is +2 and the middle half fall between −5 and +9 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$11,441 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 22,490 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$5 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 599

Central federal expenditures attributed here$448 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 599

District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,002 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 63%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$11,441 per pupil
2020$11,279 per pupil
2019$11,194 per pupil
2018$10,632 per pupil
2017$10,442 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 90503
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 90503
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$125,912
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)55.91%
ZCTA population43,454
Median age41.3 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/towers-elementary-3279"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Towers Elementary — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=5,721 elementary schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction